DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of Claims Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Uh et al (US 2007023 2 123 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, and Claim 14, Uh teaches a battery cover, comprising: a top cover assembly (Figure 1, Element 100) capable of being fixedly connected with a case (Figure 1, element 11) to form an accommodation space ( space between the top cover Element 100 and the bottom of the case 11) for accommodating a core (Figure 1, Element 12) , and capable of being welded with a tab of the core (Paragraph 0020, 0022) ; and an insulating support (Figure 1, Element 190) capable of being accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the insulating support and the top cover assembly form an accommodation cavity (annotated figure 1 showing accommodation cavity between top cover and insulating support; Paragraph 0020) for accommodating the tab, and the insulating support is provided with a notch for the tab to pass through (Paragraph 0047; slot 197) . Uh also teaches a secondary battery (power battery) comprising a case, a core, and a battery cover as described above (Paragraph 0015). Regarding Claim 2, and Claim 15, Uh teaches that the insulation case 190 includes a first recess 192 that receives at least a portion of the lower projected part of the cap assembly 100 . This structure would make the support detachably connected to the top cover assembly. Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 16, Uh teaches the insulating support 190 comprises two support bodies (annotated Figure 3, Element 193) each connected with the top cover assembly (Figure 4 shows that element 193 is connected with top layer part 150) , and the notch 197 is formed between the two support bodies. Regarding Claim 6, Claim 7, and Claim 17, Uh shows in figure 4 (annotated) , a space that forms the accommodation cavity is a cuboid-shaped cavity. Uh teaches that a space is formed between the second portion 152 of the terminal plate 150 and the upper face of the insulation case 190. The first electrode tab 17 that extends from a first electrode 15 of the electrode assembly 12 and passes through the slot 197 formed in the plate portion 191 extends into the space between the second portion of the terminal plate 150 and the plate portion 191 of the insulation case 190 and is welded to the lower face of the terminal plate 150. The first electrode tab 17 may be installed by welding to the lower face of the terminal plate 150 in a serpentine type or Z-type configuration. Regarding Claim 8 , Uh shows in Figure 1 that the insulating support (Element 190) is arranged to abut against the core (Element 12 housed within the case element 11) . Regarding Claim 9 , and Claim 18, Uh shows in figure 1 (annotated below) that the insulating support is provided with a through hole that communicates with the accommodation cavity area. Uh also teaches a hole for through which the electrolytic solution is injected and a vent through which gas generated inside the battery during the operation of the battery passes are formed in the insulation case (Paragraph 0061) . Uh teaches the presence of a n electrolytic solution feeding hole 112 which is formed on the other side of the cap plate 110 to feed an electrolytic solution into the can 11 (Paragraph 0041) . The instant specification states that the through holes are designed to facilitate free flow of the electrolyte in the inner space of the core. Regarding Claim 10 , Uh teaches that d eformation of the insulation case is prevented by providing a thick insulation case (Paragraph 0062). This is akin to outer surface of the case is coated with a protective film . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uh et al. Uh teaches that the first and second electrode tabs are welded to the lower face of the terminal plate (Paragraph 0020, 0022). Uh also teaches the use of insulation tape 18 which is wound around the cathode tab and the anode tab where each extends from the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0036). The instant specification states that the welding mark is a result of ultrasonic welding of the tab to the top cover (Paragraph 0032), and the welding mark is insulated using adhesive tape (Paragraph 0030). Uh does not specifically teach the use of ultrasonic welding. Common welding methods employed in a battery assembly include the use of ultrasonic welds. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a welding mark on the tab that is coated with an insulating glue or insulating adhesive tape in order to prevent a short circuit between pole plates (Paragraph 0036) . Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uh et al in view of Zheng et al (US 20 190109302 A1 ) Uh teaches a notch/slot, but does not specifically teach that the notch is provided with a fillet or rounded corner along a thickness direction of the insulating support. However, Zheng teaches a battery cap assembly that includes a lower insulator plate (figure 1, Element 40) and has an opening/hole/notch with rounded corners along thickness direction as annotated in the figure below. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rounded corners on the notch in order to provide a proper opening for the electrode lead out. Claim s 11 -13, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uh et al in view of Nakamura et al (US 20180351153 A1). Regarding Claim 11, and Claim 19, Uh teaches a top cover assembly that has a cover plate capable of being fixedly connected with the case . Uh does not specifically teach about an upper plastic part and a lower plastic part fixed on opposite sides of the cover plate, the lower plastic part being connected with the insulating support; and a terminal extending through the upper plastic part, the cover plate and the lower plastic part, and being capable of being welded with the tab. However, Nakamura teaches a power storage device (battery), and associated case 11 and lid member 15 as shown in Figure 1 to 9. Nakamura teaches that there is an outer insulating member 57 (upper plastic part) arranged on the outer surface 15c of the lid member 15. The outer insulating members 57 insulate a positive-electrode external connection terminal 66 and the positive lead terminal 60 from the lid member 15 and insulate a negative-electrode external connection terminal 66 and the negative lead terminal 61 from the lid member 15. The outer insulating members 57 are made of plastic (Paragraph 0037) . Nakamura also teaches that there is an inner insulating member 40 (lower plastic part) , through which the connecting shaft portion 60a is passed. The connecting shaft portion 60a is part of the positive lead terminal (Paragraph 0044). This is akin to the terminal extending through the upper and lower plastic part, and the cover plate. As seen in Figure 6B, the inner and outer insulating members are arranged on opposite sides of the lid member 15. Also seen in Figure 6B is the connection between the inner insulating member and parts of the insulation cover 90 (insulating support). Nakamura teaches that the electrode tab bundle is joined to a tab joint portion by laser welding, and the tab joint portion to integrate the lid terminal assembly, and the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0092). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lid member arrangement of Nakamura in the top cover assembly of Uh in order to provide plastic insulating members that restrict contact between the lid/top cover and the terminal connecting portion, and insulate the lid and the electrode conductive member (Paragraph 0045). Regarding Claim 12, and Claim 20, Uh does not teach that the lower plastic part or the insulating support is provided with a recess, and the accommodation cavity is formed by the lower plastic part and the insulating support. However, as seen in Figure 6B of Nakamura, there is a recess on the insulation cover 90 which forms a positive side gap 95a (Paragraph 0072; an accommodation cavity) that is between the lower plastic part/inner insulating member and insulation cover 90. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a recess and provide a gap between the 2 layers in order to provide a space that receives the terminal connecting portion (Paragraph 0072). Regarding Claim 13, Uh teaches that there is a terminal plate 150 which has a second portion 152. This is akin to the lower terminal block of the terminal. Uh teaches that first electrode tab 17 that extends from a first electrode 15 of the electrode assembly 12 and passes through the slot 197 formed in the plate portion 191 extends into the space between the second portion of the terminal plate 150 and the plate portion 191 of the insulation case 190 and is welded to the lower face of the terminal plate 150 . Per Figure 1 of Uh, the notch/slot is disposed toward the lower terminal block at the end of the terminal. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6278 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Maria Veronica D. Ewald can be reached on 571-272-8519 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1783 /MARIA V EWALD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783