Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fixing part” in claim 8. This is being interpreted to mean the part of the irrigation device that connects the hose to the tee joint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlberg (4365750) in view of Lo (9439365).
Regarding claim 1, Carlberg discloses an irrigation spraying device, comprising: a tee joint (20, fig 2), a ground picket (17, fig 2), a spraying head (23, fig 2), and two quick connectors (21, fig 2); wherein the spraying head is disposed on a top portion of the tee joint and configured to spray water for irrigation; wherein the two quick connectors are disposed on two sides of the tee joint respectively and configured to be connected with water hoses respectively; wherein a top portion of the ground picket is provided with an engaging portion (part of 17 that connects to the tee portion 20, fig 2) configured to connect with the tee joint.
Carlberg does not disclose the engaging portion comprises at least one clip, a top end of each of the at least one clip is open, and the ground picket is configured to be connected with the tee joint through the at least one clip.
Lo teaches an irrigation spike (1, fig 1) wherein the engaging portion (12, fig 1) comprises at least one clip (filled portion, annotated fig 4 below), a top end of each of the at least one clip is open (annotated fig 4), and the ground picket is configured to be connected with the tee joint through the at least one clip (the tee rests within the clip, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ground picket engaging portion disclosed by Carlberg by having the engaging portion connect to the tee through a clip based on the teachings of Lo. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the engagement portion clip on would simplify manufacturing, allowing for the connection of two simple structures rather than one complex structure.
Regarding claim 2, Carlberg discloses wherein a shape of the ground picket is a conical plate-shaped structure, and two sides of the ground picket are provided with reinforcing ribs (fig 2, the plates form reinforcing ribs and the shape tapers down in a conical structure to the end).
Regarding claim 3, Carlberg does not disclose wherein each of the two quick connectors comprises: a sealing ring, a fixing part, and a snap cover; the snap cover is defined with a through hole matched with the fixing part, and the sealing ring is sleeved in the snap cover; the fixing part comprises a snap ring configured to connect with the water hose, and elastic snap claws; and the snap claws are disposed around an axis of the snap ring and configured to be inserted in the through hole of the snap cover.
Lo teaches an irrigation device (2, fig 1), wherein the irrigation device comprises a tee with two quick connectors (211, 215, fig 1) wherein each of the two quick connectors comprises: a sealing ring (27, fig 8), a fixing part (26, fig 8), and a snap cover (25a, fig 8); the snap cover is defined with a through hole (fig 7) matched with the fixing part, and the sealing ring is sleeved in the snap cover (fig 8, the sealing ring is between the snap cover and the fixing part); the fixing part comprises a snap ring (211a, fig 1) configured to connect with the water hose, and elastic snap claws (26a, col 5, lines 5-13); and the snap claws are disposed around an axis of the snap ring (fig 8, these are all disposed through the same axis) and configured to be inserted in the through hole of the snap cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the quick connection portion disclosed by Carlberg by using the hose quick connection portion of Lo. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an outer clamping method such as the one used by Lo can maintain connection for higher flow pressures and thus would be preferred in larger irrigation systems.
Regarding claim 4, Carlberg discloses wherein the spraying head is in threaded fit (22, fig 2) with the tee joint.
Regarding claim 5, Carlberg discloses an adjusting part (34, fig 2) disposed between the spraying head and the tee joint, wherein the adjusting part is sleeved in the spraying head, the adjusting part is disposed with an elastic structure (30, fig 2), and the adjusting part is defined with a plurality of water outlet grooves (33, fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Carlberg discloses a connecting part (18, fig 2) disposed between the spraying head and the tee joint; wherein the connecting part is provided with a mounting end (end near 21, fig 2) configured to connect with the tee joint, and a threaded end (22, fig 2) configured to connect with the spraying head.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlberg in view of Lo, Lin (11480275), and Auguste (US-Pub 2019/0141916).
Regarding claim 8, Carlberg discloses an irrigation spraying device, comprising: a tee joint (20, fig 2); a ground picket (17, fig 2), wherein the ground picket comprises an engaging portion (part connecting to 21, fig 2), and the tee joint is engageable with ground picket through the engaging portion; a spraying head (23, fig 2), detachably connected on the tee joint; and quick connectors (21, fig 2), connected on two sides of the tee joint (1) respectively.
Carlberg does not disclose wherein the quick connectors are detachably connected on two sides of the tee joint respectively; wherein each of the quick connectors comprises: a sealing ring, a fixing part, and a snap cover; wherein the sealing ring is configured to sleeve in the snap cover; wherein the fixing part comprises a snap ring and a plurality of snap claws, and the plurality of snap claws are configured to be driven close to an axis of the snap ring during tightening a connection of the snap cover with the tee joint in a situation that an end of a water hose is sleeved in the snap and the plurality of snap claws are inserted in a through hole of the snap cover, thereby making the water hose fit with the tee joint.
Lo teaches an irrigation device (2, fig 1), wherein the irrigation device comprises a tee with two quick connectors (211, 215, fig 1) wherein the quick connectors are detachably connected on two sides of the tee joint (2, fig 3) respectively; wherein each of the quick connectors comprises: a fixing part (26, fig 8), and a cover (25, fig 8); wherein the fixing part comprises a connection ring (211a, fig 8) and a plurality of snap claws (26a 26b, fig 7 it can be seen that the snap claws have a plurality of claws spread around the circumference), and the plurality of snap claws are configured to be driven close to an axis of the connection ring during tightening a connection of the cover (fig 8, when a hose or cap like 28 is threaded into the connector, the snap claws 26a/b are driven further in to create a stable connection) with the tee joint in a situation that an end of a water hose (a water hose would be inserted in the same manner as 28 in fig 8, see B/C, fig 10) is sleeved in the connection ring and the plurality of snap claws are inserted in a through hole of the snap cover (fig 7 vs fig 8), thereby making the water hose fit with the tee joint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the quick connection portion disclosed by Carlberg by using the hose quick connection portion of Lo. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an outer clamping method such as the one used by Lo can maintain connection for higher flow pressures and thus would be preferred in larger irrigation systems.
Lin teaches a hose connector with a sealing ring (27, fig 3), wherein the sealing ring is configured to sleeve in the snap cover (13, fig 3) of the connection device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the quick connection portion disclosed by Carlberg and Lo by using a sealing ring sleeved into the cover of Carlsberg and Lo based on the teachings of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a sealing ring around a hose connection is a cheap and effective method of minimizing potential leakage.
Auguste teaches wherein a hose connection for an irrigation sprayer can be a snap on (par. 0046) rather than a threaded connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the quick connection portion disclosed by Carlberg and Lo by using a snap cover that connects to a snap ring on the fixing part rather than the threaded cover of Carlsberg and Lo based on the teachings of Auguste. Auguste teaches these as being functionally equivalent embodiments (par. 0046), thus one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that one could be used instead of the other based upon part and machining availability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlberg as modified by Lo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roide (US-Pub 2011/0000976)
Regarding claim 7, Carlberg as modified by Lo does not disclose wherein a side edge of the spraying head (3) is provided with a plurality of water outlets (33) disposed around a central line of the spraying head (3).
Roide teaches an irrigation emitter (20, fig 6) wherein a side edge of the spraying head is provided with a plurality of water outlets (arrows leading out of the emitter head 20, fig 6) disposed around a central line of the spraying head (going vertically along the centerline of the emitter and ground spike, fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the emitter head disclosed by Carlberg as modified by Lo by having the emitter head have a plurality of water outlets around the side edge rather than one on the top based on the teachings of Roid. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that spraying water upward can waste water as it is carried off by wind or can cause water to land on leaves increasing risk of infection, so spraying from the sides can reduce the risk of these negative outcomes.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752