DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47, 49, and 51-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koppenhofer (US 4,733,712) in view of Rocco et al. (US 2013/0221192), and further in view of Kohl et al. (US 2,790,218).
Regarding independent claim 47 and claim 64, Koppenhofer discloses a method and a mold for casting products (abstract; column 1, lines 56-68; column 2, lines 1-35 and 55-68; column 3, lines 1-42; and Figures 1-3), in which the mold includes the following structural features:
a mold insert (24,28) comprised of sand and a binding agent (column 3, lines 1-5); and
a mold base (20,30) comprised of sand and a binding agent packed within a casting flask (column 2, lines 65-68; column 3, lines 25-33; and Figure 2),
wherein the mold insert (24,28) is mated with the mold base (20,30) to form the mold and is a customized portion of the mold with one or more customized features, and the mold base (20,30) is a standardized portion of the mold (see Figure 2), wherein the mold cavity is formed by one or more surfaces of the mold base (20,30) and one or more surfaces of the mold insert (24,28).
Koppenhofer fails to explicitly disclose that the mold insert comprises alternating layers of sand while having different binding agents that are distinct with regard to type and curing conditions.
However, Rocco et al. disclose a molding tool for making mold inserts (abstract; paragraphs [0062] and [0063]; and Figure 12), wherein the molding tool includes providing stacked particulate layers (14) of sand with a binding agent (16) with alternating layers, for the purpose of accurately making inserts to fit in the molding tool (abstract; and paragraphs [0062] and [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include alternating layers of sand and binding agent for the molding tool for making mold inserts disclosed by Rocco et al., into the teachings of Koppenhofer, in order to create accurate and replaceable inserts to fit in the molding tool (Rocco et al.; abstract; and paragraphs [0062] and [0063]).
The combined teachings of Koppenhofer and Rocco et al. fail to explicitly teach that there are two different binders having different curing environmental conditions in the mold.
However, Kohl et al. disclose a mold defining shell layers that include different binders in the inner shell layer and the outer shell layer of the mold (see column 18, line 51 through column 19, line 68), in which the different binders of each shell layer are advantageous in compensating for molten metal expansion and obtaining higher mold strength (see column 19, lines 15-30 and 61-68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants’ invention was made to provide different types of binders having different curing environmental conditions, as taught by Kohl et al., into the mold disclosed/suggested by the combined teachings of Koppenhofer and Rocco et al., in order to compensate for high temperatures of the molten metal with higher mold strength (Kohl et al.; column 19, lines 15-30 and 61-68).
Regarding claim 49, the mold comprises a mold cavity configured to cast a product including one or more customized features, including images and/or borders (broadly interpreted as customized features – see Figure 1 of Koppenhofer).
Regarding claims 51 and 52, the mold insert (24,28) of Koppenhofer comprises a peripheral insert surface having a draft angle of about zero degrees.
Regarding claims 53 and 54, Koppenhofer discloses that the mold base (20,30) comprises a peripheral recess surface sized and configured to receive the mold insert (24,28) therein to form the mold, wherein a peripheral recess surface comprises a draft angle (of about zero degrees) configured to mate with a peripheral insert surface of the mold insert (24,28), wherein the depth of the recess corresponds to the depth of the mold insert (24,28), as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 55, although the combined teachings of Koppenhofer, Rocco et al., and Kohl et al. disclose and/or suggest the combined features of claims 47, 53, and 54, Koppenhofer, Rocco et al., and Kohl et al. fail to teach that the depth of the mold insert is between 0.5 and 1.5 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a depth of the mold insert to be of any dimension, since selection of depth would depend on the design choice of a cast product to be made with the mold insert mated with the mold base to form the mold. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claim 56, the mold insert (24,28) of Koppenhofer is mated to the mold base (20,30). Regarding the functional language (e.g., by baking the mold base around the mold insert), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claims 57 and 58, Koppenhofer discloses that the mold insert (24,28) has a predetermined set of standardized dimensions that can be selected based on a size of the product to be cast (see column 2, lines 65-68; column 3, lines 25-33; and Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 59 and 60, although the mold insert (24,28) of Koppenhofer comprises channels along peripheral edges to enhance interlocking with the mold base (20,30) when foundry sand is filled around the mold insert (24,28), as shown in Figure 1, Koppenhofer does not explicitly disclose that the channels have a width of about 0.125 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a width of the channels to be of any dimension, since selection of width would depend on the design choice of a cast product to be made with the mold insert mated with the mold base to form the mold. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claim 61, the mold insert (24,28) of Koppenhofer has a textured surface that is configured to increase surface area between the mold insert (24,28) and the mold base (20,30), as shown in Figure 1 (also see column 2, lines 65-68; and column 3, lines 25-33).
Regarding claims 62 and 63, the mold insert (24,28) of Koppenhofer has an adaptive slicing pattern with varying layer thickness based on different regions within the mold insert (24,28), in which the mold base (20,30) is formed using a modified pattern that includes an extended core volume corresponding to dimensions of the mold insert (24,28), as shown in Figure 1 (also see column 2, lines 65-68; and column 3, lines 25-33).
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment received by the USPTO on February 13, 2026. Also, an Information Disclosure Statement dated March 5, 2026 has been considered and initialed, and a copy is provided with this Office Action. The applicants have cancelled claim 50 while incorporating its limitations into independent claim 47. Claims 47, 49, and 51-64 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicants' arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicants’ remarks/arguments on pages 6-8 of the amendment, it is first noted that the applicants’ amendment to include cancelled claim 50 into independent claim 47 (as stated by applicants in the last full paragraph on page 6 of the REMARKS section, as well as in the paragraph bridging pages 7 and 8 of the REMARKS section) has been addressed in the newly underlined portions of the 35 USC 103 rejection as being disclosed by Koppenhofer. As to the applicants’ argument (on page 7 of the REMARKS section) that Kohl et al. disclose different binders (having different curing environmental conditions in the mold), and therefore allegedly would be improper to combine the references based on a “teaching away” argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In this instance, the Kohl et al. reference is introduced to teach using different binders in order to compensate for high temperatures of the molten metal with higher mold strength (Kohl et al.; column 19, lines 15-30 and 61-68). In response to applicants' arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In view of the 35 USC 103 rejection and for these additional reasons, claims 47, 49, and 51-64 remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 March 11, 2026