DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the winding mechanism and splitting mechanism must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 132.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The parts objected to in the drawings above (see drawing objection above) fail to include reference characters in the written description as well. Each part in the drawings/specification, especially the modules, should include a reference character/number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: winding mechanism in claims 7, 8 and 17, and splitting mechanism in claims 8 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the splitting mechanism.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 8 previously recites “a roll-sock splitting device”. Examiner interprets “a roll-sock splitting device” as “a splitting mechanism”.
Claim limitations “winding mechanism” and “splitting mechanism” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Neither the specification of the drawings provide any clearly linked structures to the functions of winding and splitting performed by the winding mechanism and splitting mechanism, respectively. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully (US 20190247210) in view of Gunderson (US 20120101562).
Regarding claim 1, Cully discloses a coated medical balloon assembly comprising: a balloon catheter (Figs. 1A-B: elongate member 160 being a balloon catheter; paras. [0096] and [0034]) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 1A: distal end at “160” label and proximal end at “135” label), and a medical balloon mounted to the balloon catheter at or proximate the catheter distal end (Figs. 1A-B: medical device 150 being a balloon; para. [0034]); a bioactive material coating on at least the medical balloon (para. [0034], the medical device balloon 150 being drug-coated); a roll-sock sheath disposed over the medical balloon and at least a part of the balloon catheter (Fig. 1A: roll-sock sheath 100 over 150 and over proximal portion of 160), the roll-sock sheath comprising a first, inner, roll-sock layer disposed adjacent the medical balloon (Fig. 1A: 104; para. [0042], sentences 1-2) and a second, outer, roll-sock layer disposed over the first roll-sock layer (Fig. 1A: 105; para. [0042], sentences 1-2), the roll-sock sheath including first and second roll-sock sheath ends (Fig. 1A: first end 107, second end 108 + 180; para. [0044], sentence 1) and a fold line (Fig. 1A: fold 106; para. [0044], sentence 2), the first and second roll-sock sheath ends being disposed at a proximal location relative to the fold line (Fig. 1A: 107 and 108 both proximal to fold 106), the fold line being disposed adjacent the distal end of the balloon catheter (Fig. 1A: 106 at distal end of 150), the first roll-sock sheath end being an end of the first roll-sock layer and the second roll-sock sheath end being an end of the second roll-sock layer (Figs. 1A-B: end of outer layer 105 being at 108 and the end of inner layer 104 being at 107); a roll-sock sheath retraction mechanism coupled to the second roll-sock end and configured to retract the second roll-sock layer towards the proximal end of the catheter (Figs. 1A and 1D: 180; para. [0061]), whereby the first roll-sock layer progressively wraps over itself outwardly to the second roll-sock layer, thereby rolling back the roll-sock sheath and exposing the coated medical balloon for deployment (Fig. 1C; Figs. 1A-B). However, Cully does not explicitly disclose that the outer surface of the second roll-sock layer and assembly is coated in a hydrophilic or lubricous layer.
Gunderson teaches an analogous expanding medical device with a roll-sock sheath (Figs. 1-2: device assembly 10), which comprises a coating of hydrophilic or lubricous material on an outer surface of the second roll-sock layer (Fig. 1: outer sheath layer 14) and forming an outer layer of the coated medical balloon assembly (para. [0054], the lubricious/hydrophilic coating covering assembly 10 when inserted, including outer layer 14). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Cully medical assembly by incorporating the outer coating of the lubricous/hydrophilic layer taught by Gunderson in order to more easily slide the device into the patient’s vasculature (Gunderson: para. [0054], sentences 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, comprising a dilator tip at the distal end of the balloon catheter (Cully: Figs. 1A-B: expended dilator tip at distal end of 160), the roll-sock sheath fold line being disposed adjacent the dilator tip when the roll-sock sheath is in a balloon overlying configuration (Cully: Fig. 1A: 106 at end of dilator tip), the coating of hydrophilic or lubricous material being disposed over the second roll-sock layer and the dilator tip (Gunderson: para. [0054], the lubricious/hydrophilic coating covering assembly 10 when inserted, including dilator tip 22).
Regarding claim 3, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, wherein the first roll-sock layer of the roll-sock sheath contacts the medical balloon when the roll-sock sheath is in a balloon overlying configuration (Cully: Fig. 1A: 104 in contact with 150).
Regarding claim 4, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, wherein the first end of the roll sock sheath is disposed at or adjacent a proximal end of the coated balloon (Cully: Figs. 1A-B: 107 at proximal end of 150).
Regarding claim 5, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, wherein the first end of the roll sock sheath is attached to the catheter at or adjacent the proximal end of the coated balloon (Cully: Figs. 1A-B: 107 attached to 160 at the proximal end of 150).
Regarding claim 6, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, wherein the second end of the roll sock sheath is disposed at one of: (1) a location at or adjacent a proximal end of the catheter; and (2) an intermediate location of the catheter between its proximal and distal ends (Cully: Figs. 1A-B: 108 adjacent and proximal to 150).
Regarding claim 7, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, comprising a roll-sock sheath winding mechanism operable to wind the second end of the roll-sock sheath during retraction thereof (Cully: Fig. 1D: winding mechanism 185; para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 7, as described above, comprising a roll-sock splitting device configured to split the second end of the roll-sock sheath longitudinally prior to winding on the winding mechanism (Cully: Fig. 1D: splitter 181 which splits the end portion of 180 of the second end 108 of the roll-sock sheath; para. [0063]), wherein the splitting mechanism splits the roll-sock sheath only at or adjacent the proximal end of the balloon catheter (Cully: Fig. 1D: splitting at 181 at the proximal end of 160).
Regarding claim 9, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 1, as described above, comprising a low friction material disposed between the first and second layers of the roll-sock sheath (Cully: Fig. 1B: material 120; para. [0041], sentences 3-5).
Regarding claim 10, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 9, as described above, wherein the low friction material comprises one or more of: a material forming the roll-sock sheath, a layer of low friction compound between the first and second roll-sock layers of the roll-sock sheath, a liquid or gas disposed between the first and second roll-sock layers of the roll-sock sheath (Cully: para. [0041], sentences 3-5, 120 being a fluid between 104 and 105).
Regarding claim 11, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 10, as described above, wherein the layer of low friction compound is a layer of hydrophilic material (Gunderson: para. [0054], sentences 1 and 5). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the low friction compound taught by Cully (120, which is not explicitly disclosed to be hydrophilic), by also incorporating the hydrophilic lubricious coating taught by Gunderson, such that the low friction compound taught by Cully in the Cully-Gunderson combination is also hydrophilic, in order to utilize the lubricating qualities of a hydrophilic polymer (Gunderson: para. [0054], sentence 5).
Regarding claim 12, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches an assembly according to claim 10, as described above, wherein the liquid or gas is disposed between the first and second roll-sock layers at the time of retraction of the roll-sock sheath, the apparatus comprising a device for locating such liquid or gas between the first and second roll-sock layers of roll-sock sheath at the time of retraction (Cully: para. [0041], the disposal of 120 causes the eversion, disposed at the time of retracting).
Regarding claim 13, Cully discloses a method of deploying a coated medical balloon in a patient comprising: providing a balloon catheter (Figs. 1A-B: elongate member 160 being a balloon catheter; paras. [0096] and [0034]) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 1A: distal end at “160” label and proximal end at “135” label), and a medical balloon mounted to the balloon catheter at or proximate the catheter distal end (Figs. 1A-B: medical device 150 being a balloon; para. [0034]); a bioactive material coating on at least the medical balloon (para. [0034], the medical device balloon 150 being drug-coated); a roll-sock sheath disposed over the medical balloon and at least a part of the balloon catheter (Fig. 1A: roll-sock sheath 100 over 150 and over proximal portion of 160), the roll-sock sheath comprising a first, inner, roll-sock layer disposed adjacent the medical balloon (Fig. 1A: 104; para. [0042], sentences 1-2) and a second, outer, roll-sock layer disposed over the first roll-sock layer (Fig. 1A: 105; para. [0042], sentences 1-2), the roll-sock sheath including first and second roll-sock sheath ends (Fig. 1A: first end 107, second end 108; para. [0044], sentence 1) and a fold line (Fig. 1A: fold 106; para. [0044], sentence 2), the first and second roll-sock sheath ends being disposed at a proximal location relative to the fold line (Fig. 1A: 107 and 108 both proximal to fold 106), the fold line being disposed adjacent the distal end of the balloon catheter (Fig. 1A: 106 at distal end of 150), the first roll-sock sheath end being an end of the first roll-sock layer and the second roll-sock sheath end being an end of the second roll-sock layer (Figs. 1A-B: end of outer layer 105 being at 108 and the end of inner layer 104 being at 107); retracting the second roll-sock layer, whereby the first roll-sock layer progressively wraps over itself outwardly to the second roll-sock layer to roll back the roll-sock sheath and expose the medical balloon for deployment (Fig. 1C; Figs. 1A-B; para. [0041]). However, the method of Cully does not explicitly disclose that the outer surface of the second roll-sock layer and assembly is coated in a hydrophilic or lubricous layer.
Gunderson teaches an analogous method for deploying an expanding medical device with a roll-sock sheath (Figs. 1-2: device assembly 10), which comprises a coating of hydrophilic or lubricous material on an outer surface of the second roll-sock layer and forming an outer layer of the coated medical balloon assembly (para. [0054], the lubricious/hydrophilic coating covering assembly 10 when inserted, including outer layer 14); feeding the assembly endoluminally through the vasculature of a patient, whereby the hydrophilic or lubricous coating eases the passage of the assembly through the vasculature (para. [0054], sentences 2-3); and whereby the hydrophilic or lubricous layer overlying the second roll-sock layer is retracted with the second roll-sock layer and such that contact between the hydrophilic or lubricous layer on the roll-sock sheath and the bioactive material layer on the balloon is avoided or minimized (para. [0054], the lubricious/hydrophilic coating covering assembly 10 when inserted, being outer layer 14 and not the inner layer). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Cully medical assembly and method by incorporating the outer coating of the lubricous/hydrophilic layer taught by Gunderson in order to more easily slide the device into the patient’s vasculature (Gunderson: para. [0054], sentences 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 13, as described above, wherein a dilator tip disposed at the distal end of the balloon (Cully: Figs. 1A-B: expended dilator tip at distal end of 160) is coated with the hydrophilic or lubricous material disposed over the second roll-sock layer, and wherein the step of feeding the assembly endoluminally through the vasculature of a patient is eased by the hydrophilic or lubricous coating over the roll-sock sheath and the dilator tip (Gunderson: para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 13, as described above, wherein the first roll-sock layer of the roll-sock sheath contacts the medical balloon when the roll-sock sheath is in a balloon overlying configuration (Cully: Fig. 1A: 104 in contact with 150).
Regarding claim 16, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 13, as described above, comprising winding the second end of the roll- sock sheath during retraction thereof (Cully: Fig. 1D: winding mechanism 185; para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 16, as described above, comprising splitting the second end of the roll- sock sheath longitudinally prior to winding on the winding mechanism (Cully: Fig. 1D: splitter 181 which splits the end portion of 180 of the second end 108 of the roll-sock sheath; para. [0063]), wherein the splitting mechanism splits the roll-sock sheath only at or adjacent the proximal end of the balloon catheter (Cully: Fig. 1D: splitting at 181 at the proximal end of 160).
Regarding claim 18, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 13, as described above, comprising disposing a low friction material between the first and second roll-sock layers of the roll-sock sheath (Cully: Fig. 1B: material 120; para. [0041], sentences 3-5).
Regarding claim 19, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 18, as described above, the low friction material comprises one or more of: a material forming the roll-sock sheath, a layer of low friction compound between the first and second roll-sock layers of the roll-sock sheath, a liquid or gas disposed between the first and second roll-sock layers of the roll-sock sheath (Cully: para. [0041], sentences 3-5, 120 being a fluid between 104 and 105).
Regarding claim 20, Cully in view of Gunderson teaches a method according to claim 19, as described above, comprising the step of disposing the liquid or gas between the first and second roll-sock layers at the time of retraction of the roll- sock sheath (Cully: para. [0041], the disposal of 120 causes the eversion, disposed at the time of retracting).
Conclusion
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783