DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s statement that the subject matter included into claim 1 is shown in figures 6 and 7. Applicant elected species 2 (four shafts with friction plates in figures 1, 3, 12-14) on 5/14/2025 without traverse. Examiner notes that figure 6 seems to be generic to species 1 and 2 (applicant elected species 2) and figure 7 seems to be generic to all three species. Applicant’s arguments 1/23/2026 are persuasive to examiner to consider claims 1, 2, 16-20 presented on 1/23/2026.
Amendments to the drawings, specification, and claims, made on 9/8/2025 were not entered, and are not considered to be entered.
Drawing amendment of 1/23/2026 only adds labels to existing parts in figure 12, and serve to increase clarity. Drawing amendments of 1/23/2026 are entered.
Regarding 112a rejection of claims 17-18, applicant does not remove the unsupported locations of the friction plates. 112a rejection of claims 17-18 are maintained. Applicant does not support or indicate drawings that show all three locations of the friction plates. The location of friction plates in figures 1 and 12 are identical, figures 1 and 12, which are only between two adjacent flip parts. The friction plates 401 do not interact with the supporting base 100 at all. Similarly, applicant does not resolve the 112b rejection of the same issue.
Regarding the prior art Kim and Hsu, applicant’s arguments are presented on 9/8/2025 remarks, pages marked 10-13. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/8/2025. These drawings are not entered.
The drawings were received on 1/23/2026. These drawings are entered.
The drawings of 1/23/2026 are objected to because:
Figures 2, 6, and 11, applicant shows two drawings per figure, which need to be annotated by figures a and b, please see MPEP 608.02v.
“groove c1” is not shown.
If applicant intends pin 202 is within slot C2, this is not indicated in figure 2 in the upper or lower figure.
It seems as if the “fourth connecting portion” is shown in figure 12, but is not labeled.
The friction plates 401 are shown in only one position, only in figure 12, and none of the locations claimed in claim 17 are that which is shown in figure 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, applicant claims the friction plate(s) are located “between first rotating member and the supporting base”, “between the rotating assembly and the supporting base”, or “between two adjacent flip parts”. Examiner notes that the location of friction plates 401 are shown ONLY in the position of figure 12, which is not between any of the flip parts or any portion of the flip parts. The friction plates 401 are shown only exterior of the supporting base 10 and mounted on transmission shafts. Applicant does not show or have support for the friction plates in any other location than that shown in figure 12.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, applicant claims the friction plate(s) are located “between first rotating member and the supporting base”, “between the rotating assembly and the supporting base”, or “between two adjacent flip parts”. Examiner notes that the location of friction plates 401 are shown ONLY in the position of figure 12, which is not between any of the flip parts or any portion of the flip parts. The friction plates 401 are shown only exterior of the supporting base 10 and mounted on transmission shafts. Examiner assumes that applicant’s friction plates are claimed to be exterior of the base body, as disclosed.
Dependent claims inherit the same issues from parent claims and do not resolve any indefinite issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 11408214 Hsu, in view of 2021/0355988 Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a hinge, comprising:
a supporting base (base body 10) extending in a first direction (along axis c in figure 2); and at least two flip parts 2 (detailed in figure 5, annotated below), each flip part 2 being rotatably connected to the supporting base 10 (flat or as in figure 8), wherein the at least two flip parts 2 are configured to be distributed on two opposite sides of the supporting base in a second direction in case that the hinge is in an unfolded state (flat as shown in figure 1), and the second direction intersects with the first direction (directions are perpendicular),
wherein each of the at least two flip parts 2 comprises a first rotating member 21, and a first connecting portion 213 connected to a first end of the first rotating member 21; and the supporting base 10 has a first arc-shaped sliding groove 12, and a part of the first connecting portion 213 is located in the first arc-shaped sliding groove 12 (as shown in figure
8);
each of the at least two flip parts 2 further comprises a rotating assembly 22 (both parts 22, detailed in figure 5), a first end of the rotating assembly 22 is rotatably connected to the supporting base (using curved section 221), and a second end of the rotating assembly 22 is slidably connected to a second end of the first rotating member 21 (using sliding groove 212b, figure 5),
the first end of the rotating assembly (both parts 22) has a second rotating member 221 (on opposite side of rotating member 21);
the supporting base 10 further comprises a sliding portion 13 (figure 4), and the second rotating member 221 (on opposite side of rotating member 21) is rotatably connected to the sliding portion 13 (figures 9 and 10).
The sliding portion 13 on the base 10 of Hsu is a groove; the second rotating member 221 is a protrusion that goes within the groove/sliding portion 13 in figures 9 and 10 in Hsu.
Applicant claims the use of two parts on the second rotating member that forms a groove, while the sliding portion on the body is a protrusion, and that these two parts engage each other. Hsu discloses the reverse.
Cheng discloses a similar electronics hinge having a flexible screen 30 over the hinge (figure 2), the hinge including a rotating assembly 2571 with a first connecting portion 255 and a second connecting portion 2552 creating a groove in the rotating assembly 2571 (figure 5) and the supporting base 251 having an arc shaped protrusion 2518 that is within the groove of the rotating assembly 2571.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the protrusion of the arc shaped protrusion in an arch shaped groove as taught by Hsu, on the support base instead of the rotating member, as taught by similar hinges such as Cheng. Examiner contends It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to place the arc shaped protrusion on the supporting base of Hsu and have the arc shaped groove on the rotating member, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (a). Examiner contends that these are known equivalents and are used for the same purpose within the ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144 (I): “rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art…it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art”. Examiner which part has the arc shaped protrusion and which part has the arc shaped groove does not affect the form, function, or use, of the hinge of Hsu, since Hsu requires the arc shaped protrusion and groove in the identical location between identical parts as claimed. This modification is similar to reversing which side of a shirt has buttons, and which side of the shirt has holes.
Regarding claim 20, Hsu as modified discloses the hinge of claim 1 used in a foldable display device (Figure 1) comprising a flexible display panel S, at least two housings (figure 1) and a hinge, wherein the at least two housings are connected to each other through the hinge, the flexible display panel is arranged on and covers the at least two housings.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu as modified discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the supporting base 10 further comprises a first hollowed-out groove (between extensions 1 in figure 2), and the first arc-shaped sliding groove 12 is in communication with the first hollowed-out groove (as shown in figure 2); and wherein the first end (with first connecting portion 213 is) of the first rotating member 21 is located in the first hollowed-out groove (as shown in figure 2), and is rotatably connected to the supporting base 10 through the first connecting portion 213 (as shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the flip part 2 (detailed in figure 5) further comprises another connecting portion 321 connected to the second end of the first rotating member 21 (using slots 223), and an axial direction of the another connecting portion 321 is parallel to the first direction (parallel to axis C); and the second end of the rotating assembly 22 has a sliding groove 223, and an end of the another connecting portion 321 facing away from the first rotating member 21 is located in the sliding groove 223 and slidably connected to the rotating assembly 22.
Regarding claim 17, please see 112a, 112b rejections above. Hsu as modified discloses the hinge of claim 3, further comprising a torsion part (detailed in figures 11 and 12) connected to the flip part 2 (by fourth connection portion 321), the torsion part comprising one or more friction plates 35; wherein the one or more friction plates are arranged side by side in the first direction (as shown in figures 11-12) exterior of the base body, as disclosed by applicant’s figure 12.
Regarding claim 18, Hsu discloses the hinge of claim 17, wherein the torsion part (figures 11-12) further comprises a transmission shaft 31 connected to the flip part 2 (by way of arm 32 and fourth connecting portion 321), and the one or more friction plates 35 are fitted over the transmission shaft 31 in the first direction.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 2023/0217615 Kim.
Regarding claim 19, Hsu as modified discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the supporting base comprises a base body, but does not include a protective shell.
Kim discloses a similar hinge with folding parts for a device having a foldable flexible screen, having a base body and a protective shell, as described in claim 19 above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add a protective shell like that of Kim to the known hinge of Hsu for “an external cover” [0080] of the similar hinge Hsu. Doing so provides an extra layer of protection of the known devices, or for an aesthetic change, from the existing hinge of Hsu without changing the folding mechanism of Hsu, in a known manner, taught by Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY M MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677