Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation reading “wherein the spring is” should read: “wherein the one or more springs”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 7357348, Kannanen in view of USPGPUB 20040000611, Boone.
Regarding Claim 1, Kannanen discloses a dispenser 10 for dispensing sheet product (abstract), the dispenser comprising:
a housing (parts 11 and 13, fig. 1) configured to accommodate at least one source of sheet product (col. 2, 40-60), wherein the housing defines an outlet (discharge opening 85) through which a leading end of the sheet product is dispensed (col. 4, 30-40);
a knife drum (17) that is rotatable with respect to the housing (col 7, 30-40);
a knife (95) that is movable between a retracted position within the knife drum (fig. 10) and an extended position (fig. 13) with at least a portion of the knife protruding outside of the knife drum (fig 13), wherein the knife is operable to cut the sheet product (col 7, 35-40);
a cam track (167);
a cam follower (165) operable to travel along the cam track to transition the knife between the retracted position and the extended position during a rotation cycle of the knife drum (col 8, 50-67); and
a spring assembly (19 and 21) attached to the knife drum (fig 11) and comprising a crank arm (69), a link (73), and one or more springs (19 and 21), wherein the crank arm is attached to the knife drum (col 3, 40-50) at a first end (fig. 11) and attached to the link (73) at a second end (fig 13), wherein the link 73 is rotatably attached to the crank arm at a first end (comparing positions shown in figs 10-14, and see col 3, 40-50) and attached to a spring (19-21) of the one or more springs at a second end (fig 11), wherein the one or more springs are configured to charge and discharge (col 4, 40-45; load and unload) during the rotation cycle of the knife drum as the cam follower travels along the cam track (col 4, 40-50).
Kannanen lacks: where the/said spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that a maximum pull force required by the user during the rotation cycle of the knife drum is less than or equal to approximately 1.0 lbf.
Boone discloses a web dispenser in the same field of endeavor as the web dispenser of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include a spring assembly (par 0047) which affects the pull force of a sheet being pulled and separated from the dispenser (par 0047) and the resultant pull force can be varied depending on the specifics of the springs (par 0047), and is thus a result effective variable. Also, Boone discloses that in one possible embodiment a good target pull force is less than one pound of force (par 0047), in order to reduce the amount of force necessary by a user to pull the sheet away from the dispenser for example when users have a lack of “musculoskeletal Strength”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kannanen by making the resultant pull force of the spring assembly of Kannanen to be less than 1lb of force in order to reduce the amount of force necessary by a user to pull the sheet away from the dispenser for example when users have a lack of “musculoskeletal Strength”, as taught by Boone.
Also, such a modification would be obvious since Boone teaches that in a web dispensing assembly the resulting pull force from a spring assembly is a result effective variable based on a user requirement, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 2, Kannanen discloses: the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that any pull force from the user is only required for approximately 200 degrees or less of the rotation cycle of the knife drum (since the pulling which loads the spring is only required until a centered position of the driver, which corresponds to about halfway of the movement of the follower along the substantially circular cam track).
Regarding Claim 3, in Kannanen the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that pull force required during charging of the one or more springs is stable (“smooth operation”, col. 5, 35-50).
Regarding claim 5, in Kannanen, the dispenser of claim 1, also includes the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that, during the rotation cycle of the knife drum, the one or more springs charge and discharge non-sinusoidally to modulate pull force required by a user to complete a dispense. (col 4, 40-45, since the cam track if partly sinusoidal, where it is arced, and non sinusoidal where not arcing/circular, fig. 9, fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, in Kannanen, the one or more springs comprises at least a first spring 21 and a second spring 19, wherein the first spring is independently chargeable and dischargeable from the second spring (col 4, 40-50 since the springs act independently).
Regarding Claim 7, in Kannanen a first change in energy for the first spring is different over the rotation cycle of the knife drum than a second change in energy for the second spring (Since the springs are activated at different starting points and positions along different paths and directions the energy change in one spring will be necessarily higher or lower than the change in the other spring at least some instances during a rotation of the drum).
Regarding claim 8, in Kannanen, the spring assembly comprises a 4-bar linkage (bars which make up ends of link 73, and bar portions of springs 21 and 19).
Regarding claim 9, in Kannanen, the spring assembly comprises a first movable pivot point (where the spring 21 joins the link 73) and a second movable pivot point (where the spring 19 joins the link 73), wherein both the first movable pivot point and the second movable pivot point are movable with respect to the cam track as the knife drum rotates (compare figs 11-15).
Regarding Claim 10, Kannanen discloses a dispenser 10 for dispensing sheet product (abstract), the dispenser comprising: a housing (parts 13 and 11) configured to accommodate at least one source of sheet product (col. 2, 40-60), wherein the housing defines an outlet (discharge opening 85) through which a leading end of the sheet product is dispensed (col. 2, 40-60);
a knife drum 17 that is rotatable with respect to the housing (col 7, 30-40);
a knife (95) that is movable between a retracted position within the knife drum (fig. 10) and an extended position with at least a portion of the knife protruding outside of the knife drum, (fig. 13), wherein the knife is operable to cut the sheet product (col 7, 35-40);
a cam track (167);
a cam follower 165 operable to travel along the cam track to transition the knife between the retracted position and the extended position during a rotation cycle of the knife drum (col 3, 40-50); and
a spring assembly (19 and 21) attached to the knife drum (fig 11) and comprising one or more springs (19/21), wherein the one or more springs are configured to charge and discharge during the rotation cycle of the knife drum as the cam follower travels along the cam track (col 4, 40-45),
wherein the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that, during the rotation cycle of the knife drum, the one or more springs charge and discharge non- sinusoidally to modulate pull force required by a user to complete a dispense (col 4, 40-45, since the path of the follower is partly non sinusoidal, e.g. due to the track having some straight parts, fig 9).
Regarding claim 11, in Kannanen the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that the pull force from the user is only required for approximately 200 degrees or less of the rotation cycle of the knife drum (since the pulling which loads the spring is only required until a centered position of the driver, which corresponds to about halfway of the movement of the follower along the substantially circular cam track).
Regarding claim 12, in Kannanen the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that the pull force required during charging of the one or more springs is stable (“smooth operation” col. 5, 35-50).
Regarding claim 14, in Kannanen the one or more springs comprises at least a first spring 21 and a second spring 19, wherein the first spring is independently chargeable and dischargeable from the second spring (since the springs are independently connected at different ends of the drum, they move independently of one another).
Regarding Claim 15, in Kannanen a first change in energy for the first spring is different over the rotation cycle of the knife drum than a second change in energy for the second spring (Since the springs are activated at different starting points and positions along different paths and directions the energy change in one spring will be necessarily higher or lower than the change in the other spring at at least some instances during a rotation of the drum).
Regarding claim 16, in Kannanen the spring assembly comprises a 4-bar linkage (bars which make up ends of link 73, and bar portions of springs 21 and 19).
Regarding claim 17, in Kannanen the spring assembly comprises a first movable pivot point (where the spring 21 joins the link 73) and a second movable pivot point (where the spring 19 joins the link 73), wherein both the first movable pivot point and the second movable pivot point are movable with respect to the cam track as the knife drum rotates (compare figs 11-15).
Regarding claim 21, in Kannanen the dispenser of claim 1, also includes wherein one of the springs of the one or more springs is attached to the link at a pivot connection (fig 11), wherein the pivot connection floats (rotatably) with respect to the housing and the knife drum (comparing figs 11-15).
Regarding claim 22, in Kannanen the link (73) is a floater link (since it rotates in a floating manner relative to the housing), wherein the second end of the floater link is rotatably attached to a rocker link (see figs 11-14), wherein the rocker link (e.g. pivot about which the floater link 73 is attached to the part 69, and thus allows the part 73 to rock/rotate) is attached to the housing (operably attached).
Regarding claim 23, in Kannanen wherein the second end of the link 73 floats with respect to the housing and the knife drum (since it rotates relative to the drum and also the housing [fig 11-13]).
Regarding claim 24, in Kannanen the link 73 defines a slot for receiving a pin (pivot pin 71) to enable controlled sliding of the link (rotatable sliding along 67) during the rotation cycle of the knife drum (figs 11-15).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannanen.
Regarding Claim 18, Kannanen discloses: a dispenser 10 for dispensing sheet product (abstract), the dispenser comprising: a housing (parts 11 and 13) configured to accommodate at least one source of sheet product (col. 2, 40-66), wherein the housing defines an outlet through which a leading end of the sheet product is dispensed (discharge opening 85, col. 4, 30-40); a knife drum 17 that is rotatable with respect to the housing (col 4, 30-40);a knife 95 that is movable between a retracted position within the knife drum (fig 10) and an extended position with at least a portion of the knife protruding outside of the knife drum (fig 13), wherein the knife is operable to cut the sheet product (col 7, 35-40); a cam track (167); a cam follower (165) operable to travel along the cam track to transition the knife between the retracted position and the extended position during a rotation cycle of the knife drum (col 3, 40-50); and a spring assembly (parts 19 and 21) attached to the knife drum and comprising one or more springs (19 and 21), wherein the one or more springs are configured to charge and discharge during the rotation cycle of the knife drum as the cam follower travels along the cam track (col 4, 40-45, load and unload).
Kannanen lacks: where the/said spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that a pull force required during charging of the one or more springs varies less than or equal to approximately 0.2 lbf over a range of approximately 30 degrees to 50 degrees of the rotation cycle of the knife drum, wherein the rotation cycle of the knife drum is 360 degrees.
Kannanen discloses that in the arrangement therein that it is beneficial to design the springs such that the pull force is consistent throughout a full range of the pulling (col 54, 40-50) and thus discloses that the variance in the pull force is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kannanen by making the pull force required during charging of the one or more springs varies less than or equal to approximately 0.2 lbf over a range of approximately 30 degrees to 50 degrees of the rotation cycle of the knife drum, wherein the rotation cycle of the knife drum is 360 degrees, since such a modification would be obvious since Boone teaches that in a web dispensing assembly the resulting pull force from a spring assembly is a result effective variable based on a user requirement, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 19, in Kannanen the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that any pull force from the user is only required for approximately 200 degrees or less of the rotation cycle of the knife drum (since the pulling which loads the spring is only required until a centered position of the driver, which corresponds to about halfway of the movement of the follower along the substantially circular cam track).
Regarding Claim 20, in Kannanen the one or more springs comprises at least a first spring 19 and a second spring 20, wherein the first spring is independently chargeable and dischargeable from the second spring, wherein a first change in energy for the first spring is different over the rotation cycle of the knife drum than a second change in energy for the second spring (Since the springs are activated at different starting points and positions along different paths and directions the energy change in one spring will be necessarily higher or lower than the change in the other spring at at least some instances during a rotation of the drum).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: First, the cited art represent the closest art of record. Neither Kannanen nor Boone, nor any of the other cited references include “the spring assembly and the cam track are designed such that the pull force required during charging of the one or more springs varies less than or equal to approximately 0.2 lbf over a” particular range, as required by Claims 4 and 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 5-12-26, with respect to the prior art rejection(s) of the claims, as the claims are amended, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kannanen.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 3411769 and 20050223860, disclose state of the art sheet dispensers with spring assemblies. Thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724