DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 & 9-17 are pending in the application, of which 1 and 15 are amended, claims 10-14 are withdrawn, and claims 4-8 & 19-20 are cancelled.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited references (i.e., Tachibana and Peng) are fundamentally different as they pertain to heating and not cooling. This argument is not found persuasive because the heating or cooling of the fluid does not obviate the suggestion by the references to provide a temperature sensor within a nozzle. The broad teaching provided by the reference is that a temperature sensor can be provided in a nozzle for measurement of a fluid therein. There is nothing explicitly stated by the reference which would suggest that a temperature sensor cannot be provided for measuring a cooled fluid. A skilled artisan understands that a temperature sensor within a nozzle can also be utilized for detecting a cooled fluid as well as a heated fluid.
Applicant’s arguments to the Siefering reference are moot as it is no longer utilized in the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 15, and more specifically the limitations involving the flow control valve, have been considered but are moot in view of the new references utilized to meet the new limitations.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15, and more specifically the limitations involving supercritical processing chamber, have been considered but are moot in view of the new references utilized to meet the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goshi (US20240194502A1), Kiyose (US20200090958A1), Douglas (US20040025908A1), Kiyohara (US20180158676A1), Peterson (US20140069130A1), Zhang (US20100096109A1) Busche (US20150187625A1), Tachibana (US20180161737A1), and Peng (US20150024661A1).
As to claim 1, Goshi discloses a substrate processing apparatus (Fig.1 ref 1) comprising: a liquid processing chamber (Fig.1 ref 2, see also Fig.2) configured to supply an organic solvent [0030] for cleaning a substrate to the substrate; a transfer robot (Fig.1 ref 161) configured to transfer the substrate coated with the organic solvent [0030]; a supercritical processing chamber (Fig.1 ref 3, see also Fig.3) configured to supply a supercritical fluid for drying the substrate coated with the organic solvent [0032 & 0034]; an organic solvent supplying apparatus configured to supply the organic solvent to the liquid processing chamber (best seen by Fig.5), the supplying apparatus comprising: a supply tank (Fig.5 ref 41) configured to store the organic solvent; a supply line connected to the supply tank and the liquid processing chamber (see Fig.5 flow line from ref 41 to ref 22); the supply line connects the supply tank and a nozzle of the liquid processing chamber to each other (Goshi Fig.5). Goshi does not disclose the presence of a cooling module, however such a feature would be obvious in view of Kiyose.
Kiyose discloses an art related substrate processing apparatus (abstract), wherein a cooling part is utilized in a supply line (Fig.2 ref 27) to reduce temperature of IPA sprayed onto wafer in order to prevent poor quality liquid film from forming due to vaporization [0085-0086 & 0113]. The cooling part cools from -89 degrees Celsius to below room temperature and prevents pattern collapse when transferring to a drying unit [0042], thus the cooling part reads on a cooling module. Kiyose does not explicitly detail the construction of the cooling portion. However, the use of heat exchangers and chillers for the cooling of fluids is well-known in the art, as seen by Douglas and Kiyohara.
Douglas discloses an art related semiconductor processing system utilizing supercritical fluid (abstract), wherein it is known that a manner of cooling a fluid is by directing the fluid through a heat exchanger which is cooled via a chiller [0022]. It is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the cooling of a heat exchanger by a chiller indicates the presence of a coolant being fed to the heat exchanger from the chiller.
Kiyohara discloses an art related supercritical substrate processing system (abstract), wherein it is known that a cooling device can receive cooling water from a chiller [0072].
Although the specifics of a temperature controller and a valve to control a flow rate from a chiller are not explicitly discussed by Kiyohara and Douglas, such features are common and well-known thermal control configuration with regards to heat exchangers, as seen by Peterson, Zhang, and Busche.
Peterson discloses an art related semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a temperature controller to receive data regarding a temperature of a fluid and determine an amount of coolant to be supplied (e.g., flow rate) in order to achieve desired fluid temperature [0025].
Zhang discloses an art related semiconductor treating system [0001], wherein it is known to utilize a nozzle (Fig.1 ref 114) for providing fluid to a substrate. The nozzle may be provided with a temperature sensor in order to detect the temperature of the nozzle [0026], and Zhang also indicates that the temperature of any desired component may be controlled as well [0026]. The temperature of the nozzle is controlled via a heat exchanger (Fig.1 ref 128) which is supplied coolant by a chiller (Fig.1 ref 126). Specifically, Zhang discloses the use of a flow rate control valve (Fig.2 & [0022]), operated by a controller (Fig.1 ref 160), for the purpose of cooling the nozzle to a desired temperature by adjust the flow rate (see Figs.3-4 & [0031-0033, 0036, & 0042-0043]. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that a known manner of controlling a target temperature of a component via a heat exchanger is through the adjustment of a flow control valve to vary the flow rate of coolant for cooling said component.
Busche discloses an art related substrate assembly [0001-0002], having heat exchangers and chillers which feed fluid to said heat exchanger [0040]. Busche further indicates that a known manner of controlling a temperature of fluid in the heat exchanger is through the use of control valves, via a controller, which control the flow rate of the fluid [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Goshi to implement a cooling module on the supply line in order to prevent a poor quality protective liquid film (Kiyose [0085-0086 & 0113]). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize a heat exchanger and chiller as the cooling device for the cooling of the IPA, as such cooling devices are known in the art (Douglas [0022] & Kiyohara [0072]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known type of cooling device when one is not explicitly disclosed.
Peterson, Zhang, and Busche suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flow rate of the coolant should be adjusted based on the temperature of the component which is attempted to be maintained at a desired temperature. Further, the Zhang and Busche references would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the temperature of the supplied fluid is desired to be controlled/maintained at a certain temperature, then the control valve should be operated based on the temperature of the fluid being supplied. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the controller with programming for adjusting valve and flow rate therefrom based on the temperature of the organic solvent. Such a modification merely amounts to applying a well-known temperature control configuration via a control valve for adjusting the temperature of a fluid utilizing heat exchanger and chillers.
Modified Goshi but does not disclose the presence of a temperature sensor within the nozzle. However, as there is a desire to ensure the IPA provided to the substrate is in a cooled state, a skilled artisan would find the usage of a temperature sensor within the nozzle obvious in order to ensure that the IPA is dispensed in at a desired temperature to prevent the occurrence of a poor quality protective liquid film. Further, the placement of a temperature sensor in the nozzle is known in the art, as seen by Tachibana and Peng.
Tachibana discloses an art related substrate cleaning device (abstract), wherein it is understood that a nozzle should have a temperature sensor placed therein in order to measure the temperature of a solution dispersed from the nozzle [0112].
Peng discloses an art related wafer treating device (abstract), wherein it known to utilize a temperature sensor by nozzle outlet in order to detect and control temperature of fluid leaving a nozzle [0031].
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to place such a temperature sensor in the nozzle, as such a location would ensure of the temperature of a solution being dispensed onto the wafer (Peng [0031] & Tachibana [0112]) is at a desired temperature, which Modified Goshi desires in order to prevent a poor quality liquid film.
As to claims 2-3 , Modified Goshi teaches the apparatuses of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent comprises IPA (Goshi [0030]) between -89°C and room temperature (Kiyose [0042]). Further, limitations directed towards the solvent are not positively recited limitations as the solvent is not a positively recited limitation.
As to claim 9, Modified Goshi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the solvent supplied in a cooled state is dissolved by a supercritical fluid in the supercritical processing chamber (Kiyose [0043, 0052, & 0057]).
Claim(s) 15 & 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goshi (US20240194502A1), Kiyose (US20200090958A1), Douglas (US20040025908A1), Kiyohara (US20180158676A1), Peterson (US20140069130A1), Zhang (US20100096109A1) Busche (US20150187625A1), Tachibana (US20180161737A1), Peng (US20150024661A1), and Lee (US20180012755A1).
As to claims 1 & 15, Goshi discloses a substrate processing apparatus (Fig.1 ref 1) comprising: a liquid processing chamber (Fig.1 ref 2, see also Fig.2) configured to supply an organic solvent [0030] for cleaning a substrate to the substrate; a transfer robot (Fig.1 ref 161) configured to transfer the substrate coated with the organic solvent [0030]; a supercritical processing chamber (Fig.1 ref 3, see also Fig.3) configured to supply a supercritical fluid for drying the substrate coated with the organic solvent [0032 & 0034]; an organic solvent supplying apparatus configured to supply the organic solvent to the liquid processing chamber (best seen by Fig.5), the supplying apparatus comprising: a supply tank (Fig.5 ref 41) configured to store the organic solvent; a supply line connected to the supply tank and the liquid processing chamber (see Fig.5 flow line from ref 41 to ref 22); the supply line connects the supply tank and a nozzle of the liquid processing chamber to each other (Goshi Fig.5). Goshi does not disclose the presence of a cooling module, however such a feature would be obvious in view of Kiyose.
Kiyose discloses an art related substrate processing apparatus (abstract), wherein a cooling part is utilized in a supply line (Fig.2 ref 27) to reduce temperature of IPA sprayed onto wafer in order to prevent poor quality liquid film from forming due to vaporization [0085-0086 & 0113]. The cooling part cools from -89 degrees Celsius to below room temperature and prevents pattern collapse when transferring to a drying unit [0042], thus the cooling part reads on a cooling module. Kiyose does not explicitly detail the construction of the cooling portion. However, the use of heat exchangers and chillers for the cooling of fluids is well-known in the art, as seen by Douglas and Kiyohara.
Douglas discloses an art related semiconductor processing system utilizing supercritical fluid (abstract), wherein it is known that a manner of cooling a fluid is by directing the fluid through a heat exchanger which is cooled via a chiller [0022]. It is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the cooling of a heat exchanger by a chiller indicates the presence of a coolant being fed to the heat exchanger from the chiller.
Kiyohara discloses an art related supercritical substrate processing system (abstract), wherein it is known that a cooling device can receive cooling water from a chiller [0072].
Although the specifics of a temperature controller and a valve to control a flow rate from a chiller are not explicitly discussed by Kiyohara and Douglas, such features are common and well-known thermal control configuration with regards to heat exchangers, as seen by Peterson, Zhang, and Busche.
Peterson discloses an art related semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a temperature controller to receive data regarding a temperature of a fluid and determine an amount of coolant to be supplied (e.g., flow rate) in order to achieve desired fluid temperature [0025].
Zhang discloses an art related semiconductor treating system [0001], wherein it is known to utilize a nozzle (Fig.1 ref 114) for providing fluid to a substrate. The nozzle may be provided with a temperature sensor in order to detect the temperature of the nozzle [0026], and Zhang also indicates that the temperature of any desired component may be controlled as well [0026]. The temperature of the nozzle is controlled via a heat exchanger (Fig.1 ref 128) which is supplied coolant by a chiller (Fig.1 ref 126). Specifically, Zhang discloses the use of a flow rate control valve (Fig.2 & [0022]), operated by a controller (Fig.1 ref 160), for the purpose of cooling the nozzle to a desired temperature by adjust the flow rate (see Figs.3-4 & [0031-0033, 0036, & 0042-0043]. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that a known manner of controlling a target temperature of a component via a heat exchanger is through the adjustment of a flow control valve to vary the flow rate of coolant for cooling said component.
Busche discloses an art related substrate assembly [0001-0002], having heat exchangers and chillers which feed fluid to said heat exchanger [0040]. Busche further indicates that a known manner of controlling a temperature of fluid in the heat exchanger is through the use of control valves, via a controller, which control the flow rate of the fluid [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Goshi to implement a cooling module on the supply line in order to prevent a poor quality protective liquid film (Kiyose [0085-0086 & 0113]). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize a heat exchanger and chiller as the cooling device for the cooling of the IPA, as such cooling devices are known in the art (Douglas [0022] & Kiyohara [0072]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known type of cooling device when one is not explicitly disclosed.
Peterson, Zhang, and Busche suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flow rate of the coolant should be adjusted based on the temperature of the component which is attempted to be maintained at a desired temperature. Further, the Zhang and Busche references would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the temperature of the supplied fluid is desired to be controlled/maintained at a certain temperature, then the control valve should be operated based on the temperature of the fluid being supplied. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the controller with programming for adjusting valve and flow rate therefrom based on the temperature of the organic solvent. Such a modification merely amounts to applying a well-known temperature control configuration via a control valve for adjusting the temperature of a fluid utilizing heat exchanger and chillers.
Modified Goshi but does not disclose the presence of a temperature sensor within the nozzle. However, as there is a desire to ensure the IPA provided to the substrate is in a cooled state, a skilled artisan would find the usage of a temperature sensor within the nozzle obvious in order to ensure that the IPA is dispensed in at a desired temperature to prevent the occurrence of a poor quality protective liquid film. Further, the placement of a temperature sensor in the nozzle is known in the art, as seen by Tachibana and Peng.
Tachibana discloses an art related substrate cleaning device (abstract), wherein it is understood that a nozzle should have a temperature sensor placed therein in order to measure the temperature of a solution dispersed from the nozzle [0112].
Peng discloses an art related wafer treating device (abstract), wherein it known to utilize a temperature sensor by nozzle outlet in order to detect and control temperature of fluid leaving a nozzle [0031].
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to place such a temperature sensor in the nozzle, as such a location would ensure of the temperature of a solution being dispensed onto the wafer (Peng [0031] & Tachibana [0112]) is at a desired temperature, which Modified Goshi desires in order to prevent a poor quality liquid film.
The only different remaining between Modified Goshi and the invention of claim 15 is the construction of the subcritical processing chamber having an upper body and lower body forming a processing space, a heating member in each body, a first and second supercritical fluid supply line to provide fluid to a top and bottom of the processing space respectively. Modified Goshi does not showcase such a processing chamber construction. However, Goshi indicates that any supercritical processing device may be utilized [0028]. Further, a supercritical processing device with such a construction is known in the art, as seen by Lee.
Lee discloses an art related substrate treating apparatus (abstract), and further showcases a known configuration for a supercritical processing chamber (Fig.4). The processing chamber comprises: an upper body and lower body (Fig.4 refs 4110 & 4120) coupled together to form a processing space, a heating member embedded in each body (see [0089] stating “ The heating member 4400 may be buried and installed in at least one wall of the upper housing 4110 and the lower housing 4120” thereby envisaging a heater unit built into each); a first supercritical fluid line connected to the upper body (Fig.4 ref 4891) from a top of the processing space and a second supercritical fluid line connected to the lower body (Fig.4 ref 4892) from a bottom of the processing space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify Goshi to utilize the supercritical processing chamber of Lee in place of that of Goshi, as Goshi envisages the usage of other supercritical processing chambers. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known supercritical processing chamber in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 16-17, Modified Goshi teaches the apparatuses of claim 15, wherein the organic solvent comprises IPA (Goshi [0030]) between -89°C and room temperature (Kiyose [0042]). Further, limitations directed towards the solvent are not positively recited limitations as the solvent is not a positively recited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Aitchison (US20230234106A1) discloses adjusting coolant flow rate to achieve a desired temperature of a separate element [0037]
Pollard (US20230387625A1) discloses that a temperature sensor can be utilized to control the temperature of a liquid [0031-0032] utilizing the flow rate of a coolant [0043-0044]
Kobayashi (US20220010428A1) discloses utilizing a temperature sensor to adjust a coolant flow rate [0086].
Franklin (US20070084481A1) discloses that placing a temperature sensor at the nozzle allows for ensuring the temperature of the process fluid is maintained at the desired temperature [0058].
Tmai (US5512106A) discloses a thermocouple (Fig.20 ref 76) can be provided in a nozzle (Fig.20 ref 10)
Petersen (US20140069130A1) varying of flow rate of a cooling fluid to a heat exchanger for controlling the cooling of said heat exchanger [0023 & 0025-0028].
Matsuzaki (US20120204576A1) discloses controlling the opening degree of a flow control valve for cooling of a fluid based on detected temperature, and thus controlling flow rate ([0068] & Fig.3).
Goto (US20030141314A1) discloses placing a temperature sensor within a fluid chamber of a nozzle [0091]
Tantiwong (US20150364354A1) discloses utilizing a valve to control flow rate of fluid from a chiller to a heat exchanger to control fluid temperature [0023-0024].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711