DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
central heat reject subsystem in claim 1.
Attachment mechanism in claim 1.
Central heat reject subsystem is interpreted to cover one or more of a central vent fan able to provide airflow to outside of the vehicle; and a liquid cooling loop as per claim 2; and equivalents thereof.
Attachment mechanism is interpreted to cover flexible ducting as per claim 3; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horii (US 20200393186 A1) in view of Furcoiu (US 20210102647 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Horii discloses a vehicle #18 (Fig. 1, 4, and 7) for transporting one or more actively cooled totes ([Note: The phrase “for transporting one or more actively cooled totes” is considered an intended use limitation. See Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQe2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")], the vehicle comprising:
a central heat reject subsystem #16 operable to reject heat from the one or more actively cooled totes ([0028]); and
an attachment mechanism #13 for moving heat from the one or more actively cooled totes to the central heat reject subsystem (best seen in Fig. 4; [0028]).
Horii does not disclose wherein the attachment mechanism for moving the heat comprises one or more of (i) one or more compressible gaskets that can seal a duct to one of the one or more actively cooled totes; and (ii) one or more spring-loaded mechanisms to aid the connection of the one or more actively cooled totes.
In the field of attachment mechanism, Furcoiu teaches an attachment mechanism (Fig. 3) comprising one or more of (i) one or more compressible gaskets #270a & #270b that can seal a duct #102b ([0046]); and (ii) one or more spring-loaded mechanisms #284b ([0051]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Horii with the claimed arrangement above; in a similar manner as taught by Furcoiu.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have facilitated installation of the attachment mechanism to the system during installation. Other benefit includes ensuring the system is properly sealed during installation (see Furcoiu [0004-0005]).
Regarding claim 2:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses wherein the central heat reject subsystem comprises one or more of:
a central vent fan #25 able to provide airflow to outside of the vehicle (see Fig. 4); and
a liquid cooling loop #22.
Regarding claim 3:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses wherein the attachment mechanism for moving the heat comprises flexible ducting (see duct #13 in Fig. 4. By definition, all materials have some level of flexibility. Thus, “flexible ducting” is broad enough to encompass structure #13 of Horii).
Regarding claim 6:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses one or more dampers #36 ([0040] & [0043]) that can reduce air from moving back into the vehicle when a tote location is not occupied.
Note: the limitation “that can reduce air from moving back into the vehicle when a tote location is not occupied” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 7:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses a support structure operable to hold the one or more actively cooled totes (best seen in Fig. 7; [0050]); where the attachment mechanism for moving heat from the one or more actively cooled totes to the central heat reject subsystem is integrated into the support structure (see #13a-b; Fig. 7, [0050]).
Regarding claim 8:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses wherein the support structure comprises hollow channels (see #13a-b; Fig. 7, [0050]).
Regarding claim 10:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses one or more vents #37a to improve air inlet from outside (see Fig. 2 & 7: #37a improve air inlet from outside container #11).
Regarding claim 11:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses wherein the one or more vents #37a are angled to increase an amount of air coming in as the vehicle travels faster (see Fig. 7: 37A is angled at 90 degrees with respect to #13a).
Note: the limitation “to increase an amount of air coming in as the vehicle travels faster” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 12:
Horii as modified discloses all the limitations.
Horii further discloses one or more vents in the back of the vehicle (see Fig. 1; vent from #16 that communicates with #10).
Regarding claims 13-14:
Examiner notes that the limitations of claims 13-14 are not required by the claims, as claims 13-14 are directly related to an alternative and optional feature of claim 2. Since Horii discloses the first alternative of a central vent fan #25 able to provide airflow to outside of the vehicle (see Fig. 4), the limitation pertaining to the second alternative (the liquid cooling loop) becomes alternative and optional; therefore, not required by the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claim is drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, is presented to applicant for consideration:
A vehicle for transporting one or more actively cooled totes, the vehicle comprising:
a central heat reject subsystem operable to reject heat from the one or more actively cooled totes; and
an attachment mechanism for moving heat from the one or more actively cooled totes to the central heat reject subsystem
wherein the attachment mechanism for moving the heat comprises:
one or more compressible gaskets that can seal a duct to one of the one or more actively cooled totes;
one or more spring-loaded mechanisms to aid the connection of the one or more actively cooled totes;
wherein the central heat reject subsystem comprises:
a central vent fan able to provide airflow to an outside of the vehicle; and
a liquid cooling loop;
wherein the liquid cooling loop comprises a liquid cold plate stationary in the vehicle, said liquid cold plate operable to mate to the one or more actively cooled totes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection set forth herein.
See 103 section above for the elaborated rejections of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Spirkowyc (US 5215337 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763