DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 7/29/26. Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: change “…based on comparison…“ to “…based on the comparison….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are directed to a method (i.e., a process), claims 11-15, 18, and 19 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine), and claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., a machine). Accordingly, claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts.
Representative independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
1. A method for providing remote physiotherapy sessions, the method comprising: capturing, by at least one camera, a first real-time video of a patient performing at least one predefined movement, wherein the at least one predefined movement is performed by the patient for diagnostic purpose and monitoring recovery status from a medical condition; processing in real-time, by a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, the first real-time video of the patient; determining a set of health parameters related to the medical condition of the patient, based on the at least one predefined movement performed by the patient; analyzing, by the first Al model, the set of health parameters and at least one of patient health records and demographic data to determine a current fitness state of the patient; identifying, by the first Al model, a set of exercises to be performed by the patient, based on the current fitness state of the patient; capturing, by the at least one camera, a second real-time video of the patient performing an exercise from the set of exercises, wherein the second real-time video comprises a stream of poses and movements made by the patient to perform the exercise; extracting a second Al model based on the current fitness state of the patient and the exercise being performed by the patient, wherein the second Al model is configured to determine a deviation of the patient from a plurality of expected movements associated with the exercise based on target exercise performance of a healthy specimen; processing in real-time, by the second Al model, the second real-time video of the patient to determine a set of patient mobility parameters based on current exercise performance of the patient; comparing, by the second Al model, the set of patient mobility parameters with a set of target mobility parameters, wherein the set of target mobility parameters corresponds to the healthy specimen; customizing, by the second Al model, the exercise for the patient, based on comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein customizing the exercise comprises: defining a number of repetitions and a number of sets of the exercise for the patient; and selecting one of a plurality of modes for the exercise, based on the current fitness state of the patient; generating, by the second Al model, feedback for the patient based on the comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of corrective actions or alerts, and wherein the feedback comprises at least one of visual feedback, aural feedback, or haptic feedback; rendering, by the second Al model, the feedback on a rendering device; identifying, by the second Al model, a failure in completion of the exercise by the patient; and sending a reminder to the patient after expiry of a pre-defined time interval for completing of the exercise, in response to identifying the failure in completion of the exercise by the patient.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “a mental process” because processing the first real-time video of the patient; determining a set of health parameters related to the medical condition of the patient, based on the at least one predefined movement performed by the patient; analyzing the set of health parameters and at least one of patient health records and demographic data to determine a current fitness state of the patient; identifying a set of exercises to be performed by the patient, based on the current fitness state of the patient; extracting a second model based on the current fitness state of the patient and the exercise being performed by the patient to determine a deviation of the patient from a plurality of expected movements associated with the exercise based on target exercise performance of a healthy specimen; processing the second real-time video of the patient to determine a set of patient mobility parameters based on current exercise performance of the patient; comparing the set of patient mobility parameters with a set of target mobility parameters; and identifying a failure in completion of the exercise by the patient amount to observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind or via pen and paper. The limitations regarding capturing videos, wherein the at least one predefined movement is performed by the patient for diagnostic purpose and monitoring recovery status from a medical condition, customizing the exercise for the patient, based on comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein customizing the exercise comprises: defining a number of repetitions and a number of sets of the exercise for the patient; and selecting one of a plurality of modes for the exercise, based on the current fitness state of the patient; generating feedback for the patient based on the comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of corrective actions or alerts, rendering the feedback, and sending a reminder to the patient after expiry of a pre-defined time interval for completing of the exercise, in response to identifying the failure in completion of the exercise by the patient constitute “certain methods of organizing human activity“ because they amount to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), at the currently claimed high level of generality.
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The limitations of claims 1, 11, and 20, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and certain methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting at least one camera, AI, a device, a processor, a memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions used to perform the limitations, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind or certain methods of organizing human activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and certain methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” and “certain methods of organizing human activity“ groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the at least one camera, AI, device, processor, memory, and non-transitory computer-readable medium are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of capturing data, processing data, analyzing data, identifying data, extracting data, comparing data, customizing data, selecting data, generating data, rendering data, and sending data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The limitations regarding the AI models do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP § 2106.05). Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 12-15, 18, and 19 are ultimately dependent from Claim(s) 1 and 11 and include all the limitations of Claim(s) 1 and 11. Therefore, claim(s) 2-5, 8-10 and 12-15, 18, and 19 recite the same abstract idea. Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 12-15, 18, and 19 describe further limitations regarding overlaying with a pose skeletal model, overlaying one of at least one corrective action over the pose skeletal model; displaying the alerts; generating a warning to the patient rendering the set of exercises to the patient; receiving the exercise as patient selection; suggesting an alternative exercise instead of the exercise; monitoring each of the set of exercises being performed by the patient; generating a summarized report and rendering the summarized report to the patient; validating patient performance based on the summarized report; and providing an authorization to the patient to perform one or more action. These are all just further describing the abstract ideas recited in claims 1 and 11, without adding significantly more.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the graphical user interface (GUI) is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing the generic computer function of displaying data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B, independent claims 1, 11, and 20 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations directed to extracting a second Al model, all of which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea or are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality), the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of storing and retrieving information in memory. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
The dependent claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-11, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asikainen et al. (US 2021/0008413 A1) in view of Kohli (US 2014/0172460 A1), in view of Sherpa (US 2020/0261019 A1), and further in view of Brust et al. (US 2017/0329933 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 1, Asikainen discloses A method for providing remote physiotherapy sessions, the method comprising (para. 46 & 66 of Asikainen):
capturing, by at least one camera, a first real-time video of a patient performing at least one predefined movement (para. 46 of Asikainen; As depicted, the example configuration includes the interactive personal training device 108 equipped with the sensor(s) 109 configured to capture a video of a scene in which user 106 is performing the exercise movement using the barbell equipment 134a. For example, the sensor(s) 109 may comprise one or more of a high definition (HD) camera, a regular 2D camera, a RGB camera, a multi-spectral camera, a structured light 3D camera, a time-of-flight 3D camera, a stereo camera, a radar sensor, a LiDAR scanner, an infrared sensor, or a combination of one or more of the foregoing sensors. The sensor(s) 109 comprising of one or more cameras may provide a wider field of view (e.g., field of view >120 degrees) for capturing the video of the scene in which user 106 is performing the exercise movement and acquiring depth information (R, G, B, X, Y, Z) from the scene. The interactive personal training device 108 is configured to process and analyze the stream of sensor data using trained machine learning algorithms and provide feedback in real time on the user 106 performing the exercise movement.);
processing in real-time, by a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, the first real-time video of the patient; determining a set of health parameters related to the medical condition of the patient, based on the at least one predefined movement performed by the patient (Fig. 2, para. 46, 66, 67, 70, 86, 102, & 116 of Asikainen; runs the model on one or more videos of users performing a repetition of the exercise movement. Although the example configuration in FIG. 1B is illustrated in the context of tracking physical activity of a user performing exercise movements and providing feedback and recommendations relating to performing the exercise movements, it should be understood that the configuration may apply to other contexts in vertical fields, such as medical diagnosis (e.g., health practitioner reviewing vital signs of a user, volumetric scanning, 3D imaging in medicine, etc.), physical therapy (e.g. physical therapist checking adherence to physio protocols during rehabilitation). The status monitor 312 receives the processed sensor data including the images and estimated 3D pose data from the pose estimator 302 for determining and tracking vital signs and health status of the user during and after the exercise movement.);
analyzing, by the first Al model, the set of health parameters and at least one of patient health records and demographic data to determine a current fitness state of the patient (para. 86, 90, & 91 of Asikainen; The recommendation engine 210 receives one or more of the 3D pose data, the exercise movements performed, the quality of exercise movements, the repetitions of the exercise movements, the vital signs and health status signals, performance data, object detection data, user profile, and other analyzed user data from the feedback engine 208 and the data processing engine 204 to compare a pattern of the user's workout with an aggregate user dataset (collected from multiple users) to identify a community of users with common characteristics. For example, the common characteristics may include an age group, gender, weight, height, fitness preference, similar performance and workout patterns. In one example, this community of users may be identified by comparing the estimated 3D pose data of users performing the exercise movements over a period of time. The recommendation engine 210 uses both individual user data and aggregate user data to analyze the individual user's workout pattern, user preferences, compare the user's performance data with other similarly performing users, and generate recommendations for users (e.g., novice, pro-athletes, etc.) in real time. The recommendation engine 210 uses the tagged sequences from the aggregate user dataset to train a machine learning model (e.g., CNN) to identify or predict a level of fatigue in the exercise movement.);
identifying, by the first Al model, a set of exercises to be performed by the patient, based on the current fitness state of the patient (para. 64-66, 92, & 102 of Asikainen; The recommendation engine 210 generates on-the-fly recommendation to modify or alter the user exercise workout based on the state or level of fatigue of the user. For example, the recommendation engine 210 may recommend to the user to push for As Many Repetitions As Possible (AMRAP) in the last set of an exercise movement if the level of fatigue of the user is low. In another example, the recommendation engine 210 may recommend to the user to reduce the number of repetitions from 10 to five on a set of exercise movements if the level of fatigue of the user is high. In another example, the recommendation engine 210 may recommend to the user to increase weight on the weight equipment by 10 pounds if the level of fatigue of the user is low. In yet another example, the recommendation engine 210 may recommend to the user to decrease weight on the weight equipment by 20 pounds if the level of fatigue of the user is high.);
capturing, by the at least one camera, a second real-time video of the patient performing an exercise from the set of exercises, wherein the second real-time video comprises a stream of poses and movements made by the patient to perform the exercise (Fig. 1B and para. 46 & 102 of Asikainen; The program enhancement engine 214 receives a video of a user performing one or more repetitions of an exercise movement in the new workout program. The enhancement engine 214 analyzes the video using the pose estimator 302 to estimate pose data relating to performing the exercise movement.);
extracting a second Al model, wherein the second Al model is configured to determine a deviation of the patient from a plurality of expected movements associated with the exercise based on target exercise performance of a healthy specimen (para. 84 & 85 of Asikainen; the movement adherence monitor 310 compares whether the user performance of the exercise movement in view of body mechanics associated with correctly performing the exercise movement falls within acceptable range or threshold for human joint positions and movements. In some implementations, the movement adherence monitor 310 uses a machine learning model, such as a convolutional neural network trained on a large set of ideal or correct repetitions of an exercise movement to determine a score or a quality of the exercise movement performed by the user based at least on the estimated 3D pose data and the consecutive repetitions of the exercise movement. For example, the score (e.g., 85%) may indicate the adherence to predefined conditions for correctly performing the exercise movement.);
processing in real-time, by the second Al model, the second real-time video of the patient to determine a set of patient mobility parameters based on current exercise performance of the patient (para. 46 & 102 of Asikainen; The program enhancement engine 214 receives a video of a user performing one or more repetitions of an exercise movement in the new workout program. The enhancement engine 214 analyzes the video using the pose estimator 302 to estimate pose data relating to performing the exercise movement. The enhancement engine 214 instructs the user interface engine 216 to generate a user interface to receive from the user an input (e.g., ground truth) indicating the position, the angle, and the relative distance between the detected keypoints in a segment of the video containing a repetition of the exercise movement from start to end. For example, the user uploads a video of the user performing a combination of a front squat movement and a standing overhead press movement. The user specifies the timestamps in the video segment that contain this new combination of exercise movement and sets conditions or acceptable thresholds for completing a repetition including angles and distance between keypoints, speed of movement, and range of movement. The enhancement engine 214 creates and trains a machine learning model for classifying the exercise movement using the user input as initial weights of the machine learning model and the video of the user performing the repetitions of the exercise movement. The enhancement engine 214 then applies this machine learning model on a plurality of videos of users performing repetitions of this exercise movement from the new workout program.);
comparing, by the second Al model, the set of patient mobility parameters with a set of target mobility parameters, wherein the set of target mobility parameters corresponds to the healthy specimen (para. 46, 84, 85, & 93-97 of Asikainen; the recommendation engine 210 analyzes the user profiles of similarly performing users who have done similar workouts, their ratings for the workouts, and their overall work capacity progress similar to the target user to generate recommendations. The feedback may include a comparison of the exercise form of the user 106 against conditions of an ideal or correct exercise form predefined for the exercise movement and providing a visual overlay on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device to guide the user 106 to perform the exercise movement correctly. The movement adherence monitor 310 compares whether the user performance of the exercise movement in view of body mechanics associated with correctly performing the exercise movement falls within acceptable range or threshold for human joint positions and movements.);
generating, by the second Al model, feedback for the patient based on the comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of corrective actions or alerts, and wherein the feedback comprises at least one of visual feedback, aural feedback, or haptic feedback (Fig. 10, para. 93 & 108 of Asikainen; the recommendation engine 210 receives actual motion path in association with a user using an equipment 134 performing an exercise movement from the movement adherence monitor 310 in the feedback engine 208. The recommendation engine 210 determines the direction of force used by the user in performing the exercise movement based on the actual motion path. If the percentage difference between the actual motion path and the correct motion path is not within a threshold limit, the recommendation engine 210 instructs the user interface engine 216 to generate an alert on the interactive screen of the interactive personal training device 108 informing the user to decrease force in the direction of the actual motion path to avoid injury.);
rendering, by the second Al model, the feedback on a rendering device (Fig. 10, para. 93 & 108 of Asikainen; FIG. 10 shows example graphical representations illustrating user interfaces 1000a-1000b for displaying real time feedback on the interactive personal training device 108. The user interface 1000a depicts an interactive screen on the interactive personal training device 108 displaying real time feedback 1001 and 1003.);
identifying, by the second Al model, a failure in completion of the exercise by the patient and sending a reminder to the patient after expiry of a pre-defined time interval for completing of the exercise, in response to identifying the failure in completion of the exercise by the patient (para. 88, 109, 84 and Fig. 11 of Asikainen; performance metrics and statistics include, but not limited to, total rest time, energy expenditure, current and average heart rate, historical workout data compared with current workout session, completed repetitions in an ongoing workout set, completed sets in an ongoing exercise movement, incomplete repetition, etc. The performance tracker 314 derives total exercise volume from individual workout sessions over a length of time, such as daily, weekly, monthly, and annually. The performance tracker 314 determines total time under tension expressed in seconds or milliseconds using active movement time and bodyweight or equipment weight. The performance tracker 314 determines a total time of exercise expressed in minutes as total length of workout not spent in recovery or rest. The performance tracker 314 determines total rest time from time spent in idle position, such as standing, lying down, hunched over, or sitting. The performance tracker 314 retrieves historical user performance of a workout similar to a current workout of the user and generates a summary comparing the historical performance metrics with the current workout as a percentage to indicate user progress. See Fig. 11, item 1107 which displays a progress bar showing a progress percentage for each muscle group on user interface 1100).
Asikainen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one predefined movement is performed by the patient for diagnostic purpose and monitoring recovery status from a medical condition; and extracting an Al model based on the current fitness state of the patient and the exercise being performed by the patient; customizing, by the second Al model, the exercise for the patient, based on comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein customizing the exercise comprises: defining a number of repetitions and a number of sets of the exercise for the patient; and selecting one of a plurality of modes for the exercise, based on the current fitness state of the patient.
Kohli discloses wherein the at least one predefined movement is performed by the patient for diagnostic purpose and monitoring recovery status from a medical condition (para. 40, 57, 84, and 86 of Kohli; assisting a clinician in diagnosing or treating a musculoskeletal condition of a patient, the method comprising: capturing an image of a patient's movement of one or more musculoskeletal joints and appendages while the patient is performing a diagnostic or rehabilitation exercise; Using the computer-program product of the present disclosure, a clinician is able to create new standard diagnostic and treatment exercise routines for a patient with a disorder related to a specific musculoskeletal anatomical location (see tab 320 of the Homepage shown in FIG. 3A, and step 320 in the flowchart of FIG. 3B). Alternatively, computer program product of the present disclosure provides the clinician preprogrammed exercise routines that may be downloaded from the system server database. The clinician, and the patient, may view the patient's rehabilitation progress on the system record (see FIG. 3B, steps 390, 400, and 410). The system generates a "History Graph", as illustrated in FIG. 10, which comprises the dates of the recorded exercise session (x-axis) versus the range of motion achieved on that date (y-axis), and wherein the boxes on the lines of the graph note the maximum range of motion (e.g. flexion) achieved on that particular date.)
Sherpa discloses extracting an Al model based on the current fitness state of the patient and the exercise being performed by the patient (para. 33, 37, 53, and 54 of Sherpa; Fitness state sorting module 120 includes a machine-learning user specific recommendation model 140 that relates fitness states to user specific recommendations, as described in more detail below. In an embodiment, fitness state sorting module 120 may be designed and configured to generate a current user fitness state using the fitness state model 136 and the at least a biological parameter and generate a user specific recommendation using the user specific recommendation model 140 and the at least a user input. As used herein, fitness-state includes any of the fitness states as used above and may include one of a strength state fitness module 124, an endurance state fitness module 128, and a well-being state fitness module 132. Strength state fitness module 124 may include any strength state as described above, including without limitation a state where a user is physically strong as demonstrated by muscularity, flexibility, and balance. Strength state fitness module 124 may include a state that is devoted to muscle building and muscle conditioning and may include user specific recommendations that highlight anaerobic activities such as weight-bearing exercises, weight-lifting, yoga, squats, lunges, planks, Pilates, push-ups, jumping jacks, rowing, and the like. Endurance state fitness module 128 may include a state where a user is able to endure cardiovascular exercise as demonstrated by stamina and resilience. In an embodiment, training set data may be utilized to create a machine-learning algorithm relating biological parameters to each fitness state including strength state fitness module 124, endurance state fitness module 128, and well-being state fitness module 132. Training set data utilized to generate mathematical algorithms for fitness state model and/or user specific recommendation model may be obtained from multiple sources such as data obtained from medical journals and medical studies. Sources may include data from fitness tracking equipment that a user may wear.).
Brust discloses customizing, by the second Al model, the exercise for the patient, based on comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein customizing the exercise comprises: defining a number of repetitions and a number of sets of the exercise for the patient and selecting one of a plurality of modes for the exercise, based on the current fitness state of the patient (see Fig. 9B, para. 52, 68, 70, 72, 99-101, 196, and 112 of Brust; FIG. 4B illustrates further features of an example graphical user interface 422 as part of a therapist user interface to an information system, allowing a therapist to edit a therapy activity script or customize like portions of a therapy activity playlist for a particular human user (e.g., patient). For example, the graphical user interface may include a control option 446 to activate or delete a script for a user, define active and assigned scripts for a user in a listing of currently assigned scripts 448, locate and select additional scripts in a listing of script categories 452, edit a description or instruction for the therapy activity script 454, define a number of repetitions and sets of a particular therapy activity 456, define a time of day 458 for performance of the therapy activity script, and define a target degree 460 for performance of the therapy activity. FIG. 6B provides an illustration of a further graphical user interface 612 to present a particular exercise therapy (e.g., a shoulder exercise) to a user, according to an example. As shown, the interface for this exercise therapy includes a graphical illustration 677 of the therapy (which may be provided by an animated GIF, for example), a video link 678 to display a video example of the therapy, a listing of the therapy activities 688 (including a number of repetitions and sets), and a status tracker of the therapy activity. As shown, the status tracker may designate a targeted exercise area 687A (in the prescribed range) and an untargeted exercise area 687C (out of the prescribed range), and an exercise target 687B, which correspond to positions in a range of motion for a particular exercise therapy. Similar to FIG. 6B, the status tracker may designate a therapy exercise range area 683A, 683D (inside the prescribed position range) and an untargeted exercise area 683C (outside the prescribed position range), and an exercise target 683B, which correspond to positions in a range of motion for a particular exercise therapy. The content suggestion engine techniques and operations described herein may also incorporate a variety of machine-learning and artificial intelligence concepts to adapt to contextual information (such as feedback and detected activities), and deliver therapy-based content to the human user 106 using appropriate timings and mechanisms.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Kohli, Sherpa, and Brust within Asikainen. The motivation for doing so would have been to view the patient's rehabilitation progress (para. 86 of Kohli), to suggest a goal (para. 37 of Sherpa), and for greater likelihood of progress towards therapy goals (para. 112 of Brust).
(B) Referring to claim 5, Asikainen discloses further comprising: rendering, via a GUI, the set of exercises to the patient; and receiving, via the GUI, the exercise as patient selection (para. 66 & 98 and Figures 6 & 8 of Asikainen).
(C) Referring to claim 8, Asikainen discloses further comprising: suggesting, by the second Al model, an alternative exercise instead of the exercise, in response to identified repeated failures in completion of the exercise by the patient (para. 88 & 92 of Asikainen).
(D) Referring to claim 9, Asikainen discloses further comprising: monitoring, by the second Al model, each of the set of exercises being performed by the patient based on the second real-time video of the patient; generating, by the second Al model, a summarized report corresponding to the patient based on the monitoring; and rendering, via a GUI, the summarized report to the patient (para. 37, 88, 99, 109, 110, & 116 and Fig. 11 of Asikainen).
(E) Referring to claim 10, Asikainen discloses further comprising: validating patient performance based on the summarized report; and providing an authorization to the patient to perform one or more actions, upon a successful validation (para. 44, 87, 88, 96, & 110 and Figures 11 & 12 of Asikainen).
(F) Claims 15, 18 and 19 repeat substantially the same limitations as claims 5 and 8-10, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons given above.
(G) Claim 11 differs from claim 1 by reciting “A system for providing remote physiotherapy sessions, the system comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor executable instructions, which, on execution, causes the processor to:” (para. 33, 39, 46 & 66 of Asikainen). Claim 20 differs from claim 1 by reciting “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for providing remote physiotherapy sessions, the stored instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprises…” (para. 46, 48-50, 59, 121, & 66 of Asikainen).
The remainder of claims 11 and 20 repeat substantially the same limitations as claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons given above.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asikainen et al. (US 2021/0008413 A1) in view of Kohli (US 2014/0172460 A1), in view of Sherpa (US 2020/0261019 A1), in view of Brust et al. (US 2017/0329933 A1), and further in view of Kord (US 2015/0097937 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 2, Askikainen, Kohli, Sherpa, and Brust do not disclose further comprising overlaying, by the second Al model, the patient in the second real-time video with a pose skeletal model, wherein the pose skeletal model comprises a plurality of key points based on the exercise, and wherein each of the plurality of key points is overlayed over a corresponding joint of the patient in the second real-time video.
Kord discloses overlaying, by the second Al model, the patient in the second real-time video with a pose skeletal model, wherein the pose skeletal model comprises a plurality of key points based on the exercise, and wherein each of the plurality of key points is overlayed over a corresponding joint of the patient in the second real-time video (see Figures 2 & 3, para. 7, 12-15, 25, and 26 of Kord).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Kord within Askikainen, Kohli, Sherpa, and Brust. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve sports training or medical diagnosis (para. 2 of Kord).
(B) Referring to claim 3, Askikainen discloses displaying the alerts on a Graphical User Interface (GUI) of the rendering device; and outputting the aural feedback to the patient, via a speaker (para. 46 & 93 of Asikainen).
Askikainen, Kohli, Sherpa, and Brust do not disclose wherein rendering the feedback comprises: overlaying one of at least one corrective action over the pose skeletal model overlayed on the second real-time video of the patient.
Kord discloses wherein rendering the feedback comprises: overlaying one of at least one corrective action over the pose skeletal model overlayed on the second real-time video of the patient (see Figures 2 & 3, para. 2, 7, 12-15, 25, 26, and 42 of Kord).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned feature of Kord within Askikainen, Kohli, Sherpa, and Brust. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve sports training or medical diagnosis (para. 2 of Kord).
(C) Referring to claim 4, Asikainen discloses wherein the feedback comprises generating a warning to the patient comprising: indication for correcting a current pose of the patient; and indication for correcting motion associated with the current pose of the patient (para. 93 & 8 of Asikainen).
(D) Claims 12-14 repeat substantially the same limitations as claims 2-4 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons given above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's additional arguments filed 7/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed hereinbelow in the order in which they appear in the response filed 7/29/26.
(1) Applicant submits that the pending claims are directed to patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Applicant requests that the Examiner withdraw the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC § 101.
(A) As per the first argument, see 101 rejection above. The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations in the 101 rejection above constitute “a mental process” because processing the first real-time video of the patient; determining a set of health parameters related to the medical condition of the patient, based on the at least one predefined movement performed by the patient; analyzing the set of health parameters and at least one of patient health records and demographic data to determine a current fitness state of the patient; identifying a set of exercises to be performed by the patient, based on the current fitness state of the patient; extracting a second model based on the current fitness state of the patient and the exercise being performed by the patient to determine a deviation of the patient from a plurality of expected movements associated with the exercise based on target exercise performance of a healthy specimen; processing the second real-time video of the patient to determine a set of patient mobility parameters based on current exercise performance of the patient; comparing the set of patient mobility parameters with a set of target mobility parameters; and identifying a failure in completion of the exercise by the patient amount to observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind or via pen and paper. The limitations regarding capturing videos, wherein the at least one predefined movement is performed by the patient for diagnostic purpose and monitoring recovery status from a medical condition, customizing the exercise for the patient, based on comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein customizing the exercise comprises: defining a number of repetitions and a number of sets of the exercise for the patient; and selecting one of a plurality of modes for the exercise, based on the current fitness state of the patient; generating feedback for the patient based on the comparison of the set of patient mobility parameters with the set of target mobility parameters, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of corrective actions or alerts, rendering the feedback, and sending a reminder to the patient after expiry of a pre-defined time interval for completing of the exercise, in response to identifying the failure in completion of the exercise by the patient constitute “certain methods of organizing human activity“ because they amount to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), at the currently claimed high level of generality. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the at least one camera, AI, device, processor, memory, and non-transitory computer-readable medium are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of capturing data, processing data, analyzing data, identifying data, extracting data, comparing data, customizing data, selecting data, generating data, rendering data, and sending data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Regarding the additional limitations directed to extracting a second Al model, all of which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea or are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality), the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of storing and retrieving information in memory. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
The limitations “by a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) model” and “by the second Al model“ do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. In response to Applicant’s arguments that the 101 rejection should be withdrawn because Applicant’s invention is “automated,” the computer components are recited at a high level of generality and perform the basic functions of a computer (in this case, capturing data, processing data, analyzing data, identifying data, extracting data, comparing data, customizing data, selecting data, generating data, rendering data, and sending data) that would be needed to apply the abstract idea via computer. Merely using generic computer components to perform the above identified basic computer functions to practice or apply the judicial exception does not constitute a meaningful limitation that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, even though such operations could be performed faster than without a computer. Furthermore, improving physiotherapy treatment administration is not a technical improvement. As such, Applicant’s arguments regarding a technical improvement are not persuasive.
Regarding BASCOM, the court agreed that the additional elements were generic computer, network, and Internet components that did not amount to significantly more when considered individually, but explained that the district court erred by failing to recognize that when combined, an inventive concept may be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of the additional elements, i.e., the installation of a filtering tool at a specific location, remote from the end-users, with customizable filtering features specific to each end user. It is unclear what is non-conventional and non-generic about the arrangement of the additional elements in Applicant’s case.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited but not applied prior art teaches an apparatus and method for monitoring rehabilitation from joint surgery (US 2017/0265800 A1); wearable device systems and methods for guiding physical movements (US 2020/0349859 A1); system and method for personalized exercise training and coaching (US 2018/0133551 A1); method and system for creating personalized workout programs (US 2011/0281249 A1); and systems and methods for using artificial intelligence to generate exercise plans based on user energy consumption metrics (US 2022/0314073 A1).
/LENA NAJARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687