DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Line 5 of claim 10 recites “and a parallelogram shape” whereas the limitation should recite “or a parallelogram shape.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnari (WO 2021/049846).
As for claim 1, Ohnari discloses a footwear care apparatus comprising: a heat pump (fig. 19, heat pump components illustrated); a cabinet comprising: a care room formed therein (fig. 19, care room illustrated); and a machine room formed therein, divided from the care room, and configured to accommodate the heat pump (fig. 19, heat pump components illustrated in machine room); a plate configured to divide an inside of the care room and configured to support footwear to be placed on (fig. 19, 3 plates illustrated); a supply duct connecting the machine room to the care room to guide air passed through the heat pump to the care room through the supply duct (fig. 19, illustrated by arrows directed upwardly); a supply port formed on a sidewall of the care room to discharge the air passed through the supply duct to the care room through the supply port (fig. 19, right side, opening upstream of 36 in the vertical wall of care room); a supporter holder formed on the sidewall of the care room, and comprising a holder opening formed therein so that the holder opening is configured to communicate with the supply port to discharge the air passed through the supply duct into the care room (see sketch below); and a supporter mountable to the supporter holder, and having an internal passage formed therein to communicate with the supply port so that based on the supporter being mounted to the supporter holder (see sketch below), the air discharging from the supply port is introduced into the care room through the internal passage, wherein the supporter further includes a partition wall formed in the internal passage to change a direction of the air passing through the internal passage to a downward direction (see sketch below, described as a louvre).
Ohnari discloses the claimed invention except for a supporter detachably mountable. However making objects separable or integral has been determined to be no more than obvious with a court finding that if it were considered desirable for any reason to (in this case a supporter detachably mountable) it would be obvious to make the supporter removable for that purpose (please see MPEP 2144.04.V.C). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Ohnari with a supporter detachably mountable because to make the supporter of Ohnari lends itself to modular replaceability which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
As for claim 7, Ohnari discloses the partition wall is formed to extend downward from an upper surface of the internal passage (see sketch above).
As for claim 10, Ohnari discloses the partition wall is formed to extend in a first direction to traverse the internal passage, and a cross-sectional shape of the partition wall with respect to a plane perpendicular to the first direction includes a polygonal shape, a semi-circular shape, a semi-ellipse shape, [and] or a parallelogram shape (see sketch above, semi-circular shape).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8, 9, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 2 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the supporter further includes: a support plate configured to support the foot wear to be placed thereon; and a supporter duct formed at a lower side of the support plate and forming the internal passage with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Incorporating this limitation would destroy the Ohnari reference and thus would not be an obvious combination with any other prior art reference.
Claim 8 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the partition wall has a vertical length of h1 and the internal passage has a vertical width of H, and wherein h1 and H has a relationship according a following formula: h1>Hx 0.6 with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. No prior art could be found to teach this features.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762