DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-18 and 21 are pending.
Claims 1 and 3 have been amended.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 6 and 19 have been cancelled.
Examiner Comment
The Examiner encourages the Applicant to claim the structural features of the instant device, rather than claiming how the device operates (such as how direct light behaves when it is emitted from the light source when the light source is in the on state). The courts have held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114 II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that, as amended, independent claim 1 requires that the housing defines a chamber and that the tip is disposed outside of the chamber. The undersigned attorney respectfully submits that independent claim 1 also requires that the tip be disposed on the second end of the housing and Kane does not disclose this structural arrangement.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kane teaches a vaporization device for a consumable product (60, Fig. 3), the vaporization device comprising: a housing (72) having a first end (28), a second end (74) and defining a chamber, wherein the inside of the housing forms a chamber; a power source (12) disposed within the housing (72); a tip (70) disposed on the second end and outside of the chamber of the housing (72), the tip having a heating element (19) connected to the power source and configured to heat said consumable product to create a vapor ([0040]).
Regarding the argument that independent claim 3 requires that the housing defines a chamber and that the tip is disposed on the second end of the housing and outside of the chamber of the housing. The undersigned attorney respectfully submits that Tucker does not disclose this structural arrangement.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tucker teaches a vaporization device for a consumable product (10, Fig. 1B), the device comprising: a housing (20) having a first end (right end of housing in Fig. 1B), a second end (left end of housing in Fig. 1B), and the housing defines a chamber; a power source (12) within the housing; a tip (15) disposed on the second end and outside of the chamber of the housing, the tip having a heating element (43) connected to the power source ([0085]) and configured to heat said consumable product to create a vapor ([0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane (US 20170172204).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kane teaches a vaporization device for a consumable product (60, Fig. 3), the vaporization device comprising: a housing (72) having a first end (28), a second end (74) and defining a chamber, wherein the inside of the housing forms a chamber; a power source (12) disposed within the housing (72); a tip (70) disposed on the second end and outside of the chamber of the housing (72), the tip having a heating element (19) connected to the power source and configured to heat said consumable product to create a vapor ([0040]), the heating element moveable between an on state and off state ([0040]); a switch (“puff sensor”, 16) attached to the housing (via the light 27, Fig. 3), the switch moving the heating element between the on state and the off state upon selective activation of the switch ([0040]); and a light source (27), specifically an LED, disposed on the housing (Fig. 3) and moveable between an on state and an off state ([0048]), wherein the light source (27) emits direct light away from the first end of the housing (74) when the light source is in the on state (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Kane teaches the housing has a lengthwise axis; and the light source (27) is disposed between the first end (28) and the second end (74) of the housing (72) (Fig. 3). Kane teaches that the light source (27) emits direct light towards the lengthwise axis of the housing (Fig. 3) when the light source is in the on state.
Regarding claim 5, Kane teaches that the housing (72) defines a passageway (the passageway formed by the housing 72 in Fig. 3); and wherein the light source (27) emits light through the passageway of the housing (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the light source (27) is disposed within the housing (72); and wherein the light source is connected to the power source ([0045] and [0048]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Kane teaches that the tip (70) defines a passageway (inside tip 70 as shown in Fig. 3); and further comprising an elongate tubular member (capillary tube, 18) formed of glass ([0042]) disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the passageway defined by the tip ([0044]).
Regarding claim 17, Kane teaches a printed circuit board assembly ([0048]) disposed within the housing and electrically connected to the power source, the heating element, and the light source ([0040] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the switch (“puff sensor”, 16) is connected to the printed circuit board assembly (11) to move the heating element between the on state and the off state ([0040]).
Claim(s) 3 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190200674 (Tucker).
Regarding claim 3, Tucker teaches a vaporization device for a consumable product (10, Fig. 1B), the device comprising: a housing (20) having a first end (right end of housing in Fig. 1B), a second end (left end of housing in Fig. 1B), and the housing defines a chamber;
a power source (12) within the housing;
a tip (15) disposed on the second end and outside of the chamber of the housing, the tip having a heating element (43) connected to the power source ([0085]) and configured to heat said consumable product to create a vapor ([0068]), the heating element moveable between an on state and off state ([0096]);
a switch attached to the housing, the switch moving the heating element between the on state and the off state upon selective activation of the switch ([0096]); and
a light source (14) disposed on the housing (Fig. 1B) and moveable between an on state and an off state ([0100]), the light source emitting direct light away from the first end of the housing when the light source is in the on state (Fig. 1B); wherein the housing has a lengthwise axis and wherein the light source emits direct light towards the lengthwise axis of the housing when the light source is in the on state and wherein direct light from the light source strikes the tip when the light source is in the on state (Fig. 1B, light from light source emitting straight out of LED towards tip).
Regarding claim 21, Tucker teaches that the housing has a lengthwise axis (labeled “axis” below); and wherein the light source (14) emits direct light away from the first end of the housing, towards the lengthwise axis of the housing, and through an environment exterior to the chamber that strikes the tip when the light source is in the on state (see annotated Fig. 1B, below and [0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane.
Regarding claim 14, Kane does not expressly teach a second switch attached to the housing, wherein the second switch moves the light source between the on state and the off state upon selective activation of the second switch.
However, Kane does teach that “The light 27 may also be configured such that the adult vaper can activate and/or deactivate the light 27 when desired,” ([0048]). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included a second switch in Kane to allow the user to activate and/or deactivate the light when desired, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results, as a switch is traditionally what is used in vaporization devices to allow a user to activate and/or deactivate a light when desired.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chung (US 20150272211).
Regarding claims 9-11, Kane does not expressly teach that the device further comprises a cap disposed on the second end (74) of the housing.
Chung teaches a cover, or cap, for an electronic cigarette (abstract). Chung teaches that the cap has a first portion (123, bottom cover part) releasably attached to the bottom portion of the e-cigarette ([0026] by snap connection) and a second portion (122, top cover part) releasably attached to the first portion via the spring wherein the first portion is formed of a first material and the second portion is formed of a second material that is different than the first material [0038].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included the cap of Chung on the device of Kane because it allows for the cleanliness of the entire e-cigarette including the mouthpiece [0005]-[0006].
The cap is disposed on the second end of the housing of modified Kane because the cap is disposed on the entire housing of modified Kane.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane in view of Chung as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ehrman (US 5240012).
Regarding claims 12, modified Kane does not expressly teach that the first portion is formed of an aluminum alloy and that the second portion is formed of a ceramic.
Ehrman teaches a smoking article with a two piece endcap (502), wherein the cap has a first portion (510) releasably attached to the housing and a second portion (512) releasably attached to the first portion (col. 16, lines 17-20 and col. 18, lines 42-47). Ehrman teaches that the first and second portions can be constructed of ceramic material, stainless steel material or aluminum material (col. 18, lines 48-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the material of the first portion and the material of the second portion, respectively, of the two piece endcap since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed material of the first portion and the material of the second portion, respectively, are critical and have unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the material of the first portion and the material of the second portion of the two piece endcap motivated by the desire to provide the desired properties to the endcap (Ehrman, col. 18, lines 48-54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the endcap in Kane with the endcap as taught by Ehrman because it has been held that the substitution of one known element (i.e. endcap of Kane) for another (i.e. endcap of Ehrman) yielding predictable results, specifically a removable two piece endcap (Ehrman, col. 16, lines 17-20 and col. 18, lines 42-47), to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2143 B).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Botton (US 11259566).
Regarding claim 13, Kane teaches that the housing is made of metal ([0051]), but Kane does not expressly teach that the housing is formed of aluminum alloy and the tip is formed of titanium.
Botton teaches an electronic cigarette (abstract) wherein the first housing and the second housing are formed of metals or alloys such as aluminum or titanium (col. 5, lines 63-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the housing out of aluminum alloy and the tip out of titanium because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed materials are critical and have unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the materials of the housing and the tip motivated by the desire to ensure the materials are suitable for the housing and tip of the vaporization device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the materials for the housing and the tip, respectively, of Kane for the materials of the first housing and the second housing, respectively, as taught by Botton because it has been held that the substitution of one known element (materials for the housing and the tip, respectively, of Kane) for another (materials of the first housing and the second housing, respectively, as taught by Botton) yielding predictable results, specifically ensuring suitable materials are used for the housing and tip of the vaporization device, to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2143 B).
Conclusion
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755