DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, “the filter member equiangularly bisects the angle of the corner”. There is no support in the specification as originally filed to support this limitation. The written description states, “Furthermore, the filter member 13 is disposed in the tubular body 11 inclinedly.” (par 24 of the printed publication) There is no teaching in the written description of an equiangular bisection of the angle of the corner. The figures also do not contain a teaching of an equiangular bisection as the figures can be relied upon to teach an inclined orientation of the filter member that bisects the corner, but nothing explicitly shows an equiangular bisection. Therefore, the amendment to claim 1 introduces new matter.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the angle of the corner" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “an angle of the corner”.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over applicant’s admission of prior art (aapa) in view of Pranger et al. US 2014/0158608 and Uemura et al. US 2022/0023777.
Claim 1, applicant’s admission of prior art teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (50) comprising a tubular body and an opening (51) at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the tubular body having a corner (at 52) between the two opposing openings, the corner extending through an angle defined between the two opposing ends, the joint has a filter member (60) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes (61) and a peripheral edge of the dividing plate connected with the inner wall of the tubular body, the filter member being disposed in the tubular body at the corner (fig. 11 of instant application, see below). Applicant’s admission of prior art does not teach the filter member being inclinedly disposed or the filter member being monolithically formed from the plastic material of the joint.
Pranger teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (210) made of molded plastic (par 29) the joint has a tubular body and an opening at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the tubular body having a corner between the two opposing ends (either corner defined in each half of the canister 210), the joint has a filter member (230) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes and a peripheral edge connected with the inner wall of the tubular body where the filter member is inclinedly disposed with respect to the inner wall of the tubular body on opposing sides of the corner such that the filter member bisects an angle of the corner (fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incline the filter member with respect to the inner wall of the tubular body because the oblique disposition of the filter provides ample open area to avoid presentment of a restrictive orifice where the open area of the screen mesh could be three or more times the cross sectional area of the tubular body (par 30 and 39). Pranger does not specifically teach the filter member equiangularly bisects an angle of the corner. Pranger teaches the major axis of the filter member, and therefore, the angle at which the filter member will be oriented with respect the bisecting the angle of the corner, is determined by the desired open flow area through the filter media (par 30). The recitation of an equiangular bisection is a recitation of a particular angle and thus a particular dimension of the major axis of the oval shaped filter member. The recited equiangular bisection will provide a particular open flow area through the filter media and Pranger specifically teaches adjusting the angle of the filter member to achieve a desired open flow area. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to orient the filter member equiangularly bisecting the angle of the corner to achieve the particular open flow area that an equiangular bisection would provide.
Uemura teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (120) comprising a tubular body and an opening (123, 124) at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the joint has a filter member (110) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes (114) and a peripheral edge (112) of the dividing plate integrally connected with the inner wall of the tubular body, the joint is made of molded plastic material and the joint comprising the tubular body and the filter member is monolithically formed from the molded plastic material (fig. 2, par 18-19). The recitation of the tubular body and filter member being monolithically formed from the plastic material is a recitation of making the tubular body and filter member as an integral unit. [T]he use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice; In re Larson 144 USPQ 23 1952. Uemura teaches a monolithically formed tubular body and filter element and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the tubular body and filter element monolithically because it allows for a filter with a low cost and high productivity (par 9).
The recitation of the joint being made by melting plastic particles into a liquid plastic material and injecting the plastic material into a mold cavity defined inside a mold is a recitation of how the piping filter is made and renders the claim a product by process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USDQ 964 (1985). The prior art to Uemura teaches the piping filter is made of molded plastic and therefore deemed a structural equivalent to the injection molding process recited.
The recitation in lines 10-23 of claim 1 are directed to the structure of the mold and does not provide any further structural limitations to the piping filter.
Claims 2-4, aapa further teaches the tubular body is a bent/90 degree elbow pipe and the filter member is located within the tubular body between the open ends of the tubular body (fig. 11) and therefore is considered to be located at a middle section of the tubular body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Aapa does not disclose a filter disposed in the corner and equiangularly bisecting the corner. Aapa does disclose a filter disposed in a corner as shown in the rejection above. Aapa does not teach the filter equiangularly bisecting the corner, however, that limitation is addressed with respect to Pranger.
Pranger discloses a filter element that bisects a corner of the joint as detailed in the rejection above. Applicant states that Pranger teaches an inclined filter element within a straight section of tubing. The claim requires a corner that is located between the two opposing openings of the tubular body of the joint. There is nothing within claim 1 that disqualifies the tubular body being a straight section of tubing. Pranger does not teach the filter member equiangularly bisecting an angle of the corner, however, this limitation is addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779