DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are pending in the instant application, and are the subject of the Office Action below. Priority The application , filed 9/1/2023 is a Continuation of 17197561, filed 3/10/2021, now U.S. Patent 11779571 . 17197561 is a continuation of 16944956, filed 7/31/2020, now abandoned . 16944956 is a continuation of 16738392, filed 1/9/2020, now U.S. Patent 10765667 . 16738392 is a continuation of 16575769, filed 9/19/2019, now abandoned . 16575769 is a continuation of 15902179, filed 2/22/2018, now U.S. Patent 10456384 . 15902179 is a continuation of 15398283, filed 1/4/2017, now U.S. Patent 9931325 . 15398283 is a continuation of 13755578, filed 1/31/2013, now U.S. Patent 9566270 and having 2 RCE-type filings therein . 13755578 is a continuation of 12880739, filed 9/13/2010, now abandoned . 12880739 cl aims Priority from Provisional Application s 61329511, filed 4/29/2010 ; 61262475, filed 11/18/2009 ; and 61241945, filed 9/13/2009 . 12880739 is a continuation in part of 12393979, filed 2/26/2009, now U.S. Patent 8309569 . 12393979 c laims Priority from Provisional Application 61102801, filed 10/3/2008 . 12393979 c laims Priority from Provisional Application 61031679, filed 2/26/2008 . Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 5/28/2024 and 11/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharara et al. , A Randomized Double-Blind Placebo-Controlled Trial of Rifaximin in Patients with Abdominal Bloating and Flatulence, Am J Gastroenterol , 101:326–333, 2006 , in further view of Scarpignato , Rifaximin, a Poorly Absorbed Antibiotic: Pharmacology and Clinical Potential, Chemotherapy , 51(suppl 1):36–66 , 2005 , and Marchina et al. , Infectious diarrhea in the aged: controlled clinical trial of Rifaximin, Chemioterapia , 7(5) :336-40, 1988 . C laim 1 is directed to a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . The last wherein clause, “ wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days …” is directed to the result of treatment. Looking to the MPEP 2111.04 discussing Claim Interpretation, we see this quote about interpreting Contingent Clauses (Wherein): The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina , 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps"). In In re Giannelli , 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court found that an "adapted to" clause limited a machine claim where "the written description makes clear that 'adapted to,' as used in the [patent] application, has a narrower meaning, viz., that the claimed machine is designed or constructed to be used as a rowing machine whereby a pulling force is exerted on the handles." In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a "‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention." Id. However, the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited .’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). In this method, the wherein clause is simply expressing the intended result of a process step positively recited . When a patient with symptomatic IBS is administered 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID)for 14 days the patients symptoms will improve. As such the clause is not given weight. Sharara teach es a method of tre ating IBS in patients , (see Table 1) , by administering 400 mg of rifaximin BID (total of 800 mg/day) (see page 326 in abstract of Sharara ; see also page 328 bottom right column of Sharara ) . The patients have both abdominal bloating and flatulence, this meets the symptoms limitation of claim 1. Although Sharara teaches a method of treating IBS by administering rifaximin to subjects , he does not explicitly teach the dosage of 550 mg of rifaximin TID for 14 days as required . Therefore , one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating both male and female subjects with rifaximin . Scarpignato and Marchina are brought in to show that the dosing of rifaximin is variable and safe doses are as high as 600 mg three times a day (total of 1,800 mg/day) for 14 days . Scarpignato teaches that rifaximin can effectively be administered to patients at doses as low as 800 mg daily to a dose as high as of 600 mg three times a day (total of 1,800 mg/day) for 14 days (see page 43 at bottom left column of Scarpignato ). According to Scarpignato : “Although the pharmacokinetics of rifaximin in patients with renal insufficiency has not been specifically studied, its very low renal excretion makes any dose adjustment unnecessary . The same holds true for patients with hepatic insufficiency. In fact, the mean peak drug plasma concentrations (i.e. 13.5 ng/ml) detected in subjects with hepatic encephalopathy patients given rifaximin 800 mg 3 times daily for 7 days were not dissimilar to those found in healthy subjects and patients with IBD . Indeed, in all the trials performed in this condition the drug has been well tolerated. Finally, drug absorption and excretion have not been evaluated in pediatric or geriatric populations. However, here again the tolerability of rifaximin in childhood and in the elderly has found to be extremely good. ” See page 47 in right column of Scarpignato . This reference is used to show that generally, rifaximin can safely be administered at doses at a dose as low as 800 mg/day to doses as high as 600 mg TID (total of 1,800 mg/day) and even 800 mg/TID (total of 2,400 mg/day) to subjects . Marchina teaches that patients were effectively administered rifaximin for the treatment of diarrheal condition s ( see page 338 in Table 1 of Marchina ) . According Marchina : “Rifaximin’s antimicrobial action induced early remission of symptoms , which completely disappeared by the 4 th day if treatment . The new antidiarrheal drug did not give rise to toxicity of local/systemic intolerance , which proves its complete safety and handiness . Thanks to its high therapeutic activity and to the absence of side effects , rifaximin seems particularly indicated in the early treatment of diarrheal conditions affecting patients who are more subjected to severe dehydration, such as children , aged people or patients with cardiocirculatory disorders. Considering the complete absence of side effects , we advise the early use of rifaximin in the treatment of diarrheas of probable infective origin , especially in cases of aged people and children where prolonged diarrheic symptomatology may lead to clinically significant dehydration .” S ee right column of page 338 in Marchina ; see also page 338 in Table 1 of Marchina . This reference is used to show that patients were administered 200mg TID of rifaximin to treat diarrhea . One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that subjects would benefit from rifaximin if presenting with IBS. Since the art teaches the dose range from as little as 400 mg of rifaximin BID (total of 800 mg/day), and as high as 800 mg/TID (total of 2,400 mg/day) to subjects, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as the taught range encompasses the instantly claimed dose of 550 mg of rifaximin TID (total of 1,650 mg/day) , see MPEP 2144.05 . Given the variability of the patient, one would find the instantly claimed dosage obvious. Claim 2 recites that the IBS is diarrhea-predominant IBS. Claim 3 recites that the IBS is alternating -predominant IBS. Sharara teaches of the patients administered rifaximin, 20%, 38.3%, and 41.7% suffered from diarrhea-predominant, constipation-predominant, and alternating diarrhea and constipation, which meets the limitations (see page 329 in left column of Sharara ). Claim s 6 and 7 recites that treating one or more IBS symptoms comprises reduction in baseline symptoms (7 requires establishing a baseline) . According to Sharara : “By the end of phase 2, a significant difference in the subjective feeling of symptom relief was noted with 26/63 (41.3%) of patients in the rifaximin group reporting a decrease in the overall severity of symptoms versus 14/61 (22.9%) in the placebo group B ( p = 0.03)… In our study, patients with functional colonic symptoms showed improved response to rifaximin in the relief of their chronic gas-related symptoms although this effect was more pronounced in IBS patients .” See page 329 in left column 2 nd paragraph of Sharara . Claim 8 and 9 requires a verbal “yes to relief of IBS symptoms is achieved following 7 days , in a very specific question . While the question is not noted in the art, given the relief this verbal affirmation would be obvious based on the data in the art. As indicated in the rejection above, Marchina teaches that subjects administered rifaximin experienced early remission of symptoms, which completely disappeared by the 4th day if treatment (s ee right column of page 338 in Marchina ) . Relief of symptoms after 4 days necessarily includes relief of symptoms after 7 days. Claim 26 requires adequate relief of IBS symptoms comprises an affirmative response from a subject if asked whether they have had ad equate relief of symptom of IBS such as bloating. Sharara teaches that among patients with IBS, a favorable response to rifaximin was noted (see abstract on page 326 of Sharara ). According to Sharara : “The study of the main efficacy variable was the subjective feeling of global symptom improvement as reported by the subjects on three occasions, once at the end of each phase in response to the following question: “ Do you consider that your symptoms have improved since starting the study drug?” A positive reply to the question was considered a positive response …. Our results show an advantage for rifaximin in patient overall-assessment of response and in a cumulative and a bloating-specific patient symptom score . ” See bottom left column of page 328 in Sharara ; see also page 332 in left column 2 nd paragraph of Sharara . Therefore, similar to the rejections above, c laims 8, 9, and 26 are prima facie obvious. Claim 1 recites that the IBS symptoms comprise one or more of cramping, pain, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, urgency, or tenesmus. As indicated in the rejection above, Sharara teaches of the patients administered rifaximin, 20%, 38.3%, and 41.7% suffered from diarrhea-predominant, constipation-predominant, and alternating diarrhea and constipation, which meets the limitations of claims 37 and 38 (see page 329 in left column of Sharara ). Claims 20 and 22 require a patient 65 years or older, and 22 requires the patient is non-white. This is included in the patient population as taught in Sharara . Claim 37 requires, wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in 4 weeks of adequate relief of the one or more IBS symptoms. This wherein clause is simply expressing the intended result of a process step positively recited and is therefore inherent and not given weight. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp . 11 , 779 , 571 Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting a s being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11 , 779 , 571 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘571 states a method of treating bloating associated with diarrhea-predominant irritable bowel syndrome ( dIBS ) in a female subject, said method comprising administering, 550 mg of rifaximin TID for 14 days to the female subject, thereby treating bloating associated with dIBS in the female subject. , thereby ; this is an anticipatory species to the instant claims. Instant claim 1 is anticipated, a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . 10,765,667 Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting a s being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,765,667 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘667 states a method of treating one or more symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) in a subject 65 years of age or older, said method comprising administering, 550 mg of rifaximin TID for 14 days to the subject, thereby treating one or more symptoms of IBS in the subject 65 years of age or older ; thereby ; this is an anticipatory species to the instant claims. Instant claim 1 is anticipated, a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . 10,456 , 384 Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting a s being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,456,384 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ’384 is directed to a method of treating one or more symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) in a subject 65 years of age or older, said method comprising administering, for between 14 days and 24 months, 550 mg of rifaximin TID to the subject, thereby treating a symptom of IBS in the subject 65 years of age or older ; thereby ; this is an anticipatory species to the instant claims. Instant claim 1 is anticipated, a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . 9,931,325 Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting a s being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,931,325 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘325 is directed towards method of treating bloating associated with diarrhea-predominant IBS in a subject 65 years old or older, said method comprising administering, for between 14 days and 24 months, 550 mg of rifaximin TID , to the subject, thereby treating bloating associated with diarrhea-predominant IBS in the subject 65 years old or older ; thereby ; this is an anticipatory species to the instant claims. Instant claim 1 is anticipated, a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . 9,566,270 Claims 1-3, 6-9, 20, 22, 26, and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting a s being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,566,270 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘270 is directed towards a method of treating bloating associated with alternating IBS in a subject 65 years old or older, said method comprising administering, for between 14 days and 24 months , 550 mg of rifaximin TID , to the subject, thereby treating bloating associated with alternating IBS in th e subject 65 years old or older ; thereby ; this is an anticipatory species to the instant claims. Instant claim 1 is anticipated, a method of treating one or more symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in a subject in need thereof , the method comprising: orally administering to the subject a dosage form comprising 550 mg of rifaximin three times a day (TID) for 14 days , wherein the symptoms are selected from cramping, diarrhea, constipation, lumpy stool, watery stool, frequent stool production, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, and/or bowel movement urgency, and wherein removing the subject from treatment after the 14 days results in from 1 to 24 weeks of adequate relief of the symptoms . Conclusion No claims allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Enter examiner's name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL J SCHMITT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7047 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8-6 MidDay Flex . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jeffrey Lundgren can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-5541 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL J SCHMITT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1629 /JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629