DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/6/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0043218 to Borrelli et al. in view of US 2019/0346648 to Pausan et al.
Borrelli discloses a ferrule assembly comprising:
A ferrule having a front and rear end (paragraph 31) and a bore (figure 3), wherein at least a portion of the bore comprises a micro-bore (figure 6), and
A fiber (120) with an annular gap (113) between the fiber surface and the bore surface and a protrusion (105);
Wherein a protrusion extends through the gap and contacts the bore area (109; figure 6).
As to claim 7, Borrelli discloses a gap distance of 1um to 10um. Applicant’s claimed range is between 0.1um to 0.8um. The 0.8um upper bound is substantially close to the claim.
As to claim 9, the ferrule is housed within a housing and connector body (figure 1)
However, Borrelli discloses that these protrusions extend from a bore surface and not an optical fiber surface.
Pausan discloses a fiber with protrusions extending from a fiber jacket surface to relieve frictional forces (paragraph 17). It is noted that Pausan also discloses in the prior art figures, protrusions in the bore.
As to claims 3-4, the protrusions are at least in multiple, opposing 90 degree locations (figure 6).
As to claims 5-6, Examiner assumes this claim recitation to mean there is a protrusion long the optical axis that is “outside” of the micro-bore or ferrule. Pausan discloses extending of the fiber beyond an end face in figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to reverse the orientation of the protrusions, size and place them on the fiber as taught by Pausan in Borrelli to reduce friction and since it has been held that a mere reversal of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borrelli in view of Pausan as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2010/0247048 to Ooizumi et al.
Borrelli in view of Pausan discloses the invention as claimed except for the inner and outer cladding layers with ppm of a hydroxyl concentration in the range claimed.
Ooizumo discloses doping cladding layers with hydroxyl between 10-10,000 ppm (paragraph 82) to attenuate light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use multiple cladding layers with the hydroxyl concentrations claimed as taught by Ooizumi in Borrelli in view of Pausan to attenuate light to a desired output.
Conclusion
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874