Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevron (CN110581575A) in view of Shenzen (CN 210490460U) and Liebhard (US 20110094762) and Stanke (US 20230050963).
Re claim 1, Chevron (CN110581575A) teaches:
A data transmission system, comprising:
a battery pack (20) and an external device (power tool 10),
wherein the battery pack (20)has a first processing module (processor 900 of the battery pack 20), a first level shifter module (first information circuit 100 is in power tool 10 and not in the battery, and includes a level control circuit and a level conversion circuit 110 and 120 respectively), a first electrode terminal (joint portion 23 of the battery pack 20 includes a connection terminal that includes positive and negative and is connected with the second electrode when the battery pack is matched connection with an external device such as through joint portion 23) and a first communication terminal (the joint portion 23 includes a communication terminal),
and the external device (tool 10) has a second processing module (processor 800 of power tool 10), a second level shifter module (200 in battery 20 does not explicitly recite a level shifter), a second electrode terminal (a connection terminal such as a power terminal within receptacle 13 of power tool 10) and a second communication terminal (the receptacle 13 of the power tool 10 is provided with a positive power, negative power and a communication terminal in electrical communication with a communication terminal/ first communication terminal of the battery pack 20 thus teaching connection of the first communication terminal and second communication terminal, wherein corresponding terminals are implicit for the connection/ communication);
the first processing module (processor 900 of the battery pack 20) is electrically connected to the first level shifter module (FIG. 1+ teaches connection to shifter module 110 via conductive/physical connection);
the second processing module (first processor 800 of power tool 10) is electrically connected to the second level shifter module (FIG. 1+ teaches connection to only the shifter module 110);
when the battery pack and the external device are matched and connected (when attached), the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are connected correspondingly (implicit by connecting), the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected correspondingly (implicit by connecting), and the first level shifter module is connected to the second level shifter module by using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, so as to carry out data transmission between the first processing module and the second processing module (the second communication terminal D2 of the battery pack 20 and the first communication terminal D1 of the power tool 100 are electrically connected, and the first communication circuit 100 and second communication circuit 200 are electrically connected through D1 and D2, and therefore the first processor 800 is electrically connected to the first communication circuit and the second processor 900 is electrically connected to the second communication circuit 200, and the first processor 800 is electrically connected to the first shift level shifter module 100 and the second processor is electrically connected to the first level shifter module, as the first processing module is disclosed to be electrically connected to the first level shifter module and the second but the prior art does not teach the level shifter also in the battery. Data is transmitted between the tool and battery at first and second transmission voltage via communication between the first and second components.
the first level shifter module receives data from the first processing module or sends data to the first processing module at a first transmission voltage (discussed above) but the prior art does not teach the second level shifter module receives data from the second processing module or sends data to the second processing module at a second transmission voltage, and also Chevron is silent to a preset voltage source is arranged between the first level shifter module and the second level shifter module, and the preset voltage source is configured to provide a preset voltage; when the first level shifter module sends data to the second level shifter module, the first level shifter module is configured to switch the first transmission voltage to the preset voltage, and the second level shifter module is configured to switch the preset voltage to the second transmission voltage, or when the second level shifter module sends data to the first level shifter module, the second level shifter module is configured to switch the second transmission voltage to the preset voltage, and the first level shifter module is configured to switch the preset voltage to the first transmission voltage; and the preset voltage is greater than the first transmission voltage and the second transmission voltage.
Shenzen teaches such limitations at paragraph 53 and FIG. 1+ wherein a network protection circuit includes a isolation module for isolation and voltage regulation capable of buck or boost processing of the signal to guarantee power and interference immunity. Per FIG. 1, the module is connected between the network connected device and the data transceiving device (shifting module), and thus teaches how the data transfer can be boosted between the receiving and signaling end.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for the expected results of boosted signal for guaranteed power and protection against interference.
Chevron/ Shenzen are silent to explicitly reciting both level shifting modules as part of the battery and external device, (not just part of the external device).
Liebhard teaches such limitations, via the R and T at both the power tool and battery sides, which has bidirectional exchange of data (paragraph [0029]+). Liebhard also teaches the use of a cable and a preset voltage source (FIG. 1+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings for bidirectional control of signal levels, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of bidirectional communications with the level shifting of Chevron, to have the level shifting at both ends (first level shifter and second level shifter was recited) for reliable communications, motivated by the mere duplication of parts (level shifter module of Chevron provided at both sides) for expected results of voltage control.
Re the newly added limitations, though the prior art is silent, Stanke in FIG. 6A+ teaches both the battery pack and the tool have boost-buck circuits, which is interpreted to read functionally on the newly added limitations. Though silent to specific subunits, such a known converted is obviated to have different elements/ units in order to perform as desired.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings for the expected results of boosting or bucking when appropriate for a desired signal devoid/ reduced of disturbances.
Re claim 2, Chevron teaches (see paragraphs 49, 57, and 69 of the specification) that the second communication module 200 further comprises a second receiving circuit 210 and & second transmitting circuit 220 (i.e. It is disclosed that the first transceiver module (shifting module) comprises a first transmitting unit and is first receiving unit): the first communication module comprises a level shifting circuit and a level control circuit (equivalent to a second receiving unit of the second transceiver module/ second shifting module) and a first transmitting circuit (equivalent to a second transmitting unit of the second transceiver module/ shifting unit).
Shenzen teaches the first processing module transmits data to the first transmitting unit at the first transmission voltage, the step-up unit adjusts the transmission voltage of the data from the first transmission voltage to the preset voltage and transmits the data to the second receiving unit at the preset voltage, the second receiving unit adjusts the transmission voltage of the data from the preset voltage to the second transmission voltage and transmits the data to the second processing module at the second transmission voltage; or the second processing module transmits data to the second transmitting unit at the second transmission voltage, the step-up unit adjusts the transmission voltage of the data from the second transmission voltage to the preset voltage and transmits the data to the first receiving unit at the preset voltage, the first receiving unit adjusts the transmission voltage of the data from the preset voltage to the first transmission voltage, and transmit the data to the first processing module at the first transmission voltage, (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1) discloses a network isolation module (booster) connected at end to a network connection device and at the other end to 3 data transceiving device/ shifting module via an electrostatic protection unit, employing boosting of the data transmission voltage at the receiving and signaling ends.
The above features have the same role in Shenzen as in the present application, and are used to guarantee reliability of data transmission, avoid failure, and resist interference by means of increased pressure.
Even further, Liebhard teaches when a high signal is generated it is reduced to an input voltage level, which corresponds to the transmission voltage (which is lower than the preset or high voltage)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to obtain the expected result above.
Re claim 3, though silent, the Examiner notes that prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to not operate above a certain level that could damage components, and thus operating less than or equal to a withstand voltage is an obvious expedient for device protection against wear/ damage.
Re claim 4, Shenzen teaches such limitations (paragraph 53 and FIG. 1 where one end of the booster is connected to the device and the other to the transceiving device/ shifting module through a protection unit with voltage boosting of the data transmission voltage at the receiving end and the signaling end to guarantee reliability of data transmission and resistance to interface, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to combine the teachings for those expected results.
Re claim 5, though silent, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use data lines, as customary in the art, as a convention means to achieving boosting and signal communication, and their use in electronics is not novel.
Re claim 6, a tool has been discussed above.
Re claims 8-10, the limitations have been addressed above re the teachings of the boost-buck units in both the battery and tool wherein the second subunit is interpreted as being in the other of the tool/ battery, and the third and fourth subunit are in the second boost unit and the first and second are in the first boost unit.
Re claim 13, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that pull up resistor be connected at power terminals and at the time can improve the resistance of the bus to interface, as is routine in the art to boost the resistance to the system to interference, and thus one would have been motivated to use a pull up resistor for such expected results, especially as Chevron teaches pull up resistors with the first communication module 100.
Re claims 14-15, the limitations have been discussed above.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner has cited new art to reject the boost-buck limitations, which are interpreted as routine/ conventional in the art, any delay is regretted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the limitations of the various subunits turning on or off based on the type of data received, as recited.
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876