DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, claims 9 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4 recites, “the first locking position to enter the second locking position,” claim should be amended to recite --the first locking feature to enter the second locking feature--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soudy et al. [US 11,870,176] in view of Masada et al. [US 2019/0260149].
Regarding claim 1, Soudy discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a housing (fig. 5a; 402), including: a cavity (fig. 4a; 404) extending along a cavity axis (extension direction of 404), one side of the cavity having a positioning hole (fig. 4a; bottom side of the 404 that receives 136); and a pair of sides (fig. 5a; sides of 402 that hooks 136), each side defining a first locking feature (see mark-up below from fig. 5a; 1L) and a second locking feature (mark-up; 2L) defined along an actuation axis (fig. 5a; vertical direction) perpendicular to the cavity axis (extension direction of 404); a terminal (fig. 2a; 200) arranged in the cavity (404) and including an elastic contact arm (fig. 2a; 232) and a stopper (fig. 2a; 234); and a terminal position assurance (136) sleeved on the housing (402) and having a top wall (see mark-up and fig. 5a; section of 136 that connects E1) and two ends (mark-up; E1) extending upward therefrom to form side walls (E1), an inner side (figs. 5a-b; inner side of E1 that faces 402) of each side wall (E1) having a connection part (mark-up; CP), the terminal position assurance (136) connectable with one of the first locking features (1L) or the second locking features (2L) via the connection parts (CP) to fix the terminal position assurance (136) to the housing (402).
Mark-up
Regarding claim 2, Soudy discloses wherein the top wall (section of 136 that connects E1) includes a positioning column (fig. 5b; 410) extending upward, the first locking features (1L) constrain the positioning column (410) inserted into the positioning hole (bottom side of the 404 that receives 136) and holds the positioning column (410) out of a loading path (fig. 7; arrow) of the terminal (200).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Soudy does not disclose the stopper limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm or the two ends extending downward [claim 1]; the positioning column extending downward [claim 2].
Regarding claims 1 and 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two ends and the positioning column extending downward because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the two ends and positioning column extending downward instead of upward since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167, further, the applicant has not disclosed that the downward extending ends or positioning column of the terminal position assurance (TPA) is a critical feature of the TPA or invention and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the two ends and positioning column extending upward; it also would have been obvious for the benefit of improving the retention of inserted terminals.
Furthermore, regarding claim 1, modified Soudy still does not disclose the stopper limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm.
Regarding claim 1, Masada teaches the stopper (Par [0067] Ln 3-7; lower surface) limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm (fig. 2f; 117).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stopper limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm as suggested by Masada for the benefit of improving over deformation protection for a contact arm.
Regarding claim 3, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein after the terminal (200) is loaded into the cavity (404), the terminal position assurance (136) is operable to move along the actuation axis (vertical direction) such that the connection parts (mark-up above; CP) move from the first locking features (1L) to the second locking features (2L).
Regarding claim 4, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein as the terminal position assurance (136) is moved from the first locking features (1L) to the second locking features (2L, see figs. 4a-c and 5a-b), the positioning column (410) acts on the stopper (234) of the terminal (200) such that the terminal (200) reaches and remains in a preset position (Col 5 Ln 39-43).
Regarding claim 5, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein each of the first locking features (1L) and the second locking features (2L) include mounting grooves (1L/2L are grooves) symmetrically arranged on the two sides of the housing (402), and the connection parts (CP) are protrusions (CP are protrusions) corresponding to the mounting grooves (1L/2L).
Regarding claim 6, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein the protrusions (CP) each include an inclined structure (mark-up above; inclined structure of CP), as the connection parts (CP) are moved from the first locking features (1L) to the second locking features (2L), an inclined surface (mark-up above; inclined surface of CP) of the inclined structure (inclined structure of CP) slides along an edge (mark-up above; inclined surface of 1L) of the first locking feature (1L) to enter the second locking feature (2L).
Regarding claim 7, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein a bottom (fig. 7; 702) of the positioning column (410) has an angled surface (angled surface of 702) enabling the positioning column (410) to smoothly advance (Col 8 Ln 58-62) the terminal (200) to the preset position (fig. 4c) along the angled surface (angled surface of 702) after entering the cavity (404; see Col 8 Ln 58-62).
Regarding claim 8, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein the terminal (200) includes a terminal side wall (fig. 2a; side wall of 200 that 234 is bent from) bent inwardly to form the stopper (234), the positioning column (410) abuts against the stopper (234) after entering the cavity (404) so that the terminal (200) reaches the preset position (fig. 4c) and remains in the preset position.
Regarding claim 10, Soudy discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a housing (fig. 5a; 402), including: two sides (two sides of 402) each having a connection part (fig. 5a; protrusions on the side of 402); and a cavity (fig. 4a; 404) extending along a cavity axis (extension direction of 404), one side (bottom) of the cavity (404) having a positioning hole (fig. 4a; bottom side of the 404 that receives 136); a terminal (fig. 2a; 200) arranged in the cavity (404) and including an elastic contact arm (fig. 2a; 232) and a stopper (fig. 2a; 234); and a terminal position assurance (136) sleeved on the housing (402) and including: a top wall (see mark-up #2 below from fig. 5a; section of 136 that connects E1); and side walls (mark-up #2; E1) extending upward from ends of the top wall (section of 136 that connects E1), an inner side (see mark-up #2 and figs. 5a-b; inner side of E1 that faces 402) of the each of the side walls (E1) including a first locking feature (mark-up #2; 1L) and a second locking feature (mark-up #2; 2L) arranged along an actuation axis (fig. 5a; vertical direction) perpendicular to the cavity axis (extension direction of 404), the terminal position assurance (136) connectable with the connection parts (CP) via the first locking features (1L) or the second locking features (2L) to fix the terminal position assurance (136) to the housing (402).
Mark-up #2
Regarding claim 11, Soudy discloses wherein the top wall (section of 136 that connects E1) includes a positioning column (fig. 5b; 410) extending upward, the first locking features (1L) constrain the positioning column (410) inserted into the positioning hole (bottom side of the 404 that receives 136) and holds the positioning column (410) out of a loading path (fig. 7; arrow) of the terminal (200).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Soudy does not disclose the stopper adapted to limit a displacement of the elastic contact arm or the side walls extending downward [claim 10]; the positioning column extending downward [claim 11].
Regarding claims 10 and 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the side walls and the positioning column extending downward because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the side walls and positioning column extending downward instead of upward since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167, further, the applicant has not disclosed that the downward extending side walls or positioning column of the TPA is a critical feature of the TPA or invention and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the side walls and positioning column extending upward; it also would have been obvious for the benefit of improving the retention of inserted terminals.
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, modified Soudy still does not disclose the stopper adapted to limit a displacement of the elastic contact arm.
However, Masada teaches the stopper (Par [0067] Ln 3-7; lower surface) limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm (fig. 2f; 117).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stopper limiting a displacement of the elastic contact arm as suggested by Masada for the benefit of improving over deformation protection for a contact arm.
Regarding claim 12, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein after the terminal (200) is loaded into the cavity (404), the terminal position assurance (136) is operable to move along the actuation axis (vertical direction) such that the connection parts (mark-up #2 above; CP) of the housing (402) move from the first locking features (1L) to the second locking features (2L, see figs. 5a-b), and the positioning column (410) enters the cavity (404) and acts on the stopper (234) such that the terminal (200) reaches and remains in a preset position (fig. 4c).
Regarding claim 13, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein each of the first locking features (1L) and the second locking features (2L) include mounting grooves (1L and 2L are grooves) symmetrically arranged on the inner side of the side walls (E1) of the terminal position assurance (136), and the connection parts (CP) of the housing (402) are protrusions (see figs. 5a-b) corresponding to the mounting grooves (1L/2L grooves), the connection parts (CP) are connected with the mounting groove (1L/2L grooves) by a snap fit (1L/2L is configured to snap onto CP by the construction).
Regarding claim 14, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein each protrusion (CP) includes an inclined structure (mark-up #2 above; incline structure of CP), and when the connection part (CP) is moved from the first locking feature (1L) to the second locking feature (2L), an inclined surface (mark-up #2 above; incline surface of CP) of the inclined structure slides along an edge (inclined edge of 1L) of the first locking position (1L) to enter the second locking position (2L, see figs. 5a-b).
Regarding claim 15, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein a bottom (fig. 7; 702) of the positioning column (410) has an angled surface (angled surface of 702) which enables the positioning column (410) smoothly advance (Col 8 Ln 58-62) the terminal (200) to the preset position (fig. 4c) along the angled surface (angled surface of 702) after entering the cavity (404; see Col 8 Ln 58-62).
Regarding claim 16, Soudy modified by Masada has been discussed above. Soudy discloses wherein the terminal (200) includes a terminal side wall (fig. 2a; side wall of 200 that 234 is bent from) bent inwardly to form the stopper (234), wherein the positioning column (410) abuts against the stopper (234) after entering the cavity (404) so that the terminal (200) reaches the preset position (fig. 4c) and remains in the preset position.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soudy et al. [US 11,870,176] and Masada et al. [US 2019/0260149] as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Adachi et al. [US 7,661,987].
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Soudy and Masada disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein a length of a cross section of an inner contour of the terminal position assurance is less than a length of a cross section of an outer contour of the housing, and the terminal position assurance and the housing are formed from elastic material [claim 9]; wherein a length of a cross section of an inner contour of the terminal position assurance is less than a length of a cross section of an outer contour of the housing, and the terminal position assurance and the housing are of elastic material [claim 17].
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Adachi teaches a length of a cross section of an inner contour (fig. 9; cross section of 14) of the terminal position assurance (fig. 9; 14) is less than a length of a cross section of an outer contour (fig. 9; cross section of 11) of the housing (11, 14 is significantly smaller than 11 therefore, the inner contour length would be less than the outer contour length), and the terminal position assurance (14) and the housing (11) are formed from elastic material (fig. 9; 14f and 29 are deformable).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a length of a cross section of an inner contour of the terminal position assurance is less than a length of a cross section of an outer contour of the housing, and the terminal position assurance and the housing are formed from elastic material as suggested by Adachi for the benefit of improving the mechanical retention strength between a TPA and connector housing.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soudy et al. [US 11,870,176].
Regarding claim 18, Soudy discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a housing (402), including: a cavity (404) extending along a cavity axis (extending direction of 404), one side (bottom) of the cavity (404) having a positioning hole (fig. 4a; bottom side of the 404 that receives 136); and a pair of sides (sides of 402 that face 136) ; a terminal position assurance (136) arranged under the housing (402), including: a top wall (fig. 5a; section of 136 that connects outside arms of 136) defining a positioning column (410) extending upward therefrom and aligned with the positioning hole (bottom side of the 404 that receives 136); and two side walls (fig. 5a; outside arms of 136 that face 402) extending upward from the top wall (section of 136 that connects outside arms of 136), the side walls (outside arms of 136 that face 402) selectively engageable with the pair of sides (sides of 402 that face 136) of the housing (402) in each of a first locking position (fig. 5a) and a second locking position (fig. 5b), the first and second locking positions (figs. 5a-b) defined along an actuation axis (vertical direction) perpendicular to the cavity axis (extending direction of 404), wherein: in the first locking position (fig. 5a), the positioning column (410) is held out of a loading path (fig. 7; arrow) of the terminal (200); and in the second locking position (fig. 5b), the positioning column (410) is moved into the cavity (404) and is adapted to engage with a stopper (234) of a terminal (202) arranged within the cavity (404) such that the terminal reaches and remains in a preset position (fig. 4c).
Soudy does not disclose the TPA arranged over the housing or the positioning column and two side walls extending downward.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the TPA arranged over the housing and the positioning column and two side walls extending downward because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the TPA arranged over the housing instead of under it and the side walls and positioning column extending downward instead of upward since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167, further, the applicant has not disclosed that the TPA arranged over the housing and the downward extending side walls and positioning column are critical features of the invention and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the TPA being underneath the housing and the side walls and positioning column extending upward; it also would have been obvious for the benefit of improving the retention of inserted terminals.
Regarding claim 19, modified Soudy has been discussed above. Soudy discloses (see mark-up below) each side (sides of 402 that face E1) of the housing (402) defines a pair of grooves (1L, 2L), one of the grooves (1L) of the pair of grooves corresponds to the first locking position (fig. 5a) and the other one of the grooves (2L) of the pair of grooves (1L, 2L) corresponds to the second locking position (fig. 5b); and each of the side walls (E1) of the terminal position assurance (136) defines a protrusion (CP) engaging with a respective one of the pair of grooves (1L/2L) in the first locking position (fig. 5a) and the second locking position (fig. 5b).
Mark-up
Regarding claim 20, modified Soudy has been discussed above. Soudy discloses (see mark-up #2 below) each of the side walls (E1) of the terminal position assurance (136) defines a pair of grooves (1L/2L), one of the grooves of the pair of grooves (1L) corresponds to the first locking position (fig. 5a) and the other one of the grooves of the pair of grooves (2L) corresponds to the second locking position (fig. 5b); and each side of the housing (402) defines a protrusion (CP) engaging with a respective one of the pair of grooves (1L/2L) in the first locking position (fig. 5a) and the second locking position (fig. 5a).
Mark-up #2
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2831