11DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792, 63. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are contained in the claims 1, 11 and 20 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,792, 63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 43, recites in part,” in response to detecting that a magnitude of a second time of flight of the second satellite signal traveling from the second satellite to the second transponder is less than a third time of flight of the second satellite signal traveling from the second satellite to the first transponder”. However no action is recited if the condition is not satisfied and renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin)(WO 2021/183067) in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(CN 106680852 A).
Regarding claim 21, Tekin teaches computer-readable storage hardware having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when carried out by computer processor hardware, cause the computer processor hardware to: receive a first satellite signal transmitted from a first satellite, the first satellite signal received at a first wireless carrier frequency from the first satellite and supporting location determination; and modulate the first satellite signal with a second carrier frequency to output a first wireless transponder signal from the first transponder, first wireless transponder signal supporting location determination by a wireless station(figs. 1-5; pages 11-15; also abstract; page 13, location of the receiver ).
Tekin did not teach specifically depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder. However, Zhang teaches in an analogous art depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder(Zhang: claim 4, receives the satellite navigational signal of time delay to obtain a delayed signal repeater for receiving the delay signal; time delay modulation module used for modulating the signal; fig. 1, point B signal transponder; conversion to intermediate frequency signal from satellite navigational signal). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder in order to have improved efficiency.
Claims 1 and 11 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 21.
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 14-16, 21, 29-30 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(2019/0079196) in view of Han al. (hereinafter Han)(2012/0119950) and Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(CN 106680852 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method comprising: via a first transponder
receiving a first satellite signal transmitted from a first satellite, the first satellite signal received at a first wireless carrier frequency from the first satellite, the first satellite signal supporting location determination (item S110 in Fig. 5; receive navigation satellite signal; also abstract: enabling location determination);
based on a magnitude of a first time of flight associated with the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder(abstract, repeats the navigation satellite signal by reflecting a time delay of the satellite information; P[0026], time delay between the navigation satellite and the outdoor navigation satellite receiver),and
wirelessly transmitting the first wireless transponder signal from the first transponder, the first wireless transponder signal supporting location determination by a wireless station(Fig. 5, items S140-S141; also P[0053-0054], enabling location determination).
Kim did not teach specifically modulating the first satellite signal with a second carrier frequency to produce a first wireless transponder signal. However, Kim teaches in an analogous art modulating the first satellite signal with a second carrier frequency to produce a first wireless transponder signal(Fig. 1, modulator; P[0021], based on the pseudo ranges of the navigational satellites generating navigational signals of the associated navigation satellites based on the pseudo ranges, and modulating the navigation signals using a wireless carrier frequency; generating navigational signals may be performed based on the time information; also abstract, intermediate frequency band signals). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of modulating the first satellite signal with a second carrier frequency to produce a first wireless transponder signal in order to have reduced interference.
Tekin did not teach specifically depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder. However, Zhang teaches in an analogous art depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder(Zhang: claim 4, receives the satellite navigational signal of time delay to obtain a delayed signal repeater for receiving the delay signal; time delay modulation module used for modulating the signal; fig. 1, point B signal transponder). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method depending on a magnitude of a first time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the first transponder in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches wherein the first wireless transponder signal is one of multiple sideband signals produced by a modulator converting the first satellite signal into the first wireless transponder signal(P[0008, 0054, 0055], into analog signals SA).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches the method, wherein the first satellite is a first GPS (Global Positioning System) satellite(Han: abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches the method further comprising: via the first transponder: receiving a second satellite signal transmitted from a second satellite, the second satellite signal received at a third wireless carrier frequency from the second satellite, the second satellite signal supporting location determination; and modulating the second satellite signal with a fourth carrier frequency to produce a second wireless transponder signal; and wirelessly transmitting the second wireless transponder signal from the first transponder, the second wireless transponder signal supporting the location determination by the wireless station(Kim: P[0028], navigational satellite signals received from three satellites; Han: Fig. 1, modulator; P[0021], based on the pseudo ranges of the navigational satellites generating navigational signals of the associated navigation satellites based on the pseudo ranges, and modulating the navigation signals using a wireless carrier frequency; generating navigational signals may be performed based on the time information; also abstract, intermediate frequency band signals).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches wirelessly transmitting a message in the network environment, the message indicating a location of the first transponder(P[0099], own location information of the repeating device 100 through navigation signals).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches wherein the first wireless transponder signal provides an indication of a broadcast time of the first satellite transmitting the first satellite signal(Han: P[0052], time information included in the navigation signals).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches via the first transponder, determining a location of the first transponder based on the first satellite signal and a second wireless satellite signal received by the first transponder(Kim: P[0038], accurate location of the navigational satellite signal generator from the navigation satellite signal).
Claims 11, 15 and 21 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 5 and 1 respectively.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches, wherein the first satellite signal includes timing information generated by the first satellite, the timing information modulated with the first wireless carrier frequency to produce the first satellite signal(Han: abstract, repeats the navigation satellite signal by reflecting a time delay of the satellite information; P[0026], time delay between the navigation satellite and the outdoor navigation satellite receiver; Kim: P[0075], satellite navigational signal includes time information and in step S140 the pseudo navigation signal repeating device modulate the digital signals and output the modulated signal).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches, wherein the timing information indicates a broadcast time of the first satellite transmitting the first satellite signal(Han: P[0052], time information included in the navigation signals).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches, wherein the magnitude of the first time of flight indicates a distance between the first satellite and the first transponder(Han: P[102-103], the pseudo satellite navigation signal repeating device 100 may receive navigation signals NS1 to NS3 corresponding to the number of associated navigation satellites; delay of navigational signals; pseudo distance increases delay may increase).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches The method as in claim 40 further comprising: determining that the first transponder is nearer to the first satellite than a second transponder based on the magnitude of the first time of flight being less than a magnitude of a second time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to the second transponder; and wherein the magnitude of the second time of flight indicates a distance between the first satellite and the second transponder( Zhang: claim 4, receiving module receives the satellite navigation signal of time delay to obtain delayed signal; signal repeater for receiving the delayed signal; time delay modulation module used for modulating the signal; fig. 1, point B signal transponders; Page 6, distance exists between the ground controller and the signal repeaters; coordinates of the j-th signal repeater). .
Claim(s) 2-3, 12-13, 31-32, 39, 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(2019/0079196) in view of Han al. (hereinafter Han)(2012/0119950), Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(CN 106680852 A) and Lee (US 2012/0299770).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Han and Zhang teaches the method further comprising: the magnitude of the first time of flight indicating a distance between the first satellite and the first transponder(Zhang: page 1, time-of-flight measurements GNSS signal propagation time; can calculate the distance).
Kim in view of Han and Zhang did not teach selecting the first satellite signal as one of multiple satellite signals(Han: Fig. 10). Kim in view of Han did not teach specifically selecting the first satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal based on the magnitude of the time of flight. However, Lee teaches in an analogous art selecting the first satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal based on the magnitude of the time of flight(item S120 in Fig. 3; also P[0079-0081], selects a low error satellite group based on GPS signals; based on time lapsing). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of selecting the first satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal based on the magnitude of the time of flight in order to have low reflection error.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Han, Zhang and Lee teaches wherein the selection of the first satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals is based upon a respective nearness of the first transponder to the first satellite as determined from the magnitude of the first time of flight(Lee: P[0079-0081], selects a satellite with low reflection error; also Han: P[102-103], the pseudo satellite navigation signal repeating device 100 may receive navigation signals NS1 to NS3 corresponding to the number of associated navigation satellites; delay of navigational signals; pseudo distance increases delay may increase; Zhang: page 1, time-of-flight measurements GNSS signal propagation time; can calculate the distance).
Claims 12-13 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 2-3 respectively.
Claim 31 is a combination of claims 2 and 3 and therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 2+3.
Regarding claim 32, Kim in view of Han, Zhang and Lee teaches the method as in claim 31, wherein the magnitude of the first time of flight of the first satellite signal is less than a magnitude of a second time of flight of the first satellite signal traveling from the first satellite to a second transponder, the method further comprising: wherein the first satellite signal is selected for transmitting to the wireless station in the first wireless transponder signal in response to detecting that the magnitude of the first time of flight is less than the magnitude of the second time of flight(Lee: P[0079-0081], selects a satellite with low reflection error; Han: P[102-103], the pseudo satellite navigation signal repeating device 100 may receive navigation signals NS1 to NS3 corresponding to the number of associated navigation satellites; delay of navigational signals; pseudo distance increases delay may increase).
Regarding claim 39, Kim in view of Zhang and Han teaches the method wherein the first satellite signal is selected from amongst multiple satellite signals(Han: Fig. 10).
further comprising: via the first transponder, receiving the first satellite signal as one of multiple satellite signals(Han: Fig. 10).
Kim in view of Zhang and Han did not teach specifically wherein the first satellite signal is selected from amongst multiple satellite signals based upon a distance between the first transponder and the first satellite as determined via the first time of flight. However, Lee teaches in an analogous art wherein the first satellite signal is selected from amongst multiple satellite signals based upon a distance between the first transponder and the first satellite as determined via the first time of flight(item S120 in Fig. 3; also P[0079-0081], selects a low error satellite group using pseudo ranges(mean distances between the GPS satellites and the GPS receiver) based on GPS signals; based on time lapsing). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the first satellite signal is selected from amongst multiple satellite signals based upon a distance between the first transponder and the first satellite as determined via the first time of flight in order to have low reflection error.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches the method as in claim 32, wherein the first time of flight indicates a first duration of time for the first satellite signal to be conveyed from the first satellite to the first transponder; and wherein the second time of flight indicates a second duration of time for the fist satellite signal to be conveyed from the first satellite to the second transponder(Zhang: claim 4, receiving module receives the satellite navigation signal of time delay to obtain delayed signal; signal repeater for receiving the delayed signal; time delay modulation module used for modulating the signal; fig. 1, point B signal transponders; Page 6, distance exists between the ground controller and the signal repeater; coordinates of the j-th signal repeater).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising: at a second transponder disparately located with respect to the first transponder: receiving the first satellite signal transmitted from the first satellite; receiving a second satellite signal transmitted from a second satellite; in response to detecting that a magnitude of a second time of flight of the second satellite signal traveling from the second satellite to the second transponder is less than a third time of flight of the second satellite signal traveling from the second satellite to the first transponder, wirelessly transmitting a second wireless transponder signal from the second transponder, the second wireless transponder signal generated via modulation of the second satellite signal with a second carrier frequency(Han: P[102-103], the pseudo satellite navigation signal repeating device 100 may receive navigation signals NS1 to NS3 corresponding to the number of associated navigation satellites; delay of navigational signals; pseudo distance increases delay may increase; Zhang: claim 4, receiving module receives the satellite navigation signal of time delay to obtain delayed signal; signal repeater for receiving the delayed signal; time delay modulation module used for modulating the signal; fig. 1, point B signal transponders; Page 6, distance exists between the ground controller and the signal repeater; coordinates of the j-th signal repeater; repeaters with different distances; modulation based on the delay).
Kim in view of Zhang and Han did not teach selecting the second satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the second wireless transponder signal generated. However, Lee teaches in an analogous art selecting the second satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the second wireless transponder signal based on the magnitude of the time of flight(Lee: item S120 in Fig. 3; also P[0079-0081], selects a low error satellite group based on GPS signals; based on time lapsing). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of selecting the second satellite signal amongst the multiple satellite signals to modulate with the second carrier frequency to produce the second wireless transponder signal based on the magnitude of the time of flight in order to have low reflection error.
Claim(s) 22-24, 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin-1)(2012/0286992) in view of Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin)(WO 2021/183067).
Regarding claim 22, Tekin-1 teaches a method comprising: at a wireless station: receiving a first wireless transponder signal from a first transponder, the first wireless transponder signal generated of a first satellite signal received at the first transponder, the first satellite signal transmitted from a satellite; receiving a second wireless transponder signal from a second transponder, the second wireless transponder signal generated of a second satellite signal received at the second transponder, the second satellite signal transmitted from a satellite; and determining a location of the wireless station based on demodulation of the first wireless transponder signal and demodulation of the second wireless transponder signal(abstract; Fig. 1; P[0048-0049]; position calculation method; Fig. 1; R1, R2, R3 are satellite signals; transponders 2a, 2b, 2c; R4, R5, R6 are the wirelessly transmitted transponder signal;).
Tekin-1 did not teach specifically first transponder signal generated via first modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal and second transponder signal generated via second modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal. However, Tekin teaches in an analogous art wherein first transponder signal generated via first modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal and second transponder signal generated via second modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal (abstract; page 13, GNSS signals in 1575 Mhz signals and indoor signals ISM band 433 Mhz lower frequency ISM band; also Figs. 2-3; since the transmitted and received signals are at different frequency, modulation is required). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein first transponder signal generated via first modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal and second transponder signal generated via second modulation via first modulation of a first satellite signal in order to have reduced interference.
Regarding claim 23, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches the method, wherein determining the location of the wireless station includes: demodulating the first wireless transponder signal to obtain a rendition of the first satellite signal; demodulating the second wireless transponder signal to obtain a rendition of the second satellite signal; and producing location information indicating the location of the wireless station based on the rendition of the first satellite signal and the rendition of second satellite signal(Tekin-1: P[0048-0050]; abstract; also Tekin: Page 13, determine the location of the receiver).
Regarding claim 24, Tekin teaches the method as in claim 22, wherein determining the location of the wireless station includes: producing location information indicating the location of the wireless station based on a time of flight of the first wireless transponder signal and a time of flight of the second wireless transponder signal(Tekin: P[0080], ToA) .
Regarding claim 33, Tekin in view of Tekin-1 teaches the method as in claim 22, wherein the first satellite signal is modulated via a first wireless carrier frequency; wherein the second satellite signal is modulated via a second wireless carrier frequency; wherein the first wireless transponder signal is the first satellite signal modulated via a third wireless carrier frequency; and wherein the second wireless transponder signal is the second satellite signal modulated via a fourth wireless carrier frequency(Tekin: Fig. 1, R1, R2, R3, R4, R5; Tekin: abstract; also Figs. 1-5; Pages 11-15) .
Regarding claim 34, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches the method, wherein determining the location of the wireless station includes: via a first demodulator: i) receiving the first wireless transponder signal at a first port of the first demodulator, ii) receiving the third carrier frequency at a second port of the first demodulator, and iii) demodulating the first wireless signal with the third carrier frequency to reproduce a rendition of the first satellite signal; and via a second demodulator: i) receiving the second wireless signal at a first port of the second demodulator, ii) receiving the fourth carrier frequency at a second port of the second demodulator, and iii) demodulating the second wireless signal with the fourth carrier frequency to reproduce a rendition of the second satellite signal(Tekin: Fig. 1, R1, R2, R3, R4, R5; Tekin: abstract; also Figs. 1-5; Pages 11-15).
Regarding claim 35, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches the method, wherein determining the location of the first wireless station includes using the rendition of the first satellite signal and the rendition of the second satellite signal to produce location information indicating the location of the wireless station(Tekin-1: Fig. 1; abstract Tekin: abstract; also Figs. 1-5; Pages 11-15).
Regarding claim 36, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches the method, wherein determining the location of the wireless station includes: producing the location information indicating the location of the wireless station based on a time of flight of the first wireless transponder signal and a time of flight of the second wireless transponder signal(Tekin: Fig. 1P[0080]).
Regarding claim 37, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches the method, wherein determining the location of the wireless station includes: producing the location information indicating the location of the wireless station based on a time of flight of the first satellite signal and a time of flight of the second satellite signal(Tekin: Fig. 1; P[0080], ToA).
Claim(s) 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(2019/0079196) in view of Han al. (hereinafter Han)(2012/0119950), Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(CN 106680852 A) and Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin)(WO 2021/183067).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kim, Zhang and Han teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency includes: receiving input of the first satellite signal at a first port of a modulator; receiving input of the second carrier frequency at a second port of the modulator; and via the modulator, modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal. However, Tekin teaches in an analogous art wherein modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency includes: receiving input of the first satellite signal at a first port of a modulator; receiving input of the second carrier frequency at a second port of the modulator; and via the modulator, modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal(Fig. 2-3). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency includes: receiving input of the first satellite signal at a first port of a modulator; receiving input of the second carrier frequency at a second port of the modulator; and via the modulator, modulating the first satellite signal with the second carrier frequency to produce the first wireless transponder signal in order to have reduced path loss.
Regarding claim 26, Tekin teaches the method of wirelessly transmitting the first wireless transponder signal to the wireless station, the wireless station implementing a demodulator to convert the first wireless transponder signal into a rendition of the first satellite signal(figs. 1(Figs. 4-5)-3).
Regarding claim 27, Tekin teaches the method as in claim further comprising: via the demodulator at the wireless station: receiving input of the first wireless transponder signal at a first port of the demodulator; receiving input of the first carrier frequency at a second port of the demodulator; and demodulating the first wireless transponder signal with the second carrier frequency to produce the rendition of the first satellite signal(Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 28, Tekin teaches the method as in claim further comprising: at the wireless station, using the rendition of the first satellite signal to determine a location of the wireless station (Page 13, determine the location of the receiver).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin-1)(2012/0286992) in view of Tekin al. (hereinafter Tekin)(WO 2021/183067) in view of Shinohara et al. (hereinafter Shinohara)(US 2021/0103059)
Regarding claim 38, Tekin-1 in view of Tekin teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the first satellite signal includes first timing information indicating a broadcast time of the first satellite transmitting the first satellite signal, the first timing information modulated with the first wireless carrier frequency to produce the first satellite signal; and wherein the second satellite signal includes second timing information indicating a broadcast time of the second satellite transmitting the second satellite signal, the second timing information modulated with the second wireless carrier frequency to produce the second satellite signal. However, Shinohara teaches in an analogous art wherein the first satellite signal includes first timing information indicating a broadcast time of the first satellite transmitting the first satellite signal, the first timing information modulated with the first wireless carrier frequency to produce the first satellite signal; and wherein the second satellite signal includes second timing information indicating a broadcast time of the second satellite transmitting the second satellite signal, the second timing information modulated with the second wireless carrier frequency to produce the second satellite signal(abstract, GNSS signal; time information corresponding to timing indicated by the timing signal). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the first satellite signal includes first timing information indicating a broadcast time of the first satellite transmitting the first satellite signal, the first timing information modulated with the first wireless carrier frequency to produce the first satellite signal; and wherein the second satellite signal includes second timing information indicating a broadcast time of the second satellite transmitting the second satellite signal, the second timing information modulated with the second wireless carrier frequency to produce the second satellite signal in order to have improved synchronization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647