Priority
The instant application is a continuation of parent application 15/202,995, now Patent 10,885,429. The instant application is also a continuation of parent application 17/141,981, now Patent 11,748,609.
Examiner notes that the present claims appear identical to the originally filed claims of application 15/202,995 of 7/6/2016. Further, the referenced cited by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement are present in the file folder of a parent application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a resistance adjuster configured to adjust a resistance value in Claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations resistance adjustor configured to adjust a resistance value in each of Claims 1 and 15 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The resistance adjustor is described in paragraphs [0072-0073] of the specification only with regards to function, with no corresponding structure. Specifically, in [0073], “The resistance adjustors implemented for training units 545 and 555 may be any type of resistance adjuster that adjusts resistance values associated with resistive memories to decrease the difference between an output voltage signal and a desired signal,” which does not provide any corresponding structure. Fig. 8A, cited in paragraph [0072], further does not describe a structure for the resistance adjuster. Therefore, Claims 1 and 15 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For the purpose of examination, any circuit element which adjusts the resistance of the resistive memories will be interpreted to read on the claimed resistance adjuster.
Claim 7 recites the limitation the analog neuromorphic circuit crossbar configuration of Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as Claim 1 does not recite any crossbar configuration. For the purpose of examination, Claim 7 will be interpreted as if it had read the analog neuromorphic circuit of Claim 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitation the analog neuromorphic system that implements a plurality of resistive memories. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as this recitation is the first element of the preamble of the claim. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if it had read the analog neuromorphic system of Claim 15 that implements a plurality of resistive memories.
Claims 2-7 and 16-20 are rejected for dependence upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soudry, “Memristor-Based Multilayer Neural Networks With Online Gradient Descent Training.”
Regarding Claim 1, Soudry teaches an analog neuromorphic circuit (pg. 3, 2nd column, last paragraph, “dedicated analog hardware for implementing online gradient descent is described … to implement general MNNs [multi-layer neural networks]”) that implements a plurality of resistive memories (pg. 2, 1st column, 2nd-to-last paragraph, “The proposed scheme uses a memristor as a memory element to store the weight”), comprising: a plurality of resistive memories configured to: provide a resistance to an input voltage signal as the input voltage signal propagates through the plurality of resistive memories generating a first output voltage signal (pg. 4, Fig. 2, where “
x
1
,
…
,
x
M
” are inputs corresponding to input voltage signal “u” that generate a first output voltage signal “
r
1
,
…
,
r
N
”, i.e. pg. 6, 1st column, 4th paragraph – 2nd column, 1st paragraph, “During each read phase, a vector x is given and encoded in
u
and
u
-
… [the signal is passed through the memristors to] obtain
r
=
W
x
”); provide a resistance to a first error signal that propagates through the plurality of resistive memories generating a second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “This last operation requires the additional output
δ
≜
W
T
y
... The additional output can be generated by the circuit in an additional read phase … between the original read and write phases, in which the original role of the input and output lines is inverted” i.e. the first error signal is “y” and the second output voltage signal is
δ
); a first comparator configured to: compare the first output voltage signal to a desired output signal (pg. 7, 2nd column, in between Eqs. (35) & (36), “
y
=
d
-
r
”, the comparator shown on pg. 5, Fig. 4(b), the bottom-right circuit element performing the subtraction; with pg. 3, 1st column, 4th paragraph, “should aim to predict the right desired labels d”), wherein the desired output signal is at a signal level that the first output voltage signal is desired to be within a threshold of the signal level (pg. 8, 1st column, Fig. 5, “training the SNN using gradient descent on the MSE [error] will tend to decrease this error until it converges to some fixed-point” i.e. the error converging denotes desired to be within a threshold of the signal level), generate the first error signal that is representative of a difference between the first output voltage signal and the desired output signal (pg. 7, 2nd column, in between Eqs. (35) & (36), “
y
=
d
-
r
”, the comparator shown on pg. 5, Fig. 4(b), the bottom-right circuit element performing the subtraction to generate the error signal y which is the difference between first output voltage signal r and desired output signal d); and provide the first error signal so that the first error signal propagates back through the plurality of resistive memories (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “This last operation requires the additional output
δ
≜
W
T
y
... The additional output can be generated by the circuit in an additional read phase … between the original read and write phases, in which the original role of the input and output lines is inverted” i.e. the first error signal is “y”, also see pg. 4, Fig. 2 and pg. 5, Fig. 4(b) which illustrate that y propagates back through the plurality of resistive memories); and a resistance adjuster configured to adjust a resistance value associated with each resistive memory (pg. 6, 1st column, 3rd paragraph, “in the updating phase (write), the synaptic weights are updated according to the update rule … in the proposed design, the synaptic weight
W
n
m
is stored using
s
n
m
, the memristor state variable [specifying conductivity/resistance]”) based on the first error signal and the second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “For each layer, a synaptic grid circuit … updates the weight matrix as in (30). This last operation requires the additional output
δ
≜
W
T
y
” i.e. is based on the first error signal y and the second output voltage signal
δ
”) to decrease the output between the first output voltage signal and the desired output signal (pg. 3, 1st column, 4th paragraph, “W is tuned to minimize some measure of error between the estimated and desired labels”, i.e. r and d).
Regarding Claim 3, Soudry teaches the analog neuromorphic circuit of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein the plurality of resistive memories is arranged in a grid configuration that includes at least two rows and at least two columns of resistive memories (pg. 4, Fig. 2, “Every (n,m) node in the grid is a memristor-based synapse”) so that each column of resistive memories is grouped as a vertical neuron configuration and each set of two rows or resistive memories is grouped as a horizontal neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2 has columns and rows of neurons, including groups that are columns and groups that are any two rows).
Regarding Claim 4, Soudry teaches the analog neuromorphic circuit of Claim 3 (and thus the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein the input voltage signal is propagated through each vertical neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the inputs “
x
1
,
…
,
x
M
” are columns/vertical) so that each resistance of each resistive memory included in each of the vertical neuron configurations contribute to the generation of the first output voltage signal (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the outputs“
r
1
,
…
,
r
N
” correspond to rows and thus depend on each resistive memory included in each of the vertical neuron configurations).
Regarding Claim 5, Soudry teaches the analog neuromorphic circuit of Claim 4 (and thus the rejection of Claim 4 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein the first error signal is propagated back through the plurality of resistive memories via each horizontal neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the errors “
y
1
,
…
,
y
N
” are input via rows/horizontal neuron configurations) so that each resistance of each resistive memory included in each of the horizontal neuron configurations contributes to the generation of the second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “in which the original role of the input and output lines is inverted” i.e. for the second read, the inputs are rows/errors/“
y
1
,
…
,
y
N
” and the second output voltage signal δ corresponds to columns and thus depends on each resistive memory included in each of the horizontal neuron configurations).
Regarding Claim 6, Soudry teaches the analog neuromorphic circuit of Claim 5 (and thus the rejection of Claim 5 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein the propagation of the input signal though each of the vertical neuron configurations to generate the first output voltage signal and the propagation of the first error signal back through the plurality of resistive memories via each of the horizontal neuron configurations to generate the second output voltage signal is executed without additional resistive memories associated with additional analog neuromorphic circuits (pg. 4, 1st column, Fig. 2, neither the forward nor backward propagation relies upon any additional resistive memories, only the resistive memories in that
N
×
M
grid).
Regarding Claim 7, Soudry teaches the analog neuromorphic circuit [] of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein each resistive memory is a memristor (pg. 2, 1st column, 2nd-to-last paragraph, “the proposed scheme uses a memristor as a memory element to store the weight”).
Regarding Claim 8, Soudry teaches a method for adjusting resistances of a plurality of resistive memories (pg. 1, 1st column, Abstract, “a method for performing these update operations simultaneously using memristor-based arrays … given a voltage pulse, the conductivity of a memristor will increment”) positioned in an analog neuromorphic circuit (pg. 3, 2nd column, last paragraph, “dedicated analog hardware for implementing online gradient descent is described … to implement general MNNs [multi-layer neural networks]”), comprising: applying an input voltage signal to the neuromorphic circuit (pg. 4, 1st column, Fig. 2, “every node in the grid is a memristor-based synapse that receives voltage input from the shared
u
m
,
u
-
m
, and the
e
n
lines” where specifically
u
m
and
u
-
m
are components of the recited input voltage signal); providing a resistance to the input voltage signal by each resistive memory as the input voltage signal propagates through the plurality of resistive memories to generate a first output voltage signal (pg. 4, Fig. 2, where “
x
1
,
…
,
x
M
” are inputs corresponding to input voltage signal “u” that generate a first output voltage signal “
r
1
,
…
,
r
N
”, i.e. pg. 6, 1st column, 4th paragraph – 2nd column, 1st paragraph, “During each read phase, a vector x is given and encoded in
u
and
u
-
… [the signal is passed through the memristors to] obtain
r
=
W
x
”); comparing the first output voltage signal to a desired output signal (pg. 7, 2nd column, in between Eqs. (35) & (36), “
y
=
d
-
r
” with pg. 3, 1st column, 4th paragraph, “should aim to predict the right desired labels d”), wherein the desired output signal is at a signal level that the first output voltage signal is desired to be within a threshold of the signal level (pg. 8, 1st column, Fig. 5, “training the SNN using gradient descent on the MSE [error] will tend to decrease this error until it converges to some fixed-point” i.e. the error converging denotes desired to be within a threshold of the signal level), generating a first error signal that is representative of a difference between the first output voltage signal and the desired output signal (pg. 7, 2nd column, in between Eqs. (35) & (36), “
y
=
d
-
r
” to generate the first error signal y which is the difference between first output voltage signal r and desired output signal d); providing the first error signal so that the first error signal propagates back through the plurality of resistive memories; providing a resistance to the first error signal by each resistive memory as the first error signal propagates back through the plurality of resistive memories to generate a second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “This last operation requires the additional output
δ
≜
W
T
y
... The additional output can be generated by the circuit in an additional read phase … between the original read and write phases, in which the original role of the input and output lines is inverted” i.e. the first error signal is “y”, also see pg. 4, Fig. 2 and pg. 5, Fig. 4(b) which illustrate that y propagates back through the plurality of resistive memories); and adjusting a resistance value with each resistive memory (pg. 6, 1st column, 3rd paragraph, “in the updating phase (write), the synaptic weights are updated according to the update rule … in the proposed design, the synaptic weight
W
n
m
is stored using
s
n
m
, the memristor state variable [specifying conductivity/resistance]”) based on the first error signal and the second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “For each layer, a synaptic grid circuit … updates the weight matrix as in (30). This last operation requires the additional output
δ
≜
W
T
y
” i.e. is based on the first error signal y and the second output voltage signal
δ
”) to decrease the output between the first output voltage signal and the desired output signal (pg. 3, 1st column, 4th paragraph, “W is tuned to minimize some measure of error between the estimated and desired labels”, i.e. r and d).
Regarding Claim 10, Soudry teaches the method of Claim 8 (and thus the rejection of Claim 8 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches arranging the plurality of resistive memories in a grid configuration that includes at least two rows and at least two columns of resistive memories (pg. 4, Fig. 2, “Every (n,m) node in the grid is a memristor-based synapse”) so that each column of resistive memories is grouped as a vertical neuron configuration and each set of two rows or resistive memories is grouped as a horizontal neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2 has columns and rows of neurons, including groups that are columns and groups that are any two rows).
Regarding Claim 11, Soudry teaches the method of Claim 10 (and thus the rejection of Claim 10 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches propagating the input voltage signal through each vertical neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the inputs “
x
1
,
…
,
x
M
” are columns/vertical) so that each resistance of each resistive memory included in each of the vertical neuron configurations contributes to the generation of the first output voltage signal (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the outputs“
r
1
,
…
,
r
N
” correspond to rows and thus depend on each resistive memory included in each of the vertical neuron configurations).
Regarding Claim 12, Soudry teaches the method of Claim 11 (and thus the rejection of Claim 11 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches propagating back the first error signal through the plurality of resistive memories via each horizontal neuron configuration (pg. 4, Fig. 2, the errors “
y
1
,
…
,
y
N
” are input via rows/horizontal neuron configurations) so that each resistance of each resistive memory included in each of the horizontal neuron configurations contributes to the generation of the second output voltage signal (pg. 7, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, “in which the original role of the input and output lines is inverted” i.e. for the second read, the inputs are rows/errors/“
y
1
,
…
,
y
N
” and the second output voltage signal δ corresponds to columns and thus depends on each resistive memory included in each of the horizontal neuron configurations).
Regarding Claim 13, Soudry teaches the method of Claim 12 (and thus the rejection of Claim 12 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches executing the propagation of the input signal though each of the vertical neuron configurations to generate the first output voltage signal and the propagation of the first error signal back through the plurality of resistive memories via each of the horizontal neuron configurations to generate the second output voltage signal without additional resistive memories associated with additional analog neuromorphic circuits (pg. 4, 1st column, Fig. 2, neither the forward nor backward propagation relies upon any additional resistive memories, only the resistive memories in that
N
×
M
grid).
Regarding Claim 14, Soudry teaches the method of Claim 8 (and thus the rejection of Claim 8 is incorporated). Soudry further teaches wherein each resistive memory is a memristor (pg. 2, 1st column, 2nd-to-last paragraph, “the proposed scheme uses a memristor as a memory element to store the weight”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,429.
Claims 3-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 2-6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,429.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,429.
Claims 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 8-12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,429.
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-18, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,429.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,748,609.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,748,609.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the respective claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
Claims 2, 9, and 15-20 have been searched, but not rejected under either 35 USC 102 nor 35 USC 103.
Claims 2, 9, and 15-20 are rejected for reasons other than prior art.
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122