DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected and claim 7 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants arguments on page 7 that new claim 12 has support in the specification, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the drawings originally submitted and the specification do not appear to depict that “the conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe is an external surface of the collecting pipe and is parallel to an internal surface of the collecting pipe such that a pipe wall of the collecting pipe has a constant thickness in the overlap region” (ex., there is no process describing achieving a constant wall thickness during manufacture of the pipe as it appears there would be instances in the manufacturing of the pipe where either a constant or a non-constant wall-thickness can occur; ex., a process using deformation of the pipe wall to produce a conicity appears could produce either a constant or non-constant pipe-wall thickness in the conical area).
In response to applicants arguments on page 7 that the figures depict conical sealing surface, the examiner respectfully disagrees as, for example, the annotated figures below show the sealing surface appear spherical instead of conical as depicted by the parallel lines (ex., it appears the portion where sealing contact occurs is spherical as opposed to being conical).
In response to applicant’s arguments on page 7 that the drawings do not need to depict each claimed feature, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the drawings should depict the claimed invention based on 37 CFR 1.83(a). For example, pipe 13 in figs. 2C and 2D depict a pipe without deformation points compared to the claims which require deformation points.
For example, 37 CFR 1.83(a) states:
“(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings”
In addition, 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) states:
“A cross section must be set out and drawn to show all of the materials as they are shown in the view from which the cross section was taken.”
Therefore, the claimed feature (ex., the deformation points) is not illustrated in the drawings for Figs. 2C and 2D which is required for a proper understanding and causes the material to not be properly shown from which the view of which the cross-section is taken (ex., if the pipe was cut in half, the deformation points would be shown compared to figs. 2C and 2D, making figs. 2C and 2D inconsistent).
In response to applicant’s arguments on page 8 that Zabe is designed to prevent axial floating and thereby teaching away from such limitation, the examiner respectfully disagrees as there was nothing found in Zabe which suggest the connection of Zabe is the only connection that could be used. For example, Zabe discloses:
“As seen in the figure, a preferable coupling means 402 comprises: sealant 403 (e.g., RTV silicone or the equivalent); a dome 404; and a barb by male thread elbow 405. Suitably, the dome 404 is adapted for placement over the plurality of ducts 203 to be coupled to tube 401. In a preferable embodiment, the dome is bored acrylic glass, other type of methyl methacrylate plastic, or the like. The elbow 405 is adapted to thread into the dome 404 and interference fit into the tube 401 . All core 200 surfaces under the dome 404 and all interfaces are preferably provided with the sealant 403 whereby the core 200, dome 404, and elbow 405 provide a fluid and gas sealed channel” (paragraph 0031).
Therefore, Zabe does not teach away from using another connection type and it has been held that “disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments” (see In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971)).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/14/2026. These drawings are accepted. However, the drawings are still objected to as outlined below:
In Figures 2C and 2D, the sealing surface appears to be spherical (ex., see annotated figures above) which should only be conical;
In Figure 2C, pipe 15 should not show a cross section but instead should appear like the pipe in fig. 2B (ex., 11.3 is defined as the outer lateral surface but it is showing the inner lateral surface; ex., the sectional cut depicts two bores on the left side shown annotated figures above);
In Figure 2C and 2D, the claimed deformation points are not shown as required by 37 CFR 1.83(a);
In fig. 2D, the outer sealing surface 11.31 appears should be removed/relocated between both pipe ends;
In Figure 3A and 3B, the outer and inner pipes (ex., coupling 15) do not appear to be outer and inner pipes (ex., coupling 15) of Figures 2B-2D (ex., the outer pipe does not appear to elastically deform as the outer pipe looks straight; ex., the outer pipe does not comprise any slotted deformations; ex., the inner pipe appears to have a flare at the end as opposed to the inner pipe of figures 2B-2D; ex., the figures are the same for a similar application, DE-102017207254, from the same applicant). Therefore, the claimed feature of the “An electrolysis facility comprising: a cell” is not shown with the coupling as shown in figures 2A-2D as required by 37 CFR 1.83(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case, the specification on 9/1/2023 does not disclose “the conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe is an external surface of the collecting pipe and is parallel to an internal surface of the collecting pipe such that a pipe wall of the collecting pipe has a constant thickness in the overlap region”. For example, the specification and drawings dated 9/1/2023 (ex., original drawings) at most discloses:
“No contact takes place on an outer lateral surface 13.3 of the outer pipe 13 and on an inner lateral surface 11.1 of the inner pipe 11” (ex., 11.1 is depicting there is an inner lateral surface on the inner pipe but does not depict there is a constant thickness);
“A sealing surface 11.31, 13.11 is formed on the two pipes 11, 13, respectively having the axial extension z11, z13.” (ex., fig. 2D shows 11.31 as a sealing surface depicting it is the outer surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper (U.S. PGPub No. 2010/0300381) in view of Knut et al. (GB-604573) and in further view of Zabe et al. (FR-2910110).
In regards to claim 1, Harper discloses:
An electrolysis facility (see fig. 4; ex., an automobile comprising an electrolysis facility as shown in fig. 5; ex., see paragraph 0033) comprising:
a cell (402; see fig. 4, where element 402 comprises multiple plates 201, 202);
a discharge pipe (405) that is connected to the cell,
wherein the discharge pipe is an interior overlapping discharge pipe;
a collecting pipe (401),
wherein the collecting pipe is an exterior overlapping collecting pipe (see fig. 1 near 401 for clarity); and
a sealed coupling that connects the discharge pipe to the collecting pipe (it is inherent that both pipes are sealed to each other as described in paragraph 0031 and shown in fig. 4),
but does not disclose:
the discharge pipe being comprised of plastic,
the collecting pipe that is comprised of metal
wherein the discharge pipe is an exterior overlapping discharge pipe;
wherein the collecting pipe is an interior overlapping collecting pipe,
wherein the discharge pipe has slotted deformation points,
wherein the discharge pipe has slotted deformation points, is mounted in an axially floating manner on a conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe in an overlap region, and is sealed by surface pressure, wherein the discharge and collecting pipes form the sealed coupling that permits relative axial displacement between the pipes while maintaining the seal.
In regards to the coupling comprising slotted deformations, Knut discloses a similar device (see figure 5 hereinafter) comprising:
a discharge pipe (3) comprising slotted deformations (see page 2, lines 9-12, where the slots are provided in figure 5 but not shown) and a conical surface (see near 14) and is mounted in an axially floating manner (see annotated figure 5 below, where there is axial play; ex., see page 1, line 79 which describes element 7 as “play”), and
a collection pipe (2) that comprises a conical surfaces (see near 14) that are complimentary to the conical surfaces of the discharge pipe such that a seal is provided therebetween (see near 14),
wherein the discharge pipe is mounted in an axially floating manner on the conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe in an overlap region (see annotated fig. 5), and is sealed by surface pressure (it is inherent that a “snap on” pipe coupling is sealed by surface pressure of the fingers of the discharge pipe),
wherein the discharge and collecting pipes form the sealed coupling that permits relative axial displacement between the pipes while maintaining the seal (structurally, axial movement is possible via the “play” as shown in annotated figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the coupling ends of Harper with the coupling ends of Knut such that the discharge pipe of Harper comprises the end of Knut comprising slotted deformations and an inner conical surface and the collection pipe of Harper comprises the end of Knut comprising a complimentary radially outward conical surface to meet the limitation of claim 1 because Harper discloses a similar device where a tube is pressed onto a conically barbed end and only differs from the claim device by a replacement with the coupling ends of Knut, Knut discloses a similar device where two tube ends are pressed together to provide a tightened and automatically locked joint (see lines 23-35), and one of ordinary skill could have replaced the one known coupling for the other known coupling because replacing one known coupling for another known coupling to provide the benefit as disclosed by Knut would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the material selections, Zabe discloses coupling end pieces for a similar device that may be made of either metal or plastic (see line 255) for automobiles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use a plastic material for the discharge pipe and a metal material for the collecting pipe of Harper in view of Knut because Harper discloses a coupling used in an automobile, Zabe discloses that both end pieces may be made of either metal or plastic (see line 255) for automobiles and it has been held that a selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 2, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1 wherein the discharge pipe is an integral single-piece construction (it is inherent that both pipes are single-piece construction).
In regards to claim 3, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1 wherein the discharge pipe is free of a clamp that surrounds the discharge pipe at the seal (ex., see annotated figure 5 above hereinafter).
In regards to claim 4, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1 wherein an outer wall of the collecting pipe is free of a radially outward protruding rib that is configured to mate with a circumferential recess of an inner wall of the discharge pipe (ex., see annotated figure 5 where the edge is configured to engage the hook 8).
In regards to claim 5, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the sealed coupling is formed in the overlap region of the discharge and collecting pipes by lateral surfaces abutting one another (ex., the entire conical portions abutting each other),
wherein the collection pipe is mounted inside the discharge pipe of the at least two pipes in an axial floating manner (ex., see axial play in annotated figure 5),
forming the seal between the discharge and collecting pipes in an axial direction that is capable of and configured in a mounted state to permit relative axial displacement between the inner and outer pipes caused by changes in temperature while maintaining the seal (structurally, it appears the device would meet the functional limitation as slight axial movement would be met by the axial play in annotated figure 5),
with the discharge pipe being an integral single-piece construction that is free of a clamp that surrounds the discharge pipe at the seal (see annotated figure 5, where no clamp is used),
wherein the deformation points are each disposed at a predefined circumferential position having an axial length on a free end of the discharge pipe (ex., see annotated fig. 5, where the slits have axial lengths on the free end),
but does not disclose:
wherein the deformation points are disposed in the overlap region.
In regards to the deformation points in the overlap region, Knut discloses that the discharge pipe can either comprise a recesses (13, fig. 5) on each hook (see page 1, lines 88-90, where recesses are only provided in figures 2 and 4) or does not comprise a recess on each hook (ex., see figure 1, where there is no recess),
wherein both configurations are obvious variants of shape, producing no unexpected results (ex., compare figure 1 and figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of the discharge pipe of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that the inner surface is a continuous conical inner surface without a recess because Knut discloses that these are obvious variants of each other (ex., compare figure 1 and 5) and it has been held that a change in shape (ex., conical inner surface comprising a recess vs a continuous conical inner surface) is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to claim 6, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the discharge pipe and the collecting pipe are configured to carry liquids and gasses (it is inherent that both devices are used for fluids in an automobile and would meet the functional limitation).
In regards to claim 8, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the discharge and collection pipe are coupled at free ends thereof on lateral surfaces abutting one another (see annotated fig. 5),
wherein the discharge and collection pipe are mounted in an axial floating manner relative to one another by way of the sealed coupling (structurally, there is nothing preventing axial displaced between each pipe due to the axial play), which enables relative axial displacement between the discharge and collection pipe caused by changes in temperature while maintaining the seal formed between the discharge and collection pipe (structurally, it appears there is nothing preventing axial displacement while maintaining the seal during temperature fluctuations),
wherein the sealed coupling is in the overlap region of the discharge and collection pipe (see annotated figure 5),
wherein the deformation point is disposed on at least one predefined circumferential position having a predefined axial length (see annotated figure 5),
wherein the discharge pipe of the at least two pipes is an integral single-piece construction (see annotated figure 5),
wherein the discharge pipe and at least a majority of each deformation point are exposed at the sealed coupling (see annotated figure 5),
but does not disclose:
wherein the deformation point is disposed in the overlap region by way of which the deformation point abutting of the lateral surfaces on one another to form a seal is ensured with approximately uniform axial pre-tension force on the overlap region in an event of axial displacement of the discharge and collecting pipes relative to one another.
In regards to the deformation points abutting the conical lateral surface, Knut discloses that the discharge pipe can either comprise a recesses (13, fig. 5) on each hook (see page 1, lines 88-90, where recesses are only provided in figures 2 and 4) or does not comprise a recess on each hook (ex., see figure 1, where there is no recess),
wherein both configurations are obvious variants of shape, producing no unexpected results (ex., compare figure 1 and figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of the discharge pipe of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that the inner surface is a continuous conical inner surface without a recess because Knut discloses that these are obvious variants of each other (ex., compare figure 1 and 5) and it has been held that a change in shape (ex., conical inner surface comprising a recess vs a continuous conical inner surface) is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to claim 9, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the sealed coupling is formed on the overlap region of the discharge and collecting pipes by lateral surfaces abutting one another (see annotated fig. 5),
wherein the collecting pipe is either mounted or mountable inside the discharge pipe in a floating manner to form the seal between the discharge and collecting pipes in an axial direction (structurally, it appears there is nothing preventing the device from meeting this functional limitation as shown in annotated figure 5),
wherein the deformation point are disposed at a predefined circumferential position having an axial length on a free end of the discharge pipe,
but does not disclose:
wherein the deformation point are disposed in the overlap region.
In regards to the deformation points in the overlap region, Knut discloses that the discharge pipe can either comprise a recesses (13, fig. 5) on each hook (see page 1, lines 88-90, where recesses are only provided in figures 2 and 4) or does not comprise a recess on each hook (ex., see figure 1, where there is no recess),
wherein both configurations are obvious variants of shape, producing no unexpected results (ex., compare figure 1 and figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of the discharge pipe of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that the inner surface is a continuous conical inner surface without a recess because Knut discloses that these are obvious variants of each other (ex., compare figure 1 and 5) and it has been held that a change in shape (ex., conical inner surface comprising a recess vs a continuous conical inner surface) is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to claim 10, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the discharge and collecting pipes are coupled at free ends thereof on lateral surfaces abutting one another,
wherein the discharge and collecting pipes are mounted in a floating manner relative to one another by way of the sealed coupling (see annotated fig. 5),
wherein the sealed coupling is in the overlap region of the discharge and collecting pipes (see annotated fig. 5),
wherein the deformation point are disposed at a predefined circumferential position having an axial length on a free end of the discharge pipe (see annotated figure 5),
but does not disclose:
wherein the deformation point is disposed in the overlap region, by way of which the deformation point abutting of the lateral surfaces on one another to form the seal is ensured with approximately uniform axial pre-tension force on the overlap region in an event of axial displacement of the discharge and collecting pipes relative to one another.
In regards to the deformation points in the overlap region, Knut discloses that the discharge pipe can either comprise a recesses (13, fig. 5) on each hook (see page 1, lines 88-90, where recesses are only provided in figures 2 and 4) or does not comprise a recess on each hook (ex., see figure 1, where there is no recess),
wherein both configurations are obvious variants of shape, producing no unexpected results (ex., compare figure 1 and figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of the discharge pipe of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that the inner surface is a continuous conical inner surface without a recess because Knut discloses that these are obvious variants of each other (ex., compare figure 1 and 5) and it has been held that a change in shape (ex., conical inner surface comprising a recess vs a continuous conical inner surface) is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to claim 11, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the sealed coupling is tolerant of thermal expansion between the discharge and collecting pipes (structurally, there is nothing preventing the device from not being tolerant of thermal expansion as shown in annotated figure 5).
In regards to claim 13, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe provides a conical widening of a free end of the collecting pipe (ex., see fig. 5 where the free end of pipe 2 is conically widened starting from the end).
In regards to claim 14, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the discharge pipe is mounted in an axially floating manner on the collecting pipe
but does not disclose:
wherein the discharge pipe can float axially by up to 10 mm with respect to the collecting pipe.
In regards to the sealing length, while Harper in view of Knut and Zabe does not disclose “the discharge pipe can float axially by up to 10 mm with respect to the collecting pipe”, the “length” of the sealing portion may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the length of the sealing portion of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that “the discharge pipe can float axially by up to 10 mm with respect to the collecting pipe”, as the “length” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 15, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1,
but does not disclose:
wherein the conical sealing surface has a conicity in a range from 10 to 20 degrees.
In regards to the conicity, while Harper in view of Knut and Zabe does not disclose “the conical sealing surface has a conicity in a range from 10 to 20 degrees”, the “conicity” of the conical sealing surface may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the conicity of the conical sealing surface of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that “the conical sealing surface has a conicity in a range from 10 to 20 degrees”, as the “conicity” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 16, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 15,
but does not disclose:
wherein the conicity extends over a longitudinal length of between 35 mm and 45 mm.
In regards to the conicity, while Harper in view of Knut and Zabe does not disclose “conicity extends over a longitudinal length of between 35 mm and 45 mm”, the “length” of the conicity may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the length of conicity of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that “the conicity extends over a longitudinal length of between 35 mm and 45 mm”, as the “length” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claims 17-19, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe further discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 15, wherein the conical sealing surface has a conicity in a range from 12 to 18 degrees.
It is noted that applicant's specification does not explain the criticality of being exactly 15 degrees compared to 10 to 20 degrees or 12 to 18 degrees. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the conicity of the conical sealing surface of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that the conicity is in a range of 12-18 degrees as desired for the intended use.
In regards to claim 20, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1,
but does not disclose:
wherein an inclination of the conical sealing surface in relation to a central longitudinal axis is in a range from 5 to 10 degrees.
In regards to the inclination angle, while Harper in view of Knut and Zabe does not disclose “an inclination of the conical sealing surface in relation to a central longitudinal axis is in a range from 5 to 10 degrees”, the angle of “inclination” of the conical sealing surface may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the angle of inclination of the conical sealing surface of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe such that “an inclination of the conical sealing surface in relation to a central longitudinal axis is in a range from 5 to 10 degrees”, as the angle of “inclination” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper in view of Knut and Zabe as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Brown et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,476,413).
In regards to claim 12, Harper in view of Knut and Zabe discloses:
The electrolysis facility of claim 1, wherein the conical sealing surface of the collecting pipe is an external surface of the collecting pipe,
but does not disclose:
wherein the conical sealing surface is parallel to an internal surface of the collecting pipe such that a pipe wall of the collecting pipe has a constant thickness in the overlap region.
In regards to constant thickness, Brown discloses a similar device where an inner conical pipe (166, fig. 3) has a constant wall thickness such that:
“If the inner member is also tubular and of substantially constant wall thickness, it is capable of withstanding a higher hoop compression. The effect of this is that the included taper angle of the tapered surfaces of the outer and inner members may be higher than in the case of outer and inner member having tapering wall thickness, which is an important feature of the invention” (5:37-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the collecting pipe of Harper in view of Knut and Zabe to have a constant wall thickness to meet the limitation of the claim because Brown discloses a similar device where providing a constant wall thickness for the inner conical pipe provides the benefit of withstanding higher hoop compression (5:37-43).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679