DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This office action is issued in response to communication filed on 6/12/26 . Claims 1-17 are pending in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chancellor et al.( US Patent Application Publication 2023/0368063 A1, hereinafter “Chancellor”) and further in view of Sim ( US Patent Application Publication 2019/0385055 A1, hereinafter “Sim”)
As to claim 1, Chanceller teaches a method to train an output layer of a reservoir computer performed by at least one digital computer in communication with at least one quantum processor, the at least one quantum processor including a plurality of qubits, the method comprising:
[receiving, by the at least one digital computer, a dataset comprised of a plurality of data points, each data point including an input and a corresponding target output];
initializing, by the at least one digital computer, states of the plurality of qubits to a first state;(Chancellor par [0034] teaches set the energy states of a set of qubits)
for each data point in the dataset:
determining, by the at least one digital computer, values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input, programming, by the at least one digital computer, the at least one quantum processor based on the determined Hamiltonian parameters,(Chancellor par [0033] teaches configure a learning model using the quantum annealer based on a configuration vector or other representation of a set of configuration parameters)
causing, by at least one digital computer, the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol to evolve each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective second state, the annealing protocol comprising performance of reverse quantum annealing,( Chancellor par [0036] teaches performing a set of quantum operations to evolve state for a quantum annealer determine updated states of a set of sample based on configuration parameters. Chancellor par [0037] teaches perform reverse annealing operation) )
causing, by the at least one digital computer, measurement of the respective second state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits and transmission of measured second states of the plurality of qubits to the digital computer, (Chancellor par [0021] teaches the states of the quantum processor 114 may be read by the readout system 116. The readout system 116 may then provide results read from the quantum processor 114 to the classical processor 142 or other components of the computing system 100. For example, the readout system 116 may provide the resulting spin state Z.sub.k for each k-th qubit of a set of qubits)
applying, by the at least one digital computer, a linear transformation to the measured second states of the plurality of qubits to obtain a predicted output, the linear transformation including a set of linear parameter weights, (Chancellor par [0026] teaches Some embodiments may perform operations to update parameters one at a time. For example, some embodiments may perform a first set of annealing operations using the quantum processor 114, determine a first comparison value based on a first set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the coupling parameter J.sub.kl based on the first comparison value. Some embodiments may then perform a second set of annealing operations, determine a second comparison value based on a second set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the field value h.sub.k based on the second comparison value) and
for a subsequent data point in the dataset, setting, by the at least one digital computer, the first states of the plurality of qubits to the measured second states of the plurality of qubits (Chancellor par [0033] teaches some embodiments may obtain a set of outputs of previous executions of quantum annealer or an oracle to determine a set of initial state values); and
[optimizing, by the at least one digital computer, the set of linear parameter weights, the optimizing based on the predicted output and the target output for all data points in the dataset].
Chancellor fails to expressly receiving, by the at least one digital computer, a dataset comprised of a plurality of data points, each data point including an input and a corresponding target output; optimizing, by the at least one digital computer, the set of linear parameter weights, the optimizing based on the predicted output and the target output for all data points in the dataset.
However, Sim teaches receiving, by the at least one digital computer, a dataset comprised of a plurality of data points, each data point including an input and a corresponding target output;( Sim par [0047]-[0048] teaches the artificial neural network takes past data as input and output feature data) and optimizing, by the at least one digital computer, the set of linear parameter weights, the optimizing based on the predicted output and the target output for all data points in the dataset.(Sim par [[0021] The processor may be specifically configured to calculate the cost function based on a direct error between a future data prediction value corresponding to the first output data and an actual future data observation value, and an indirect error between the second output data corresponding to past observation data reconstructed through the future data prediction value and actual past observation data, and to update parameters of the first artificial neural network in a direction to minimize the cost function.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Chancellor and Sim to achieve the claimed invention . One would have been motivated to make such combination to enhance prediction accuracy.(Sim par [0009])
As to claim 2, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the causing the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol comprises performing reverse quantum annealing until a point in a quantum critical region, such that quantum fluctuations induce a change in state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits.(Chancellor par [0037] teaches perform reverse annealing operations by setting the state of a set of qubits to represent a first low energy state and then permitting the set of qubits to fluctuate to explore a sample space)
As to claim 3, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 2, wherein after the performing reverse quantum annealing until a point in a quantum critical region, the causing the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol further comprises causing, by at least one digital computer, the at least one quantum processor to perform forward quantum annealing until each qubit in the plurality of qubits has a respective classical state, wherein the respective classical state of each qubit is the respective second state.( Chancellor par [0038] teaches some embodiments may linearly decrease the value of s from one to s*, where s* may be a value greater than zero, hold the value of s at the reversal distance s* for a period of time τ, and then linearly increase the value of s from s* to one)
As to claim 5, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the determining values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input comprises one of: directly translating the input into the Hamiltonian parameters, applying a transformation to the input, and feeding the input into a machine learning model. (Chancellor par [0031] teaches the configuration parameters may be obtained from a database or user entered values)
As to claim 6, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the initializing the states of the plurality of qubits to a first state comprises initializing a state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a same classical state or a same state of superposition. (Chancellor par [0032] teaches the initial state Z may be represented as a vector consisting only 1 or 0)
As to claim 7, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the optimizing the set of linear parameter weights comprises minimizing a distance between the predicted output and the corresponding target output using a cost function. (Sim par [[0021] The processor may be specifically configured to calculate the cost function based on a direct error between a future data prediction value corresponding to the first output data and an actual future data observation value, and an indirect error between the second output data corresponding to past observation data reconstructed through the future data prediction value and actual past observation data, and to update parameters of the first artificial neural network in a direction to minimize the cost function)
As to claim 8, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the optimizing the set of linear parameter weights comprises performing linear regression on the predicted output and the target output for all data points in the dataset. (Sim par [[0021] The processor may be specifically configured to calculate the cost function based on a direct error between a future data prediction value corresponding to the first output data and an actual future data observation value, and an indirect error between the second output data corresponding to past observation data reconstructed through the future data prediction value and actual past observation data, and to update parameters of the first artificial neural network in a direction to minimize the cost function. Linear regression is well known in the art)
As to claim 9, Chancellor and Sim teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a digital processor, cause the processor to execute the method according to claim 1. (Chancellor par [0018] teaches non-transitory media)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chancellor , Sim and further in view of Letourneu et al.(US Patent Application Publication 2022/0374757 A1, hereinafter “Letourneu”)
As to claim 4, Chancellor and Sim teach the method of claim 1, wherein the determining values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input comprises determining values of Hamiltonian parameters [for a spin glass] Hamiltonian model having parameters that are a function of the input. (Chancellor par [0031] teaches the configuration parameters may be obtained from a database or user entered values)
Chancellor and Sim fail to expressly teach a spin glass Hamiltonian model.
However, Letourneu teaches a spin glass Hamiltonian model.( Letourneu par [0028] teaches identify appropriate Hamiltonian parameters for obtaining optimal Ising spin-glass Hamiltonians in performing Boolean logic operations and arithmetic functions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Chancellor , Sim and Letourneu to achieve the claimed invention . One would have been motivated to make such combination to provide a computationally efficient technique for solving these polynomial feasibility problems to design useful systems for Ising model applications.( Letourneu par [0027])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chancellor.
As to claim 10, Chancellor teaches a method to determine a predicted outcome for an input value performed by at least one digital computer in communication with at least one quantum processor, the at least one quantum processor including a plurality of qubits, the method comprising:
receiving, by the at least one digital computer, the input value; initializing, by the at least one digital computer, states of the plurality of qubits to a first state; ;(Chancellor par [0034] teaches set the energy states of a set of qubits)
determining, by the at least one digital computer, values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input value; programming, by the at least one digital computer, the at least one quantum processor based on the determined Hamiltonian parameters; (Chancellor par [0033] teaches configure a learning model using the quantum annealer based on a configuration vector or other representation of a set of configuration parameters)
causing, by the at least one digital computer, the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol to evolve each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective second state, the annealing protocol comprising performance of reverse quantum annealing; (Chancellor par [0036] teaches performing a set of quantum operations to evolve state for a quantum annealer determine updated sates of a set of sample based on configuration parameters. Chancellor par [0037] teaches perform reverse annealing operation)
causing, by the at least one digital computer, a measurement of the respective second state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits and transmission of measured second states of the plurality of qubits to the digital computer (Chancellor par [0021] teaches the states of the quantum processor 114 may be read by the readout system 116. The readout system 116 may then provide results read from the quantum processor 114 to the classical processor 142 or other components of the computing system 100. For example, the readout system 116 may provide the resulting spin state Z.sub.k for each k-th qubit of a set of qubits); and
applying, by the at least one digital computer, a linear transformation to the measured second states of the plurality of qubits to obtain a predicted output value, the linear transformation including a set of linear parameter weights. (Chancellor par [0026] teaches Some embodiments may perform operations to update parameters one at a time. For example, some embodiments may perform a first set of annealing operations using the quantum processor 114, determine a first comparison value based on a first set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the coupling parameter J.sub.kl based on the first comparison value. Some embodiments may then perform a second set of annealing operations, determine a second comparison value based on a second set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the field value h.sub.k based on the second comparison value)
As to claim 11, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the causing the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol comprises causing the at least one quantum processor to perform reverse quantum annealing until a point in a quantum critical region, such that quantum fluctuations induce a change in state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits. .(Chancellor par [0037] teaches perform reverse annealing operations by setting the state of a set of qubits to represent a first low energy state and then permitting the set of qubits to fluctuate to explore a sample space)
As to claim 12, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 11, wherein, after performing the reverse quantum annealing until a point in a quantum critical region, the causing the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol further comprises causing the at least one quantum processor to perform forward quantum annealing until each qubit in the plurality of qubits has a respective classical state, wherein the respective classical state of each qubit is the respective second state. .( Chancellor par [0038] teaches some embodiments may linearly decrease the value of s from one to s*, where s* may be a value greater than zero, hold the value of s at the reversal distance s* for a period of time τ, and then linearly increase the value of s from s* to one)
As to claim 13, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input comprises determining values of Hamiltonian parameters for a spin glass Hamiltonian model having parameters that are a function of the input value.(Chancellor par [0032] teaches obtaining a set of configuration parameters for a model, as indicated by block 304. The configuration parameters may be obtained from a database, user-entered values, etc. For example, some embodiments may obtain an initial set of configuration parameters for a Hamiltonian used to represent an Ising model)
As to claim 14, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input value comprises one of: directly translating the input value into the Hamiltonian parameters, applying a transformation to the input value, and feeding the input value into a machine learning model. (Chancellor par [0031] teaches the configuration parameters may be obtained from a database or user entered values)
As to claim 15, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the initializing the states of the plurality of qubits to a first state comprises initializing a state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a same classical state or a same random state. (Chancellor par [0032] teaches the initial state Z may be represented as a vector consisting only 1 or 0)
As to claim 16, Chancellor teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the input value is a vector of input values (Chancellor par [0032] teaches a vector consisting of “1” or “0” to represent an initial state Z), and the following acts are performed sequentially (the examiner interprets ordering the steps is design choice) for each input value in the vector of input values:
the determining values of Hamiltonian parameters based on the input value; (Chancellor par [0033] teaches configure a learning model using the quantum annealer based on a configuration vector or other representation of a set of configuration parameters)
the programming the at least one quantum processor based on determined Hamiltonian parameters (Chancellor par [0033] teaches configure a learning model using the quantum annealer based on a configuration vector or other representation of a set of configuration parameters) ;
the causing the at least one quantum processor to perform quantum annealing according to an annealing protocol to evolve each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective second state, the annealing protocol comprising performance of reverse quantum annealing; (Chancellor par [0036] teaches performing a set of quantum operations to evolve state for a quantum annealer determine updated sates of a set of sample based on configuration parameters. Chancellor par [0037] teaches perform reverse annealing operation)
the causing a measurement of the respective second state of each qubit of the plurality of qubits and transmission of measured second states of the plurality of qubits to the digital computer; (Chancellor par [0021] teaches the states of the quantum processor 114 may be read by the readout system 116. The readout system 116 may then provide results read from the quantum processor 114 to the classical processor 142 or other components of the computing system 100. For example, the readout system 116 may provide the resulting spin state Z.sub.k for each k-th qubit of a set of qubits)
the applying a linear transformation to the measured second states of the plurality of qubits to obtain a predicted output value, the linear transformation including a set of linear parameter weights Chancellor par [0026] teaches Some embodiments may perform operations to update parameters one at a time. For example, some embodiments may perform a first set of annealing operations using the quantum processor 114, determine a first comparison value based on a first set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the coupling parameter J.sub.kl based on the first comparison value. Some embodiments may then perform a second set of annealing operations, determine a second comparison value based on a second set of samples read by the readout system 116, and then update the field value h.sub.k based on the second comparison value)
; and
for a subsequent input value in the vector of input values, setting first states of the plurality of qubits to the measured second states of the plurality of qubits. (Chancellor par [0033] teaches some embodiments may obtain a set of outputs of previous executions of quantum annealer or an oracle to determine a set of initial state values)
As to claim 17, Chancellor teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a digital processor, cause the processor to execute the method according to claim 10. (Chancellor par [0018] teaches non-transitory media)
Conclusion
/HIEN L DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147