DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (JP 2017147128 A) in view of Wang et al. (CN 105977521 A) and further in view of Li et al. (CN 114628839 A). All citations to Kobayashi unless specified otherwise.
Re claim 1, Kobayashi et al. show a system (Fig. 11) for extinguishing a fire occurring in a high-voltage battery for a vehicle, the system comprising:
a battery cell assembly (31) in which a plurality of battery cells (2) are stacked each other;
an extinguishing-liquid tank (33/49) inside which an extinguishing liquid is stored;
an extinguishing-liquid supply line (38/43) connecting the extinguishing-liquid tank and the inside of the battery cell assembly (31) to each other;
a coolant joining line (see annotated figure) branching off from a coolant line (see annotated figure) through which a coolant circulates along the outside of the battery cell assembly and a radiator (34; paragraph 0044) and connected to the extinguishing-liquid supply line (38), the coolant being supplied to the inside of the battery cell assembly (31) through the coolant joining line; and
a control unit (41) configured to perform control so that the extinguishing liquid and the coolant are supplied to the inside of the battery cell assembly through the extinguishing-liquid supply line and the coolant joining line, when the control unit concludes that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly (paragraphs 0071 through 0073),
wherein when the control unit (41) concludes that an abnormality has occurred in the battery cell assembly, the control unit is configured to stop a water pump (35) from operating (paragraph 0074).
Kobayashi et al. does not teach a steam discharge valve which is configured to discharge steam out of a battery pack in which the battery cell assembly is mounted in a case where pressure inside the battery pack is increased, the steam discharge valve disposed in one side of the battery pack; and
a sensor configured for determining water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant, which are supplied into the batterv pack,
wherein when the control unit concludes that a water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant reaches a preset water level at which the battery cell assembly is immersed, the control unit is configured to stop a water pump from operating.
However, Wang et al. show a steam discharge valve (12) which is configured to discharge steam out of a battery pack (1) in which the battery cell assembly (3) is mounted in a case where pressure inside the battery pack is increased, the steam discharge valve (12) disposed in one side (11) of the battery pack (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system in Kobayashi et al. include a steam discharge valve as taught by Wang et al. to take away the redundant battery heat set (Wang – paragraph 0017).
Further, Li et al. demonstrate a sensor (Fig. 1, 14) configured for determining water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant (paragraph 0019), which are supplied into the batterv pack (1),
wherein when a control unit (paragraph 0019) concludes that a water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant reaches a preset water level at which the battery cell assembly is immersed, the control unit is configured to stop a water pump from operating (paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system in Kobayashi et al. include a sensor and monitor the water level as taught by Li et al. to ensure the battery temperature does not get too low (Li – paragraphs 0018 & 0019).
Re claim 6, Kobayashi et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show the extinguishing liquid and the coolant are supplied, and thus the battery cell assembly starts to be immersed in the extinguishing liquid and the coolant, the control unit (41) is configured to operate a water pump (35) so that the water pump produces a maximum output (paragraph 0070).
Re claim 8, Kobayashi et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show a temperature sensor (42),
wherein the temperature sensor which is configured to detect a temperature of the battery cell assembly (31) is provided inside a battery pack (140) in which the battery cell assembly (31) is mounted, and
wherein, when the temperature of the battery cell assembly (31) which is input from the temperature sensor (42) is a same as or higher than a thermal runaway temperature, the control unit (41) is configured to conclude that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly.
Re claim 10, Kobayashi et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show a lower cooling passage (see annotated figure) formed to one side of the battery cell assembly and is connected to the coolant line (see annotated figure), so that the coolant is directly supplied to an outer surface of the battery cell assembly (31).
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich et al. (DE 102021211577 A1) in view of Wang et al. (CN 105977521 A) and further in view of Li et al. (CN 114628839 A). All citations to Dietrich unless specified otherwise.
Re claim 1, Dietrich et al. show a system (Figs. 4 & 5) for extinguishing a fire occurring in a high-voltage battery for a vehicle, the system comprising:
a battery cell assembly (110) in which a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 2, 130; paragraph 0024) are stacked each other;
an extinguishing-liquid tank (paragraph 0034) inside which an extinguishing liquid is stored;
an extinguishing-liquid supply line (212/122) connecting the extinguishing-liquid tank and the inside of the battery cell assembly (110) to each other;
a coolant joining line (see annotated figure) branching off from a coolant line (102) through which a coolant circulates along the outside of the battery cell assembly and a heat exchanger (130; paragraph 0028) and connected to the extinguishing-liquid supply line (212/222), the coolant being supplied to the inside of the battery cell assembly (110) through the coolant joining line; and
a control unit (Fig. 5) configured to perform control so that the extinguishing liquid and the coolant are supplied to the inside of the battery cell assembly through the extinguishing-liquid supply line and the coolant joining line, when the control unit concludes that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly (paragraphs 0040-0044).
Dietrich et al. does not specifically teach a radiator, a steam discharge valve which is configured to discharge steam out of a battery pack in which the battery cell assembly is mounted in a case where pressure inside the battery pack is increased, the steam discharge valve disposed in one side of the battery pack; and
a sensor configured for determining water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant, which are supplied into the batterv pack,
wherein when the control unit concludes that a water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant reaches a preset water level at which the battery cell assembly is immersed, the control unit is configured to stop a water pump from operating.
However, Wang et al. show a radiator (abstract), a steam discharge valve (12) which is configured to discharge steam out of a battery pack (1) in which the battery cell assembly (3) is mounted in a case where pressure inside the battery pack is increased, the steam discharge valve (12) disposed in one side (11) of the battery pack (1).
The substitution of one known element (heat exchanger in Dietrich) for another (radiator as shown in Wang) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the radiator shown in Wang et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely, a heat exchanger in Dietrich to transfer heat out of the fluid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system in Kobayashi et al. include a steam discharge valve as taught by Wang et al. to take away the redundant battery heat set (Wang – paragraph 0017).
Further, Li et al. demonstrate a sensor (Fig. 1, 14) configured for determining water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant (paragraph 0019), which are supplied into the batterv pack (1),
wherein when a control unit (paragraph 0019) concludes that a water level of the extinguishing liquid and the coolant reaches a preset water level at which the battery cell assembly is immersed, the control unit is configured to stop a water pump from operating (paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system in Kobayashi et al. include a sensor and monitor the water level as taught by Li et al. to ensure the battery temperature does not get too low (Li – paragraphs 0018 & 0019).
Re claim 2, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show an extinguishing-liquid supply valve (230) and a coolant supply valve (242),
wherein the extinguishing-liquid supply valve (230) that allows or disables supplying of the extinguishing liquid is provided in the extinguishing-liquid supply line (122),
wherein the coolant supply valve (242) that allows or disables supplying of the coolant is provided in the coolant joining line (see annotated figure), and
wherein, when the control unit (Fig. 5) concludes that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly, the control unit is configured to perform control so that the extinguishing liquid and the coolant are supplied to the inside of the battery cell assembly, by causing the extinguishing-liquid supply valve (230) and the coolant supply valve (242) to be open (paragraph 0037).
Re claim 3, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show the coolant joining line (see annotated figure) is connected to the extinguishing-liquid supply line (212/122) between the extinguishing-liquid supply valve (230) and the battery cell assembly (110).
Re claim 4, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show a water pump (132) controlled by the control unit and provided between the radiator (Dietrich – 130, Wang - abstract) and the coolant supply valve (242) in the coolant line.
Re claim 5, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show the extinguishing-liquid valve (230) and the coolant supply valve (242) are check valves.
Re claim 6, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. Li et al. show the extinguishing liquid and the coolant are supplied, and thus the battery cell assembly starts to be immersed in the extinguishing liquid and the coolant, the control unit is configured to operate a water pump (132) so that the water pump produces a maximum output (when the pump is on it will be producing a maximum output).
Re claim 8, Dietrich et al. as modified above disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach a temperature sensor,
wherein the temperature sensor which is configured to detect a temperature of the battery cell assembly is provided inside a battery pack in which the battery cell assembly is mounted, and
wherein, when the temperature of the battery cell assembly which is input from the temperature sensor is a same as or higher than a thermal runaway temperature, the control unit is configured to conclude that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly.
However, Wang et al. show a temperature sensor (12),
wherein the temperature sensor (12) which is configured to detect a temperature of the battery cell assembly (1) is provided inside a battery pack (21; abstract) in which the battery cell assembly (1) is mounted, and
wherein, when the temperature of the battery cell assembly (1) which is input from the temperature sensor (12) is a same as or higher than a thermal runaway temperature, the control unit (paragraph 0018) is configured to conclude that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Dietrich et al. include a temperature sensor as taught by Wang et al. to determine when the temperature in the battery is too high (Wang – paragraph 0018).
Re claim 10, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. show a lower cooling passage (121) formed to one side of the battery cell assembly (110) and is connected to the coolant line (102), so that the coolant is directly supplied to an outer surface of the battery cell assembly.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich et al. (DE 102021211577 A1) in view of Wang et al. (CN 105977521 A) and Li et al. (CN 114628839 A) and further in view of Park (KR 102406230 B1).
Re claim 9, Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach an off-gas sensor,
wherein the off-gas sensor which is configured to detect off gas occurring when the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly is provided inside a battery pack in which the battery cell assembly is mounted, and
wherein, when the off-gas sensor detects the off gas, the control unit is configured to determine that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly.
However, Park discloses an off-gas sensor (abstract),
wherein the off-gas sensor (Fig. 2, 4) which is configured to detect off gas occurring when the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly is provided inside a battery pack (1) in which the battery cell assembly is mounted, and
wherein, when the off-gas sensor detects the off gas, the control unit is configured to determine that the fire occurs in the battery cell assembly (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Dietrich et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Li et al. include an off-gas sensor as taught by Park to provide a means of detecting off-gas as when off-gas occurs a risk of explosion is present (Park – paragraph 0018).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752