DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JO et al. (US 2025/0007582 A1; hereafter JO).
With respect to claim 1, JO discloses an apparatus (Decoder in FIG. 17) for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receive control signaling from a user equipment (UE) indicating one or more quantization scheme parameters (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17);
measure a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) from the UE based on the one or more quantization scheme parameters (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17);
report, to the UE, quantized sampling information based on measurement of the downlink reference signal from the UE (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17); and
receive one or more equalized data transmissions from the UE after providing the quantized sampling information to the UE (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17).
With respect to claim 2, JO further discloses 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more equalized data transmissions are equalized based on the quantized sampling information provided to the UE (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 3, JO further discloses 3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include at least one of a downlink reference signal allocation (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) or a downlink reference signal density in a frequency domain, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: measure the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) based on at least one of the downlink reference signal allocation or the downlink reference signal density.
With respect to claim 4, JO further discloses 4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include an uplink resource size for reporting the quantized sampling information, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: report the quantized sampling information in an uplink message having the uplink resource size (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 5, JO further discloses 5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include a downlink reference signal sample (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) and a report rate, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: report the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]) to the UE based on the downlink reference signal sample and the report rate (paragraph [0148] and [0150] and [0151]).
With respect to claim 6, JO further discloses 6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include a quantization scheme (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 7, JO further discloses 7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the quantization scheme is a differential quantization scheme or a non-differential quantization scheme (FIG. 13; FIG. 15; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 8, JO further discloses 8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters indicate resources in at least one of time and frequency for the downlink reference signal and for an uplink message to carry the report of the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 9, JO further discloses 9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, an update of the one or more quantization scheme parameters; and adjust the measurement of the downlink reference signal or the report of the quantized sampling information based on the update of the one or more quantization scheme parameters (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 10, JO further discloses 10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control signaling includes an index to a defined or previously configured configuration that includes the one or more quantization scheme parameters (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 11, JO further discloses 11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control signaling includes at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (paragraph [0081]) or downlink control information (DCI).
With respect to claim 12, JO further discloses 12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more equalized data transmissions include extended reality (XR) data (paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 13, JO further discloses 13. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: update a display at the wireless device based on the one or more equalized data transmissions (paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 14, JO further discloses 14. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: provide sensor data to the UE for transmission to an XR service via a wireless network (paragraph [0074]), wherein the one or more equalized data transmissions are in response to the sensor data (paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 15, JO further discloses 15. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to receive the control signaling from the UE, measure the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) from the UE, report the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]), and receive the one or more equalized data transmissions from the UE.
With respect to claim 16, JO discloses an apparatus (Encoder in FIG. 17) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
transmit control signaling to a wireless device, the control signaling indicating one or more quantization scheme parameters (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17);
transmit a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) based on the one or more quantization scheme parameters (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17);
receive a report, from the wireless device, of quantized sampling information based on measurement of the downlink reference signal (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17); and
transmit one or more equalized data transmissions to the wireless device after receiving the quantized sampling information (S1710, S1720, S1730, S1740 in FIG. 17).
With respect to claim 17, JO further discloses 17. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: equalize, based on the quantized sampling information received from the wireless device, one or more data transmissions to provide the one or more equalized data transmissions (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 18, JO further discloses 18. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters are based on at least one of a signal to noise ratio (SNR) or a channel characteristic (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 19, JO further discloses 19. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include at least one of a downlink reference signal allocation (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) or a downlink reference signal density in a frequency domain, and wherein to transmit the downlink reference signal, the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) based on at least one of the downlink reference signal allocation or the downlink reference signal density (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 20, JO further discloses 20. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include an uplink resource size for reporting the quantized sampling information, wherein the report of the quantized sampling information is in an uplink message having the uplink resource size (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 21, JO further discloses 21. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include a downlink reference signal sample and a report rate, wherein the report of the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]) is based on the downlink reference signal sample and the report rate (paragraph [0148] and [0150] and [0151]).
With respect to claim 22, JO further discloses 22. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters include a quantization scheme (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 23, JO further discloses 23. The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the quantization scheme is a differential quantization scheme or a non-differential quantization scheme (FIG. 13; FIG. 15; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 24, JO further discloses 24. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more quantization scheme parameters indicate resources in at least one of time and frequency for the downlink reference signal and for an uplink message to carry the report of the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 25, JO further discloses 25. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the wireless device, an update of the one or more quantization scheme parameters based on the report; receive an additional report of the quantized sampling information based on the update of the one or more quantization scheme parameters; and adjust equalization for an additional data transmission based on the additional report of the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 26, JO further discloses 26. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the control signaling includes an index to a defined or previously configured configuration that includes the one or more quantization scheme parameters (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
With respect to claim 27, JO further discloses 27. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the control signaling includes at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (paragraph [0081]) or downlink control information (DCI).
With respect to claim 28, JO further discloses 28. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more equalized data transmissions include extended reality (XR) data (paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 29, JO further discloses 29. The apparatus of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive sensor data from the wireless device; transmit the sensor data via wireless network an XR service (paragraph [0074]); receive data in response to the sensor data; and equalize the data, based on the report of the quantized sampling information, prior to transmitting the one or more equalized data transmissions to the wireless device (paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 30, JO further discloses 30. The apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to transmit the control signaling to the wireless device, transmit the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0102] and [0103]) based on the one or more quantization scheme parameters, receive the report of the quantized sampling information, and transmit the one or more equalized data transmissions to the wireless device after receiving the quantized sampling information (FIG. 13; paragraph [0172]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 January 3, 2026