DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over HITA et al. (US 20180185993 A1) in view of Long et al. (US 20080178713 A1) and further in view of Barr et al. (US 7096569 B1).
Regarding claim 1, HITA et al. discloses an electric power tool (1) comprising: an output shaft (i) including a tip tool or (ii) configured to be detachably attached to the tip tool, the tip tool being configured to detachably engage with fasteners (shaft 18, tool 12);
a motor configured to rotationally drive the output shaft (electric motor [0032]); a manual switch configured to be manually operated by a user of the electric power tool for driving the motor (starting switch – bit 12 pressed against screw [0033]); a memory device (30, [0034], fig. 2) configured to store two or more sets of job information, the two or more sets of job information being associated with respective two or more tightening operations of the fasteners, each of the two or more sets of job information including at least one operation setting of the motor for performing an associated tightening operation (sequentially tightening activation of screw task for different screws a, b, c, with different process/job/task for each type of screw a, b, c, [0034-0040], figs. 1-3);
a first circuit (control circuit, [0034], figs. 1 and 6) configured (i) to receive one set of job information and (ii) to drive the motor in accordance with the at least one operation setting included in the one set of job information based on the manual switch being or having been manually operated ([0034], figs. 1 and 6), the one set of job information corresponding to one of the two or more sets of job information stored in the memory device [0034-0040, 0053-0055]; and
a second circuit (operation display unit 16 and/or signal input-output unit 38 connects to external device/remote or controller 100 with computing circuit [0055-0060], fig. 6 shows second circuit/controller 100) (i) distinct from the first circuit and (ii) configured to output a next set of job information in the two or more sets of job information from the memory device to the first circuit based on the first circuit having completed driving the motor, the next set of job information being associated with a next tightening operation in the two or more tightening operations (signal input-output unit 38 connects to external device/remote or controller 100 with computing circuit to input and output job data/information [0055-0060], figs. 1-6).
HITA et al. states: “driving setting parameters appropriate for screws a are stored in advance as a parameter group A [0039]…predetermined order of application of parameter groups to be set in advance. For example, for a working process in which screws a, screws b, and screws c are to be sequentially tightened, it is set in advance such that the parameter groups A, B and C will be applied in the order mentioned. Consequently, the parameter group A is applied at the time of starting a screw tightening operation. When tightening of screws a has been properly completed under the setting of the parameter group A, the parameter group B is automatically applied subsequently… order parameter groups should be applied can be set at will. It is also possible to previously store a plurality of patterns each indicating an order of application of such parameter groups” [0040].
HITA et al. also teaches determining if a fastener is tightened [0002, 0038, 0045] with a sensor and clutch mechanism that determines if torque is exceeded when fastening [0035-0038] and having a input-output unit 138 that determines tightening is completed [0057] and detect a result of a tightening operation performed (control circuit determines complete of drive motor with clutch, [0035-0038, 0045-0046]).
HITA et al. fails to explicitly teach having a sensor configured to: (i) detect a result of a tightening operation performed and (ii) output a detection signal, the detection signal indicating the result of the tightening operation performed; and a housing that houses at least the motor, the memory device, the first circuit, the second circuit and the sensor, wherein:the first circuit is configured to: (i) receive the detection signal and (ii) output, to the second circuit, the result indicated by the detection signal based on a completion of a drive of the motor; and the second circuit is configured to: (i) receive the result and (ii) store the result in the memory device.
Long et al. teaches a tool (14) with assembly station (10) that read barcodes to identify bolts and tighten after identifying a bolt (12), a circuit is configured (i) to receive the result and (ii) to store the result in the memory device (“controller 22 may record in its memory that the particular tightening step has been completed” data storage device 48/26, abstract, [0010-0011, 0019-0020, 0026-0043], having a sensor (44/ data storage device 48) first circuit and a data storage device/RFID second circuit (26) configured to: (i) detect a result of a tightening operation performed and (ii) output a detection signal, the detection signal indicating the result of the tightening operation performed; and a housing (30) that houses at least a motor (power source 30/actuator 28 [0022]), a memory device (microprocessor circuit, second or third circuit, with memory [0029]), the first circuit, the second circuit and the sensor, wherein:the first circuit is configured to: (i) receive the detection signal and (ii) output, to the second circuit, the result indicated by the detection signal based on a completion of a drive of the motor; and the second circuit is configured to: (i) receive the result and (ii) store the result in the memory device and teaches having sensors communicate with the controller to transmit tightening torque and completion data ([0020-0026, 0034-0046], figs. 1-5).
Long et al. states: “head portion 32 may communicate with controller 22 via a communication line 42. Furthermore, head portion 32 may interface with a strain sensor 44 located on receiving portion 40 via an interface device 46. The sensed data from strain sensor 44 may be relayed to controller 22 through communication line 42 [0023] … scanner 50 may alternatively be a portable, hand-held device…Upon receiving data from component data storage device 26 and fastener data storage device 48, scanner 50 may transmit the received data to controller 22 wirelessly or via a communication line (not shown). It is contemplated that an additional scanner 54 may be included in interface device 46, if desired. Additional scanner 54 may be similar to scanner 50 and may read data from component data storage device 26 and fastener data storage device 48 while tightening tool 14 is engaged with or near head portion 40 of fastener 12” [0027].
Barr et al. also teaches a electrically-powered combination installation/torque applying tool - fastener installation tool (15), fastener installation tool (70/75) and torque applying tool (20) a circuit is configured (i) to receive a completion result (inputting a specific program number or name thereto) and (ii) to store the result in the memory device (automatically change its torque setting accordingly for different fasteners and “Different identifiers may have different data associated therewith”, col. 3, lines 50-67, col. 4, lines 1-42, claims 13 and 34 figs. 1-3) and having a sensors (10), torque monitor/controller/first circuit (35) and a controller second circuit (5) configured to: (i) detect a result of a tightening operation performed and (ii) output a detection signal, the detection signal indicating the result of the tightening operation performed (torque monitor/controller 35 communicates with 20/5/35); and a housing (15) that houses at least a motor (col. 8, lines 6-18), a memory device (programmable microprocessor/computer 5, col. 6, lines 1-8), the first circuit, the second circuit and the sensor, wherein:the first circuit is configured to: (i) receive the detection signal and (ii) output, to the second circuit, the result indicated by the detection signal based on a completion of a drive of the motor; and the second circuit is configured to: (i) receive the result and (ii) store the result in the memory device and teaches having sensors communicate with the controller to transmit tightening torque and completion data (also teaches having standalone communication device along with torque monitoring/control, col. 3, lines 38-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines - col. 13, line-36, figs. 1-3).
Barr et al. states: “The torque monitor/controller is also adapted to monitor the amount of torque applied by the combination tool, and to send setting signals to the torque applying tool, which is adapted to receive said signals and to automatically change its torque setting accordingly (col. 4, lines 27-34)…The torque monitor/controller 35 monitors the number of fasteners to which torque has been applied using the torque applying tool or the combination tool, and the amount of torque that was applied to each fastener. Torquing of the fasteners can occur in any order. For example, in the latter embodiment described above, the two fasteners requiring a greater amount of torque may be acted on first, the two fasteners requiring a lesser amount of torque may be acted on first, or the torquing operation may alternate back-and-forth between the two sets of fasteners (col. 7, lines 47-54) … the torquing process could alternate back-and-forth between fasteners requiring different torque settings--although such an operation would be less efficient. In the former example, it is possible to install only a portion of the fasteners, then torque the fasteners that have been installed, then install another portion or the remainder of the fasteners, and continue the torquing process. Because the system and method incorporates both the monitoring and interlocking of process steps, the overall success of the process can be guaranteed even if the order in which certain individual steps are performed is changed. Similarly, it should also be realized that while the above-described examples only make use of two different torque settings, any number of different torque settings may be specified, and the application of different torques to different fasteners can occur in various order” (col. 13, lines 14-36).
Given the teachings of HITA et al. to have circuits communicating/transmitting a set of sequence information that designates an order in which each of the two or more sets of job information is assigned to the next set of job information and determining if a fastener is tightened, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the having a sensor configured to: (i) detect a result of a tightening operation performed and (ii) output a detection signal, the detection signal indicating the result of the tightening operation performed; and a housing that houses at least the motor, the memory device, the first circuit, the second circuit and the sensor, wherein: the first circuit is configured to: (i) receive the detection signal and (ii) output, to the second circuit, the result indicated by the detection signal based on a completion of a drive of the motor; and the second circuit is configured to: (i) receive the result and (ii) store the result in the memory device to have improved automated operation of the tool, prevent using tool in a dangerous manner (wrong mode/job information), have guided instructions/correct torque for each step in a task and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for safety purposes (doing the jobs in correct safe order) as taught by Long et al. and Barr et al.
Regarding claim 2, HITA et al. discloses the memory device is configured to store a set of sequence information; the set of sequence information designates an order in which each of the two or more sets of job information is assigned to the next set of job information (sequentially tightening activation of screw task for different screws a, b, c, with different process/job/task for each type of screw a, b, c, [0034-0040], figs. 1-3) and discloses the second circuit (signal input-output unit 38 connects to external device/remote or controller 100 with computing circuit) inputs and outputs job data/information [0055-0060], figs. 1-6).
HITA et al. fails to explicitly disclose the second circuit is configured to read out the next set of job information from the two or more sets of job information in the order designated by the set of sequence information stored in the memory device.
Long et al. teaches having the second circuit configured to read out the next set of job information from the two or more sets of job information in the order designated by the set of sequence information stored in the memory device [0005-0006, 0031].
Barr et al. teaches having the second circuit configured to read out the next set of job information from the two or more sets of job information in the order designated by the set of sequence information stored in the memory device (abstract, col. 4, lines 43-67, col. 7, lines 47-67, col. 13, lines 14-36, claims 22 and 43 figs. 1-3).
Given the teachings of HITA et al. to have circuits communicating/transmitting a set of sequence information that designates an order in which each of the two or more sets of job information is assigned to the next set of job information, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the second circuit is configured to read out the next set of job information from the two or more sets of job information in the order designated by the set of sequence information stored in the memory device to have improved automated operation of the tool, prevent using tool in a dangerous manner (wrong mode/job information), have guided instructions for each step in a task and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for safety purposes (doing the jobs in correct safe order) as taught by Long et al. and Barr et al.
Regarding claims 7 and 11-13, HITA et al. fails to discloses a first regulator associated with the first circuit; and a second regulator associated with the second circuit, a connector electrically coupling the first circuit board to the second circuit board, wherein the memory device is on the second circuit board
Long et al. teaches a first regulator (controller 22) associated with the first circuit; and a second regulator (output device 56/power source 30) associated with the second circuit, a connector electrically coupling the first circuit board to the second circuit board, wherein the memory device is on the second circuit board (“information and/or values received from component data storage device 26, angle sensor 34, strain sensor 44, and fastener data storage device 48 to regulate the operation of tightening tool 14 and power source 30” ([0029, 0042], claims 1 and 16).
Given the teachings of HITA et al. to have circuits communicating/transmitting a set of sequence information that designates an order in which each of the two or more sets of job information is assigned to the next set of job information and determine if screw has been tightened by monitoring speed, time, counting, and torque parameters, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the circuits to have a first regulator associated with the first circuit; and a second regulator associated with the second circuit to have improved automated operation of the tool, conserve power from a battery power supply, have regulated voltage and/or for supplying different voltages to different electronic mechanisms on the tool as taught by Long et al.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 6, HITA et al. discloses the set of sequence information includes two or more parameters associated with the respective two or more sets of job information (torque threshold, screw tightening upper-limit time, and the rotational speed for each type of screws), each of the two or more parameters defining a specified number of times to output an associated set of job information (counting mode); and the second circuit is configured to output the next set of job information to the first circuit in every completion of a drive of the motor by the first circuit until the second circuit completes outputs of the next set of job information for the specified number of times defined by an associated parameter, wherein the second circuit is configured to read out the next set of job information from the two or more sets of job information in an order in which each of the two or more sets of job information is stored in the memory device (predetermined order) and wherein the at least one operation setting includes a desired rotational speed of the motor, a desired tightening torque of a fastener, a desired operating time of the motor (limit times), a start-up profile of the motor [0033, 0039-0040], and/or a stop profile of the motor [0033-0040], figs. 3-5).
Regarding claims 15-17, HITA et al. discloses a communicator (external device/remote or controller 100) configured to perform a wired communication or a wireless communication with an external device, wherein: the external device is distinct from the electric power tool; and the second circuit is configured (i) to receive the two or more sets of job information from the external device via the communicator and (ii) to store, in the memory device, the two or more sets of job information received wherein the second circuit includes the communicator (signal input-output unit 38 connects to external device/remote or controller 100 with computing circuit to input and output job data/information and wherein the second circuit includes the memory device (operation display unit 16 circuit has the memory feature, [0055-0060], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 14, HITA et al. fails to discloses the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory.
Barr et al. teaches the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory (programmable microprocessor/computer 5, col. 6, lines 1-8)
Long et al. teaches the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory ([0029])
Given the teachings of HITA et al. to have circuits communicating/transmitting a set of sequence information with sets of job and a memory device, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory to have improved automated operation of the tool, improved storage memory, have temporarily storing data means, cache memory, and/or the history of work processes and usage data for program operations, as taught by Long et al. and Barr et al.
Regarding claim 18, HITA et al. discloses a main body (10) including the motor [0032], the manual switch (14), the memory device (16/30), the first circuit, and the second circuit (operation display unit 16 and/or signal input-output unit 38 connects to external device/remote or controller 100 with computing circuit and fig. 6 shows second circuit/controller 100, [0034, 0055-0060], figs. 1-2 and 6).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over HITA et al. (US 20180185993 A1) in view of Long et al. (US 20080178713 A1) in view of Barr et al. (US 7096569 B1) and further in view of ARAI (US 20200316764 A1).
Regarding claim 14, HITA et al. fails to discloses the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory.
Barr et al. teaches the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory (programmable microprocessor/computer 5, col. 6, lines 1-8)
Long et al. teaches the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory ([0029])
ARAI teaches a similar electric power tool (100, figs. 1-2) comprising: memory device (132) includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory [0022-0023, 0025, 0031], figs. 1-2).
Given the teachings of HITA et al. to have circuits communicating/transmitting a set of sequence information with sets of job and a memory device, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the memory device includes a rewritable and non-volatile memory to have improved automated operation of the tool, improved storage memory, have temporarily storing data means, cache memory, and/or the history of work processes and usage data for program operations, as taught by Long et al. and Barr et al. and further taught and evidenced by ARAI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious an electric power tool comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a memory device with a first circuit configured (i) to receive one set of job information and (ii) to drive the motor in accordance with the at least one operation setting included in the one set of job information based on the manual switch being or having been manually operated, the one set of job information corresponding to one of the two or more sets of job information stored in the memory device; and a second circuit (i) distinct from the first circuit and (ii) configured to output a next set of job information in the two or more sets of job information from the memory device to the first circuit based on the first circuit having completed driving the motor, the next set of job information being associated with a next tightening operation in the two or more tightening operations with a first regulator associated with the first circuit; and a second regulator associated with the second circuit wherein the first regulator is configured to generate a first voltage; and the second regulator is configured (i) to receive the first voltage from the first regulator and (ii) to generate a second voltage based on the first voltage received. Though HITA et al. (US 20180185993 A1) teaches a having two circuits to communicate a plurality of sets of job information from the memory device, it would not be obvious to modify the circuits to have “wa first regulator associated with the first circuit; and a second regulator associated with the second circuit wherein the first regulator is configured to generate a first voltage; and the second regulator is configured (i) to receive the first voltage from the first regulator and (ii) to generate a second voltage based on the first voltage received and one of ordinary skill would recognize that having the voltages communicated and regulated would require substantial hindsight modification to the circuits to have the unexpected result of efficient voltage usage and power conservation. Having the efficiency of the voltage communication provides a more effective power distribution.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 11-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Additional prior art considered pertinent:
US 20200371498 A1 – “overwriting in the memory, with the electronic processor, the first mode profile with the second mode profile… and to control the motor to operate according to the second mode profile” [0004-0005]
US 20160171903 A1- tool system (200/step panels 410-490, [0120-0123], figs. 2-4) with power tool (drill, soldering iron 610, glue gun 640 [0038-0049, 0078-0079], figs. 1-7) with first circuit/control unit (augmented tool engine 236 and/or processor 202) having a memory device (system memory 212 [0038-0049]) is configured to store a set of sequence information ([0099-0103], steps for a particular task, glasses required, attachments required and etc. [0099-0108, 01117]); and a second circuit (workspace guidance engine 232 and/or overview panel 410-“additional steps” [0102]) and see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731