Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 21-25 and 41-55 are pending.
Claims 1-20 and 26-40 are cancelled.
Claims 21-25 and 41-55 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-25 and 41-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 21, Claim 21 recites: “the UCI includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission; wherein, based on the first PDSCH transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic, a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a second index different from the first serving cell index, the second index being an index different from a serving cell index used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether “a serving cell index” is the same as or different from “the first serving cell index”. It is also unclear whether “HARQ-ACK information” is the same as or different from either “the first HARQ-ACK information” or “second HARQ-ACK information”. It is also unclear what is “unicast”. The examiner suggests adding a third serving cell index, and adding third HARQ-ACK information, and adding the unicast traffic into the above claim excerpt, so that the above claim excerpt includes: the second index being an index different from a third serving cell index used for determining a position of third HARQ-ACK information for the unicast traffic.
Claims 22-25 and 41-45 are rejected through dependence from Claim 21.
In regard to Claim 46, Claim 46 recites: “the UCI includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission; wherein, based on the first PDSCH transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic, a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a second index different from the first serving cell index, the second index being an index different from a serving cell index used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether “a serving cell index” is the same as or different from “the first serving cell index”. It is also unclear whether “HARQ-ACK information” is the same as or different from either “the first HARQ-ACK information” or “second HARQ-ACK information”. It is also unclear what is “unicast”. The examiner suggests adding a third serving cell index, and adding third HARQ-ACK information, and adding the unicast traffic into the above claim excerpt, so that the above claim excerpt includes: the second index being an index different from a third serving cell index used for determining a position of third HARQ-ACK information for the unicast traffic.
Claims 47-55 are rejected through dependence from Claim 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (Pub. No.: US 20230319843 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210050950 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Lei and Zhou.
In regard to Claim 21 as best understood, Lei teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (UE, Para. 56, FIGS. 1-3), the UE comprising: a receiver (receiving circuitry 502, Para. 110, FIG. 5) configured to: receive first downlink control information (DCI) that includes first scheduling information for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive second DCI (DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) that includes second scheduling information for a second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive the second PDSCH transmission, wherein the second PDSCH transmission includes unicast traffic (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 504, Para. 110, FIG. 5) configured to transmit uplink control information (UCI) (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) for the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3), the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches a serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the second HARQ-ACK information in the UCI (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Although Lei teaches the first PDSCH transmission, Lei fails to teach wherein the first transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index, and wherein the first transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic, and although Lei teaches a serving cell index used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast, Lei fails to teach wherein, based on the first transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic, a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a second index different from the first serving cell index, the second index being an index different from a serving cell index.
Zhou teaches the first transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index (The C-DAI represents cumulative number of {serving cell, PDCCH MO} pair; in the {serving cell, PDCCH MO} pair, there is transmission and/or reception of the sidelink data or PSSCH scheduled by the sidelink grant. The UE assumes that the statistical order of the cumulative numbers is: ascending by serving cell index, Para. 354, 315), and wherein the first transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic (a different second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated according to at least one of the following information: identification of the UE indicating groupcast, Para. 45. Dynamically determining to enable or disable the second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook for feedback of the sidelink groupcast service on the sidelink channel, Para. 276).
Zhou teaches, based on the first transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic (when frequency domain size of the channel carrying the feedback of the sidelink groupcast service is greater than a predetermined threshold, determining to enable the second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook for the feedback, Para. 277), a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI (the HARQ-ACK feedback (second HARQ-ACK feedback) information corresponding to the sidelink transmission scheduled by the configured sidelink grant may similarly be placed at a specific position of the HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, Para. 334, 359, 361. HARQ-ACK information of the sidelink data transmission scheduled by a certain DCI is arranged in the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) is based on a second index (the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) different from the first serving cell index (serving cell index, Para. 354, 315), the second index being an index (the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) different from a serving cell index (serving cell index, Para. 354, 315).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Lei since Zhou provides a technique to feedback HARQ-ACK information for groupcast services, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei to permit certain DCI formats of HARQ-ACK codebooks to be utilized in relation to groupcast transmissions.
In regard to Claim 46 as best understood, Lei teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 56, FIGS. 1-3), the method comprising: receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that includes first scheduling information for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving second DCI (DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) that includes second scheduling information for a second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving the second PDSCH transmission, wherein the second PDSCH transmission includes unicast traffic (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches transmitting uplink control information (UCI) (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) for the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3), the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches a serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the second HARQ-ACK information in the UCI (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Although Lei teaches the first PDSCH transmission, Lei fails to teach wherein the first PDSCH transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index, and wherein the first transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic, and although Lei teaches a serving cell index used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast, Lei fails to teach wherein, based on the first transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic, a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a second index different from the first serving cell index, the second index being an index different from a serving cell index.
Zhou teaches the first transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index (The C-DAI represents cumulative number of {serving cell, PDCCH MO} pair; in the {serving cell, PDCCH MO} pair, there is transmission and/or reception of the sidelink data or PSSCH scheduled by the sidelink grant. The UE assumes that the statistical order of the cumulative numbers is: ascending by serving cell index, Para. 354, 315), and wherein the first transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic (a different second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated according to at least one of the following information: identification of the UE indicating groupcast, Para. 45. Dynamically determining to enable or disable the second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook for feedback of the sidelink groupcast service on the sidelink channel, Para. 276).
Zhou teaches, based on the first transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic (when frequency domain size of the channel carrying the feedback of the sidelink groupcast service is greater than a predetermined threshold, determining to enable the second HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook for the feedback, Para. 277), a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI (the HARQ-ACK feedback (second HARQ-ACK feedback) information corresponding to the sidelink transmission scheduled by the configured sidelink grant may similarly be placed at a specific position of the HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, Para. 334, 359, 361. HARQ-ACK information of the sidelink data transmission scheduled by a certain DCI is arranged in the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) is based on a second index (the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) different from the first serving cell index (serving cell index, Para. 354, 315), the second index being an index (the Yth position of the dynamic codebook, Y being equal to the value of the C-DAI in the DCI, Para. 357) different from a serving cell index (serving cell index, Para. 354, 315).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Lei since Zhou provides a technique to feedback HARQ-ACK information for groupcast services, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei to permit certain DCI formats of HARQ-ACK codebooks to be utilized in relation to groupcast transmissions.
Claim(s) 22 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhou, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210050955 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first serving cell index.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach a first index is equal to the first serving cell index, and wherein K1 candidate indexes are configured for a PDSCH in the first serving cell, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1, and the K1 candidate indexes include the first index and the second index.
Park teaches a first index is equal to the first serving cell index, and wherein K1 candidate indexes are configured for a PDSCH in the first serving cell, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1, and the K1 candidate indexes include the first index and the second index (the terminal determines a feedback bit to be transmitted through counter downlink assignment index (DAI) or total DAI managing HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to PDSCH and K1 candidate values that are HARQ-ACK feedback timing information for PDSCH. The K1 candidate values, which are HARQ-ACK feedback timing information for the PDSCH, are composed of a combination of default values and values specified through higher layer signaling. For example, the default values may be configured as {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8}, Para. 242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing K1 candidate values in relation to PDSCH, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou to introduce the benefits of K1 candidate values for communications of PDSCH.
In regard to Claim 47, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first serving cell index.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach a first index is equal to the first serving cell index, and wherein K1 candidate indexes are configured for a PDSCH in the first serving cell, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1, and the K1 candidate indexes include the first index and the second index.
Park teaches a first index is equal to the first serving cell index, and wherein K1 candidate indexes are configured for a PDSCH in the first serving cell, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1, and the K1 candidate indexes include the first index and the second index (the terminal determines a feedback bit to be transmitted through counter downlink assignment index (DAI) or total DAI managing HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to PDSCH and K1 candidate values that are HARQ-ACK feedback timing information for PDSCH. The K1 candidate values, which are HARQ-ACK feedback timing information for the PDSCH, are composed of a combination of default values and values specified through higher layer signaling. For example, the default values may be configured as {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8}, Para. 242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing K1 candidate values in relation to PDSCH, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou to introduce the benefits of K1 candidate values for communications of PDSCH.
Claim(s) 23 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhou, and further in view of Yeo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200106566 A1), hereafter referred to as Yeo.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission.
Yeo teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission (When a unicast PDSCH and a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a unicast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_unicast) and separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast). The terminal configures respective HARQ-ACK codebooks, joins the two codebooks, then encodes the joined codebooks, and then transmits the encoded codebooks. The unicast HARQ-ACK codebook may be connected after the groupcast HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
In regard to Claim 48, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission.
Yeo teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission (When a unicast PDSCH and a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a unicast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_unicast) and separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast). The terminal configures respective HARQ-ACK codebooks, joins the two codebooks, then encodes the joined codebooks, and then transmits the encoded codebooks. The unicast HARQ-ACK codebook may be connected after the groupcast HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
Claim(s) 24-25 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhou, and further in view of Gou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220007404 A1), hereafter referred to as Gou.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches first DCI.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach on a condition that the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI, the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on the second index.
Gou teaches on a condition that the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI, the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on the second index (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 49, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 50, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach on a condition that the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI, the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on the second index.
Gou teaches on a condition that the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI, the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on the second index (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
Claim(s) 41-42 and 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhou, and further in view of Bae et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220159652 A1), hereafter referred to as Bae.
In regard to Claim 41, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell.
Bae teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell (the UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 42, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission.
Bae teaches the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission (the symbol may include an OFDM symbol (or a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) symbol), Para. 117, FIG. 7. The UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 51, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell.
Bae teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell (the symbol may include an OFDM symbol (or a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) symbol), Para. 117, FIG. 7. The UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 52, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission.
Bae teaches the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission (the UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
Claim(s) 43-45 and 53-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhou, and further in view of Jung et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220408470 A1), hereafter referred to as Jung.
In regard to Claim 43, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission.
Jung teaches there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission (one slot 2-02 or 2-03 may be defined as 14 OFDM symbols, Para. 71, FIG. 2. The PDSCHs are transmitted on the same symbol, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 44, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part.
Jung teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part (allocate two or more PDSCHs to the same serving cell and the same bandwidth part at the same time, Para. 178).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 45, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the receiver.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach the receiver is further configured to monitor for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET) and monitor for the second DCI in a second CORESET.
Jung teaches the receiver is further configured to monitor for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET) and monitor for the second DCI in a second CORESET (two CORESETs, CORESET #1 5-10 and CORESET #2 5-20, are configured in a BWP 5-01 of the terminal on a frequency domain and a slot 5-02 on a time domain, Para. 88, FIG. 5. The plurality of CORESETs may be separately configured by the base station for multi-DCI-based NC-JT transmission, Para. 271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 53, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission.
Jung teaches there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission (one slot 2-02 or 2-03 may be defined as 14 OFDM symbols, Para. 71, FIG. 2. The PDSCHs are transmitted on the same symbol, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 54, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part.
Jung teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part (allocate two or more PDSCHs to the same serving cell and the same bandwidth part at the same time, Para. 178).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 55, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Zhou teaches the first DCI.
Lei in view of Zhou fails to teach monitoring for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET); and monitoring for the second DCI in a second CORESET.
Jung teaches the receiver is further configured to monitoring for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET); and monitoring for the second DCI in a second CORESET (two CORESETs, CORESET #1 5-10 and CORESET #2 5-20, are configured in a BWP 5-01 of the terminal on a frequency domain and a slot 5-02 on a time domain, Para. 88, FIG. 5. The plurality of CORESETs may be separately configured by the base station for multi-DCI-based NC-JT transmission, Para. 271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Zhou since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Zhou for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 of the previous office action have been withdrawn. However, the claim amendment introduces indefiniteness as indicated in the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 presented in this current office action.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that Even assuming arguendo that Lei teaches ordering HARQ-ACK information using serving cell indexes, Lei does not teach or suggest the claim 21 limitation reciting "wherein, based on the first PDSCH transmission including multicast or groupcast traffic, a position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a second index different from the first serving cell index, the second index being an index different from a serving cell index used for determining a position of HARQ-ACK information for unicast.". This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendments of Claims 21 and 46, which are not taught by Lei, are taught by Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210050950 A1).
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
8-31-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477