DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida et al. (JP-H06177535-A).
Regarding claim 1
Tsuchida discloses a metal surface treatment agent, and teaches a composition comprising gamma-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxy silane (i.e., first silane compound having methoxy groups and a glycidyl group), an imidazole silane (i.e., second silane compound)(para 0041).
Tsuchida discloses that the imidazole compound is made by reacting imidazole with 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane (i.e., silane with methoxy groups and a diazole group)(para 0020).
Tsucbhida discloses that the surface treatment agent may be dilute with water or alcohols (para 0019), making it obvious to use a mixture of these solvents because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Regarding claim 2
The contact angle is a property of the composition, and as the reference discloses or makes obvious the other limitations of the claim it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 3
Tsuchida discloses that the surface treatment agent is preferably diluted to 0.01 to 6 wt % (para 0019). As the amounts of the reference overlap the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 4
Tsuchida makes obvious the use of a mixture of water and alcohol, but does not teach a ratio of water to alcohol. However, without more the most obvious ratio to use would be a 50/50 mixture, making the claimed range obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the 112 rejections.
Applicants amendments to the claims overcome these rejections and they have been withdrawn.
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections over Yamabe.
Applicants amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome this rejection and it has been withdrawn. However, a new prior art rejection has been made in its place, making these arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734