DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 12/21/2025.
Claims 1-17 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, and 13 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Specification
The amended specification is objected to because of the following informalities: Upon review of the specification amendments, the RSRP comparisons of the referenced elements, e.g. 110-1, in the amended specification are still incorrect when compared to the RSRP values of the elements, e.g. 110-1 RSRP, of Figure 2. Refer to Office Action, 09/29/2025, for initial objection.
The following section taken from Paragraph 0027 of the specification, with the amended deleted values stricken through, discloses: “FIG. 2 is a diagram of a proposed scheme 200 for a UE determining a serving cell in accordance an implementation of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 2, there are three cells 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3 to be configured for serving the UE 130 and the wireless device 120. In one example, the UE 130 may determine the second list having a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from the cells 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3 to the UE 130 As that, based on the plurality of RSRPs in the first list cell in an event that the UE 130 only considers the second list. Alternatively, the UE 130 may select the cell 110-3 having a maximum RSRP value
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that an RSRP of ’90’ represented in dBm is actually ‘- 90 dBm’. A higher value of RSRP compared to -90 dBm is -80 dBm, refer to standard calculation method of dBm. Per the specification, the second list consisting of RSRPs (90 dBm, 85 dBm, and 70 dBm) has a maximum RSRP value of -70 dBm and not -90 dBm.
Examiner suggests applicant review the disclosure in its entirety in regards to this error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10-13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US 20170208636 A1, hereinafter “Agiwal”), in view of Liang (WO 2023274072 A1, hereinafter “Liang”), in view of Chen et al (US 20230397100 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
RE Claim 1, 12, Agiwal discloses an apparatus or method:
An apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0078, Fig. 13), comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly(¶0078, Fig. 13); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform, via the transceiver(¶0078, Fig. 13), operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result from a wireless device or from a network node of a wireless network (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. Relay, wireless device, sends measured RSRP/RSRQ, a measurement list, to remote UE, an apparatus. ¶0070, Fig. 8: 804; Result from network node is optional.);
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the RSRP measurement result comprises a first list indicating a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from a plurality of candidate cells to the wireless device;
performing a cell selection based on at least one of the first list and a second list, wherein the second list indicates a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from the plurality of candidate cells to the apparatus; and
determining a serving cell from the plurality of candidate cells based on the cell selection.
However, Liang discloses:
wherein the RSRP measurement result comprises a first list indicating a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from a plurality of candidate cells to the wireless device (Remote terminal is within the cell coverage area. ¶0073; Second measurement result, RSRP values, are the relay, the wireless device, measuring the cell and neighboring cells and forwarding it to the remote terminal, a first list. ¶¶0081, 0201-0202);
performing a cell selection based on at least one of the first list and a second list (Remote terminal performs cell selection or reselection based on direct and indirect links. ¶0089; Remote terminal performs an evaluation of cell selection or reselection based on first system information and first measurement result. The first measurement result is the measurement result of the remote terminal on the direct link of the local cell and neighboring cells, such as RSRP, a second list. ¶¶0067-0069; Cell selection or reselection assessments performed based on the measurement results obtained from the direct links. ¶0070; Therefore, the remote performs a cell selection based on at least one (cell) of the first list, remote RSRP of available cell links, and second list, relay RSRP of available cell links.), wherein the second list indicates a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from the plurality of candidate cells to the apparatus (First measurement result is the measurement result of the remote terminal, the apparatus, on the direct link of local cell and neighboring cells, such as RSRP, a second list. ¶0069); and
determining a serving cell from the plurality of candidate cells based on the cell selection (Remote terminal performs cell selection or reselection based on direct and indirect links. ¶0089; Remote terminal performs an evaluation of cell selection or reselection based on first system information and first measurement result. The first measurement result is the measurement result of the remote terminal on the direct link of the local cell and neighboring cells, such as RSRP, a second list. ¶¶0067-0069; Cell selection or reselection assessments performed based on the measurement results obtained from the direct links. ¶0070; Therefore, the remote performs a cell selection based on at least one (cell) of the first list, remote RSRP of available cell links, and second list, relay RSRP of available cell links.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Liang, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of available direct link cells for a remote and relay UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by determining best serving cells for communication reliability. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016, 0070, Fig. 8; Liang: ¶¶0005-0013, 003, 0201-0202, 0296-0297)
RE Claim 2, 13, Agiwal discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein in an event that the apparatus receives the RSRP measurement result from the wireless device (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. Relay, wireless device, sends measured RSRP/RSRQ, a measurement list, to remote UE, an apparatus. ¶0070, Fig. 8: 804), the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose:
selecting a first cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the first cell corresponds to a maximum RSRP in the first list;
selecting a second cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the second cell corresponds to a maximum RSRP in the second list; or
selecting a third cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the third cell corresponds to a maximum sum value determined by the first list and the second list.
However, Chen discloses:
selecting a second cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the second cell corresponds to a maximum RSRP in the second list (Remote UE scans RF channels and searches for the strongest cell, such as RSRP, via Uu. Once a suitable cell is found the cell may be selected. ¶¶0199-0201); or
selecting a third cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the third cell corresponds to a maximum sum value determined by the first list and the second list (Element is optional).
Agiwal and Chen do not explicitly disclose:
selecting a first cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the first cell corresponds to a maximum RSRP in the first list;
However, Liang discloses:
selecting a first cell from the plurality of candidate cells to be the serving cell, wherein the first cell corresponds to a maximum RSRP in the first list (The remote terminal performs cell selection or reselection evaluation based on the second system information and the second measurement result, ¶0079; Second measurement result, RSRP values, are the relay, the wireless device, measuring the cell and neighboring cells and forwarding it to the remote terminal, a first list. ¶0081; The remote terminal performs an assessment of cell selection or reselection based on second system information and second measurement results, a first list. ¶0084; Evaluation whether the results meet the conditions for cell selection or reselection based on RSRP of local cell or neighboring cell. ¶¶0201-0202);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Liang, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of available direct link cells of for a remote and relay UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by selecting service cell candidates for best RSRP for communication reliability. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016, 0070, Fig. 8; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103; Liang: ¶¶0005-0013, 003, 0201-0202, 0296-0297)
RE Claim 4, 15, Agiwal does not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
determining a first RSRP measurement result by receiving a first reference signal (RS) from the network node in a first component carrier (CC);
determining a second RSRP measurement result by receiving a second RS from the wireless device in a second CC; and
performing the cell selection based on the first RSRP measurement result and the second RSRP measurement result,
wherein the first CC and the second CC are not overlapped in a frequency domain.
However, Chen discloses:
the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
determining a first RSRP measurement result by receiving a first reference signal (RS) from the network node in a first component carrier (CC) (UE, apparatus, periodically measures Uu link quality RSRP_Uu, signal from network node, a first CC. ¶0263, Fig. 8);
determining a second RSRP measurement result by receiving a second RS from the wireless device in a second CC (Remote UE, apparatus, measures sidelink quality between it and the relay UE, wireless device, for RSRP_Relay and RSRQ_relay, a second CC. ¶0258, Fig. 6); and
performing the cell selection based on the first RSRP measurement result and the second RSRP measurement result (Remote UE, apparatus, checks whether the signal quality of the newly selected frequency meets reselection criteria. ¶0260; Remote UE, apparatus, selects the cell based on RSRP_n, network node, and RSRP_relay, wireless device, by comparing values, thresholds, and frequency priorities. ¶0260. Fig. 6),
wherein the first CC and the second CC are not overlapped in a frequency domain (The UE needs only search for the strongest signal via Uu and the strongest relay UE via PC5, except for operation with shared spectrum channel access where the UE may search for the next strongest cell(s). In searching for the strongest relay UE, the UE may perform discovery to determine the relay UEs on the frequency. ¶0219; Therefore, first CC is Uu to network and second CC is PC5 to relay in same frequency band but not overlapping).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of serving cells based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by selecting service cell candidates within a shared spectrum for best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103, 0199-201)
RE Claim 6, 17, Agiwal discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein the apparatus is associated with the wireless device for device collaboration (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. Relay, wireless device, sends measured RSRP/RSRQ, a measurement list, to remote UE, an apparatus. ¶0070, Fig. 8: 804 – indirect link and collaboration with remote UE;).
RE Claim 7, Agiwal does not explicitly disclose a method:
A method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of a wireless device, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result comprising a first list indicating a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from a plurality of candidate cells to the wireless device; and
transmitting, by the processor, the RSRP measurement result to an apparatus or to a network node of a wireless network before the apparatus performs a cell selection based on at least one of the first list and a second list, where the second list indicates a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from the plurality of candidate cells to the apparatus.
However, Liang discloses:
A method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of a wireless device (¶0312, Fig. 6), a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result comprising a first list indicating a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from a plurality of candidate cells to the wireless device (Remote terminal is within the cell coverage area. ¶0073; Second measurement result, RSRP values, are the relay, the wireless device, measuring the cell and neighboring cells and forwarding it to the remote terminal, a first list. ¶¶0081, 0201-0202); and
transmitting, by the processor (¶0312, Fig. 6), the RSRP measurement result to an apparatus or to a network node of a wireless network before the apparatus performs a cell selection based on at least one of the first list and a second list (First measurement result is the measurement result of the remote terminal, the apparatus, on the direct link of local cell and neighboring cells, such as RSRP, a second list. ¶0069; Second measurement result, RSRP values, are the relay, the wireless device, measuring the cell and neighboring cells and forwarding it to the remote terminal, a first list. ¶¶0081, 0201-0202; Cell selection or reselection assessments performed based on the measurement results obtained from the direct links. ¶0070; Therefore, the remote performs a cell selection based on at least one (cell) of the first list, remote RSRP of available cell links, and second list, relay RSRP of available cell links.),
where the second list indicates a plurality of RSRPs transmitted from the plurality of candidate cells to the apparatus (First measurement result is the measurement result of the remote terminal, the apparatus, on the direct link of local cell and neighboring cells, such as RSRP, a second list. ¶0069).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of serving cells based on comparing the link quality of available direct link cells for a remote and relay UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by determining best serving cells for communication reliability. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016, 0070, Fig. 8; Liang: ¶¶0005-0013, 003, 0201-0202, 0296-0297)
RE Claim 10, Agiwal discloses a method:
further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, a reference signal (RS) from the network node in a first component carrier (CC) (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. Relay, wireless device, sends measured RSRP/RSRQ, a measurement list, to remote UE, an apparatus. ¶0070, Fig. 8: 804;);
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by the processor, the RS to the apparatus in a second CC,
wherein the first CC and the second CC are not overlapped in a frequency domain.
However, Chen discloses:
transmitting, by the processor, the RS to the apparatus in a second CC (Remote UE, apparatus, measures sidelink quality between it and the relay UE, wireless device, for RSRP_Relay and RSRQ_relay, a second CC. ¶0258, Fig. 6),
wherein the first CC and the second CC are not overlapped in a frequency domain (The UE needs only search for the strongest signal via Uu and the strongest relay UE via PC5, except for operation with shared spectrum channel access where the UE may search for the next strongest cell(s). In searching for the strongest relay UE, the UE may perform discovery to determine the relay UEs on the frequency. ¶0219; Therefore, first CC is Uu to network and second CC is PC5 to relay in same frequency band but not overlapping).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of serving cells based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by selecting service cell candidates within a shared spectrum for best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103, 0199-201)
RE Claim 11, Agiwal discloses a method:
The method of Claim 7, wherein the wireless device is associated with the apparatus for device collaboration (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. Relay, wireless device, sends measured RSRP/RSRQ, a measurement list, to remote UE, an apparatus. ¶0070, Fig. 8: 804 – indirect link and collaboration with remote UE;).
Claim(s) 3, 8, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Liang, in view Chen in view of Xu et al. (US 20180139682 A1, hereinafter “Xu”).
RE Claim 3, 14, Agiwal and Chen do not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
wherein in an event that the apparatus receives the RSRP measurement result from the network node, the RSRP measurement result is originated from the wireless device to the apparatus via an indirect link.
However, Xu discloses:
wherein in an event that the apparatus receives the RSRP measurement result from the network node, the RSRP measurement result is originated from the wireless device to the apparatus via an indirect link (Remote UE obtains link quality of the Uu link between current relay UE and eNB. Remote UE obtains link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and an eNB from indication information sent to the remote UE by the eNB directly or using the current relay UE. ¶0211).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Xu, obtain relay UE serving cell link quality through gNB.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by comparing service cell candidates for best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103; Xu: Abstract; ¶¶0005-0007, 0211)
RE Claim 8, Agiwal and Chen do not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein in an event that the wireless device transmits the RSRP measurement result to the network node, the apparatus receives the RSRP measurement result from the network node before performing the cell selection.
However, Xu discloses:
wherein in an event that the wireless device transmits the RSRP measurement result to the network node (Remote UE obtains link quality of the Uu link between current relay UE and eNB. Remote UE obtains link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and an eNB from indication information sent to the remote UE by the eNB directly, requiring wireless device to transmit to eNB, or using the current relay UE. ¶0211)., the apparatus receives the RSRP measurement result from the network node before performing the cell selection (Remote UE determines whether to trigger relay UE selection according to signal quality of the PC5 link and the signal quality of the Uu link of the current relay UE. ¶0212).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Xu, obtain relay UE serving cell link quality through gNB.
The motivation in doing so would be to reduce the time and overhead of a remote UE searching/discovering other cells for selection, due to signal variations causing coverage issues, by comparing service cell candidates for best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103; Xu: Abstract; ¶¶0005-0007, 0211)
RE Claim 9, Agiwal discloses a method:
further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, a measurement configuration from the network node (Relay UE receives RS from network and measures RSRP/RSRQ of link between Relay UE and network, candidate cell. ¶0070);
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by the processor, a measurement report to the network node,
wherein the measurement report comprises a configuration indicating device collaboration between the wireless device and the apparatus.
However, Chen discloses:
transmitting, by the processor, a measurement report to the network node (Relay UE has communication path to gNB. A ‘suitable’ relay UE must have a Uu link quality exceeding a configured threshold by gNB, relay UE reports RSRP. ¶02024; Therefore, wireless device must report measurements to network in support of sidelink operation.),
wherein the measurement report comprises a configuration indicating device collaboration between the wireless device and the apparatus (A ‘suitable’ relay UE must have a PC5 link quality, collaborative sidelink with remote UE, exceeding a configured threshold by the gNB. ¶0204).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, relay UE receive measurement configuration for serving cell link quality, with the teachings of Chen, relay UE transmitting service cell link quality and indication of active sidelink operation.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide relay UE serving cell link quality to network in support of selecting service cell candidates for best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103, 0199-201)
Claim(s) 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Liang, in view of Chen in view of Back et al. (WO 2024058636 A1, hereinafter “Back”).
RE Claim 5, 16, Agiwal discloses an apparatus or method:
the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a measurement configuration from the network node (eNB, network node, sends RRC reconfiguration message, with measurement configuration, to the UE, apparatus. ¶0064. Fig. 5:502);
transmitting a measurement report to the network node (UE sends a measurement report to the eNB, network node. ¶0064: Fig. 5:503);.
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose:
performing a handover to a target cell after receiving a reconfiguration from the network node;
wherein the measurement configuration comprises a configuration for the first CC and the second CC, and the measurement report comprises a measurement for the first CC and the second CC.
However, Chen discloses:
wherein the measurement configuration comprises a configuration for the first CC and the second CC, and the measurement report comprises a measurement for the first CC and the second CC (RRC connection between gNB and UE where remote UE periodically measures the RSRP of the PC5 and Uu interfaces, first and second CC. Selected path, based on RRC connection to the gNB, may be indirect or direct link based on RSRP measurements and thresholds. ¶0305, Fig. 14).
Agiwal and Chen do not explicitly disclose:
performing a handover to a target cell after receiving a reconfiguration from the network node;
However, Back discloses:
performing a handover to a target cell after receiving a reconfiguration from the network node ( Remote UE handover (HO) method: Remote UE transmits a measurement result to serving base station. Remote UE receives RRC reconfiguration with sync message transmitted by target base station from the serving base station. Remote UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete to the target base station. ¶0031; Remote and Relay UE are in a relay relationship. ¶0033);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Agiwal, sidelink communication where serving cell link quality is shared between remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Chen, determination of a remote UE serving cell based on comparing the link quality of serving cells of each remote and relay UE, with the teachings of Back, method to perform handover for remote UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve handover procedures for a sidelink configuration with remote and relay UE by determining target cell candidates with best RSRP and/or RSRP meeting minimum thresholds. (Agiwal: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0016; Chen: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0101-0103; Back: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0027-0028)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 12, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250071657 A1 Liu
US 20240015619 A1 Pan
EP 3606164 B1 Xu et al.
US 20240340668 A1 Back et al.
WO-2024058636-A1 Back et al.
WO-2023226883-A1 Liu et al.
US 20240397396 A1 Liu et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of sidelink operation of remote and relay UEs to measure quality of links to determine candidate cells for cell selection and/or handover.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419