The amendment filed 2/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 21-25 and 41-55 are pending.
Claims 1-20 and 26-40 are cancelled.
Claims 21-25 and 41-55 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21-25 and 41-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 21, Claim 21 recites: “the UCI is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second index different than the first serving cell index” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not “a second index” is a type of “serving cell” index. The examiner suggests adding serving cell between “a” and “second index”, so that the claim includes: the UCI is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second serving cell index different than the first serving cell index.
Claims 22-25 and 41-45 are rejected through dependence from Claim 21.
In regard to Claim 46, Claim 46 recites: “the UCI is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second index different than the first serving cell index” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not “a second index” is a type of “serving cell” index. The examiner suggests adding serving cell between “a” and “second index”, so that the claim includes: the UCI is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second serving cell index different than the first serving cell index.
Claims 47-55 are rejected through dependence from Claim 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (Pub. No.: US 20230319843 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230006798 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Lei and Lee.
In regard to Claim 21, Lei teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (UE, Para. 56, FIGS. 1-3), the UE comprising: a receiver (receiving circuitry 502, Para. 110, FIG. 5) configured to: receive first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of time-frequency resources occupied by a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive second DCI (DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) that includes configuration information of a second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receive the second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 504, Para. 110, FIG. 5) configured to transmit uplink control information (UCI) (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) using the PUCCH resource (A UE may transmit hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback (e.g., included in a HARQ-ACK codebook) corresponding to PDSCH transmissions through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), Para. 4).
Lei teaches wherein the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) for the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3), the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the first HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) in the UCI (in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second index (For a DCI format (e.g., DCI format #2) scheduling a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits for the plurality of PDSCH transmissions may be based on the indexes of the serving cells where the plurality of PDSCH transmissions are transmitted, Para. 55, FIGS. 2, 3. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) different than the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Lei teaches wherein whether the position of the first HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) in the UCI (in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on either the first serving cell index or based on the second index (For a DCI format (e.g., DCI format #2) scheduling a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits for the plurality of PDSCH transmissions may be based on the indexes of the serving cells where the plurality of PDSCH transmissions are transmitted, Para. 55, FIGS. 2, 3. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) is based on at least one of a property associated with the first DCI (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, PDSCH transmission 223 on carrier 233, and PDSCH transmission 224 on carrier 234, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a property associated with the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the second HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Although Lei teaches receive first downlink control information (DCI), Lei fails to teach receive first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a PUCCH transmission, and although Lei teaches the first PDSCH transmission, Lei fails to teach wherein the first PDSCH transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index.
Lee teaches receive first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a PUCCH transmission (DCI-based PUCCH resource scheduling, the BS may transmit the DCI to the UE on a PDCCH and indicate a PUCCH resource to be used for UCI transmission in a specific PUCCH resource, Para. 161).
Lee teaches wherein the first PDSCH transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index (an SPS PDSCH of a cell with a lower serving cell index, Para. 15. The BS determine occasion(s) for candidate PDSCH receptions with respect to each serving cell in consideration of the slot timing values and the TDRA table row indexes in ascending order of serving cell indexes from a serving cell having the lowest serving cell index. A corresponding serving cell in ascending order of indexes of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions, Para. 242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Lei since Lee provides a technique for utilizing DCI to indicate PUCCH resources corresponding to PDSCHs of cells with lower serving cell indexes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei to permit certain DCI formats to include indications of PUCCH resources for transmitting HARQ-ACK codebooks containing HARQ-ACK information bits for PDSCH transmissions.
In regard to Claim 46, Lei teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 56, FIGS. 1-3), the method comprising: receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of time-frequency resources occupied by a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving second DCI (DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) that includes configuration information of a second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches receiving the second PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches transmitting uplink control information (UCI) (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) using the PUCCH resource (A UE may transmit hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback (e.g., included in a HARQ-ACK codebook) corresponding to PDSCH transmissions through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), Para. 4).
Lei teaches wherein the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) for the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3), the UCI (HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) includes second HARQ-ACK information for the second PDSCH transmission (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the first HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) in the UCI (in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is either based on the first serving cell index or based on a second index (For a DCI format (e.g., DCI format #2) scheduling a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits for the plurality of PDSCH transmissions may be based on the indexes of the serving cells where the plurality of PDSCH transmissions are transmitted, Para. 55, FIGS. 2, 3. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) different than the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Lei teaches wherein whether the position of the first HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bits for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2. The ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits (e.g., b2-b4) for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format #2 in the HARQ-ACK codebook may be {b2, b3, b4}. That is, the HARQ-ACK codebook generated by the UE may be {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) in the UCI (in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on either the first serving cell index or based on the second index (For a DCI format (e.g., DCI format #2) scheduling a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits for the plurality of PDSCH transmissions may be based on the indexes of the serving cells where the plurality of PDSCH transmissions are transmitted, Para. 55, FIGS. 2, 3. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2) is based on at least one of a property associated with the first DCI (DCI format #2 in PDCCH 212 may schedule a plurality of PDSCH transmissions, for example, PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, PDSCH transmission 223 on carrier 233, and PDSCH transmission 224 on carrier 234, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a property associated with the first PDSCH transmission (PDSCH transmission 222 on carrier 232, Para. 29, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei teaches wherein a position of the second HARQ-ACK information (the HARQ-ACK information bit (e.g., b1) for the PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1 may be the first bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3) is based on the first serving cell index (DCI format #1 in PDCCH 211 may schedule PDSCH transmission 221 on carrier 231, Para. 29, FIG. 2. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index. The serving cell indexes corresponding to CCs 231-235 may be arranged in ascending order, Para. 27, FIG. 2).
Although Lei teaches receiving first downlink control information (DCI), Lei fails to teach receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a PUCCH transmission, and although Lei teaches the first PDSCH transmission, Lei fails to teach wherein the first PDSCH transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index.
Lee teaches receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that includes: an indication of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a PUCCH transmission (DCI-based PUCCH resource scheduling, the BS may transmit the DCI to the UE on a PDCCH and indicate a PUCCH resource to be used for UCI transmission in a specific PUCCH resource, Para. 161).
Lee teaches wherein the first PDSCH transmission belongs to a first serving cell having a first serving cell index (an SPS PDSCH of a cell with a lower serving cell index, Para. 15. The BS determine occasion(s) for candidate PDSCH receptions with respect to each serving cell in consideration of the slot timing values and the TDRA table row indexes in ascending order of serving cell indexes from a serving cell having the lowest serving cell index. A corresponding serving cell in ascending order of indexes of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions, Para. 242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Lei since Lee provides a technique for utilizing DCI to indicate PUCCH resources corresponding to PDSCHs of cells with lower serving cell indexes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei to permit certain DCI formats to include indications of PUCCH resources for transmitting HARQ-ACK codebooks containing HARQ-ACK information bits for PDSCH transmissions.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Lee, and further in view of Yeo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200106566 A1), hereafter referred to as Yeo.
In regard to Claim 22, Lei teaches wherein the second PDSCH transmission includes unicast traffic (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic.
Yeo teaches the first PDSCH transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic (a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast), Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission.
Yeo teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission (When a unicast PDSCH and a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a unicast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_unicast) and separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast). The terminal configures respective HARQ-ACK codebooks, joins the two codebooks, then encodes the joined codebooks, and then transmits the encoded codebooks. The unicast HARQ-ACK codebook may be connected after the groupcast HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
In regard to Claim 47, Lei teaches wherein the second PDSCH transmission includes unicast traffic (PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format #1, Para. 56, FIGS. 2, 3).
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic.
Yeo teaches the first PDSCH transmission includes multicast or groupcast traffic (a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast), Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
In regard to Claim 48, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission.
Yeo teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a traffic type of the first PDSCH transmission (When a unicast PDSCH and a multicast PDSCH can be transmitted while being mapped to an identical OFDM symbol, the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a unicast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_unicast) and separately configures a HARQ-ACK codebook for a groupcast PDSCH (which can be called HARQ-ACK_codebook_groupcast). The terminal configures respective HARQ-ACK codebooks, joins the two codebooks, then encodes the joined codebooks, and then transmits the encoded codebooks. The unicast HARQ-ACK codebook may be connected after the groupcast HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeo with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Yeo provides a technique for utilizing groupcast PDSCHs and configuring appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee to permit networks to groupcast PDSCHs when needed and permit UE to provide the appropriate HARQ-ACK codebooks in response.
Claim(s) 24-25 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Lee, and further in view of Gou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220007404 A1), hereafter referred to as Gou.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on whether the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by a) C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTI, or b) G-RNTI, or G-CS- RNTI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on whether the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by a) C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTI, or b) G-RNTI, or G-CS- RNTI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 49, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information in the UCI is based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) associated with the first DCI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
In regard to Claim 50, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on whether the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by a) C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTI, or b) G-RNTI, or G-CS-RNTI.
Gou teaches the position of the first HARQ-ACK information is based on whether the CRC associated with the first DCI is scrambled by a) C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or MCS-C-RNTI, or b) G-RNTI, or G-CS-RNTI (the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, and when the CRC bit generator polynomial is a second polynomial, the CRC bit generator polynomials or the RNTI sequence scramblers of the DCI are used for indicating that an HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH corresponding to corresponding DCI is not the last HARQ-ACK of an HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gou with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Gou provides a technique for scrambling based on RNTI sequences for HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for utilization of RNTI sequence scramblers for managing transmissions of HARQ-ACK codebooks.
Claim(s) 41-42 and 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Lee, and further in view of Bae et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220159652 A1), hereafter referred to as Bae.
In regard to Claim 41, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell.
Bae teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell (the UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 42, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission.
Bae teaches the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission (the symbol may include an OFDM symbol (or a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) symbol), Para. 117, FIG. 7. The UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 51, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell.
Bae teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to the first serving cell (the symbol may include an OFDM symbol (or a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) symbol), Para. 117, FIG. 7. The UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 52, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission.
Bae teaches the first PDSCH transmission is frequency division multiplexed with the second PDSCH transmission (the UE may determine slot format(s) for the serving cell from the SFI-index for the serving cell, Para. 133. If a plurality of PUSCH/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping in which frequency resources vary, Para. 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for frequency resource management for transmissions of PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling the frequency resources utilized in the transmissions of PDSCHs.
Claim(s) 43-45 and 53-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Lee, and further in view of Jung et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220408470 A1), hereafter referred to as Jung.
In regard to Claim 43, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission.
Jung teaches there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission (one slot 2-02 or 2-03 may be defined as 14 OFDM symbols, Para. 71, FIG. 2. The PDSCHs are transmitted on the same symbol, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 44, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part.
Jung teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part (allocate two or more PDSCHs to the same serving cell and the same bandwidth part at the same time, Para. 178).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 45, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Lei in view of Lee teaches the receiver.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach the receiver is further configured to monitor for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET) and monitor for the second DCI in a second CORESET.
Jung teaches the receiver is further configured to monitor for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET) and monitor for the second DCI in a second CORESET (two CORESETs, CORESET #1 5-10 and CORESET #2 5-20, are configured in a BWP 5-01 of the terminal on a frequency domain and a slot 5-02 on a time domain, Para. 88, FIG. 5. The plurality of CORESETs may be separately configured by the base station for multi-DCI-based NC-JT transmission, Para. 271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 53, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission.
Jung teaches there is at least one OFDM symbol belonging to time-domain resources simultaneously occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and time-domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission (one slot 2-02 or 2-03 may be defined as 14 OFDM symbols, Para. 71, FIG. 2. The PDSCHs are transmitted on the same symbol, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 54, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first PDSCH transmission.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part.
Jung teaches first frequency domain resources occupied by the first PDSCH transmission and second frequency domain resources occupied by the second PDSCH transmission belong to a same bandwidth part (allocate two or more PDSCHs to the same serving cell and the same bandwidth part at the same time, Para. 178).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
In regard to Claim 55, as presented in the rejection of Claim 46, Lei in view of Lee teaches the first DCI.
Lei in view of Lee fails to teach monitoring for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET); and monitoring for the second DCI in a second CORESET.
Jung teaches the receiver is further configured to monitoring for the first DCI in a first control resource set (CORESET); and monitoring for the second DCI in a second CORESET (two CORESETs, CORESET #1 5-10 and CORESET #2 5-20, are configured in a BWP 5-01 of the terminal on a frequency domain and a slot 5-02 on a time domain, Para. 88, FIG. 5. The plurality of CORESETs may be separately configured by the base station for multi-DCI-based NC-JT transmission, Para. 271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Lei in view of Lee since Bae provides a technique for managing transmission resources in symbols and bandwidth parts involving OFDM, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Lei in view of Lee for efficiently controlling transmissions of data for optimal utilization of wireless resources that can benefit from OFDM.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 1/29/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-3-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477