DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07/10/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 15-20 are cancelled, claims 1-2, 11, 13, and 21-26 have been amended; and claims 1, 11, and 21 are independent claims. Claims 1-14 and 21-26 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is withdrawn as the claims have been amended.
The rejection of claims 1, 11, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) is withdrawn as the claims have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments in regards to independent claims 1, 11, and 21: “Furthermore, Applicant submits that Chun fails to disclose the feature of to "cause, based at least in part on the trigger condition, the mobile device to transition to a locked state where at least some applications of the mobile device are inaccessible on the external display device and the mobile device," as claimed (emphasis added).”
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that Chun does teach "cause, based at least in part on the trigger condition, the mobile device to transition to a locked state where at least some applications of the mobile device are inaccessible on the external display device and the mobile device." Paragraph [0182] of Chun describes how “the terminal 300 may be locked when the user does not manipulate the terminal 300 for a predetermined time. In this case, the locking screen may be displayed on the display unit of the terminal 300. When the predetermined time is shorter than the above-described threshold time, before the controller 170 changes the display state of the mirroring image to the non-display state, the screen of the terminal 300 may be changed to the locking screen.” Paragraph [0195] and [0196] of Chun further teaches how “the terminal 300 may be switched to a sleep state when there is absent the operation of the terminal 300 by the user or when the event does not occur for a predetermined time (S1700). The sleep state may refer to the state that the terminal 300 may not transmit the mirroring image data to the display device 100 or may not perform other functions,” and “[w]hen a specific event occurs in the sleep state, the terminal 300 may be switched to a wake-up state (S1710). For example, the terminal 300 in the sleep state may be switched to the wake-up state due to user input or other events.” The screen of the mobile device may enter into a lock state after a predetermined time and the mirrored image may enter into a non-display state or a screen protection image (Chun: Para. [0185]). The lock state of the mobile device will prevent access to the applications via the mobile device and the display device. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this corresponds to and teaches in the instant claim limitation, “cause, based at least in part on the trigger condition, the mobile device to transition to a locked state where at least some applications of the mobile device are inaccessible on the external display device and the mobile device.”
Applicants’ remaining arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by amendment.
Specification Objections
The Specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). The specification does not sufficiently provide support for the claim limitations as following:
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein to determine that the mobile device is connected to the external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection and restrict the at least some applications of the mobile device accessible by the external display device based, at least in part, on a location of the mobile device.” However, the aforementioned limitation is not discussed in the Specification as explicitly recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2; claim 2 recites the limitations “wherein to determine that the mobile device is connected to the external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection and restrict the at least some applications of the mobile device accessible by the external display device based, at least in part, on a location of the mobile device.” (emphasis added) However, the said limitations are not discussed in the specification. At most, Paragraphs [0046], [0048], and [0049] of the Applicant’s Instant Specification describe how “[a]t 402 it is determined that one or more monitoring conditions pertaining to a mobile device occur. The monitoring conditions, for instance, pertain to different state conditions of the mobile device 102. Examples of the monitoring conditions include at least one of that the mobile device 102 is connected to the display device 104 via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection, that the mobile device 102 is connected to a data network (e.g., the network 106) such that the mobile device 102 can stream data from the data network, that the mobile device 102 is streaming cloud content to the display device 104 such as from the cloud computing resources 124, that the mobile device 102 is not utilized as an input device for providing input to data transmitted from the mobile device 102 to the display device 104, that one or more input devices 128 are connected to the mobile device 102 for providing input to content (e.g., cloud content) transmitted from the mobile device 102 to the display device 104, and so forth,” and “[a]t 406 it is detected that a trigger condition occurs in relation to the data reception. Examples of different trigger conditions are described herein, such as an indication that the data reception falls below a threshold amount of data received at the mobile device 102 from the cloud service 116 over a threshold time duration. In implementations the threshold amount of data and/or the threshold time duration are user configurable. Alternatively or additionally the threshold amount of data and/or the threshold time duration can be configured based on a determined location of the mobile device 102. For instance, a lower threshold amount of data and/or a shorter threshold time duration may be specified at an unknown and/or unsecure location (e.g., a public location and/or a known unsecure location) than at a known secure location, e.g., a user's home, office, etc.,” and “[a]t 408 and based at least in part on the trigger condition, the mobile device is caused to transition to a locked state. The cloud interface module 112, for instance, instructs the operating system 114 to transition the mobile device 102 from an unlocked state to a locked state. Accordingly, the operating system 114 can transition the mobile device 102 from an unlocked state to a locked state where some or all functionality (e.g., applications, services, etc.) of the mobile device 102 is inaccessible,” respectively. The Examiner respectfully requests the Applicant point out where in the specification support can be found for the aforementioned newly added limitations. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14, 21, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 2019/0146744; Hereinafter “Chun”) in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0160812; Hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Chun teaches a mobile device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one module executable by the at least one processor to:
monitor data reception of data received from a network source and transmitted from the mobile device to an external display device (Chun: Para. [0146], The display state control unit 823 may detect, based on the APL variation, whether frames of the second image are identical to each other and may determine whether the terminal transmitting the second image operates depending on the detecting result. The operation of the terminal 300 may refer to that the screen displayed on the display unit of the terminal 300 by the manipulation of the user is changed as time elapses. Para. [0148], The display state control unit 823 may control the image blender 810 or the scaler 830 such that the display state of the second image is changed, when each of the APL variations continuously calculated during the predetermined time or a predetermined count is less than the reference variation (or equal to or less than the reference variation).);
detect that a trigger condition occurs in relation to the data reception (Chun: Para. [0182], the terminal 300 may be locked when the user does not manipulate the terminal 300 for a predetermined time. In this case, the locking screen may be displayed on the display unit of the terminal 300. When the predetermined time is shorter than the above-described threshold time, before the controller 170 changes the display state of the mirroring image to the non-display state, the screen of the terminal 300 may be changed to the locking screen. Para. [0014], [trigger condition may include predetermined time elapsed] Para. [0146], The operation of the terminal 300 may refer to that the screen displayed on the display unit of the terminal 300 by the manipulation of the user is changed as time elapses. Para. [0148]); and
cause, based at least in part on the trigger condition, the mobile device to transition to a locked state (Chun: Para. [0182], the terminal 300 may be locked when the user does not manipulate the terminal 300 for a predetermined time. In this case, the locking screen may be displayed on the display unit of the terminal 300. When the predetermined time is shorter than the above-described threshold time, before the controller 170 changes the display state of the mirroring image to the non-display state, the screen of the terminal 300 may be changed to the locking screen.) where at least some applications of the mobile device are inaccessible on the external display device and the mobile device (Chun: Para. [0195], Referring to FIG. 17, the terminal 300 may be switched to a sleep state when there is absent the operation of the terminal 300 by the user or when the event does not occur for a predetermined time (S1700). The sleep state may refer to the state that the terminal 300 may not transmit the mirroring image data to the display device 100 or may not perform other functions. Para. [0196], When a specific event occurs in the sleep state, the terminal 300 may be switched to a wake-up state (S1710). For example, the terminal 300 in the sleep state may be switched to the wake-up state due to user input or other events. [a lock screen on the terminal will prevent access to applications]).
Chun does not explicitly teach determine that the mobile device is connected to an external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection.
determine that the mobile device is connected to an external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection. (Park: Para. [0185]-[0186], Para. [0188], The mobile terminal 100 connected to the HMD 200 in a wired/wireless manner for data transception serves as a controller (a control device or a control means) for controlling the HMD 200. Para. [0232], the mobile terminal 100 may be connected to the HMD 200 in a wired manner through the interface units 160, 260, or may be connected to the HMD 200 in wireless manner through the wired communication unit 110 (Zigbee, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Park with the system and method of Chun to include wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to determine that the mobile device is connected to an external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection because this functionality provides the advantage of enhanced user convenience and privacy protection of the user when content is converted into a locked state (Park: Para. [0296])
Regarding claim 5, Chun teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to monitor the data reception based at least in part on whether the data reception occurs via wired connectivity or wireless connectivity to the network source.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to monitor the data reception based at least in part on whether the data reception occurs via wired connectivity or wireless connectivity to the network source (Park: Para. [0023], and changing the second content to a locked state when the detached state satisfies a second condition regardless of whether the head mounted display is re-worn within the threshold amount of time. [detached state may include disconnection from a wired connectivity] Para. [0232], the mobile terminal 100 may be connected to the HMD 200 in a wired manner through the interface units 160, 260, or may be connected to the HMD 200 in wireless manner through the wired communication unit 110 (Zigbee, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Park with the system and method of Chun to include wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to monitor the data reception based at least in part on whether the data reception occurs via wired connectivity or wireless connectivity to the network source because this functionality provides the advantage of enhanced user convenience and privacy protection of the user when content is converted into a locked state (Park: Para. [0296])
Regarding claim 6, Chun teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that the data reception falls below a threshold amount of data received from the network source.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that the data reception falls below a threshold amount of data received from the network source (Park: Para. [0029], wherein the controller is further capable of changing the second content to a locked state when a threshold length of time elapses after the head mounted display is disconnected while the second content is displayed. [disconnection of a head mounted display while content is displayed will reduce data reception to zero, thereby triggering a locked state]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Park with the system and method of Chun to include wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that the data reception falls below a threshold amount of data received from the network source because this functionality provides the advantage of enhanced user convenience and privacy protection of the user when content is converted into a locked state (Park: Para. [0296])
Regarding claim 7, Chun, in combination with Park, teaches the mobile device of claim 6, wherein the trigger condition further comprises an indication that the data reception falls below the threshold amount of data received from the network source for a threshold time duration (Park: Para. [0029], wherein the controller is further capable of changing the second content to a locked state when a threshold length of time elapses after the head mounted display is disconnected while the second content is displayed.).
Regarding claim 8, Chun, in combination with Park, teaches the mobile device of claim 7, wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to enable at least one of the threshold amount of data or the threshold time duration to be user configurable (Park: Para. [0227], In this case, the controller 180 of the mobile terminal 100 (or the controller 280 of the HMD 200) may differently set the reference time for converting the second content into a locked state, based on a played degree of the second content or based on an output time. [setting the reference time for converting to a locked state performed via mobile device or HMD]).
Regarding claim 10, Chun teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that data transmission from the mobile device to the network source falls below a threshold amount of data transmitted from the mobile device to the network source for a threshold time duration.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that data transmission from the mobile device to the network source falls below a threshold amount of data transmitted from the mobile device to the network source for a threshold time duration (Park: Para. [0029], wherein the controller is further capable of changing the second content to a locked state when a threshold length of time elapses after the head mounted display is disconnected while the second content is displayed. [disconnection of a head mounted display while content is displayed will reduce data reception to zero, thereby triggering a locked state]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Park with the system and method of Chun to include wherein the trigger condition comprises an indication that data transmission from the mobile device to the network source falls below a threshold amount of data transmitted from the mobile device to the network source for a threshold time duration because this functionality provides the advantage of enhanced user convenience and privacy protection of the user when content is converted into a locked state (Park: Para. [0296]).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 10.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claims 25-26, Claims 25-26 str rejected under the same rationale as claims 5-6, respectively.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 2019/0146744; Hereinafter “Chun”) in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0160812; Hereinafter “Park”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0155031; Hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 2, Chun teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly teach wherein to determine that the mobile device is connected to the external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein to determine that the mobile device is connected to the external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection. (Park: Para. [0185]-[0186], Para. [0188], The mobile terminal 100 connected to the HMD 200 in a wired/wireless manner for data transception serves as a controller (a control device or a control means) for controlling the HMD 200. Para. [0232], the mobile terminal 100 may be connected to the HMD 200 in a wired manner through the interface units 160, 260, or may be connected to the HMD 200 in wireless manner through the wired communication unit 110 (Zigbee, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Park with the system and method of Chun to include wherein to determine that the mobile device is connected to the external display device via at least one of a wired connection or a wireless connection because this functionality provides the advantage of enhanced user convenience and privacy protection of the user when content is converted into a locked state (Park: Para. [0296]).
Chun, in combination with Park, does not explicitly teach and restrict the at least some applications of the mobile device accessible by the external display device based, at least in part, on a location of the mobile device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches and restrict the at least some applications of the mobile device accessible by the external display device based, at least in part, on a location of the mobile device (Lee: Para. [0080], The mobile terminal 100 provides User Interfaces (UIs) (e.g., 1510 of FIGS. 15, 1610 and 1650 of FIG. 16, and 1710 of FIG. 17) for setting a screen unlock mode (or screen lock mode) to a user. Para. [0094], The mobile terminal 100 may store a distance between a wireless device and the mobile terminal 100 designated via a UI and search for a wireless device transmitting a signal having an intensity equal to or greater than an intensity of a reception signal corresponding to the stored distance. Furthermore, the predetermined distance may be a default value (e.g., 2 m) that is stored in the mobile terminal 100 either when the mobile terminal 100 is manufactured or when a command for controlling the first screen unlock mode or screen unlock configuration application is stored in a memory. Furthermore, if the communication range of a wireless device is sufficiently narrow (e.g., from 2 m to 5 m), the predetermined distance may refer to a communication range in which the corresponding wireless device may be detected without any particular setting. [screen lock mode prevents access to applications]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Lee with the system and method of Chun and Park to include and restrict the at least some applications of the mobile device accessible by the external display device based, at least in part, on a location of the mobile device because this functionality provides techniques for utilizing distance for controlling screen lock of a device (Lee: Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Chun, in combination with Park, teaches the mobile device of claim 7, wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to enable at least one of the threshold amount of data or the threshold time duration. Chun, in combination with Park, does not explicitly teach to be configured based on a location of the mobile device.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to enable at least one of the threshold amount of data or the threshold time duration to be configured based on a location of the mobile device (Lee: Para. [0080], The mobile terminal 100 provides User Interfaces (UIs) (e.g., 1510 of FIGS. 15, 1610 and 1650 of FIG. 16, and 1710 of FIG. 17) for setting a screen unlock mode (or screen lock mode) to a user. Para. [0094], The mobile terminal 100 may store a distance between a wireless device and the mobile terminal 100 designated via a UI and search for a wireless device transmitting a signal having an intensity equal to or greater than an intensity of a reception signal corresponding to the stored distance. Furthermore, the predetermined distance may be a default value (e.g., 2 m) that is stored in the mobile terminal 100 either when the mobile terminal 100 is manufactured or when a command for controlling the first screen unlock mode or screen unlock configuration application is stored in a memory. Furthermore, if the communication range of a wireless device is sufficiently narrow (e.g., from 2 m to 5 m), the predetermined distance may refer to a communication range in which the corresponding wireless device may be detected without any particular setting.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Lee with the system and method of Chun and Park to include to be configured based on a location of the mobile device because this functionality provides techniques for utilizing distance for controlling screen lock of a device (Lee: Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claims 8-9.
Regarding claim 22, Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 23-24 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chun et al. (US 2019/0146744; Hereinafter “Chun”) in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0160812; Hereinafter “Park”) in view of Jeong et al. (US 2020/0333995; Hereinafter “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 3, Chun, in combination with Park, teaches the mobile device of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to determine that the mobile device is not utilized as an input device for providing input to the data transmitted from the mobile device to the external display device.
In an analogous art, Jeong teaches wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to determine that the mobile device is not utilized as an input device for providing input to the data transmitted from the mobile device to the external display device (Jeong: Fig. 7, Para. [0135], According to an embodiment, and as shown in FIG. 7, the display device 100 may receive, from the user terminal device 200, information indicating that a title of the video content that is being output via the user terminal device 200 is “hiking,” and information identifying that a current playback point of the video content is 59 minutes. Then, the display device 100 may receive, from the external server 700 from which the user terminal device 200 also receives the video content, a portion of the video content that corresponds to the current playback point of the video content that is being output via the user terminal device 200, based on the received information. According to an embodiment, the display device 100 may receive, from the external server 700, video content titled “hiking” after the playback point of 59 minutes. Therefore, the display device 100 may receive and display the video content that corresponds to the current playback point of the video content that is received from the external server 700 and is being output via the user terminal device 200. [after 00:59, content being played via display is received from external server and not mobile terminal])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Jeong with the system and method of Chun and Park to include wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to determine that the mobile device is not utilized as an input device for providing input to the data transmitted from the mobile device to the external display device because this functionality provides for improved and more efficient mirroring techniques for displaying content (Jeong: Para. [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Chun, in combination with Park and Jeong, teaches the mobile device of claim 3, wherein the at least one module is executable by the at least one processor to determine that at least one input device external to the mobile device is used as an input device for providing input to the data transmitted from the mobile device to the external display device (Jeong: Para. [0135], Therefore, the display device 100 may receive and display the video content that corresponds to the current playback point of the video content that is received from the external server 700 and is being output via the user terminal device 200).
Regarding claims 23-24, Claims 23-24 str rejected under the same rationale as claims 3-4, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NELSON S. GIDDINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408