Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-19, 21-22, and 57 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-19, 21-22, and 57 have priority to PRO 63/497,629 filed on April 21, 2023, and to PRO 63/406,994 filed on September 15, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 11, 2023, and on January 12, 2024, and on April 10, 2025, were filed before the mailing of the First Office Action on March 14, 2026. The Non-Patent Literature is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 1 – Not legible.
Fig. 3 (Specifically the “MOCK CHO” graph) – not legible.
Fig. 4A – Not legible.
Fig. 4B – Not legible.
Fig. 5 (Specifically “Non Reducing SDS” graph) – Not legible.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 57 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 57 is merely a reorganized version of claim 1 with the all of the same elements found in claim 1. Thus, despite a difference in wording, the claims have substantially the same scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “less than 50 microliters”, and the claim also recites “less than 10 microliters, or 0 microliters” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18, 21-22, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Rudyk and Eaton (Hereinafter Rudyk) [Biochemical methods for monitoring protein thiol redox states in biological systems, Redox Biol, 2014], in view of Gurzeler et al. [Production of human translation-competent lysates using dual centrifugation, RNA Biology, 2021], in view of Ren et al. [Antibody disulfide bond reduction and recovery during biopharmaceutical process development – a review, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 2021], in view of Handlogten et al. [Online control of cell culture redox potential prevents antibody interchain disulfide bond reduction, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 2020], in view of Hardter et al. [Minimizing oxidation of freeze-dried monoclonal antibodies in polymeric vials using a smart packaging approach, Pharmaceutics, 2021], in view of Hutterer et al. [Monoclonal antibody disulfide reduction during manufacturing, Mabs, 2013].
For claim 1 where a method of determining the reduction susceptibility of a protein, Rudyk discloses “determining” the reduction of protein thiols in biological samples, including cell lysate, using thiol-reactive labeling reagents and then comparing redox states under different redox environments [Introduction ¶ 1].
For part (a) of claim 1, Rudyk discloses general knowledge pertaining to comparative redox assay design. Rudyk teaches methods for assessing protein thiol redox status in biological samples, including cell lysates, and explain that these lysates contain endogenous reducing components that are capable of influencing the protein reduction state [Introduction ¶ 3]. Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to provide a first and second cell culture that are identical except that one contains a cell lysate in order to conduct comparative analysis of protein reduction under various conditions. It is merely creating a test group and a control group.
For part (b) of claim 1, Rudyk further discloses the use of multiple redox assays with varying reducing agent concentrations in order to generate gradients of redox potential [2. Monitoring reduced protein thiol status ¶ 1].
For part (c) of claim 1, Rudyk teaches performing thiol labeling assays under controlled redox conditions [2. Monitoring reduced produced thiol status ¶ 1]. Furthermore, while Rudyk does not explicitly teach specifically the use of a air-tight container having an interior volume of about 1 mL to about 3 mL with a headspace of less than 100 microliters, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incubate the samples in an air-sealed container having a small interior volume and limited headspace given that controlling headspace to limit oxygen is a known design consideration in redox chemistry. Additionally, selecting small vial volumes for bench-scale assays would be considered routine laboratory practice and reducing headspace in order to minimize oxygen is a known method for reducing oxidative interference that leads to improved redox conditions.
For part (d) of claim 1 where the level of protein reduction and/or redox potential is determined, Rudyk directly teaches maleimide labeling of reduced thiols [2. Monitoring reduced protein thiol status ¶ 3], iodoacetate labeling [Id.], Ellman’s reagent [2. Monitoring reduced produced thiol status ¶ 1], and then comparing the measurements across samples [5. Monitoring protein S-nitrosation ¶ 2].
For part (e) for claim 1 where determining reduction susceptibility based on measured reduction/redox potential, Rudyk teaches comparative redox analysis [5. Monitoring protein S-nitrosation ¶ 2] by evaluating how protein thiols respond to different redox environments that infers susceptibility from such data which is an inherent analytical step.
For claim 2 where the cell lysate was obtained through homogenization of cells, Gurzeler et al., discussing methods for producing human cell lysates via mechanical disruption methods, teaches preparation of functional lysates by physically disrupting cells to release intracellular components, including homogenization, by means of dual centrifugation [Introduction ¶ 4].
For claim 3 where the cell lysate was centrifuged to remove cellular debris, Gurzeler et al. discloses the use of centrifugation for the purpose of removing cellular debris [Results & Discussion ¶ 2].
For claim 4 where the second cell culture fluid is obtained by removing essentially all of the cells from the cell culture medium, while not explicit, Gurzeler in figure 1B shows cells being removed and placed in a vial for dual centrifugation that leads to a supernatant and pellet, i.e. nuclei and unlysed cells. Additionally, removing cells from a culture medium, either by centrifugation or filtration, represent known methods for preparing a lysate-free control fluid and represent known and routine steps in cell culture processing that are a predictable means for generating the non-lysate sample, i.e. control sample.
Here, it is prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Rudyk where methods for evaluating reduction/redox states in proteins for comparative analysis were discussed with the additional teachings of Gurzeler et al. that discloses methods for obtaining lysates using dual centrifugation. Because of this, there is a reasonable expectation of success that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Rudyk and Gurzeler to develop a system for determining or observing any reduction susceptibility of proteins where the samples included a test group and a control group where the samples were compared for analysis.
For claim 5 where the protein is a recombinant protein, Ren et al. discussing disulfide bond reduction in monoclonal antibodies, teaches monoclonal antibodies, i.e. recombinant proteins, undergo disulfide bond reduction during biopharmaceutical proves development [Abstract]. Furthermore, Ren et al. stresses the importance of monitoring and analyzing disulfide bond reduction [5 Analytical methods for disulfide bond reduction monitoring and analysis ¶ 1].
For claim 6 where the recombinant protein is an antibody, Ren et al. discloses methods of monitoring disulfide bond reduction in monoclonal antibodies [Figure 2, 3 Impact of disulfide reduction on downstream processing, 4 root cause analysis for disulfide bond reduction ¶ 1].
For claim 8 where the level of protein reduction is determined by assessing the oxidation stated of disulfide bonds, Ren et al. teaches that mAb disulfide bond reduction is essentially an oxidation-reduction, i.e. redox, reaction that involves redox enzyme [4 Root cause analysis for disulfide bond reduction ¶ 1].
For claim 9 where the redox potential is determined by measuring one or more listed, Ren et al. teaches that glutathione, thioredoxin, and nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide phosphate (NADPH) are known enzyme systems that contribute to disulfide bond reduction [4 Root cause analysis for disulfide bond reduction ¶ 1].
For claim 10 where the redox potential is determined by using a redox potential probe, Handlogten et al. discussing online control of cell culture redox potential, discloses the use of monitoring cell culture redox potential via an online redox probe [Abstract].
For claim 11 where the level or protein reduction is determined by the amount of intact and/or reduced protein after incubating with each set of samples, Ren et al. discloses monitoring structural integrity and redox-induced changes in recombinant proteins [6.31 Inhibit enzyme expression in the cells ¶ 1].
For claim 12 where the amount of intact and/or reduced protein is determined using a native SDS-PAGE gel, Ren et al. further discloses the use of SDS-PAGE, i.e. a size-based method, for detecting and quantifying protein modifications, including disulfide bond reductions [5 Analytical methods for disulfide bond reduction monitoring and analysis ¶ 2].
For claim 14 where the protein reduction is determined and the results are graphed, Ren et al. discloses monitoring intact and reduced antibody species [8.2 identifying disulfide bond reduction risks using machine learning algorithms ¶ 1]. Furthermore, graphical representation of reduction versus process conditions or redox state is routine analytical steps in bioprocessing.
For claim 15 wherein the air-sealed container is an air-sealed glass vial, Hardter et al., discussing minimizing oxidation of freeze-dried monoclonal antibodies, teaches that oxidation is an important degradation pathway for monoclonal antibodies, and that continuous migration of oxygen into drug product containers should be avoided overall [Abstract]. Hardter et al. further teaches that glass vials are known for their ability to maintain low levels of headspace oxygen [3.2 Effect of the Absorber on the oxygen levels in the headspaces of the lyophilizates ¶ 2]. Given this, there is a reasonable expectation of success that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that glass vials provide a unique advantage in maintaining low headspace oxygen levels compared to polymer vials given that polymers are known to be more permeable to gases in general. Because of this, it is prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Rudyk discussing biochemical methods for monitoring protein thiol redox and Ren et al. where antibody disulfide bond reduction in biopharmaceutical process development was discussed with the additional teachings of Hardter et al. that disclosed that glass vials have a lower oxygen permeability and therefore are able to maintain a lower oxygen headspace. This would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the use of glass vials, especially for small batch testing, would be more beneficial given the oxygen level in the headspace could be more easily controlled given glass is less permeable to gases when compared to polymer vials.
For claim 16 where the air-sealed container has an interior volume of about 2 mL to about 2.5 mL, Hutterer et al. discloses the use of small scale model systems for replicating and monitoring antibody reduction behavior [Small scale model ¶ 1]. Additionally, the use of small-scale models are routinely employed for reduction studies. Therefore, the use of 2 mL to 2.5 mL glass vials would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill given small-scale redox environments are well-understood to differ from large-scale systems due to oxygen exposure and process conditions.
For claim 17 where the air-sealed container has less than 50 microliters or less of headspace, although Hutterer et al. or Ren et al. disclose headspace limitations of less than 50 microliters, headspace in small-scale protein assays directly effect oxidative exposure of proteins. Meaning, the less air in the vial, the lower the oxygen available to drive disulfide reduction. Therefore, selecting headspace volumes would be considered routine optimization on well-known biochemical principles. Furthermore, Hutterer et al. and Rudyk both discuss minimizing headspace to control oxidative interference despite not listing specific headspace volumes.
For claim 18 where the protein is incubated with each sample set of samples for about 0.5 to 4 hours prior to step (c), Hutterer et al. teaches that samples were taken at 0, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 8 and 24 hours where the samples were placed in a 3L bioreactor, where the resulting slurry was sparged with nitrogen to simulate an anaerobic environment [Small scale model ¶ 1]. Although not specifically disclosing incubation times between 0.5 and 4 hours, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Hutterer et al. to incubate the protein with each sample prior to adding the protein to the air-sealed container allowing for measurable interaction between protein and reducing environment.
For claim 19 where the reduction susceptibility of the protein is compared with a reference standard, Rudyk does not explicitly disclose comparing the reduction susceptibility of a protein with a reference standard comprising a standard curve of reduction susceptibility of a reference protein. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to compare the measured reduction susceptibility of the protein to a “reference standard” or “standard curve” in order to interpret the obtained measurement. The use of standard curves and reference standards to analyze experimental data is a well-known and routine practice in biochemical and analytical assays that allows researchers to determine things such as relative activity, susceptibility, or concentration levels and comparing those results to known standards.
For claim 21 where the protein is selected based on the reduction susceptibility of the protein, Ren et al. discloses analytical methods to monitor intact versus reduced protein species during process development and notes that these measurements inform selection of stable proteins or antibody candidates for manufacturing [5 Analytical methods for disulfide bond reduction monitoring and analysis ¶ 1and 2].
For claim 22, Rudyk discloses all the steps (a) through (e) as described above.
Additionally, for part (f), both Hutterer et al. and Ren et al. discuss modifying cell cultures or manufacturing processes based on observed protein stability and disulfide reduction. Because of this, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Rudyk and Gurzeler et al. with the additional teachings of both Hutterer et al. and Ren et al. to use reduction susceptibility data from small-scale assays to adjust cell culture conditions, e.g. temperature, agitation, oxygen levels, lysate exposure, to improve protein stability. This represents a predictable application of routine process development in biopharmaceutical manufacturing.
For claim 57, where a method of determining the reduction susceptibility of a protein, Rudyk discloses “determining” the reduction of protein thiols in biological samples, including cell lysate, using thiol-reactive labeling reagents and then comparing redox states under different redox environments [Introduction ¶ 1].
For claim 57, Rudyk discloses all the steps (a) through (c) as described above.
Note: Claim 57 is merely a reorganized statement of claim 1, therefore the same analysis for the §103 rejection for claim 1 is applied to claim 57.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638