DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority from foreign application KR10/2021-002392, filed 03/03/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 08/31/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al (Coleman) US 2010/0124563 A1 in view of Chaikof et al (Chaikof) USPN 5,741,325.
1. Coleman discloses a stent [0160] with an improved stickiness of a membrane (the stickiness is improved by the properties of the micro rough surfaces, which is Coleman disclosed his invention includes, see Abstract), comprising: a membrane portion provided in/covering the stent ([0134] discloses the membrane includes the porous cell scaffold and [0160] discloses the membrane is within the stent); and a micro-rough surface formed on all or at least a part of the membrane portion ([0101] discloses the cell scaffold can include the surface roughness).
However, Coleman does not disclose the specific shape or nature of the stent.
Chaikof teaches the use of a stent (Figures 1-2) comprising a body portion including a hollow cylindrical shape (Figures 1-2) wherein wires are woven to form a mesh structure (5:63-66) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing a flexible self expandible stent that adapts to the shape of the implant site.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the stent of Coleman with the shape made by woven strands of Chaikof in order to provide a flexible self expandible stent that adapts to the shape of the implant site.
2. Coleman discloses the micro-rough surface is formed by a plurality of irregular embossing protrusions that are disorderly formed [0101].
3. Coleman discloses a first surface roughness of the micro-rough surface is in a range of tens to hundreds of micrometers in size [0101].
In regards to claims 4-7 the claimed method of forming the membrane on a jig, the forming of the first surface on the jig, and the forming of the second surface on the jig amounts to a product by process. Whether a product is patentable depends on whether it is known in the art or it is obvious, and is not governed by whether the process by which it is made is patentable. Product by process claims are not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). In this case the membrane and surface roughnesses are fully capable of being formed on a jig with a corresponding surface roughness, which is axially rotated and a polymer material is uniformly and sand blasted, etched, and/or cured. These are commonly used tools and procedures within the stent/graft manufacturing art.
8. Coleman discloses the micro-rough surface reduces a stickiness of an inner face of the membrane portion (since Coleman discloses the same shapes and dimensions for the micro-rough surface as the current invention it will inherently reduce the stickiness of the inner face of the membrane as much as the applicant’s invention).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774