Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drill unit” and “a capping unit” in claim 1, “a flavoring unit” in claim 2, “a branding unit” in claim 3, “a holding device” in claims 4 and 15, “a distribution unit” in claims 7 and 18, “a securing device” in claim13 and “a retractable drill unit”, “a retractable capping unit”, “a retractable flavoring unit” and “a retractable branding unit” in claims 14.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As notice in paragraph 0028, the drill unit 32 may be designed to have a hollow drill bit…The flavoring unit 36 may be formed of a plurality of containers 38. As noticed in paragraph 0035, the branding unit 48 may be a laser unit. As noticed in paragraph 0026, the securing mechanism 30 may be formed of an arm 30A which extends down from the housing 20. A cradle 30B may extend from the arm 30A. The cradle 30B may secure the coconut 12 in place and positioned the coconut 12 below the opening 28 so that the different components of the device 10 may perform one or more functions on the coconut 12.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “holding device” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a capping unit”, “a holding device”, “a distribution unit” and “a retractable capping unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In this case, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In claims 4 and 15, the limitation “a holding device” is unclear if it is the same as the “securing device” (securing mechanism as its named in the spec paragraph 0026) recited in claim 13.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 depends from claim 3, and recites the same limitations already recited in claim 3 (the branding unit placing a label on the coconut). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vitor (BR 102012030502).
Regarding claim 1, Vitor teaches a coconut processing device (1), comprising: a drill unit (8) forming an opening in a coconut (C) (abstract; as shown in Fig. 5; page 6, lines 4-5); and a capping unit (10) inserting a spout (10A) into the opening sealing the opening (as shown in Fig. 6; page 6, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 4, Vitor teaches the coconut processing device of Claim 1, comprising a holding device (6) securing the coconut in position (as shown in Fig. 4-5; page 6, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Vitor teaches the coconut processing device of Claim 1, comprising a first retractable arm coupled to the drill unit moving the drill unit upwards and downwards (inherently present to form hole in coconut, the drill bit (hole actuator 8) needs to be retracted to allow the top of the coconut to be cut by cutting actuator (9), and then moved downwards to create the hole in the coconut; abstract; page 6, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, Vitor teaches the coconut processing device of Claim 1, comprising a second retractable arm coupled to the capping unit moving the capping unit upwards and downwards (as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Vitor teaches the coconut processing device of Claim 1, comprising a securing device (6) holding the coconut in position (as shown in Fig. 4-5; page 6, lines 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 7-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: allowable subject matter is indicated for claims 2, 3, 7-12 and 14-20 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest a coconut processing device comprising a flavoring unit placing a desired flavoring in the coconut as recited in claim 2, or a branding unit placing a label on the coconut as recited in claim 3, or a retractable flavoring unit placing a flavoring in the coconut; and a retractable branding unit movable in and out of the housing placing a label on the coconut as recited in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Salado (WO 2019/104406) is considered relevant art in the field of coconut processing devices, as shown in Fig. 1-6, comprising a drill unit (20) forming an opening in a coconut (abstract; para. 0014)…but fails to disclose a capping unit inserting a spout into the opening sealing the opening, or a flavoring unit placing a desired flavoring in the coconut, or a branding unit placing a label on the coconut, or a retractable capping unit movable in and out of the housing inserting a spout into the opening in the coconut sealing the opening in the coconut, a retractable flavoring unit placing a flavoring in the coconut; and a retractable branding unit movable in and out of the housing placing a label on the coconut.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 09/04/2026
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761