DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 22-26, 30, 32-35, and 39) and the following species:
Centrifugation for the recovery step of claim 32;
Positive selection, formerly recited in claim 33;
Virus, specifically HIV, for the target genus and subspecies in claims 9 and 34;
GP120 as the antigen bound in purification; and
A monoclonal bifunctional anti-GP120 antibody as the binder
in the reply filed on 21 July 2026 is acknowledged. It is noted that centrifugation utilizes sedimentation, and thus claim 33 would not be withdrawn.
Claim Status
3. Claims 4-5, 8, 11-21, 27-29, 31, and 34-64 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33 are under consideration.
Priority
4. The Instant Application is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 11,782,054 filed 01 August 2018, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 13/800,495 filed 13 March 2013, which is a continuation of PCT/US2011/065157 filed 15 December 2011, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 61/423,391 filed 15 December 2010. Priority is granted to U.S. Provisional Application No. 61/423,391 for claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33. Thus, the U.S. effective filing date of the Instant Application is 15 December 2010.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 December 2023 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
6. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
7. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests adding the specific target to the title.
9. The use of the term “FICOLL-HYPAQUE” (¶ [0006], [0030]-[0031], [0043], and [0085]-[0086]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Note that “FICOLL-HYPAQUE” is merely an example and all improper uses of trademarks in the specification should be identified by Applicant and properly addressed.
Claim Objections
10. Claims 1, 6, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “a sample” in line 2 should be “the sample”; there should be a comma inserted before “and red blood cells”; “allow” should be “allowing”; “a target” in the last line should be “the target”.
Regarding claim 6, “a sperm” is unclear because a sample cannot be a single cell.
Regarding claim 26, “and” should be replaced with “or” for clarity because all of those sample types will not be present at the same time. For example, umbilical cord blood will not be present in bone marrow.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
12. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the relationship between the antibody/antigen/target/sample is unclear. The antigen could be interpreted as the target or it could be binding the target. Thus, there are multiple structural interpretations. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008) ("[R]ather than requiring that the claims are insolubly ambiguous, we hold that if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.").
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33, which depend on claim 1, are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Fourth Paragraph
14. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 25 in which it depends requires the sample to comprise blood. However, blood already comprises whole blood, blood plasma, a blood stem cell isolate, platelet-rich plasma, fractionated blood, packed red blood cells, and a buffy-coat layer. Thus, those embodiments are not further limiting of claim 25. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form so long as no duplicates are made, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
17. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 22, 25-26, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Collins (US 20030027233 A1; Published 06 February 2003).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 22, 25-26, 30, and 32-33, Collins teaches methods for contacting a blood cell-containing sample, which can include peripheral blood, umbilical cord, or bone marrow samples, with a cell separation composition (¶ [0006]) and can be used to isolate and enrich for a variety of cell types (¶ [0007]). This cell separation composition can contain dextran and one or more antibodies that have specific binding affinity for a cell surface antigen (¶ [0016]). Collins further teaches that dextran is a polysaccharide that can cause stacking of erythrocytes (rouleau formation) and that antibodies against cell surface antigens can facilitate the removal of blood cells from solution via agglutination (¶ [0017]). The antibody can be monoclonal (¶ [0009]) and can be covalently linked to a polysaccharide with a high molecular weight, such as dextran sulfate (MW > 1 million) (¶ [0029]). Furthermore, “Cell-substrate particles (i.e., particles including cells and substrate-bound antibodies) can sediment from solution as an agglutinate.” (¶ [0030]).
Collins further teaches an example for separating blood cells, wherein “An equal volume of a cell separation reagent (i.e., 25 ml) was combined with an equal volume of an EDTA anti-coagulated heparinized peripheral blood sample (i.e., 25 ml) in a 50 ml conical tube. […] Tubes were gently mixed on a rocker platform for 30 to 45 minutes at room temperature. Tubes were stood upright in a rack for 30 to 50 minutes to permit agglutinated cells to partition away from unagglutinated cells, which remained in solution. Without disturbing the agglutinate, a pipette was used to recover unagglutinated cells from the supernatant. Recovered cells were washed in 25 ml PBS and centrifuged at 500x g for 7 minutes.” (¶ [0043]).
In summary, Collins teaches a method of isolating a target (isolating cell types) from a sample, wherein a cell separation reagent that can comprise an antibody linked to dextran sulfate is mixed with the sample. This linkage will be present prior to mixing. Since the antibody needs to bind to cell surface antigens, it would have to be linked to dextran by a non-antigen binding region. The method further includes incubation (stood upright for 30-50 min), sedimentation, and centrifugation, which resulted in recovering the desired cells and removal of the rouleau from the mixture. The samples can include peripheral blood, umbilical cord, or bone marrow samples, all of which will comprise endogenous red blood cells as they are produced in the body. In order to isolate the desired cell type, the cell surface antigen of the cell would have to be specifically bound by an antigen-binding domain of the antibody.
Regarding claim 2, the adsorption of dextran onto red blood cells is evidenced by Lee (22 May 2018, Biomed. Opt. Express, 9(6): 2755-2764). Lee teaches that “we have shown that dextran adsorbs on RBC” (Conclusion).
Regarding claim 10, the solubility of dextran is evidenced by Merck (11 December 2025, Dextran Sulfate, accessed via WayBack Machine). Merck teaches that “Dextran sulfates are supplied as the sodium salt forms, making them soluble and stable in water.” (Structure, ¶ 1). Therefore, the sedimentation agent is soluble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
21. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Collins (US 20030027233 A1; Published 06 February 2003) in view of Chen (01 June 2007, Clinical and Vaccine Immunology, 14(6): 720-725).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 22-26, 30, and 32-33, Collins teaches methods for contacting a blood cell-containing sample, which can include peripheral blood, umbilical cord, or bone marrow samples, with a cell separation composition (¶ [0006]) and can be used to isolate and enrich for a variety of cell types (¶ [0007]). This cell separation composition can contain dextran and one or more antibodies that have specific binding affinity for a cell surface antigen (¶ [0016]). Collins further teaches that dextran is a polysaccharide that can cause stacking of erythrocytes (rouleau formation) and that antibodies against cell surface antigens can facilitate the removal of blood cells from solution via agglutination (¶ [0017]). The antibody can be monoclonal (¶ [0009]) and can be covalently linked to a polysaccharide with a high molecular weight, such as dextran sulfate (MW > 1 million) (¶ [0029]). Furthermore, “Cell-substrate particles (i.e., particles including cells and substrate-bound antibodies) can sediment from solution as an agglutinate.” (¶ [0030]).
Collins further teaches an example for separating blood cells, wherein “An equal volume of a cell separation reagent (i.e., 25 ml) was combined with an equal volume of an EDTA anti-coagulated heparinized peripheral blood sample (i.e., 25 ml) in a 50 ml conical tube. […] Tubes were gently mixed on a rocker platform for 30 to 45 minutes at room temperature. Tubes were stood upright in a rack for 30 to 50 minutes to permit agglutinated cells to partition away from unagglutinated cells, which remained in solution. Without disturbing the agglutinate, a pipette was used to recover unagglutinated cells from the supernatant. Recovered cells were washed in 25 ml PBS and centrifuged at 500x g for 7 minutes.” (¶ [0043]).
In summary, Collins teaches a method of isolating a target (isolating cell types) from a sample, wherein a cell separation reagent that can comprise an antibody linked to dextran sulfate is mixed with the sample. This linkage will be present prior to mixing. Since the antibody needs to bind to cell surface antigens, it would have to be linked to dextran by a non-antigen binding region. The method further includes incubation (stood upright for 30-50 min), sedimentation, and centrifugation, which resulted in recovering the desired cells and removal of the rouleau from the mixture. The samples can include peripheral blood, umbilical cord, or bone marrow samples, all of which will comprise endogenous red blood cells as they are produced in the body. In order to isolate the desired cell type, the cell surface antigen of the cell would have to be specifically bound by an antigen-binding domain of the antibody.
The adsorption of dextran onto red blood cells is evidenced by Lee (22 May 2018, Biomed. Opt. Express, 9(6): 2755-2764). Lee teaches that “we have shown that dextran adsorbs on RBC” (Conclusion). The solubility of dextran is evidenced by Merck (11 December 2025, Dextran Sulfate, accessed via WayBack Machine). Merck teaches that “Dextran sulfates are supplied as the sodium salt forms, making them soluble and stable in water.” (Structure, ¶ 1). Therefore, the sedimentation agent is soluble.
Collins does not teach that the antibody can be a bifunctional antibody or an antibody fragment. However, Chen teaches “The bispecific diabody against both RBC and HBsAg was constructed by using ScFvs panned from two phage-displayed antibody libraries. As many copies of HBsAg are present on a viral envelope particle, when one molecule of the bispecific diabody binds to both HBsAg and RBCs, the HBsAg-diabody complex cross-links many RBCs, and therefore, RBC agglutination can take place.” (Discussion, ¶ 1). This bispecific diabody would be considered both a bifunctional antibody since it can bind to two antigens and an antibody fragment with an antigen-binding domain, as it is made of two fragments (See Figure 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before invention by Applicant to substitute the antibody of Collins for the bispecific diabody of Chen. This would result in a predictably functional method as the bispecific diabody of Chen would be able to bind both HBsAg and RBC in the presence of hepatitis B, allowing for isolation and detection of the virus via agglutination. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
24. No claim is allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTINA E LY whose telephone number is (571)272-5169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST.
/KRISTINA E. LY/Examiner, Art Unit 1671 /Michael Allen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671