DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/241,801, filed 11/19/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 7-9 and 15, in the reply filed on is acknowledged.
Claims 16-25 are withdrawn from further consideration for being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 7-9 and 15 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modest (US-20160301038-A1) in view of Zhamu (US-20170352868-A1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 7,
Modest et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a thermal battery (see [0175],” system that can heat itself”, wherein a heat generating battery is a thermal battery), the method comprising:
melting lithium ([0099], [0109]),
immersing [0109] a metal alloy foam (Fig. 3, 307; [0076], [0085] [0109]), in which a plurality of pores are formed (where pores are inherent to foams)
and comprising nickel (Ni) [0085], iron (Fe) [0085] mixed in a predetermined composition ratio ([0085], “Ni—Fe”, 1:1);
and arranging an anode current collector (Fig. 3, 302, wherein 302 is a current collector because it is conductive and collects current; [0076]) on one surface (Fig. 3, top surface of 37) of the metal alloy foam 307;
and sequentially stacking an electrolyte (Fig. 4, electrolyte 304; [0076]), a cathode (Fig. 3, 305; [0076]), and a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, 308; [0076]) on another surface (Fig. 3, 307; https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON) of the metal alloy [0085] foam 307.
Modest fails to teach a glove box under an argon atmosphere; and comprising nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), chromium (Cr), and aluminum (Al) mixed in a predetermined composition ratio.
Zhamu teaches a glove box ([0204], “cells were assembled in a glove box” wherein the entire assembly occurs in the glove box). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to assembly the cells of Modest in a glove box “since pure alkali metals, such as potassium and sodium, are extremely sensitive to moisture and pose an explosion danger” (Zhamu; [0024]).
Further, Zhamu teaches comprising nickel (Ni) [0040], iron (Fe) [0040], chromium (Cr) [0040], and aluminum (Al) [0040] mixed in a predetermined composition ratio [0040]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use metal foam composition of Zhamu, as Zhamu teaches the metal foam is selected to better attract lithium [0040] and impart better conductivity to suppress dendrite formation [0036].
While Zhamu is silent to under an argon atmosphere, it is well understood in the art to use Argon as a gas environment for glove boxes for its inert properties (see https://ehs.mit.edu/wp-content/uploads/EHS_0222.pdf), such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use argon in the glove box for its inert properties, “since pure alkali metals… are extremely sensitive to moisture and pose an explosion danger” (Zhamu; [0024]).
Regarding claim 8,
Modest in view of Zhamu teaches the method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above) teaches wherein a surface pre-treatment operation using eutectic salts is not performed on the surfaces of the metal alloy foam (wherein Modest is silent to a surface pre-treatment with eutectic salts).
Regarding claim 9,
Modest in view of Zhamu teaches the method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the molten lithium [0109] is impregnated ([0076], [0109], “Li metal, wetting into the foam/porous structure”); into the metal alloy foam [0098] within five minutes in the immersing of the metal alloy foam in the molten lithium (wherein at least a portion of the porous alloy foam is immediately impregnated after contact with Li metal [0076], [0109] due to the metal foam having open pores [0076], [0109]).
Regarding claim 15,
A method of manufacturing a thermal battery (see [0175],” system that can heat itself”, wherein a heat generating battery is a thermal battery), the method comprising:
melting lithium ([0099], [0109]),
immersing [0109] a metal alloy foam (Fig. 3, 307;[0076],[0085] [0109]), in which a plurality of pores are formed (where pores are inherent to foams)
and comprising nickel (Ni) [0085], iron (Fe) [0085] mixed in a predetermined composition ratio ([0085], “Ni—Fe”, 1:1);
and arranging an anode current collector (Fig. 3, 302, wherein 302 is a current collector because it is conductive and collects current; [0076]) on one surface (Fig. 3, top surface of 37) of the metal alloy foam 307;
and sequentially stacking an electrolyte (Fig. 4, electrolyte 304; [0076]), a cathode (Fig. 3, 305; [0076]), and a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, 308; [0076]) on another surface (Fig. 3, 307; https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON) of the metal alloy [0085] foam 307.
Modest fails to teach a glove box under an argon atmosphere; and comprising nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), chromium (Cr), and molybdenum (Mo) mixed in a predetermined composition ratio.
Zhamu teaches a glove box ([0204], “cells were assembled in a glove box” wherein the entire assembly occurs in the glove box). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to assembly the cells of Modest in a glove box “since pure alkali metals, such as potassium and sodium, are extremely sensitive to moisture and pose an explosion danger” (Zhamu; [0024]).
Further, Zhamu teaches comprising nickel (Ni) [0040], iron (Fe) [0040], chromium (Cr) [0040], and molybdenum (Mo) [0040] mixed in a predetermined composition ratio [0040]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use metal foam composition of Zhamu, as Zhamu teaches the metal foam is selected to better attract lithium [0040] and impart better conductivity to suppress dendrite formation [0036].
While Zhamu is silent to under an argon atmosphere, it is well understood in the art to use Argon as a gas environment for glove boxes for its inert properties (see https://ehs.mit.edu/wp-content/uploads/EHS_0222.pdf), such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use argon in the glove box for its inert properties, “since pure alkali metals… are extremely sensitive to moisture and pose an explosion danger” (Zhamu; [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Choi, “Electrochemical properties of a lithium-impregnated metal foam anode for thermal batteries”, relevant to an alternate disclosure of metal foam impregnation with lithium metal.
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723