DETAILED ACTION
The following Final Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 8/28/2025.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-18 are hereby examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 20 recites “width of the cloth of the cloth of the shade”. Examiner presumes this should read – width of the cloth of the shade -- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 appears to recite that the shade includes both a liner and pull strings configured to engage with a clipping component. However, claim 6 appears to claim the liner and the pull strings as alternate lifting mechanisms. It is unclear what is exactly required for claim 7. Examiner presumes that either the liner or the strings are claimed in 6 and 7 and not both as there is not an embodiment showing both a liner and strings with clipping components.
Claim 11 recites “the shade of claim 1” but introduces limitations from claims 9 and 10. It is unclear if claim 11 should depend from claim 1, or if it was intended to depend from claim 10. Examiner presumes claim 10 was intended.
Claim 15 appears to recite that the shade includes both a liner and pull strings configured to engage with a clipping component. However, claim 14 appears to claim the liner and the pull strings as alternate lifting mechanisms. It is unclear what is exactly required for claim 157. Examiner presumes that either the liner or the strings are claimed in 14 and 15 and not both as there is not an embodiment showing both a liner and strings with clipping components.
Claim 16 appears to claim an embodiment with a plurality of ribbons and clipping components and a retractable liner. While Figure 3 shows an embodiments with ribbons and clipping components, and Figure 5 shows an embodiment with a retractable liner, it is unclear where it is shown with an embodiment having all of these features together.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment of claim 16 having ribbons, clipping components and a retractable liner must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claims 1-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nien EP1647665, Teuscher US 10,731,410 and Kirby et al US 2010/0294438.
In regard to claim 1, with reference to Figures 5-6, Nien ‘665 discloses a shade having a shade front side and a shade back side, the shade comprising:
A cloth (30, Fig. 5) configured to cover a window opening, wherein the cloth includes a front cloth side and a back cloth side;
a plurality of transforming members (22, Fig. 6) each (1) having a first dimension that is less than or equal to a width of the cloth (30), and (2) having a first transforming side and a second transforming side, wherein the first transforming side of each the plurality of transforming member is coupled to the back cloth side of the cloth (as shown in Fig. 6);
the second transforming side of each of at least two selected adjacent transforming members (22), of the plurality of transforming members, are configured to be coupled to each other to modify an overall height of the shade.
Nien ‘665 fails to disclose the transforming members extending across a majority of an overall width of the shade, wherein when excess cloth material of the cloth extends past the first dimension of the plurality of transforming members, the excess material is configured to be coupled on the shade back side at a plurality of different locations on the shade back side to modify an overall width of the shade. Nien ‘665 further fails to disclose a plurality of attachment rods attached at particular vertical positions on the backside of the cloth, wherein each of the plurality of attachment rods extends across a majority of a back cloth side width of the cloth of the shade, each of the plurality of attachment rods configured to attached to different vertical locations on the shade back side to transform the shade from a first type of shade to a second type of shade when the shade is covering an entirety of the window opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Nien ‘665 to make the transforming members (22) extend across a majority of an overall width of the shade, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, changes in size or shape without special functional significance are not patentable. Research Corp.v. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358; 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974). Making the transforming members be longer would provide a greater holding force an resist coming apart easily.
Teuscher ‘410 discloses wherein when excess cloth material of the cloth extends past the first dimension of the plurality of strips, the excess material is configured to be coupled on the shade back side at a plurality of different locations on the shade back side to modify an overall width of the shade. (claim 1 of Teuscher ‘410)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Nien ‘665 to fold excess material extending past the transforming members as taught by Teuscher ‘410 for the purpose of allowing a user to alter the overall width of the device to meet a user’s needs. (column 4, lines 26-36)
Kirby ‘438 discloses a plurality of attachment rods (124, Fig. 5) attached at particular vertical positions on the backside of the cloth (119, Fig. 5), wherein each of the plurality of attachment rods (124) extends across a majority of a back cloth side width of the cloth of the cloth of the shade, each of the plurality of attachment rods configured to attached to different vertical locations on the shade back side to transform the shade from a first type of shade to a second type of shade when the shade is covering an entirety of the window opening. (the rods of Kirby ‘438 allow the shade to transform from a flat shade as shown in Fig. 4 to a hobbled shade as shown in Fig. 6)
.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Nien ‘665 to include the plurality of attachment rods as taught by Kirby ‘438 to provide a means to interact with a lift bad to move the shade up and down.
In regard to claim 2, Nien ‘665 disclose wherein the first type of shade is a flat front Roman shade (when fully extended and no 22 are connected) and the second type of shade is a hobbled shade (Figure 6, when 22 are connected).
In regard to claims 3-4, Nien ‘665 discloses a securing mechanism (hook and loop structure) on the back side of the second transforming side of the at least two adjacent transforming members (22), wherein the securing mechanism of the at least two adjacent transforming members mate to couple together the at least two adjacent transforming members.
In regard to claim 5, Nien ‘665 discloses a head rail unit (shown below) configured to be coupled to a top end of the cloth.
As best understood, in regard to claims 6-8, Nien ‘665 as modified by Kirby ‘438 disclose wherein the head rail unit houses a raising mechanism that includes a retractable liner (120, Kirby Fig. 5) positioned between the cloth (30, Nien) and each of the plurality of attachment rods (124, Kirby Fig. 5) ; wherein when the shade is raised, the liner (120) retracts and engages with the plurality of attachment rods (124).
In regard to claim 17, Nien ‘665 as modified by Kirby ‘438 disclose that the shade remains as a second type of shade when the shade is in both a lowered configuration and a raised configuration (as taught to be lowered and raised by Kirby ‘665).
In regard to claim 18, Nien ‘665 as modified by Kirby ‘438 disclose that the plurality of transforming members (22, Nien ‘665) are different than the plurality of attachment rods (124, Kirby)
As best understood, claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkowitz US 8381792 in view of Nien EP1647665 and Teuscher US 10,731,410.
In regard to claim 9, with reference to Figures 10-11, Perkowitz ‘792 disclose a shade having a shade front side and a shade back side, the shade comprising:
A cloth (18, column 4, lines 40-53) configured to cover a window opening, wherein the cloth includes a front cloth side and a back cloth side; one or more ribbons (32A-C) traveling a length of the shade; a plurality of clipping components (84A-I) each configured to couple to the back cloth side and the one or more ribbons, wherein each of the plurality of clipping components is coupled to the back cloth side at one or more ribbons at a same vertical position (Figure 10); wherein each of the plurality of clipping components (84A-I) is configured to stay at the same vertical position on the cloth (18) and move to a plurality of different positions different from the same vertical position on the one or more ribbons to transform the shade from a first shade type to a second shade type (Clipping components 84A-I are tied to ribbons 32A-C with strand 92, thus they are configured to be untied and retied elsewhere) .
Perkowitz ‘792 fails to disclose a plurality of transforming members each (1) having a first dimension that is less than or equal to a width of the cloth and extending across a majority of an overall width of the shade, and (2) having a first transforming side and a second transforming side, wherein the first transforming side of each the plurality of transforming member is coupled to the front cloth side of the cloth or the back cloth side of the cloth; the second transforming side of at least two adjacent transforming members, of the plurality of transforming members, configured to be coupled together to modify an overall height of the shade; wherein when excess cloth material of the cloth that extends past the first dimension of the plurality of transforming members is coupled at a plurality of different locations on the back of the shade to modify an overall width of the shade.
Nien ‘665 discloses a plurality of transforming members (22, Fig. 6) each (1) having a first dimension that is less than or equal to a width of the cloth (30), and (2) having a first transforming side and a second transforming side, wherein the first transforming side of each the plurality of transforming member is coupled to the back cloth side of the cloth (as shown in Fig. 6); the second transforming side of each of at least two selected adjacent transforming members (22), of the plurality of transforming members, are configured to be coupled to each other to modify an overall height of the shade.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Perkowitz ‘792 to include the transforming members as taught by Nien ‘665 in order to provide a Roman blind type effect. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the transforming members (22) to extend across a majority of an overall width of the shade, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, changes in size or shape without special functional significance are not patentable. Research Corp.v. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358; 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974). Making the transforming members be longer would provide a greater holding force an resist coming apart easily.
Teuscher ‘410 discloses wherein when excess cloth material of the cloth extends past the first dimension of the plurality of strips, the excess material is configured to be coupled on the shade back side at a plurality of different locations on the shade back side to modify an overall width of the shade. (claim 1 of Teuscher ‘410)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Nien ‘665 to fold excess material extending past the transforming members as taught by Teuscher ‘410 for the purpose of allowing a user to alter the overall width of the device to meet a user’s needs. (column 4, lines 26-36)
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkowitz US 8381792 in view of Nien EP1647665 and Teuscher US 10,731,410 as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Linder et al FR2582495.
In regard to claim 10, Perkowitz ‘792 as modified by Nien ‘665 discloses wherein the first type of shade is a flat front Roman shade. (Fig 10, Perkowitz).Perkowitz ‘792 fails to explicitly disclose that he second type of shade is a hobbled shade. Linder et al ‘495 disclose wherein the first type of shade is a flat front Roman shade (Figure 1) and the second type of shade is a hobbled shade (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Perkowitz ‘792 to make the second type of shade be a hobbled shade since such is a known configuration and style in the art. Such would be obvious based on a user’s desired look.
In regard to claims 11-12, Nien ‘665 discloses a securing mechanism (hook and loop structure) on the second transforming side of the at least two adjacent transforming members (22), wherein the securing mechanism of the at least two adjacent transforming members mate to couple together the at least two adjacent transforming members.
As best understood, claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkowitz US 8381792, Nien EP1647665 and Teuscher US 10,731,410 as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Wang US 2010/0212839.
In regard to claim 13, Perkowitz ‘792 fails to disclose a head rail unit configured to be coupled to a top end of the cloth. With reference to Figure 3, Wang ‘839 discloses a head rail unit (12) configured to be coupled to a top end of the cloth.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Linder et al ‘495 to include a headrail as taught by Wang ‘839 in order to affix the shade to and house lift cords and associated structure.
In regard to claims 14-15, Perkowitz ‘792/Nien ‘665/ Teuscher ‘410 as modified by Wang ‘829 disclose wherein the head rail unit (12, Wang ‘829) houses a raising mechanism that includes one or more pull strings (6, Wang ‘829), the shade travels an overall length of the shade and each of the one or more pull strings (6, Wang ‘829) is configured to engage with at least one corresponding clipping component ((84A-I) Perkowitz ) of the plurality of clipping components when the pull string retracts during a raising of the shade.
As best understood, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkowitz US 8381792, Nien EP1647665 and Teuscher US 10,731,410 as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Kirby et al US 2010/0294438.
In regard to claim 16, Perkowitz ‘792/Nien ‘665/ Teuscher ‘410 fail to disclose a plurality of attachment rods attached at second different vertical positions on the back side of the cloth; a sheath positioned between the cloth and each of the plurality of attachment rods, wherein when the shade is raised, the sheath retracts and engages with the plurality of attachment rods.
With reference to Figure 5, Kirby et al ‘438 disclose a plurality of attachment rods (124) attached at second different vertical positions on the back side of the cloth, a sheath (128) positioned between the cloth and each of the plurality of attachment rods (124), wherein when the shade is raised, the sheath retracts and engages with the plurality of attachment rods.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Perkowitz ‘792/Nien ‘665/ Teuscher ‘410 to include a plurality of attachment rods and sheath as taught by Kirby et al ‘438 in order to provide an alternate mechanism to raise and lower the shade to different heights.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2025 have been fully considered but they moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues for claims 1 and 9 that the prior art fails to a plurality of transforming members extending across a majority of an overall width of the shade. As shown in the rejection above it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the transforming members of Nien to extends across a majority of the width of the shade for the purpose of having a stronger connection. In response to applicant’s argument that prior art does not teach folding excess material, this is taught by newly applied reference Teuscher ‘410.
In response to applicant’s argument that Linder, Nien or Okoturo does not teach a plurality of attachment rods, this is taught by the Kirby ‘438 reference as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634