DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 2 and 14, Examiner indicated that objected claims 7 and 19 would be allowable if placed in independent form. Upon further search and consideration, the limitations of claims 7 and 19 are now rejected by Ananad et al US 20230111306 and Bovik et al US 20180247127.
Claims 7 and 19 teach providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network; and training the vision transformer network to recover the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
Bovik et al teaches The results were computed using 1,000 iterations of randomly sampled training and testing groups. Care was taken to not overlap training and testing on the same content in any iteration since such an overlap could inflate performance results by training on the content rather than distortion (paragraph 0140). distortion map can be generated using a sliding window to capture patches from the image being analyzed. Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class. (paragraph 0145). Note: this citation teaches that 1,000 randomly distorted non-overlapping patches for each image were used for training. This training data, in combination with the vision transformer network of Anand et al (vision transformer (ViT) network 200 that takes an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204 paragraph 0058), would read on providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network.
Anand et al teaches the ViT 200 takes an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204. These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. The ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208. These patch features representations and the intermediate representation for the entire image are then normalized by a normalization layer 212 (recover the unique portion of each medical image) to generate a final feature representation 214 for the input image 202 (paragraph 0058). Note: the ViT 202 is trained by the patch features and then normalized, by normalizing the patch features of the images, the ViT 202 normalizes (recovers or makes clear or normal) the patch features of the image. This reads on training the vision transformer network to recover the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anand et al US 20230111306 in view of Bovik et al US 20180247127 further in view of Yang et al US 20200302176 further in view of Wang et al US 20190362494.
Regarding claim 2, Anand et al teaches a self-supervised machine learning method for learning visual representations in medical images (abstract), comprising:
receiving a plurality of medical images of similar anatomy (the medical images in the set can include images depicting same or different anatomical regions and patients, captured using same or different imaging modalities (e.g., XR, PT, MRI, CT, etc.), and/or captured using same or different acquisition parameters/protocols (paragraph 0052);
dividing each of the plurality of medical images into its own sequence of non-overlapping patches, wherein a unique portion of each medical image appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches (an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204 (dividing images into patches). These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions (sequences) of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058);
learning, via a vision transformer network, patch-wise high-level contextual features in the plurality of medical images (vision transformer (ViT) network 200 that can be used as the transformer network 116 to generate feature representations for medical images. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058); and
training the vision transformer network to recover the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (the ViT 200 takes an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204. These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. The ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features (unique portion) to be fed into the transformer encoder 208. These patch features representations and the intermediate representation for the entire image are then normalized by a normalization layer 212 (recover the unique portion of each medical image) to generate a final feature representation 214 for the input image 202 (paragraph 0058). Note: the ViT 202 is trained by the patch features and then normalized, by normalizing the patch features of the images, the ViT 202 normalizes (recovers or makes clear or normal) the patch features of the image.
Anand et al fails to teach randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
Bovik et al teaches randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145) Note: patches are randomly sequence based on the distorted class;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145);
providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (given these two distorted sets, the dataset was split into two non-overlapping subsets: 80 percent for training and 20 percent for testing. A Support Vector Classifier (SVC) (vision transformer network) was used to map the features between two classes. Random 80/20 splits were produced and classified (paragraph 0127) Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (paragraph 0145); and
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (The results were computed using 1,000 iterations of randomly sampled training and testing groups. Care was taken to not overlap training and testing on the same content in any iteration since such an overlap could inflate performance results by training on the content rather than distortion (paragraph 0140). distortion map can be generated using a sliding window to capture patches from the image being analyzed. Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class. (paragraph 0145). Note: this citation teaches that 1,000 randomly distorted non-overlapping patches for each image were used for training.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al to include: randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images; randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images and providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al fails to teach learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images
Yang et al teaches learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images (the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al fails to teach training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images
Wang et al teaches training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (training a deep learning model, using acquired sequences of image patches to predict the sequence of blood vessel (fig 1a and 1b)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 3, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al teaches wherein learning, via a vision transformer network, patch- wise high-level contextual features comprises learning high-level anatomical structures and their relative relationships in the plurality of medical images (Anand et al: Image set 601 corresponds to one image while image set 602 corresponds to the second image. The upper row of images in each set corresponds to the attention head map while the lower row of images depicts the attention head maps overlaid onto the original input image. Both images were processed by the ViT network 200 to generate the corresponding attention head maps which are overlaid onto the original input images. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for both input images, the ViT network 200 attention head maps consistently point to similar anatomical regions of interest across the different images, which in this case include the bone region of the knee (paragraph 0077 and fig 6).
Regarding claim 5, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al further in view of Wang et al teaches wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Wang et al: the corresponding sequence(s) of image patches and the sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be obtained as training data. The corresponding sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be that predicted previously for the patient's blood vessel path by using the deep learning model (paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 6, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view Yang et al further in view of Wang et al teaches wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images (Yang et al: the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to learning different changes in an image in order to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 10, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al teach all of the limitations of claim 8
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al teach:
Anand et al teaches wherein learning, via the vision transformer network, patch-wise high-level contextual features in the plurality of medical images (vision transformer (ViT) network 200 that can be used as the transformer network 116 to generate feature representations for medical images. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058) comprises:
providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (Bovik et al: given these two distorted sets, the dataset was split into two non-overlapping subsets: 80 percent for training and 20 percent for testing. A Support Vector Classifier (SVC) (vision transformer network) was used to map the features between two classes. Random 80/20 splits were produced and classified (paragraph 0127) Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (paragraph 0145); and
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang fails to teach training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images
Wang et al teaches training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Wang et al: training a deep learning model, using acquired sequences of image patches to predict the sequence of blood vessel (fig 1a and 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 11, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al fails to teach wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non- overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Wang et al: the corresponding sequence(s) of image patches and the sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be obtained as training data. The corresponding sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be that predicted previously for the patient's blood vessel path by using the deep learning model (paragraph 0029).
Wang et al teaches wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non- overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Wang et al: the corresponding sequence(s) of image patches and the sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be obtained as training data. The corresponding sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be that predicted previously for the patient's blood vessel path by using the deep learning model (paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 14, Anand et al teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage media having instructions stored thereupon that (paragraph 0048), when executed by a process of a system specially configured for diagnosing disease within new medical images (a disease classification for the medial image, and so on. The computer executable components can further comprise a classification component that determines a classification of the new medical image based on the one or more defined class attributes associated with the one or more similar medical images (paragraph 0014);
wherein the instructions cause the system to perform operations including:
receiving a plurality of medical images of similar anatomy (the medical images in the set can include images depicting same or different anatomical regions and patients, captured using same or different imaging modalities (e.g., XR, PT, MRI, CT, etc.), and/or captured using same or different acquisition parameters/protocols (paragraph 0052);
dividing each of the plurality of medical images into its own sequence of non-overlapping patches, wherein a unique portion of each medical image appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches (an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204 (dividing images into patches). These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions (sequences) of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058);
learning, via a vision transformer network, patch-wise high-level contextual features in the plurality of medical images (vision transformer (ViT) network 200 that can be used as the transformer network 116 to generate feature representations for medical images. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058); and
training the vision transformer network to recover the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (the ViT 200 takes an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204. These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. The ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features (unique portion) to be fed into the transformer encoder 208. These patch features representations and the intermediate representation for the entire image are then normalized by a normalization layer 212 (recover the unique portion of each medical image) to generate a final feature representation 214 for the input image 202 (paragraph 0058). Note: the ViT 202 is trained by the patch features and then normalized, by normalizing the patch features of the images, the ViT 202 normalizes (recovers or makes clear or normal) the patch features of the image.
Anand et al fails to teach randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network;
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
Bovik et al teaches randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145) Note: patches are randomly sequence based on the distorted class;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145);
providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (given these two distorted sets, the dataset was split into two non-overlapping subsets: 80 percent for training and 20 percent for testing. A Support Vector Classifier (SVC) (vision transformer network) was used to map the features between two classes. Random 80/20 splits were produced and classified (paragraph 0127). Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (paragraph 0145)
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (The results were computed using 1,000 iterations of randomly sampled training and testing groups. Care was taken to not overlap training and testing on the same content in any iteration since such an overlap could inflate performance results by training on the content rather than distortion (paragraph 0140). distortion map can be generated using a sliding window to capture patches from the image being analyzed. Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class. (paragraph 0145). Note: this citation teaches that 1,000 randomly distorted non-overlapping patches for each image were used for training.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al to include: randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images; randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images; providing the randomized sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network; providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al fails to teach learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images
Yang et al teaches learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images (the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al fails to teach training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images
Wang et al teaches training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (training a deep learning model, using acquired sequences of image patches to predict the sequence of blood vessel (fig 1a and 1b)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 15, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view Yang et al teaches wherein learning, via a vision transformer network, patch-wise high-level contextual features comprises learning high-level anatomical structures and their relative relationships in the plurality of medical images (Anand et al: Image set 601 corresponds to one image while image set 602 corresponds to the second image. The upper row of images in each set corresponds to the attention head map while the lower row of images depicts the attention head maps overlaid onto the original input image. Both images were processed by the ViT network 200 to generate the corresponding attention head maps which are overlaid onto the original input images. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for both input images, the ViT network 200 attention head maps consistently point to similar anatomical regions of interest across the different images, which in this case include the bone region of the knee (paragraph 0077 and fig 6).
Regarding claim 17, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al further in view of Wang et al teaches wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non- overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Wang et al: the corresponding sequence(s) of image patches and the sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be obtained as training data. The corresponding sequence(s) of blood vessel condition parameters may be that predicted previously for the patient's blood vessel path by using the deep learning model (paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al to include: wherein training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images comprises training the vision transformer network to predict the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images based on an appearance of each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 18, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view Yang et al teaches wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images (Yang et al: the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to learning different changes in an image in order to accurately analyze medical images.
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anand et al US 20230111306 in view of Bovik et al US 20180247127 further in view of Yang et al US 20200302176.
Regarding claim 8, Anand et al teaches a system comprising:
a memory to store instructions (memory (paragraph 0010); and
a processor to execute the instructions stored in the memory (processor (paragraph 0010);
wherein the system is specially configured to execute instructions via the processor for performing the following operations:
receiving a plurality of medical images of similar anatomy (the medical images in the set can include images depicting same or different anatomical regions and patients, captured using same or different imaging modalities (e.g., XR, PT, MRI, CT, etc.), and/or captured using same or different acquisition parameters/protocols (paragraph 0052);
dividing each of the plurality of medical images into its own sequence of non- overlapping patches, wherein a unique portion of each medical image appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches (an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204 (dividing images into patches). These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions (sequences) of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058);
learning, via a vision transformer network, patch-wise high-level contextual features in the plurality of medical images (vision transformer (ViT) network 200 that can be used as the transformer network 116 to generate feature representations for medical images. To facilitate this end, the ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions (unique portion) in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features to be fed into the transformer encoder 208 (paragraph 0058); and
training the vision transformer network to recover the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (the ViT 200 takes an input image 202 and image is cut into several different patches 204. These patches are linear projections that contain different portions of the input image 202. The patches and the relative positions of the patches are fed into the transformer encoder 208 which learns patch feature representations 210 for each of the patches as well as an intermediate a representation for the entire input image. The ViT employs a plurality of different attention heads 206 that respectively identify the regions in the respective patches that contain the most important/influential features (unique portion) to be fed into the transformer encoder 208. These patch features representations and the intermediate representation for the entire image are then normalized by a normalization layer 212 (recover the unique portion of each medical image) to generate a final feature representation 214 for the input image 202 (paragraph 0058). Note: the ViT 202 is trained by the patch features and then normalized, by normalizing the patch features of the images, the ViT 202 normalizes (recovers or makes clear or normal) the patch features of the image.
Anand et al fails teach randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images;
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
Bovik et al teaches randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145) Note: patches are randomly sequence based on the distorted class;
randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images (Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class (paragraph 0145);
providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network (The results were computed using 1,000 iterations of randomly sampled training and testing groups. Care was taken to not overlap training and testing on the same content in any iteration since such an overlap could inflate performance results by training on the content rather than distortion (paragraph 0140). distortion map can be generated using a sliding window to capture patches from the image being analyzed. Each patch was classified using multiple probabilistic SVCs (, one per distortion type, to determine the likelihood that the patch belonged to that distorted class or to the natural image class. (paragraph 0145). Note: this citation teaches that 1,000 randomly distorted non-overlapping patches for each image were used for training.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al to include: randomizing the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images; randomly distorting the unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images; providing the randomly distorted unique portion of each medical image that appears in each patch in the sequence of non-overlapping patches for each of the plurality of medical images to the vision transformer network
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Anand et al in view of Bovik et al fails to teach learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images
Yang et al teaches learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images (the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately analyze medical images.
Regarding claim 9, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view of Yang et al teaches wherein learning, via a vision transformer network, patch- wise high-level contextual features comprises learning high-level anatomical structures and their relative relationships in the plurality of medical images (Anand et al: Image set 601 corresponds to one image while image set 602 corresponds to the second image. The upper row of images in each set corresponds to the attention head map while the lower row of images depicts the attention head maps overlaid onto the original input image. Both images were processed by the ViT network 200 to generate the corresponding attention head maps which are overlaid onto the original input images. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for both input images, the ViT network 200 attention head maps consistently point to similar anatomical regions of interest across the different images, which in this case include the bone region of the knee (paragraph 0077 and fig 6).
Regarding claim 12, Anand et al in view of Bovik et al further in view Yang et al teaches wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images (Yang et al: the generative portion generates image data during training. The generated image data comprises various generated representations of the feature being re-identified, in which each variation changes the appearance of the feature in some way. This approach may permit the neural network to learn to recognize fine-grained aspects of the features being analyzed (paragraph 0015)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anand et al in view of Bovik et al to include: wherein learning simultaneously, via the vision transformer network, fine-grained features embedded in the plurality of medical images comprises learning details in texture variations embedded throughout an entirety of the plurality of medical images.
The reason for doing so would be to learning different changes in an image in order to accurately analyze medical images.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2683
Michael Burleson
October 3, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 10/12/2026