DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 6-7 are directed to the structure of the mold cavity and the first slide insert, which is also part of the mold. The mold is not part of the claimed invention as the invention is directed to a piping filter. Therefore, the limitations of claims 6-7 do not provide any further structural limitations to the piping filter.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over applicant’s admission of prior art (aapa) in view of Pranger et al. US 2014/0158608 and Uemura et al. US 2022/0023777.
Claim 1, applicant’s admission of prior art teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (50) comprising a tubular body and an opening (51) at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the tubular body having a corner (at 52) between the two opposing openings, the joint has a filter member (60) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes (61) and a peripheral edge of the dividing plate connected with the inner wall of the tubular body, the filter member being disposed in the tubular body at the corner (fig. 11 of instant application). Applicant’s admission of prior art does not teach the filter member being inclinedly disposed or the filter member being monolithically formed from the plastic material of the joint.
Pranger teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (210) made of molded plastic (par 29) the joint has a tubular body and an opening at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the joint has a filter member (230) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes and a peripheral edge connected with the inner wall of the tubular body where the filter member is inclinedly disposed with respect to the inner wall of the tubular body (fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incline the filter member with respect to the inner wall of the tubular body because the oblique disposition of the filter provides ample open area to avoid presentment of a restrictive orifice where the open area of the screen mesh could be three or more times the cross sectional area of the tubular body (par 30 and 39).
Uemura teaches a piping filter comprising a joint (120) comprising a tubular body and an opening (123, 124) at each end of the tubular body configured to allow fluid to pass therethrough, the joint has a filter member (110) inside the tubular body comprising a dividing plate comprising a plurality of filtering holes (114) and a peripheral edge (112) of the dividing plate integrally connected with the inner wall of the tubular body, the joint is made of molded plastic material and the joint comprising the tubular body and the filter member is monolithically formed from the molded plastic material (fig. 2, par 18-19). The recitation of the tubular body and filter member being monolithically formed from the plastic material is a recitation of making the tubular body and filter member as an integral unit. [T]he use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice; In re Larson 144 USPQ 23 1952. Uemura teaches a monolithically formed tubular body and filter element and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the tubular body and filter element monolithically because it allows for a filter with a low cost and high productivity (par 9).
The recitation of the joint being made by melting plastic particles into a liquid plastic material and injecting the plastic material into a mold cavity defined inside a mold is a recitation of how the piping filter is made and renders the claim a product by process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USDQ 964 (1985). The prior art to Uemura teaches the piping filter is made of molded plastic and therefore deemed a structural equivalent to the injection molding process recited.
The recitation in lines 10-23 are directed to the structure of the mold and does not provide any further structural limitations to the piping filter.
Claims 2-4, aapa further teaches the tubular body is a bent/90 degree elbow pipe and the filter member is located within the tubular body between the open ends of the tubular body (fig. 11) and therefore is considered to be located at a middle section of the tubular body.
Claims 6-7 do not provide any further structural limitations to the claimed apparatus as stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Uemura does not teach the filter member and tubular body monolithically formed from the same liquid plastic material. Uemura teaches two separate embodiments shown in figures 2 and 5c. In figure 5c the filter member (310) and the tubular body (320) are separately molded (par 34). In figure 2 the filter member and tubular body (120) are integrally molded in an injection molding method (par 17-18). The recited integral injection molding process would readily be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as the material of the tubular body and filter member are both formed in the same injection molding process and thus would be monolithically formed from the same plastic materials taught in paragraph 18 of Uemura.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779