This office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/19/2026.
Claims 21-29, 30-38 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the page 8, Lines 3-5, the applicant argues that Neither Park’964 nor Park’ 576 discloses or suggests: “ transmitting [ by a first station ] , during a polling period of an access point (AP), a service period request (SRP) frame including indication of support for transmission in multiple channel ”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
US 20190007964 teaches transmitting [ by a first station ] , during a polling period of an access point (AP), a service period request (SRP) frame including indication of support for transmission in multiple channel (as shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the PCP/AP or separate STA and the at least one STA can transmit and receive the poll frame and SPR frame through the primary channel of the system. Further, time resources used by the at least one STA to receive and transmit the poll frame and SPR frame may be different from those used by other STAs to receive and transmit poll frames and SPR frames) [see Paragraph 0180 ] including indication of support for transmission in multiple channel (by newly defining a subfield for indicating which type of beam forming is performed, the PCP/AP or separate STA may control beamforming training for the SU-MIMO, MU-MIMO, channel bonding, channel aggregation)[see Paragraph 0229].
For the reasons above, the examiner respectfully submits the combination (US 20190007964 and US 20190289576), teach, suggest, or disclose the limitations required by claim 21 and 30, which recites similar references as those noted above with to claim 21. Thus, the examiner respectfully request the 103 rejection of claim 21 and 30 should be sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22-29, 30, 31-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) in view of PARK et al. ( US 20190289576, Provisional Application No. 62413996 ), and further in view of SEOK ( US 20160113034 , hereinafter, SEOK’s 034 ) .
Regarding to the claim 21, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) teaches a method for use in a first station (STA), the method comprising:
transmitting, during a polling period (polling period (PP)) of an access point (AP), a service period request (SPR) frame ([0177] The PP means a period in which a PCP/AP or separate STA performs polling on whether dynamic allocation is present during the DTI by transmitting a poll frame to at least one STA and then receive a service period request (SPR) frame from the at least one STA. In this case, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the PCP/AP or separate STA may transmit different poll frames to the one or more STAs and then receive SPR frames in response to the poll frames from the one or more STAs ) [see Figure 19 and Paragraphs 0177 & 0183 & 0185 ]
[ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ];
receiving, from the access point, a grant frame (allocated channel during the DTI) indicating to the first STA (STA A ) a first channel for data transmission (CH1) to a second STA (STA B ) , and indicating to a third STA (STA C) a second channel (CH2, CH 3) for data transmission by the third STA (STA C) to a fourth STA (STA D ) [see Figure 16 and Paragraph 0148 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] ;
However, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) does not explicitly teach transmitting data to the second STA based on the received grant frame.
( US 20190289576, Provisional Application No. 62413996 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmitting data to the second STA based on the received grant frame [see Figure 13 and Paragraph 0126 ] [see page 11 of Provisional Application No. 62413996 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007964 in view of US 20190289576 because US 20190289576 suggests that To achieve these objects and other advantages and in accordance with the purpose of the invention, in an aspect of the present invention, provided herein is an operating method for an access point (AP) in wireless local area network (WLAN) system, including transmitting a first grant frame for dynamically allocating a first allocation period within a data transmission interval (DTI) to a first station (STA) during the DTI, wherein the first grant frame may include dynamic allocation information for allocating a plurality of channels including a first primary channel or at least one channel except the first primary channel in the first allocation period.
However, US 20190007964 and US 20190289576 do not explicitly teach a service period request frame including indication of support for transmission in multiple channels.
US 20160113034, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a service period request frame (UL MU Poll Response frame ) including indication of support for transmission in multiple channels (multiple users) ( the UL Poll Resonse frame has a control frame format…..and information about resources to be used for the UEL MU PPDU transmission (e.g., a resource unit, a subchannel ) [see Paragraph 0232 ] [see Figures 19-20 ]
( [0180] UL MU-MIMO transmission is taken as an example of UL MU transmission in the following examples of the present disclosure. However, the examples of the present disclosure is also applicable in the same manner to UL OFDMA transmission in which one transmission channel is divided into a plurality of subchannels and each STA performs simultaneous UL transmission on an allocated subchannel. That is, UL MU transmission includes UL MU-MIMO transmission or UL OFDMA transmission in the following description.
[0183] Upon receipt of the UL MU Poll frame (i.e., a poll frame triggering UL MU transmission (UL MU-MIMO transmission or UL OFDMA transmission)), the STAs may determine whether they are requested for the UL MU transmission based on information included in the UL MU Poll frame (e.g., UL MU triggering information). If an STA determines that it is requested for the UL MU transmission, the STA may transmit a UL MU PPDU to the AP during a given time period indicated by the information about the transmission time of the UL MU PPDU (i.e., UL MU-MIMO PPDU or UL OFDMA PPDU), included in the UL MU Poll frame )
( In the examples of FIGS. 18 and 19, it is assumed that an AP is capable of receiving a UL MU PPDU simultaneously from a plurality of STAs in four distinguished resources (e.g., four subchannels or four space-time streams). If one STA uses one resource, up to four STAs may participate in the UL MU PPDU transmission ) [see Paragraph 0234 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of (US 20190007964 and US 20190289576), and further in view of US 20160113034 because US 20160113034 suggests that to overcome limitations in communication speed that the WLAN faces, the recent technical standards have introduced a system that increases the speed, reliability, and coverage of a wireless network. For example, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11n standard has introduced Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) that is implemented using multiple antennas at both a transmitter and a receiver in order to support High Throughput (HT) at a data processing rate of up to 540 Mbps, minimize transmission errors, and optimize data rates.
Regarding to the claim 22, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the transmitting data to the second STA occurs while the third STA transmits data to the fourth STA [see Figure 19 & Figure 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
.
Regarding to the claim 23, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the transmission to the second STA uses multiple user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) resources
([0228] As another embodiment, the PCP/AP or separate STA can control beamforming training for FDMA, SU-MIMO, MU-MIMO, channel bonding, channel aggregation, and the like by modifying a beamforming control field or configuring a new EDMG beamforming control field.
[0229] As a further embodiment, the PCP/AP or separate STA may set a ‘size of a total number of sectors’ subfield to be equal to or greater than 7 bits by modifying the beamforming control field or configuring the new EDMG beamforming control field. In addition, the PCP/AP or separate STA may modify a ‘number of Rx DMG antennas’ subfield as an ‘Rx chain ID’ field or newly add the ‘Rx chain ID’ field while maintaining the ‘number of Rx DMG antennas’ subfield. In addition, by newly defining a subfield for indicating which type of beam forming is performed, the PCP/AP or separate STA may control beamforming training for the SU-MIMO, MU-MIMO, channel bonding, channel aggregation )
Regarding to the claim 24, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the first STA transmits the data to the second STA on a first channel and the third STA transmits to the fourth STA on a second channel (wherein the first STA transmits the data to the second STA on a first channel and the third STA transmits to the fourth STA on a second channel) [see Figures 19 & 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 25, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the first STA and the second STA are an enhanced directional multi-gigabyte (EDMG) STAs and the grant frame is an enhanced grant frame ( [0112] For example, when at least one channel except the primary channel supported by the system is allocated to a specific STA, the PCP/AP may provide information indicating a channel that can be used as the primary channel by transmitting the management frame including the EDMG operation element to the specific STA ) [see Figures 19 & 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 26, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the enhanced grant frame indicates a channel on which the first STA can transmit the data to the second STA (wherein the enhanced grant frame indicates a channel on which the first STA can transmit the data to the second STA) [see Figure 19 and Figure 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 27, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the enhanced grant frame indicates whether channel bonding or channel aggregation is to be used by the first STA in the data transmission ( wherein the enhanced grant frame indicates whether channel bonding or channel aggregation is to be used by the first STA in the data transmission ) [see Figure 16 and Figure 19 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 28, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the SPR frame includes a request to communicate with the second STA ( wherein the SPR frame includes a request to communicate with the second STA ) [see Figure 19 & Figure 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 29, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) further teaches wherein the third STA has made a request to communicate with the fourth STA during the SPR frame
( wherein the third STA has made a request to communicate with the fourth STA during the SPR frame ) [see Figure 19 & Figure 16 and Paragraphs 0148 & 0177 & 0185 & 0183 & 0228 & 0229 ] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ] [ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ].
Regarding to the claim 30, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) teaches a first station (STA), the first STA comprising:
A transmitter configured to transmit, during a polling period (polling period (PP)) of an access point (AP), a service period request (SPR) frame ([0177] The PP means a period in which a PCP/AP or separate STA performs polling on whether dynamic allocation is present during the DTI by transmitting a poll frame to at least one STA and then receive a service period request (SPR) frame from the at least one STA. In this case, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the PCP/AP or separate STA may transmit different poll frames to the one or more STAs and then receive SPR frames in response to the poll frames from the one or more STAs ) [see Figure 19 and Paragraphs 0177 & 0183 & 0185 ]
[ see Page 21 of the Provisional Application No. 62364330] [see Page 14 of the Provisional Application No. 62277480 ];
A receiver configured to receive, from the access point, a grant frame (allocated channel during the DTI) indicating to the first STA (STA A ) a first channel for data transmission (CH1) to a second STA (STA B ) , and indicating to a third STA (STA C) a second channel (CH2, CH 3) for data transmission by the third STA (STA C) to a fourth STA (STA D ) ;
However, ( US 20190007964, Provisional Application No. 62364330, Provisional Application No. 62277480 ) does not explicitly teach the transmitter further configured to transmit data to the second STA based on the received grant frame.
( US 20190289576, Provisional Application No. 62413996 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the transmitter further configured to transmit data to the second STA based on the received grant frame [see Figure 13 and Paragraph 0126 ] [see page 11 of Provisional Application No. 62413996 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007964 in view of US 20190289576 because US 20190289576 suggests that To achieve these objects and other advantages and in accordance with the purpose of the invention, in an aspect of the present invention, provided herein is an operating method for an access point (AP) in wireless local area network (WLAN) system, including transmitting a first grant frame for dynamically allocating a first allocation period within a data transmission interval (DTI) to a first station (STA) during the DTI, wherein the first grant frame may include dynamic allocation information for allocating a plurality of channels including a first primary channel or at least one channel except the first primary channel in the first allocation period.
However, US 20190007964 and US 20190289576 do not explicitly teach a service period request frame including indication of support for transmission in multiple channels.
US 20160113034, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a service period request frame (UL MU Poll Response frame ) including indication of support for transmission in multiple channels (multiple users) ( the UL Poll Resonse frame has a control frame format…..and information about resources to be used for the UEL MU PPDU transmission (e.g., a resource unit, a subchannel ) [see Paragraph 0232 ] [see Figures 19-20 ]
( [0180] UL MU-MIMO transmission is taken as an example of UL MU transmission in the following examples of the present disclosure. However, the examples of the present disclosure is also applicable in the same manner to UL OFDMA transmission in which one transmission channel is divided into a plurality of subchannels and each STA performs simultaneous UL transmission on an allocated subchannel. That is, UL MU transmission includes UL MU-MIMO transmission or UL OFDMA transmission in the following description.
[0183] Upon receipt of the UL MU Poll frame (i.e., a poll frame triggering UL MU transmission (UL MU-MIMO transmission or UL OFDMA transmission)), the STAs may determine whether they are requested for the UL MU transmission based on information included in the UL MU Poll frame (e.g., UL MU triggering information). If an STA determines that it is requested for the UL MU transmission, the STA may transmit a UL MU PPDU to the AP during a given time period indicated by the information about the transmission time of the UL MU PPDU (i.e., UL MU-MIMO PPDU or UL OFDMA PPDU), included in the UL MU Poll frame )
( In the examples of FIGS. 18 and 19, it is assumed that an AP is capable of receiving a UL MU PPDU simultaneously from a plurality of STAs in four distinguished resources (e.g., four subchannels or four space-time streams). If one STA uses one resource, up to four STAs may participate in the UL MU PPDU transmission ) [see Paragraph 0234 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of (US 20190007964 and US 20190289576), and further in view of US 20160113034 because US 20160113034 suggests that to overcome limitations in communication speed that the WLAN faces, the recent technical standards have introduced a system that increases the speed, reliability, and coverage of a wireless network. For example, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11n standard has introduced Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) that is implemented using multiple antennas at both a transmitter and a receiver in order to support High Throughput (HT) at a data processing rate of up to 540 Mbps, minimize transmission errors, and optimize data rates.
Regarding to the claim 31, claim 31 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 22 above.
Regarding to the claim 32, claim 32 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 23 above.
Regarding to the claim 33, claim 33 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 24 above.
Regarding to the claim 34, claim 34 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 25 above.
Regarding to the claim 35, claim 35 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 26 above.
Regarding to the claim 36, claim 36 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 27 above.
Regarding to the claim 37, claim 37 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 28 above.
Regarding to the claim 38, claim 38 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 29 above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412