DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7-9, 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 “the rotational axis” should read ---the rotational shaft--- to resolve antecedent basis issues
In claim 7 “the back-and-forth direction” should read ---a back-and-forth direction---
In claim 8 “the back-and-forth direction” should read ---a back-and-forth direction---
In claim 9 “the control unit” should read ---a control unit--- to resolve antecedent basis issues
Claim 11 should depend on claim 10 to resolve antecedent basis issues regarding the side shields
In claim 11 “the plurality of side shields” should read ---the side shields--- to resolve antecedent basis issues
Claim 13 should depend on claim 12 to resolve antecedent basis issues regarding the power transmission unit
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “rotation module” in claim 1, “position adjustment module” in claim 1, “connection module in claim 14 and “leg rotation module” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7, 8 and 9 claim a frame “installed to rotate vertically around the rotational shaft.” It is unclear what “rotate vertically” entails, the claim is instead being interpreted as ---installed to rotate around the rotational shaft---.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “concavo-convex” in claim 8 is used by the claim to mean “a bar shape formed with alternating protrusions and indentations” while the accepted meaning is “concave on one side and convex on the other.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1, 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites “massaging a user’s body” the claim should read ---configured to massage a user’s body--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 1 recites “accommodating both arms of the user” the claim should read ---configured to accommodate both arms of the user--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 7 recites “into which the user’s arm is inserted and placed” the claim should read ---configured to receive the user’s arm--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 8 recites “into which the user’s arm is inserted and placed” the claim should read ---configured to receive the user’s arm--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 9 recites “where the user’s arm is inserted and held” the claim should read ---configured to hold the user’s arm--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 14 recites “accommodating one leg of a user” the claim should recite ---configured to accommodate one leg of the user--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim 14 recites “accommodating the other leg of the user” the claim should recite ---configured to accommodate the other leg of the user--- in order to avoid claiming a human organism
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2024/0180772 A1) in view of Harlow (US 2017/0014680 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a massage device (abstract) comprising: a body massage unit including a main frame forming the skeleton of the massage device (#10 fig 1-2, par 0067), and configured to massage a user's body (par 0067); arm massage units (#20 fig 1-5) respectively arranged on both sides of the body massage unit (see fig 1), configured to accommodate both arms of the user (par 0067 discloses #20 as armrests thus disclosing accommodating the user’s arms), and configured on the body massage unit to rotate around a rotational shaft (See fig 1-2 showing rotation, #33 fig 12-13 as the rotational shaft, par 0077); a rotation module for rotating the arm massage units in at least one direction (#30 fig 2, 5 par 0068).
Lin is silent to a position adjustment module operating in conjunction with the rotation action of the arm massage units by the rotation module to allow linear movement of the arm massage units due to the self-weight of the arm massage units.
Harlow teaches a chair device with a main frame (#11 fig 1B) and arm units (#105 fig 1A-2B, 4A-4E) arranged on both sides of the main frame (see fig 1A) configured to rotate around a rotational shaft (#111 fig 4B-4E, see fig 4D/5A showing rotation, par 0044) and a position adjustment module (#105-S fig 4B-4E) to allow linear movement of the arm massage units (see fig 4C-4E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a position adjustment module as taught by Harlow onto the device of Lin as doing so allows for the arm to be further moved out of the way allowing for improved ease of access to chair from the side for those with mobility issues as intended by Lin (Lin: par 0068).
Modified Lin does not expressly disclose that the position adjustment module operates in conjunction with the rotation action of the arm massage units by the rotation module to allow linear movement of the arm massage units due to the self-weight of the arm massage units. Harlow teaches instead the incorporation of a resistance mechanism (par 0044) that allows for a user to exercise their arm muscles by moving the armrest up and down (par 0046 disclosing applying a downward force to lower and par 0047 disclosing applying an upward force to raise). As the massage device of Lin is not intended to be used to exercise a user’s muscles it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the resistance mechanism of Harlow/modified Lin to allow for the arm unit to fall/move linearly downward due to the weight of the arm unit itself. This allows for Lin to maintain the benefit of allowing a person with mobility issues to utilize the chair as a user would not need to apply a force to lower the arm rest once it is rotated.
Regarding claim 2, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses the position adjustment module allows the arm massage units to linearly move while sliding relative to the rotational shaft (Harlow: fig 4C-4E) when the arm massage unit rotates around the rotational shaft (see modified Lin of claim 1, where the arm slides linearly downward due to self-weight thus when the arm rotates and the slot 105-S of Harlow starts to vertically align with the rotational shaft the arm begins to linearly move downward).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 2. Modified Lin further discloses the position adjustment module comprises: a shaft coupling member combined with the rotational shaft (Lin: #32 fig 5 shows a shaft coupling member); and a guide part (Harlow: #105-S fig 4B-4E) which connects the arm massage units in a way to allow linear movement (see Harlow fig 4C-4E) but prevent relative rotation with respect to the shaft coupling member (as the shaft coupling member of Lin does not rotate relative to the arm unit in order to properly transfer rotation from the rotation module to the arm it is seen that incorporation of the guide slot of Harlow would allow for linear movement in modified Lin but maintain the prevented relative rotation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 3. Modified Lin further discloses the guide part includes a guide hole (Harlow: #105-S fig 4B-4E) which is elongated on the arm massage unit in one direction (see Harlow elongated slot 105-S) so that the shaft coupling member is connected in such a way as to be slidable but to be prevented in relative rotation (see claim 3 above discussing sliding linear movement of Harlow and prevented relative rotation of Lin).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 3. Modified Lin further discloses the position adjustment module further comprises a cushioning member (Harlow: par 0046 disclosing resistive mechanisms) to provide elasticity to the arm massage unit relative to the shaft coupling member when the arm massage unit slides relative to the shaft coupling member by being guided by the guide part (Harlow: par 0046 discloses the resistance mechanism as elastic cable, coil springs or hydraulics thus disclosing providing elasticity, par 0046-0047 discloses the elasticity for the arm sliding relative to the shaft).
Modified Lin does not expressly disclose the cushioning member has one end connected to the shaft coupling member and the other end connected to the arm massage unit, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the springs, elastic cable or hydraulics as taught by Harlow positioned between the arm and the shaft coupling member in order to effectively deliver the resistance to the linear movement.
Regarding claim 7, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses the arm massage unit comprises an arm massage frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) installed to rotate around a rotational shaft installed on the main frame (see Lin fig 1-2), and an armrest frame support (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) having an armrest groove (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) formed on the front side of the arm massage unit frame, and wherein the position adjustment module includes: a position adjustment rail (Harlow: #105-S fig 4B-4E) installed on the inner side of the armrest groove of the armrest frame support in the back-and-forth direction (as achieved with the modifications of Harlow on Lin); an armrest frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) which moves along the position adjustment rail when the arm massage frame rotates around the rotational shaft, and into which the user's arm is inserted and placed; and a frame cushioning member (Harlow: par 0046 disclosing resistive mechanisms) which provides an elastic force to the armrest frame in the back-and- forth direction relative to the armrest frame support when the armrest frame moves along the position adjustment rail (Harlow: par 0046 discloses the resistance mechanism as elastic cable, coil springs or hydraulics thus disclosing providing elasticity, par 0046-0047 discloses the elasticity for the arm sliding relative to the shaft).
Lin annotated fig 5
Regarding claim 12, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Lin further discloses the rotation module comprises: a motor (#35 fig 10-11) installed in the body massage unit (fig 6-7); and a power transmission unit (#39, 310, 37, 381 fig 10-11) which transmits the rotational force of the motor to the rotational shaft (par 0079).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 12. Lin further discloses the power transmission unit comprises: a first worm gear (#39 fig 10-11) connected to the motor to be rotatable (par 0079); a first worm wheel (#310 fig 10-11) meshing with the first worm gear to receive rotational force (par 0079); a rotational force transmission shaft (par 00079 disclosing an elastic pin fixing the wheel 310 to worm 37) meshing with the first worm wheel to rotate together with the first worm wheel; a second worm gear (#37 fig 10-11) combined with the rotational force transmission shaft to rotate together with the rotational force transmission shaft (par 0079); and, a second worm wheel (#381 fig 10-11) combined with the rotational shaft, meshing with the second worm gear to transmit the rotational force to the rotational shaft while rotating by receiving the rotational force from the second worm gear (par 0079).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lin as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tsai (US 2006/0250018 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 4. Modified Lin is silent to the guide part further includes a rail groove formed on the arm massage unit to be parallel to the length direction of the guide hole, and a rail protrusion formed on the shaft coupling member formed to slide along the rail groove.
Tsai teaches an arm rest with linear movement that includes a rail groove (#311 fig 2) formed on the arm unit to be parallel to the length direction of the guide hole, and a rail protrusion (#33 fig 2) formed on the coupling member formed to slide along the rail groove (see fig 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a rail groove as taught by Tsai on the guide part of modified Lin as doing so provides a more secure linear engagement preventing disconnection.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 7,150,504 B1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses the arm massage unit includes an: arm massage unit frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) installed to rotate around the rotational shaft mounted on the main frame (see Lin fig 1-2), an armrest frame support (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) having an armrest groove (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) formed on the front side of the arm massage frame; and an armrest frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) rotatably positioned inside the armrest groove to be moveable in the back and forth direction on the inner face of the armrest groove and into which the user’s arm is inserted and placed.
Lin annotated fig 5
Modified Lin is silent to a concavo-convex portion which has protrusions and grooves alternatingly formed on the inner face of the armrest groove of the armrest frame support is installed in the back-and-forth direction, and a fixation protrusion elastically inserted into the groove of the concavo-convex portion and an elastic body providing elastic force to the fixation protrusion downwards are installed below the armrest frame.
Lee teaches a linear movement system including a concavo-convex (#23 fig 2-4) portion which has protrusions and grooves alternatingly formed on the inner face of the armrest groove of the armrest frame support is installed in the back-and-forth direction (see fig 2-4 showing the concavo-convex portion extending lengthwise), and a fixation protrusion (#60 fig 2-4) elastically inserted into the groove of the concavo-convex portion (elastically inserted due to elastic body 61, col 2 ln 19) and an elastic body (#61 fig 2-4, col 2 ln 19) providing elastic force to the fixation protrusion are installed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the concavo-convex and fixation protrusion of Lee on the device of modified Lin as doing so allows for a dampening of the linear movement preventing the arm rest from moving too quickly in one direction.
Lee does not expressly disclose the elastic force being downward or being installed below the arm rest frame. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the fixation protrusion/elastic body in this direction as the arm rest of modified Lin would have the concavo-convex portion positioned length wise along the arm and structuring the device in this way will allow for the fixation protrusion to properly work with the concavo-convex portion and further as a simple rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bedford (US 2006/0226691 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses the arm massage unit comprises: an arm massage frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) installed to rotate around the rotational shaft mounted on the main frame (see Lin fig 1-2), an armrest frame support (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) having an armrest groove (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) formed on the front side of the arm massage frame; and an armrest frame (see Lin annotated fig 5 below) installed inside the armrest groove to be move in a front-back direction where the user’s arm is inserted and held and a position adjustment motor (#35 fig 8) that operates based on control signals from the control unit of the massage device (par 0080).
Lin annotated fig 5
Modified Lin is silent to a rack gear is installed on the inner side of the armrest groove of the armrest frame support in the back-and-forth direction, and a pinion gear meshing with the rack gear.
Bedford teaches a linear movement mechanism of an armrest with a rack gear (#157 fig 6-7) is installed on the inner side of the armrest in the back-and-forth direction, and a pinion gear (#62 fig 6-7) meshing with the rack gear.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rack and pinion structure of Bedford onto the device of Modified Lin as the rack and pinion can act as a dampening structure allowing for smooth dampened motion having an elegant feel during adjustment (Bedford: par 0030).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuan (CN 113893121 A).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin is silent to side shields for shielding a space formed between the bottom of the arm massage unit and the side of the body massage unit when the arm massage unit rotates around the rotational shaft.
Yuan teaches a massage device with shields (#13 fig 1-3) for shielding a space formed between the bottom of the side unit (see Yuan annotated fig 3 below) and the side of the body massage unit (see Yuan annotated fig 3 below) when rotating around a rotational shaft (#32/34 fig 3).
Yuan annotated fig 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate side shields as taught by Yuan between the back rest of the body massage unit and the arm massage unit of modified Lin as doing so allows for increased privacy for a user’s of the massage device.
Regarding claim 11, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 10. Yuan further discloses the side shields are folded or unfolded in multiple stages (see shield 13 being unfolded from upper shield 1 in fig 1-3).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukunaga (US 2020/0281359 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses a leg connection frame (see Lin annotated fig 6 below) installed in the body massage unit; a first leg massage unit rotatably connected to the leg connection frame and accommodating one leg of a user (#60 fig 1-2, par 0070); a second leg massage unit (#60 fig 1-2, par 0070), spaced from one side of the first leg massage unit (see fig 1 showing left and right leg accommodation being spaced apart by center divider) accommodating the other leg of the user; a connection module connecting the first leg massage unit and the second leg massage unit respectively to the leg connection frames (par 0070 “rotating shaft”); and a leg rotation module providing rotational force to rotate the first leg massage unit and the second leg massage unit (par 0070).
Lin annotated fig 6
Fukunaga teaches a massage chair with a leg connection frame (see Fukunaga annotated fig 2 below) installed in the body massage unit; a first leg massage unit rotatably connected to the leg connection frame and accommodating one leg of a user (#15 fig 2); a second leg massage unit (#16 fig 2), spaced from one side of the first leg massage unit connected to the leg connection frame to be rotated individually relative to the first leg massage unit (par 0111), and accommodating the other leg of the user; and a leg rotation module providing rotational force to individually rotate the first leg massage unit and the second leg massage unit (drive units #81-87 fig 13).
Fukunaga annotated fig 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate individually rotatable as taught by Fukunaga for the leg devices of modified Lin as doing so allows for a user to adjust the leg device separately based on their individual needs.
Regarding claim 15, modified Lin discloses the device of claim 14. Fukunaga further discloses a center support bracket (see Fukunaga annotated fig 2 above) provided on the leg connection frame, and supporting the inner sides of both the first leg massage unit and the second leg massage unit to be rotatable; and a side support bracket (see Fukunaga annotated fig 2 above) provided on the leg connection frame, and supporting the outer sides of both the first leg massage unit and the second leg massage unit to be rotatable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230414994 A1
US 20220031077 A1
US 20200329869 A1
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799