DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 12-14, 20 are amended.
Claims 9, 11, 18-19 are cancelled.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 6/10/2026 have been entered.
102 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 12-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uh et al (US 20070232123 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 20120107655A1), further in view of Nakamura et al (US 20180351153 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 14,
Uh teaches a battery cover, comprising: a top cover assembly (Figure 1, Element 100) capable of being fixedly connected with a case (Figure 1, element 11) to form an accommodation space (space between the top cover Element 100 and the bottom of the case 11) for accommodating a core (Figure 1, Element 12), and capable of being welded with a tab of the core (Paragraph 0020, 0022); and an insulating support (Figure 1, Element 190) capable of being accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the insulating support and the top cover assembly form an accommodation cavity (annotated figure 1 showing accommodation cavity between top cover and insulating support; Paragraph 0020) for accommodating the tab, and the insulating support is provided with a notch for the tab to pass through (Paragraph 0047; slot 197).
Uh shows in figure 1 (annotated below) that the insulating support is provided with a through hole that communicates with the accommodation cavity area. Uh also teaches a hole through which the electrolytic solution is injected and a vent through which gas generated inside the battery during the operation of the battery passes are formed in the insulation case (Paragraph 0061). The instant specification states that the through holes are designed to facilitate free flow of the electrolyte in the inner space of the core.
Uh also teaches a secondary battery (power battery) comprising a case, a core, and a battery cover as described above (Paragraph 0015).
Uh teaches a top cover assembly that has a cover plate capable of being fixedly connected with the case. Uh does not specifically teach about an upper plastic part and a lower plastic part fixed on opposite sides of the cover plate, the lower plastic part being connected with the insulating support; and a terminal extending through the upper plastic part, the cover plate and the lower plastic part, and being capable of being welded with the tab.
However, Nakamura teaches a power storage device (battery), and associated case 11 and lid member 15 as shown in Figure 1 to 9. Nakamura teaches that there is an outer insulating member 57 (upper plastic part) arranged on the outer surface 15c of the lid member 15. The outer insulating members 57 insulate a positive-electrode external connection terminal 66 and the positive lead terminal 60 from the lid member 15 and insulate a negative-electrode external connection terminal 66 and the negative lead terminal 61 from the lid member 15. The outer insulating members 57 are made of plastic (Paragraph 0037). Nakamura also teaches that there is an inner insulating member 40 (lower plastic part), through which the connecting shaft portion 60a is passed. The connecting shaft portion 60a is part of the positive lead terminal (Paragraph 0044). This is akin to the terminal extending through the upper and lower plastic part, and the cover plate. As seen in Figure 6B, the inner and outer insulating members are arranged on opposite sides of the lid member 15. Also seen in Figure 6B is the connection between the inner insulating member and parts of the insulation cover 90 (insulating support). Nakamura teaches that the electrode tab bundle is joined to a tab joint portion by laser welding, and the tab joint portion to integrate the lid terminal assembly, and the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0092). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lid member arrangement of Nakamura in the top cover assembly of Uh in order to provide plastic insulating members that restrict contact between the lid/top cover and the terminal connecting portion, and insulate the lid and the electrode conductive member (Paragraph 0045).
Uh does not teach that the insulating support is provided with a plurality of through holes arranged in an array, the plurality of through holes include a plurality of first through holes disposed at positions corresponding to the accommodation cavity, and the first through holes are in communication with the recess and configured to allow an electrolyte to be injected therethrough such that the electrolyte contacts the tab in the accommodation cavity.
However, Lee teaches a secondary battery cap assembly 150 that includes an insulation case 156 (Paragraph 0066). Lee also teaches that the electrolytic solution injected through the electrolyte injection hole 151a is provided to the lower electrode assemblies via throughput holes 156a and 156b of the insulation case (Paragraph 0076). This is also seen in Figure 1A that shows the multiple holes on insulation 156. Such throughput holes can be placed in the support of Uh and be disposed at positions corresponding to the accommodation cavity. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of holes arranged in an array on the insulating support such that the electrolyte injected therethrough as shown in Lee into the insulation support of Uh in order to allow electrolyte to be injected into the battery, and to allow the electrode tabs to penetrate the throughholes and then be adhered to the bottom of the cap plate (Paragraph 0069, 0076).
Regarding Claim 2, and Claim 15,
Uh teaches that the insulation case 190 includes a first recess 192 that receives at least a portion of the lower projected part of the cap assembly 100. This structure would make the support detachably connected to the top cover assembly.
Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 16,
Uh teaches the insulating support 190 comprises two support bodies (annotated Figure 3, Element 193) each connected with the top cover assembly (Figure 4 shows that element 193 is connected with top layer part 150), and the notch 197 is formed between the two support bodies.
Regarding Claim 5,
Uh teaches that the first and second electrode tabs are welded to the lower face of the terminal plate (Paragraph 0020, 0022). Uh also teaches the use of insulation tape 18 which is wound around the cathode tab and the anode tab where each extends from the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0036). The instant specification states that the welding mark is a result of ultrasonic welding of the tab to the top cover (Paragraph 0032), and the welding mark is insulated using adhesive tape (Paragraph 0030). Uh does not specifically teach the use of ultrasonic welding. Common welding methods employed in a battery assembly include the use of ultrasonic welds. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a welding mark on the tab that is coated with an insulating glue or insulating adhesive tape in order to prevent a short circuit between pole plates (Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 7, and Claim 17,
Uh shows in figure 4 (annotated), a space that forms the accommodation cavity is a cuboid-shaped cavity. Uh teaches that a space is formed between the second portion 152 of the terminal plate 150 and the upper face of the insulation case 190. The first electrode tab 17 that extends from a first electrode 15 of the electrode assembly 12 and passes through the slot 197 formed in the plate portion 191 extends into the space between the second portion of the terminal plate 150 and the plate portion 191 of the insulation case 190 and is welded to the lower face of the terminal plate 150. The first electrode tab 17 may be installed by welding to the lower face of the terminal plate 150 in a serpentine type or Z-type configuration.
Regarding Claim 8,
Uh shows in Figure 1 that the insulating support (Element 190) is arranged to abut against the core (Element 12 housed within the case element 11).
Regarding Claim 10,
Uh teaches that deformation of the insulation case is prevented by providing a thick insulation case (Paragraph 0062). This is akin to outer surface of the case is coated with a protective film.
Regarding Claim 13,
Uh teaches that there is a terminal plate 150 which has a second portion 152. This is akin to the lower terminal block of the terminal. Uh teaches that first electrode tab 17 that extends from a first electrode 15 of the electrode assembly 12 and passes through the slot 197 formed in the plate portion 191 extends into the space between the second portion of the terminal plate 150 and the plate portion 191 of the insulation case 190 and is welded to the lower face of the terminal plate 150. Per Figure 1 of Uh, the notch/slot is disposed toward the lower terminal block at the end of the terminal.
Regarding Claim 20,
Uh does not teach that the lower plastic part or the insulating support is provided with a recess, and the accommodation cavity is formed by the lower plastic part and the insulating support.
However, as seen in Figure 6B of Nakamura, there is a recess on the insulation cover 90 which forms a positive side gap 95a (Paragraph 0072; an accommodation cavity) that is between the lower plastic part/inner insulating member and insulation cover 90. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a recess and provide a gap between the 2 layers in order to provide a space that receives the terminal connecting portion (Paragraph 0072).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uh et al in view of Lee et al and Nakamura et al, further in view of Zheng et al (US 20190109302 A1)
Uh teaches a notch/slot, but does not specifically teach that the notch is provided with a fillet or rounded corner along a thickness direction of the insulating support.
However, Zheng teaches a battery cap assembly that includes a lower insulator plate (figure 1, Element 40) and has an opening/hole/notch with rounded corners along thickness direction as annotated in the figure below. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rounded corners on the notch in order to provide a proper opening for the electrode lead out.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Uh does not disclose the amended features of Claim 1 regarding the plurality of throughholes, and first throughholes. Examiner points to rejection above which utilizes the prior art reference of Lee to show that the insulation support has a plurality of electrolyte injection holes in an array. Hence, the combination of Uh in view of Lee supports the rejection of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783 /MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783