DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on January 9th, 2026 has been entered. Claim 3 has been canceled. Claims 1-2 and 4-10 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 4-7 are currently amended. Claims 8-10 are newly added. Applicant's amendments to the disclosure and claims have overcome the objections to the claims previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed November 25th, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. It is unclear which specific components correspond to the “first projection,” “second projection,” “first recess,” and “second recess.” Therefore, the “first projection,” “second projection,” “first recess,” and “second recess” must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (Claim 8 and its dependents Claims 9-10). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8, Ln. 2-3, it is unclear whether “first projection” and “second projection” are newly defined components or if they refer to the previously defined “annular projection” first introduced in Claim 1 (Claim 1, Ln. 21-22). For the purposes of examination, Examiner has assumed that the “first projection” and “second projection” correspond to the annular projection when it is located either on the cover member (annular projection = first projection) or the upper case (annular projection = second projection).
Claim 8, Ln. 2-3, it is unclear whether “first recess” and “second recess” are newly defined components or if they refer to the previously defined “annular recess” first introduced in Claim 1 (Claim 1, Ln. 21-22). For the purposes of examination, Examiner has assumed that the “first recess” and “second recess” correspond to the annular recess when it is located either on the cover member (annular recess = first recess) or the upper case (annular recess = second recess)
Claims 9-10 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moto (CN 105831033 A), in view of Wu (US 11,165,229).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 3 from Moto
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 5 from Moto
Regarding Claim 1, Moto, Figures 1-6 and annotated Figures 1-2 above, teaches a control case 102 for a fishing electric reel 1 comprising:
an electrical component 100;
a case body 105 comprising a lower case 106 and an upper case 104 that has one or a plurality of second through holes 142;
a cover member 200 having one or a plurality of first through holes 200c; and
one or a plurality of switch operating parts 121;
wherein the electrical component 100 includes a processor (CPU (Central Processing Unit); See Moto, Ln. 231) configured to control an electric reel 1 (See Moto, Ln. 230-235),
the case body 105 is arranged on an upper portion of a reel body and houses the electrical component 100 (See Moto, Fig. 1-2, Ln. 221-224),
the cover member 200 is mounted on an upper side of the upper case 104 (See Moto, Ln. 371),
the one or the plurality of switch operating parts 121 are capable of being operated by pressing and partially exposed from the cover member 200 or partially visible from an outside of the cover member 200 (See Moto, Ln. 391-392),
the one or the plurality of switch operating parts 121 are capable of being inserted into the one or the plurality of first through holes 200c and the one or the plurality of second through holes 142 (See Moto, Ln. 391-392), and
wherein the upper case 104 is provided with an annular projection 142a.
Moto teaches all the elements of the control case except for a recess-projection fitting portion and the recess-projection fitting portion being configured to align the cover member and upper case.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 2 from Wu
However, Wu, Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 3 above, teaches a recess-projection fitting portion 100a,
the recess-projection fitting portion 100a is configured to align a positioning of the cover member 10 and the upper case 20 in order to ensure concentricity between the first through hole 30 and the second through hole 29 (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40),
wherein one of the cover member 10 or the upper case 20 is provided with an annular projection 12, while the other of the cover member 10 or the upper case 20 is provided with an annular recess 28’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Moto with a recess-projection fitting portion, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Moto further teaches a display part 120 partially exposed from the cover member 200 or partially visible from the outside of the cover member 200 (See Moto, Ln. 386-387).
Regarding Claim 4, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Moto further teaches wherein the annular projection 142a is provided radially outside the second through hole 142 in the upper case 104 (See Figure 2 above).
Wu further teaches wherein the annular projection 12 is provided radially outside the first through hole 30 in the cover member 10 (See Wu, Fig. 2).
In light of the combined teachings of Moto and Wu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Moto with the annular projection provided radially outside the second through hole in the upper case, as illustrated in Moto, or the annular projection provided radially outside the first through hole in the cover member, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
Regarding Claim 5, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Wu further teaches wherein the annular recess 28’ is provided radially outside the second through hole 29 in the upper case 20 (See Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Moto with the annular recess provided radially outside the second through hole in the upper case, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
Regarding Claim 6, Moto, Figures 1-6 and annotated Figures 1-2 above, teaches a fishing electric reel 1 comprising:
a reel body 5; and
a control case 102 for a fishing electric reel 1 comprising:
an electrical component 100;
a case body 105 comprising a lower case 106 and an upper case 104 that has one or a plurality of second through holes 142;
a cover member 200 having one or a plurality of first through holes 200c; and
one or a plurality of switch operating parts 121;
wherein the electrical component 100 includes a processor (CPU (Central Processing Unit); See Moto, Ln. 231) configured to control an electric reel 1 (See Moto, Ln. 230-235),
the case body 105 is arranged on an upper portion of a reel body and houses the electrical component 100 (See Moto, Fig. 1-2, Ln. 221-224),
the cover member 200 is mounted on an upper side of the upper case 104 (See Moto, Ln. 371),
the one or the plurality of switch operating parts 121 are capable of being operated by pressing and partially exposed from the cover member 200 or partially visible from an outside of the cover member 200 (See Moto, Ln. 391-392),
the one or the plurality of switch operating parts 121 are capable of being inserted into the one or the plurality of first through holes 200c and the one or the plurality of second through holes 142 (See Moto, Ln. 391-392), and
wherein the upper case 104 is provided with an annular projection 142a.
Moto teaches all the elements of the control case except for a recess-projection fitting portion and the recess-projection fitting portion being configured to align the cover member and upper case.
However, Wu, Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 3 above, teaches a recess-projection fitting portion 100a,
the recess-projection fitting portion 100a is configured to align a positioning of the cover member 10 and the upper case 20 in order to ensure concentricity between the first through hole 30 and the second through hole 29 (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40),
wherein one of the cover member 10 or the upper case 20 is provided with an annular projection 12, while the other of the cover member 10 or the upper case 20 is provided with an annular recess 28’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Moto with a recess-projection fitting portion, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
Regarding Claim 7, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Moto further teaches wherein the annular projection 142a is concentrically arranged around and encircles its respective through hole 142 (See Figure 2 above).
Wu further teaches wherein the annular projection 12 and the annular recess 28’ are each concentrically arranged around and encircle their respective through holes 30, 29 to form circular alignment of the switch operating part 90 with the first through hole 30 and the second through hole 29 when the cover member 10 is mounted on the upper case 20 (See Figure 3 above; See Wu, Fig. 2, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Moto with an annular recess and projection encircling their respective through holes, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40).
Regarding Claim 8, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Wu teaches wherein the cover member 10 is provided with a first projection 12 and the upper case 20 is provided with a second recess 28’, and the first projection 12 of the cover member 10 is engaged with the second recess 28’ of the upper case 20 (See Figure 3 above).
Moto in view of Wu (embodiment shown in Fig. 1-2) teach all the elements of the control case except for the cover member and the upper case each having both a projection and a recess.
Figure 4. Annotated Figure 14 from Wu
However, Wu, Figures 13-14 and annotated Figure 4 above, teaches wherein the cover member 10 is provided with a first projection 12 and a first recess 11b, and the upper case 20 is provided with a second projection 20a and a second recess 20b, and the first projection 12 of the cover member 10 is engaged with the second recess 20b of the upper case 20, and the second projection 20a of the upper case 20 is engaged with the first recess 11b of the cover member 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moto and Wu (embodiment shown in Fig. 1-2 and embodiment shown in Fig. 13-14) to provide both the cover member and upper case with mating projections and recesses for the purpose of positional alignment between multiple through holes which accommodate a singular switch (i.e., regulating the assembling position) (See Wu, Col. 6, Ln. 31-40) and for “increas[ing] the structural strength of the main body,” (See Wu, Col. 9, Ln. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 9, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Moto further teaches wherein the second projection 142a of the upper case 104 directly surrounds the second through hole 142 (See Figure 2 above).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moto (CN 105831033 A) in view of Wu (US 11,165,229) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-9 above, and further in view of Vitan (US 9,741,508).
Regarding Claim 10, Moto in view of Wu are advanced above.
Moto in view of Wu teach all the elements of the control case except for an end portion at the first recess and an end of the end portion directly surrounding the first through hole.
Figure 5. Annotated Figure 6 from Vitan
However, Vitan, Figures 1-6 and annotated Figure 5 above, teaches wherein the cover member 12 has an end portion 24a at the first recess 78, and an end 24b of the end portion 24a of the cover member 12 directly surrounds the first through hole 20 (See Vitan, Col. 5, Ln. 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moto, Wu (embodiment shown in Fig. 1-2 and embodiment shown in Fig. 13-14), and Vitan to provide the cover member with an end portion at the first recess and an end of the end portion directly surrounding the first through hole for the purpose of “stabiliz[ing] the button when the button encounters off-center forces applied to the face surface thereof, such as by resisting twisting and rocking of the button,” (See Vitan, Col. 4, Ln. 65 - Col. 5, Ln. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 6-10, filed January 9th, 2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the objections to the Claims, Applicant has submitted acceptable amendments. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim to include subject matter from previously rejected claim 3 which is currently canceled. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection of claim 1. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (and previously rejected/currently canceled claim 3) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Moto in view of Wu are utilized in the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding the rejections of Claims 2, 4-5, and 7, the claims are dependents of rejected claim 1 and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented above.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Amendments presented in claim 6 fall within the scope of the amendments presented in claim 1, Applicant supports amendment with the same reasoning presented with respect to claim 1, and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented with respect to claim 1.
Regarding newly added Claim 8, the claim is a dependent of rejected claim 1, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art, as it applies to claim 1, are moot. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 8.
Regarding newly added Claim 9, the claim is a dependent of rejected claims 1 and 8, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art, as it applies to claims 1 and 8, are moot. Applicant’s arguments regarding Kazuhito, as it applies to claim 9 are moot. Applicant’s arguments regarding Moto, as it applies to claim 9 are not persuasive. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 9.
Applicant argues “Claim 9 further recites that "the second projection of the upper case directly surrounds the second through hole." Neither Moto nor Kazuhito teaches or suggests an alignment projection that directly surrounds a through hole. Kazuhito's protrusions 7f are entirely unrelated to any through holes.”
However, Moto discloses a projection that directly surrounds a through hole (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding newly added Claim 10, the claim is a dependent of rejected claims 1 and 8-9, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art, as it applies to claims 1 and 8-9, are not moot/not persuasive (See response to arguments for claims 1 and 8-9 above). Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 10.
Conclusion
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619