Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6 August, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “a sensor module configured to”, “a control module configured to”, and “a host system is configured to” in claims 1, 5, 9, 10, and 12; “a data management module configured to” in claims 5 and 14; “an edge computing module configured to”, and “an abnormality detection and alarm module is configured to” in claims 7 and 15.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 states “and annotated the environmental parameter on the wide-angle dynamic real-time images”. Examiner believes “annotated” should instead read as “annotate”.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 states “sends a message to monitor through the abnormal detection device”. However, the applicant’s specification states in ¶ 0054 “sends a message to the monitor through the abnormal notification device” Examiner believes the claim should read as defined in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, 9, 10, and 12 limitation “the host system is configured to”; Claim 1 and 12 limitation “a control module configured to”; Claim 5 limitation “data management module configured to”; Claim 7 limitation “abnormal detection and alarm module is configured to” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no mention of corresponding structure for each of the systems and modules listed above in claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 12. There is mention of the edge computing module and the abnormality detection and alarm module being coupled as a chip, but this chip is not described and applicant further states the chip is not currently available on the market. As such it is not clear to the examiner which structure performs the tasks outlined in the claims listed above.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the abnormal detection and alarm module" in lines 4, 5, and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner believes this should be “abnormality detection and alarm module” to match line 2 – 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 7, and 9 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ure et al (U.S. Patent No. 11438553 B1, hereinafter “Ure”) in view of Nayar et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 6215519 B1, hereinafter “Nayar”).
Regarding claim 1, Ure teaches an environmental managing and monitoring system configured to assist monitors to obtain a real-time information of a monitoring field and control an external device in the monitoring field (Abstract: A monitoring unit for security and automation in a premises are described. The monitoring unit uses remote configuration and control to enable monitoring of a premises. The monitoring unit provides multiple monitoring functions to respond to events within the space and alert a user at a remote device like a smartphone.), the environmental managing and monitoring system comprising:
at least one sub-system (Monitoring unit 100) comprising:
a wide-angle camera configured to capture a wide-angle dynamic real-time image of an installed location (Col. 2, Line 34 – 36: The monitoring unit 100 comprises a lens (e.g., fish-eye lens, etc.) with a camera that operates to view a wide target area from a single location),
a sensor module configured to (Col. 2, Lines 35 – 43, see motion sensor, humidity sensor and ambient light sensor.) sense an environmental parameter of the installed location (Col. 2, Line 37 - 39: The monitoring unit 100 of an embodiment includes one or more environmental sensors for monitoring parameters of the local environment.); and
a control module configured to (Col. 13, Lines 34 – 35: The monitoring unit comprises a processor coupled to the camera and the network interface.) be connected to the external device to control an operation of the external device (Col. 3, Line 51 – 57: The monitoring unit includes a home area network (HAN) radio, or personal area network (PAN), to control and receive information from paired accessories such as sensors, switches, and dimmers. HAN-connected accessories can be controlled by way of security rules, a programmable schedule and internal sensor triggers such as ambient light and temperature.; Col. 5, Line 13 – 18: The monitoring unit can also leverage the use of externally paired HAN sensors to drive actions and notifications. The HAN sensors can include one or more of thermostats, door sensors, actuators, door locks, garage openers, window sensors, light dimmers or switches, to name a few.); and
a host system connected to each of the sub-systems (Col. 4, Lines 14 – 16: The monitoring unit also provides a coupling or connection to a central monitoring station (CMS) data for remote monitoring of the premises.), wherein the host system is configured to (Col. 6, Lines 45 – 48: The monitoring unit streams the compressed video to a remote device (e.g., smart phones, tablet computers, personal computers, other mobile and/or portable processor based
devices, etc.).) receive the wide-angle dynamic real-time images recorded by each of the sub-systems and the environmental parameter sensed by each of the sub-systems (Col 4, Lines 16 – 19: The data of an embodiment is provided to the CMS and to the remote device, but in other embodiments is provided to one of the remote device and the CMS.; Line 31 – 32: The monitoring unit automatically delivers data of one or more onboard and/or coupled devices to the CMS.; Col. 5, Lines 65 – 67: In an embodiment, the raw lens-warped video data collected at the camera is transmitted or streamed to the remote device in a highly compressed format.);
wherein the host system is configured to output a monitoring condition to the sub-system, wherein the sensor module returns a monitoring result to the host system according to the monitoring condition (Col. 3, Lines 40 – 48: The data provided includes but is not limited to information representing one or more of the following: unexpected motion within monitoring unit's field of view (FOY); temperature changes within the space; humidity changes within the space; physical movement of monitoring unit (due to vibrations or tampering); loud, unexpected sounds; and changes in ambient light.; Col 4, Lines 25 – 31: In operation, the monitoring unit transmits collected data and information to the CMS based upon a user-selected state of the monitoring unit. (emphasis added) The data transmitted by the monitoring unit includes data of the monitoring unit as well as the data of and data received from devices coupled to the monitoring unit via the local sub-network.);
wherein the host system is configured to control a display device connected to the host system to display an interpretation screen composed of the at least one image range and the monitoring result after receiving the at least one image range and the monitoring result (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.); and
wherein the host system is configured to receive at least one of various command operations, and output a control command to the control module to operate the external device displayed in the interpretation screen (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.).
Ure does not explicitly teach output at least one image range smaller than the wide-angle dynamic real-time image; and wherein the host system is configured to output a region of interest condition to the sub- system, wherein the wide-angle camera selects the at least one image range from the captured wide-angle dynamic real-time image according to the region of interest condition, and transmits the at least one image range to the host system.
However, Nayar does teach output at least one image range smaller than the wide-angle dynamic real-time image (Column 7, Line 43 – 48: Using the input data, the coordinate mapping unit 70 provides the appropriate pan, tilt, and zoom settings to the PTZ system 20, so that the PTZ system 20 is directed to view the region of interest. The PTZ system 20 subsequently provides high-resolution, zoomed images of the region of interest to the display 50.); and
wherein the host system is configured to output a region of interest condition to the sub- system (Col. 7, Line 34 – 38: The operator stationed at the monitoring station 80 observes the images provided by the WAIS 10, and when the operator detects a region of interest within the area being monitored and desires to get a better view of the region, the operator selects the region using input means 60.), wherein the wide-angle camera selects the at least one image range from the captured wide-angle dynamic real-time image according to the region of interest condition, and transmits the at least one image range to the host system (Col. 7, Line 43 – 48: Using the input data, the coordinate mapping unit 70 provides the appropriate pan, tilt, and zoom settings to the PTZ system 20, so that the PTZ system 20 is directed to view the region of interest. The PTZ system 20 subsequently provides high-resolution, zoomed images of the region of interest to the display 50.).
Ure and Nayar are considered to be analogous art as both pertain to surveillance and monitoring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine system for remote monitoring (as taught by Ure) and combined wide angle and narrow angle imaging system and method for surveillance and monitoring (as taught by Nayar) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Nayar creates a 360 degree view of the monitoring area by mapping images to a cylinder which can then project panoramic images to a plane for display on a flat screen. (See Column 8, Lines 10 - 15).
This motivation for the combination of Ure and Nayar is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 2, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Additionally, Nayar teaches wherein the monitoring result comprises a location information, the region of interest (ROI) condition is generated according to the location information, and the image range selected by the wide-angle camera comprises a range of the location information (Col 7, Line 34 – 38: The operator stationed at the monitoring station 80 observes the images provided by the WAIS 10, and when the operator detects a region of interest within the area being monitored and desires to get a better view of the region, the operator selects the region using input means 60.; Col. 7, Line 43 – 48: Using the input data, the coordinate mapping unit 70 provides the appropriate pan, tilt, and zoom settings to the PTZ system 20, so that the PTZ system 20 is directed to view the region of interest. The PTZ system 20 subsequently provides high-resolution, zoomed images of the region of interest to the display 50.).
Regarding claim 4, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Additionally, Nayar teaches wherein the image range selected by the sub-system moves along with an action for satisfying an action condition when the ROI condition comprises the action condition (Col. 9, Line 40 – 45: The motion detection unit 92 communicates with an object tracking unit 94, which tracks the detected objects. The object tracking unit 94 communicates with a coordinate mapping unit 95, which maps the coordinates of objects from the coordinate system of the WAIS 10 to that of the PTZ system 20, as discussed previously.).
Regarding claim 5, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the host system comprises a data management module configured to classify the environmental parameters into different categories and annotated the environmental parameter on the wide-angle dynamic real-time images (Figure 8, 6B, 11; Col. 12, Line 9 – 19: FIGS. 6A-6B show an example monitoring system dashboard user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. The Dashboard provides an at-a-glance view of the monitoring unit's system and provides access to one or more of the following functions: the monitoring unit's current security mode; the temperature near the monitoring unit; the monitoring unit's Wi-Fi signal strength; current status of HAN-connected accessories; weather alerts, if present; access to Events, Recordings, and Settings; access to the Night Stand.; Col. 12, Lines 27 – 32: FIG. 8 is an example monitoring system status screen on a mobile device, under an embodiment. The Vitals section displays monitoring unit's internal sensor readings and external weather information in an easy-to-understand format. Historical information is displayed using graphs allowing the user to see trends for each reading.);
wherein the host system is configured to control the display device to display the annotated wide-angle dynamic real-time images (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.), and
operate the external device annotated in the annotated wide-angle dynamic real-time image by receiving at least one of a plurality of instruction operations (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.).
Regarding claim 6, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the sensor module is connected to the external device (Col. 3, Line 51 – 57: The monitoring unit includes a home area network (HAN) radio, or personal area network (PAN), to control and receive information from paired accessories such as sensors, switches, and dimmers. HAN-connected accessories can be controlled by way of security rules, a programmable schedule and internal sensor triggers such as ambient light and temperature.), and the environmental parameter further comprises an operating status parameter of the external device (Figure 6A and 6B; Col. 12, Line 9 – 19: FIGS. 6A-6B show an example monitoring system dashboard user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. The Dashboard provides an at-a-glance view of the monitoring unit's system and provides access to one or more of the following functions: the monitoring unit's current security mode; the temperature near the monitoring unit; the monitoring unit's Wi-Fi signal strength; current status of HAN-connected accessories; weather alerts, if present; access to Events, Recordings, and Settings; access to the Night Stand.).
Regarding claim 7, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the sub-system further comprises an edge computing module and an abnormality detection and alarm module, and wherein the sub-system is connected to an alarm device (Col 5. Line 30 – 34: The monitoring unit can alert the surrounding environment to a potential breach of security by way of a very loud siren, driven by rules associated with sensors, both internal and externally paired.);
the edge computing module is configured to sense an abnormal status according to an abnormal status condition output by the host system, wherein the abnormal detection and alarm module generates an abnormal status information when the wide-angle dynamic real-time image and the environmental parameter sensed by the sub-system satisfies the abnormal status condition (Col 11, Line 28 – 36: The PIR motion sensor service reads from the PIR software driver directly, but is not so limited. The motion sensor, which implements a Bessel filter in order to eliminate false positives, issues a message to the Rules engine if a threshold for motion is exceeded. When loud sound above a predefined threshold is detected, a signal is passed to the rules engine. When appropriate, the loud sound in question is passed through characterization software to help identify it, (e.g. a smoke alarm, barking dog, etc.).; Col. 13, Line 39 – 41: The processor generates an alert based upon a change in at least one of the image and the sensor data. The alert is sent via the network interface to a mobile device.);
wherein the abnormal detection and alarm module is configured to transmit the abnormal status information to the host system and the alarm device (Col 11, Line 45 – 49: The rules engine saves the data with a timestamp in the monitoring unit's firmware database. The data is also sent to each active rule/control in order to determine what action, if any, should be taken ( e.g. turn on an appliance, sound the siren, notify the user etc.).).
Regarding claim 9, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 7.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the host system is configured to record a video of the image range from a starting time point to an end time point of the abnormal status information when the host system receives the abnormal status information (Col. 8, Line 7 – 11: The monitoring unit can record video of events associated with rules triggered by internal and externally paired sensors. The monitoring unit of an embodiment continuously records video and audio in a loop, enabling it to report on an event by presenting footage before and after it occurs.);
wherein the host system is configured to store the video of the image range from the starting time point to the end time point of the abnormal status information in an event database connected to the host system (Col 17, Line 65 – Col 17 Line 2: The server receives the sensor data and the monitoring unit data and stores the sensor data and the monitoring unit data in the database. The server provides access to the sensor data and the monitoring unit data via a mobile device.).
Regarding claim 10, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 7.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the host system records a start time point and an end time point of the abnormal status information when the host system receives the abnormal status information (Col. 8, Line 7 – 11: The monitoring unit can record video of events associated with rules triggered by internal and externally paired sensors. The monitoring unit of an embodiment continuously records video and audio in a loop, enabling it to report on an event by presenting footage before and after it occurs.);
wherein the host system is configured to mark the start time point (Fig. 6B; Col 11, Line 45 – 49: The rules engine saves the data with a timestamp in the monitoring unit's firmware database. The data is also sent to each active rule/control in order to determine what action, if any, should be taken ( e.g. turn on an appliance, sound the siren, notify the user etc.).).
Regarding claim 11, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 7.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the host system is also connected to an abnormal notification device, and the host system sends a message to monitor through the abnormal notification device when the host system receives the abnormal status information (Examiner is interpreting this claim in light of ¶ 0054 of the applicant’s specification.; Col 5, Line 3 – 11: The monitoring unit's mobile application allows users to set rules for each security mode pertaining to notifications, home-automation actions and alarms based on a set of scenarios. Under a scenario, the monitoring unit's various sensors (both internal and externally paired) can alert a user to activity within their environment, using data from sensors. The notification options of an embodiment include but are not limited to mobile push, SMS messages, telephone calls, and electronic mail to name but a few.).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has been analyzed with regard to respective claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has been analyzed with regard to respective claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 14, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring method according to claim 12.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the environmental managing and monitoring method further comprises:
classifying and marking the environmental parameters of different categories on the wide-angle dynamic real-time image (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.); and
controlling the display device to display the marked wide-angle dynamic real-time image, and operating the external device marked in the marked wide-angle dynamic real- time image by receiving at least one of multiple instruction operations (Figure 11; Col. 12, Lines 58 – 63: FIG. 11 shows monitoring system accessory control on a live streaming user interface on a mobile device, under an embodiment. If the user has paired HAN control accessories to monitoring unit, they can be accessed and controlled from within the live video screen. This allows a user to turn an appliance on or off and see the results in real time, if desired.).
Regarding claim 15, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring method according to claim 12.
Additionally, Ure teaches wherein the environmental managing and monitoring method further comprises:
outputting an abnormal status condition to the sub-system, and controlling the sub-system to sense an abnormal status (Col 11, Line 22 – 24: The sensor polling service reads from internal sensors (e.g., temperature, humidity, ambient light, acceleration/motion, etc.) and sends the data to the rules engine.; Col 11, Line 28 – 31: The PIR motion sensor service reads from the PIR software driver directly, but is not so limited. The motion sensor, which implements a Bessel filter in order to eliminate false positives, issues a message to the Rules engine if a threshold for motion is exceeded.);
generating an abnormal status information through the sub-system when the wide-angle dynamic real-time image and the environmental parameters sensed by the sub-system meet the abnormal status condition (Col 11, Line 28 – 36: The PIR motion sensor service reads from the PIR software driver directly, but is not so limited. The motion sensor, which implements a Bessel filter in order to eliminate false positives, issues a message to the Rules engine if a threshold for motion is exceeded. When loud sound above a predefined threshold is detected, a signal is passed to the rules engine. When appropriate, the loud sound in question is passed through characterization software to help identify it, (e.g. a smoke alarm, barking dog, etc.).; Col. 13, Line 39 – 41: The processor generates an alert based upon a change in at least one of the image and the sensor data. The alert is sent via the network interface to a mobile device.); and
transmitting the abnormal status information to the host system and the alarm device through the sub-system (Col 11, Line 45 – 49: The rules engine saves the data with a timestamp in the monitoring unit's firmware database. The data is also sent to each active rule/control in order to determine what action, if any, should be taken ( e.g. turn on an appliance, sound the siren, notify the user etc.).).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has been analyzed with regard to claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Ure’s further teaching on:
receiving the abnormal status information through the host system (Col 8, Line 7 – 11: The monitoring unit can record video of events associated with rules triggered by internal and externally paired sensors. The monitoring unit of an embodiment continuously records video and audio in a loop, enabling it to report on an event by presenting footage before and after it occurs.; Col. 11, Line 45 – 49: The rules engine saves the data with a timestamp in the monitoring unit's firmware database. The data is also sent to each active rule/control in order to determine what action, if any, should be taken ( e.g. turn on an appliance, sound the siren, notify the user etc.).).
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ure et al (U.S. Patent No. 11438553 B1, hereinafter “Ure”) in view of Nayar et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 6215519 B1, hereinafter “Nayar”) and further in view of Inoue et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0280961 A1, hereinafter “Inoue”).
Regarding claim 3, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 1.
Neither Ure or Nayar teaches wherein the sensor module comprises a sound source sensor installed on the wide-angle camera, the monitoring condition comprises a sound source detection condition, and the sensor module integrates a sound source location information of a sound source into the monitoring result when the sound source sensor senses the sound source for satisfying the sound source detection condition; and wherein the ROI condition is generated according to the sound source position information, and wherein the image range selected by the wide-angle camera comprises a range of the sound source position information.
However, Inoue teaches wherein the sensor module comprises a sound source sensor installed on the wide-angle camera, the monitoring condition comprises a sound source detection condition, and the sensor module integrates a sound source location information of a sound source into the monitoring result when the sound source sensor senses the sound source for satisfying the sound source detection condition (para 0130: The sound sensor 618 is a sensor that acquires 360-degree audio data in order to identify the direction from which a loud sound is input within a 360-degree space around the meeting device 60 ( on a horizontal plane). The audio processing unit 609 determines the direction in which the volume of the sound is highest, based on the input 360- degree audio parameter, and outputs the direction from which the sound is input within the 360-degree space.);
wherein the ROI condition is generated according to the sound source position information (), and wherein the image range selected by the wide-angle camera comprises a range of the sound source position information (¶ 0065: The meeting device 60 includes the microphone. Based on a direction from which the microphone receives sound, the meeting device 60 performs clipping of a portion including a person speaking (i.e., a talker) from the panoramic image to create a talker image. The meeting device 60 transmits both the panoramic image and the talker image to the communication terminal 10.).
Ure and Inoue are considered to be analogous art as both pertain wide angle image monitoring and detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for remote monitoring (as taught by Ure) and the device management system (as taught by Inoue) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Inoue combines video and transcribed text data, providing the viewer with a transcription of the video (See ¶ 0165).
This motivation for the combination of Ure, Nayar, and Inoue is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ure et al (U.S. Patent No. 11438553 B1, hereinafter “Ure”) in view of Nayar et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 6215519 B1, hereinafter “Nayar”) and further in view of .
Regarding claim 8, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring system according to claim 7.
Neither Ure and Nayar teaches wherein the edge computing module is configured to select at least one abnormal image range from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image according to the abnormal status condition, wherein the host system controls the display device to display an abnormal image interpretation screen composed of the abnormal image range and the sensing parameters meeting the abnormal status condition when the abnormal image range is selected from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image.
However, Felhi teaches wherein the edge computing module is configured to select at least one abnormal image range from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image according to the abnormal status condition (Col 5. Line 56 – 62: According to various embodiments of the invention, in case of an alert event, the camera 110a can be configured to perform a number of different actions. For example, it can be configured to activate an alarm emitted by the siren 140a, in order to make the unauthorized human flee. The camera 60 110a can also send a notification of the event, and an image of the unauthorized human, to the one or more servers 120a.),
wherein the host system controls the display device to display an abnormal image interpretation screen composed of the abnormal image range and the sensing parameters meeting the abnormal status condition when the abnormal image range is selected from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image (Figure 4B and 4C, Ref. No. 411b, 431b, 412c; Col. 5, Line 63 – 65: The one or more servers 120a can instantaneously transfer the notification and image to the one or more user devices 130a.).
Ure and Felhi are considered to be analogous art as both pertain wide angle image monitoring and detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for remote monitoring (as taught by Ure) and the generation of alerts based on detection of objects from camera images (as taught by Felhi) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would be the system of Felhi uses the detected faces to train and improve the face recognition of the camera (See Col 6, Line 19 - 23).
This motivation for the combination of Ure, Nayar, and Felhi is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 17, the Ure and Nayar combination teaches the environmental managing and monitoring method according to claim 15.
Additionally, Felhi teaches wherein the environmental managing and monitoring method further comprises:
selecting at least one abnormal image range from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image according to the abnormal status condition (Figure 4B and 4C, Ref. No. 411b, 431b, 412c; Col 5. Line 56 – 62: According to various embodiments of the invention, in case of an alert event, the camera 110a can be configured to perform a number of different actions. For example, it can be configured to activate an alarm emitted by the siren 140a, in order to make the unauthorized human flee. The camera 60 110a can also send a notification of the event, and an image of the unauthorized human, to the one or more servers 120a.); and
controlling the display device to display an abnormal image interpretation screen composed of the abnormal image range and the sensing parameters meeting the abnormal status condition when the abnormal image range is selected from the wide-angle dynamic real-time image (Figure 4B and 4C, Ref. No. 411b, 431b, 412c; Col. 18, Line 26 – 32: In this example, a burglar enters the house of a user. The burglar enters the field of view of a device of the invention. The processing logic of the device of the invention detects an unknown face, triggers an alert event, and sends a notification to a user device, for example one of the user devices 130a, 130b, and the image in which it has detected the burglar.; Col. 18, 34 – 39: Upon reception of the notification, the application displays 35 the screen 410a. The screen 410a contains a frame 411a displaying the image of the burglar captured by the image sensor, an indication that the siren of the house is beeping and will start sounding in 40 seconds in absence of feedback from the user.).
Conclusion
/ANDREW B. JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667