DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that “Claim 1 requires: (1) a slider … (2) that moves laterally between a sealed closed position and a brew open position”
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the claim does not require the slider to move laterally between a sealed closed position and a brew open position.
Applicant argues that “Harrod discloses a drip filter coffee machine in which the drip stop valve is controlled … not linearly or laterally ”
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the claim does not require the slider to move laterally between a sealed closed position and a brew open position.
Harrod discloses a drip filter coffee machine in which the drip stop valve is controlled by a spring related sliding function caused by the act of mounting the brew basket on the frame.
Examiner does not dispute that the structure illustrated in the present Applicant is different from the drawings of Harrod, however, it is claim itself that is considered for examination.
The remainder of the arguments hinge on applicant’s unclaimed limitation of a slider that moves laterally between a sealed closed position and a brew open position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrod (US 20200121113 A1)
In reference to claim 1, Harrod discloses a coffee maker comprising:
a frame; (“coffee machine having a base, a body extending upwardly from the base, a platform having an upward facing surface and a coupling portion, the platform being supported by and extending outwardly from the body” [Claim 1])
a brew basket slidably mounted to the frame, the brew basket including a beverage outlet; and (“a filter basket” [Claim 1]. See Figures 1 and 4-6 and “technology provides, in drip filter coffee machines having a filter basket receiving platform, and an upright rim that cooperates with the underside of the filter basket. In some embodiments, the filter basket, and a part of the platform interlock” [P0013])
a drip stop mechanism operatively associated with the brew basket, the drip stop mechanism includes a slider slidably mounted to an underside of the brew basket, wherein the slider is adapted to move from a sealed, closed position where the beverage outlet is closed by the slider toward a brew, open position where the beverage outlet is open as the brew basket is being mounted on the frame, and the slider is adapted to move from the open position toward the closed position as the brew basket is removed from the frame (“a filter basket with a drip stop valve can also be inserted so as to cooperate with the carafe” [P0039]. Figure 4-6 shows the filter basket operatively slides over actuator 510 to actuate open brew valves only if the filter basket is present.)
In reference to claim 11 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See figures 4-6 which shows a seal as claimed. Also see “prior art is known to contain carafes with insulated lids and small inlet openings that cooperate with a drip stop valve that regulates the output of a filter basket” (P0003)
In reference to claim 12 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See element 101, 108, and 110 in Fig 1.
In reference to claim 13 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
“Conventionally, the drip stop valve is biased into a closed position and must be actuated in order to permit flow out of the filter basket” (P0007) and “wherein the valve is spring biased to a closed position preventing liquid coffee from exiting the filter basket” (Claim 9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner has utilized USPTO approved search resources, such as EIC or external tools, beyond routine search tools and/or leveraged experts in the field. Examiner has cited and explained the relevance of prior art not used in rejections but pertinent to the claims or disclosure. Examiner has provided detailed search documentation through detailed Search Notes, such as annotated search results that identify which data sets were reviewed. When citing the prior art examiner has used annotations clearly in prior art rejections such as, using item-to-item matching to the prior art, pairing exact claim language to particular language used in the prior art, and/or clearly explaining examiner’s interpretation as to how a citation maps to claim language especially when there is not a one-to-one matching of terms.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744