Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furomoto (JPH0631459U) in view of Morimoto (JPH0515771U).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Furomoto discloses a dual bearing fishing reel, comprising: a reel leg; (4; Figures 1-2); a spool (8) around which a fishing line is wound; and a frame main body (1, 2) comprising a left frame (1A) and a right frame (2A) in which the spool (8) is disposed, and three connecting members (3, 5; two 3 members and one 5 member) for connecting the left and right frames (1A, 2A), wherein a geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours of respective contact surfaces (C; see Furomoto annotated Figure 1 below) of the three or more connecting members (3, 5) are in contact with the left and right frames (1A, 2A), and the reel leg (4) is fixed to one (5) of the three or more connecting members (3, 5), but fails to teach wherein the geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours of respective contact surfaces of the three or more connecting members are the same.
Furomoto, Annotated Figure 1
Morimoto teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours (7A; 7B; Figures 3-4) of respective contact surfaces of the three or more connecting members (7) are the same. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Furomoto to include wherein the geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours of respective contact surfaces of the three or more connecting members are the same as taught by Morimoto in order to produce repetitive product that allows for faster production and assembly, improves quality and efficiency, and reduces manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 2, Furomoto discloses wherein to prevent exposure of a contact region between the left and right frames (1A, 2A) and the connecting members (3, 5) to outside, the connecting members (3, 5) comprise an edge portion (E; see Furomoto annotated Figure 1 above; the edge of the end surfaces of the connecting members 3,5 contact and surround the recess edge of the contacting surface of the left and right frames 1A,2A) that covers the contact surfaces (C) of the left and right frames (1A, 2a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 3 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, in the last four lines of pages 4-5, the applicant argued that there is no disclosure in Furomoto wherein the geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours of respective contact surfaces of the three or more connecting members are the same.
The examiner agrees that the disclosure of Furomoto fails to teach wherein the geometric configuration and dimensions of exterior contours of respective contact surfaces of the three or more connecting members are the same. However, the examiner construed the disclosure of Morimoto teaches the limitation as described above. Furthermore, it is known in the art to produce components of the same shape within an assembly for standardization purposes in order to be easily replaceable, provide faster production and assembly, improve quality and efficiency, and reduce manufacturing costs. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment/argument does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654