DETAILED ACTION
The amendments and remarks filed 5/27/25 are acknowledged. Claims 8, 11, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 have been canceled. Claim 13 has been added.
Claims 8 and 11-13 are pending and under examination.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment thereto. See paragraph 4, page 2 of the previous Office action.
The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment thereto. See paragraph 8, page 13 of the previous Office action.
The rejection of claims 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Angiogenesis (2005) 8: 63-71), is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment thereto. See paragraph 11, page 13 of the previous Office action.
The rejection of claims 8-9 and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0044494 A1, published February 16, 2017), is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment thereto. See paragraph 12, page 14 of the previous Office action.
New Rejections Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1a) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fajas et al. (WO 2010/092440 A1, published August 19, 2010).
The instant claims are drawn to a culture medium of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo, comprising a substance that inhibits signal transmission from CXCL5, wherein the substance is an anti-CXCL5 antibody or a fragment thereof.
Fajas et al. teach a CXCR2 antagonist, wherein the antagonist is an antibody directed against CXCL5 (See pages 9-10). Fajas et al. teach a composition comprising the antagonist (See pages 16-19). Regarding the limitations “a culture medium of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo”, “wherein the culture medium is used for improving a quality of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo” and “wherein the quality of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo is deteriorated due to aging of a subject”, and “wherein the one or more evaluation items related to pregnancy childbirth is selected from the group consisting of a blastocyst reaching rate, an implantation rate, an offspring acquisition rate, and a miscarriage rate”, the limitations are directed to the intended use of the culture medium. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art teaches the claimed culture medium, and would therefore, be capable of performing the intended use recited in the instant claims. Thus, Fajas et al. anticipate the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0044494 A1, published February 16, 2017) in view of Fajas et al. (WO 2010/092440 A1, published August 19, 2010).
The instant claims are drawn to a culture medium of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo, comprising a substance that inhibits signal transmission from CXCL5, wherein the substance is an anti-CXCL5 antibody or a fragment thereof.
Kim et al. teach a culture medium comprising an CXCR2 antagonist (See paragraph 0029). Kim et al. teach that the “CXCR2 antagonist” means to inhibit the CXCR2 activity, and the antagonist may interfere with the binding of natural ligand and the receptor by binding to the receptor (See paragraph 0030). Regarding the limitations “of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo”, “wherein the culture medium is used for improving a quality of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo” and “wherein the quality of an egg, a fertilized egg, and/or an embryo is deteriorated due to aging” and “wherein the one or more evaluation items related to pregnancy childbirth is selected from the group consisting of a blastocyst reaching rate, an implantation rate, an offspring acquisition rate, and a miscarriage rate”, the limitations are directed to the intended use of the culture medium. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art teaches the claimed culture medium, and would therefore, be capable of performing the intended use recited in the instant claims.
Kim et al. do not teach wherein the substance that inhibits signal transmission from CXCL5 is an anti-CXCL5 antibody.
Fajas et al. teach a CXCR2 antagonist, wherein the antagonist is an antibody directed against CXCL5 (See pages 9-10). Fajas et al. teach a composition comprising the antagonist (See pages 16-19).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the culture medium of Kim et al. by substituting the anti-CXCL5 antibody of Fajas et al. for the CXCR2 antagonist because the Supreme Court set forth in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), that if the prior art contained a product which differed from the claimed product by the substitution of some component with another component, where both components are known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another to yield predictable results, the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious. The culture medium of Kim et al. comprises an CXCR2 antagonist. It would be predictable that the anti-CXCL5 antibody of Fajas et al. could be used in the culture medium of Kim et al. because Fajas et al. teach that the anti-CXCL5 antibody is also a CXCR2 antagonist. Given that the anti-CXCL5 antibody is also a CXCR2 antagonist, the culture medium could be modified to comprise the anti-CXCL5 antibody and the medium would function in its intended manner the same as with the CXCR2 antagonist. Thus, the combination of prior art references as combined provided a prima facie case of obviousness, absent convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claim Status
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANDRA CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674