DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 08/04/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 16 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Amended specifications, and drawings to Fig. 6 were filed for entry.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: sidewalls (310A, 310B), inwardly-scalloped sidewalls (315A, 315B), and flange (615). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 7 “magnetic attraction” should be - - a magnetic attraction - -.
Claim 2, line 8 “and button magnet” should be - - and the button magnet - -.
Claim 9, line 2 “the magnets” should be - - the ring magnets - -.
Claim 17, line 3 “the undeployed” should be - - the undeployed position - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NASSAR (US Publication 2013/0000084 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, NASSAR discloses a fastener, comprising:
a base defining an interior space (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
a button at least partially retained within the interior space of the base, the button having a deployed position (engage) and an undeployed position (non-engage) (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b); and
a ring having a magnetic field and defining an aperture sized to accept at least a portion of the button (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
wherein:
in the deployed position, at least the portion of the button is within the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b);
the button is moved from the undeployed position to the deployed position by the magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b); and
a motion of the button is transverse to a polarization direction of the magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Regarding claim 2, NASSAR further discloses, comprising:
a first ring magnet positioned within the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
a second ring magnet positioned within the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
a button magnet positioned within the button (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
wherein:
the first ring magnet and the second ring magnet generate the magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
magnetic attraction between the magnetic field and button magnet causes the button to move into the deployed position (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Regarding claim 3, NASSAR discloses, wherein the first and second ring magnets are positioned at opposing positions within the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c).
Regarding claim 4, NASSAR discloses, wherein a strength of the magnetic field increases when the button is in the deployed position (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Regarding claim 18, NASSAR discloses a method for fastening a fastener, comprising:
moving a ring of the fastener adjacent to a base of the fastener, the ring defining an aperture (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
magnetically attracting a button of the fastener to the ring, thereby moving the button towards the aperture of the ring relative to the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b); and
receiving the button within the aperture defined in the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b);
wherein:
a magnetic field has a polarization direction (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b); and
the button moves in a direction transverse to the polarization direction (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Regarding claim 19, NASSAR further discloses, comprising resisting a shear force exerted on one of the ring or base when the button is within the aperture (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Regarding claim 20, NASSAR discloses, wherein:
the ring contains a ring magnet (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
the button contains a button magnet (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
the ring magnet and the button magnet cooperate to magnetically attract the button to the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASSAR (US Publication 2013/0000084 cited by applicant), in view of Fiedler (US Publication 2012/0291227 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 5, NASSAR discloses the claimed invention except for a sensor configured to sense the strength of the magnetic field.
However, Fiedler teaches a sensor (see paragraph [0035] and [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnets from NASSAR with a Hall sensor to measure the magnetic field of the magnets as taught by Fiedler.
Regarding claim 6, NASSAR discloses the claimed invention except for a biasing mechanism operable to move the button from the deployed position to the undeployed position by exerting a biasing force on the button.
However, Fiedler teaches a biasing mechanism (10a, 11a, 25) operable to move the button from the deployed position to the undeployed position by exerting a biasing force on the button (see Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have biasing mechanism in order the magnet function as a bias magnet and facilitate to engage two parts.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of NASSAR in view of Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the biasing force is less than a magnetic force of the magnetic field. The examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added a spring to the magnetic connection to have the connection automatically engage and disengage based on the biasing force of a spring. The Examiner notes the biasing force of the spring would be less than a magnetic force of the magnetic field because if the magnetic force of the magnet is greater than the biasing force of the spring, the biasing force would not function in the connection.
Regarding claim 8, NASSAR discloses a fastener, comprising:
a base (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c) comprising:
a base shell defining an interior space (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
a button retained at least partially within the interior space of the base, the button having a deployed position (engage) and an undeployed position (non-engage) (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b), the button comprising:
a button cap (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
a button magnet attached to the button cap (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
a ring defining an aperture (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c) and comprising:
a ring shell (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c); and
a set of ring magnets attached to the ring shell and defining a magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
wherein:
the magnetic field extends between ring magnets of the set of ring magnets (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c);
the magnetic field attracts the button magnet towards the aperture when the base abuts the ring (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b);
the magnetic field moves the button from the undeployed position to the deployed position when the magnetic field attracts the button magnet (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b); and
as the button moves from the undeployed position to the deployed position, it moves in a direction other than a polarization direction of the ring magnets (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
NASSAR does not teach a biasing mechanism attached to the base shell.
However, Fiedler teaches a biasing mechanism (10a, 11a, 25) (see Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base shell from NASSAR with a biasing mechanism in order the magnet function as a bias magnet and facilitate to engage two parts as taught by Fiedler.
Regarding claim 9, NASSAR discloses, wherein the button moves transversely to the polarization direction of the magnets (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b from NASSAR).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of NASSAR, in view of Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the biasing mechanism is a biasing magnet.
However, Fiedler teaches the biasing mechanism is a biasing magnet (10a, 11a, 25) (see Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base shell from NASSAR with a biasing mechanism in order the magnet function as a bias magnet and facilitate to engage two parts as taught by Fiedler.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of NASSAR, in view of Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the ring magnets are made of a hard magnetic material; and the biasing magnet is made of a soft magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ring magnets are made of a hard magnetic material; and the biasing magnet is made of a soft magnetic material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is obvious that magnet are made of different materials for different application.
Regarding claim 12, NASSAR discloses, wherein the button magnet defines first and second scalloped sidewalls opposing one another (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c from NASSAR).
Regarding claim 13, NASSAR discloses, wherein the button magnet focuses the magnetic field when the button is in the deployed position (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b from NASSAR).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of NASSAR, in view of Fiedler discloses, wherein:
the biasing mechanism is a first biasing mechanism (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler);
the fastener further comprises a second biasing mechanism attached to the base (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler);
the first biasing mechanism is a spring (25) (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler); and
the second biasing mechanism is a magnet (10a, 11a) (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of NASSAR, in view of Fiedler discloses, wherein the spring (25) is further attached to the button magnet (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of NASSAR, in view of Fiedler discloses, wherein the spring (25) resists expansion as the button moves from the undeployed position to the deployed position (see Fig. 14 from Fiedler).
Regarding claim 17, NASSAR discloses, wherein:
the button further comprises a flange attached to the button cap (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c from NASSAR); and
the flange is retained within the base as the button moves from the undeployed to the deployed position (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b from NASSAR).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 18 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of NASSAR (US Publication 2013/0000084). NASSAR broadly discloses a motion of the button is transverse to a polarization direction of the magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
With respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made of NASSAR (US Publication 2013/0000084), in view of Fiedler (US Publication 2012/0291227). NASSAR broadly discloses a motion of the button is transverse to a polarization direction of the magnetic field (see annotated Figs. 23b and 23c, and Fig. 24b).
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677