DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered.
The amendment filed of claims 1 has been acknowledged.
The filing of new claims 15-20 has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “wherein, at least from these images, a value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container is determined, wherein said overall information and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images” is not taught by the prior art Cochran et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0311256-A1, hereinafter “Cochran”).
The examiner used the Cochran paragraph 80. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032).")
“The value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container is determined” maps to ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026).)
The next part of the claim language “and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images” includes the term “and/or” making the second portion of the text an optional feature of the claim.
Examiner’s Note: Additionally, the amended claim 1 adds to the end of the second portion of the claim language, “wherein a normal vector of the rotationally symmetrical element is determined and a recorded image is corrected taking into account the normal vector of the rotationally symmetrical element.” It is ambiguous where the “wherein” would apply to the claim features and could be interpreted as being added to the optional portion of claim 1. Making it clear where the amended feature is being added and/or amending the usage of “and/or” to just “and” would resolve the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 recites the limitation "this layer" in “according to wherein a plane of the rotationally symmetrical element is determined in space, wherein this layer is used for correction.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being taught by Cochran et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0311256-A1, hereinafter “Cochran”) in view of Ono et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0292708-A1, hereinafter “Ono”) .
Regarding claim 1, Cochran teaches: A method for inspecting containers provided with closures,
wherein the closures have a cap portion and a circumferential edge extending around a mouth of the containers, (Fig. 2(a), 108)
and the containers have a rotationally symmetrical element arranged in a region of the mouth of the containers, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the closure ends in a longitudinal direction of the container above the rotationally symmetrical element, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the containers are transported along a predetermined transport path by a transport device and during said transport the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures are (Fig. 1; [0042], "The presently described embodiments relate to a technique to assess or analyze cap (or closure) opening, or removal, torque required for containers having caps (or closures) fitted thereon, or a rotational position of the cap on the bottle. In at least one form, the presently described embodiments relate to a high speed, on-line machine vision system which measures or determines the rotational position of the cap on a bottle, measures or determines the rotational position of the finish or neck portion (e.g. threaded, in most cases) of the same bottle, and then, in some cases, uses such positional information to predict or estimate the torque (e.g. opening or removal torque) that it will take for a consumer to remove the bottle cap from the bottle.")
illuminated by an illumination device, ([0055], "An optional beam splitter 215 may be provided between the lens 210 and a light source 220 (for example, having light emitting elements 225, e.g. Light Emitting Diodes LEDs, configured in suitable arrays to direct light to surfaces of interest such as the top surface of the cap 108 and the support ring 106 of the container 102). If optional beam splitter 215 is used, a lighting array 217 may be provided to generate additional axial lighting or collimated lighting.")
and at least one image recording device records at least two images of the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein the image recording device records at least two spatially resolved images of a portion of the circumferential edge ([0073], "More specifically, as will be illustrated below in connection with a description of example methods according to the presently described embodiments, the system may image the cap to determine the location of the mark for the cap. Once the location of the mark for the cap is known, the entire support ring need not be imaged or processed to locate the mark on the support ring. Only a small arc segment of the support ring need be imaged, e.g. an arc segment where the mark is most likely located. This may be determined in any of a variety of ways including based on apriori knowledge. In such a case, for example, an arc segment may be designated to span a specified distance from the located cap mark. ")
and at least one portion of the rotationally symmetrical element, and an overall information is derived at least from these images, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein, at least from these images, a value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container is determined, wherein said overall information and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images, ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)."; Examiner’s Note – Addition of and/or makes the second part of the feature optional, additionally rotationally symmetrical element maps to just any rotationally symmetrical element even if not currently being viewed at an angle where it is rotationally symmetrical.)
wherein a normal vector of the rotationally symmetrical element is determined and a recorded image is corrected taking into account the normal vector of the rotationally symmetrical (Examiner’s Note – This claim language is part of an optional feature. However, if it was instead a non-optional feature Ono et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0292708-A1, hereinafter “Ono”) could be seen as relevant to the feature at hand in a 103. [0107], “When the correction command of the position of the circle which is the position index of the bottle index on the touchscreen 410 is detected, the input analysis modules 3007 and 3008 detect the correction position of the circle commanded on the screen, and detect the pixel coordinates of the center of the circle at this correction position as a commanded position. When the correction command of the direction of the arrow which is the posture index on the touchscreen 410 is detected, the input analysis modules 3007 and 3008 detect a correcting direction of the arrow commanded on the screen, and detect the pixel coordinates indicative of the direction of the arrow in this correcting direction (for example, a vector component of the arrow) as a commanded posture.” )
Regarding claim 2, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the portion of the circumferential edge and/or the rotationally symmetrical element includes an angle that is greater than 90*. (Fig. 1; [0080], "Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)."; Examiner's note - This describes the cap and bottle itself and any feature on the cap that could be measured as greater than 90 degrees would map.)
Regarding claim 3, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the rotationally symmetrical element is selected from a group of rotationally symmetrical elements consisting of a support ring of a plastic container, a mouth tip, a thread mouthpiece, a circumferential recess for gripping the container and a security ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Regarding claim 4, Cochran teaches: The method according claim 1,
wherein at least one second image recording device records at least one spatially resolved image of a portion of the circumferential edge and/or at least a portion of the rotationally symmetrical element. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 5, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein a development image is formed at least from the image recorded by the first image recording device and the image recorded by the second image recording device. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 9, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein images of the circumferential edge and the closure are recorded using three image recording devices. ([0045], "Multiple views and/or multiple cameras could be used. The system, which can include a variety of features including many of the features described below, obtains an image or images using one or more cameras.")
Regarding claim 10, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one image recording device records the containers from a direction which with a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the container includes an angle of less than 30* (Fig. 1; [0080], "Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)."; Examiner's note - This describes the cap and bottle itself and any feature on the cap that could be measured as greater than 90 degrees would map.)
Regarding claim 11, Cochran teaches: The method according to The method according to wherein with at least one image a structure and/or an outer surface of the circumferential edge is captured. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 12, Cochran teaches: An apparatus for inspecting containers provided with closures,
wherein the closures have a cap portion and a circumferential edge extending around a mouth of the containers, (Fig. 2(a), 108)
and the containers have a rotationally symmetrical element arranged in a region of the mouth of the containers, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the closure ends above the rotationally symmetrical element in a longitudinal direction of the container, (Fig. 4, 108)
having a transport device which transports the containers along a predetermined transport path, (Fig. 1; [0042], "The presently described embodiments relate to a technique to assess or analyze cap (or closure) opening, or removal, torque required for containers having caps (or closures) fitted thereon, or a rotational position of the cap on the bottle. In at least one form, the presently described embodiments relate to a high speed, on-line machine vision system which measures or determines the rotational position of the cap on a bottle, measures or determines the rotational position of the finish or neck portion (e.g. threaded, in most cases) of the same bottle, and then, in some cases, uses such positional information to predict or estimate the torque (e.g. opening or removal torque) that it will take for a consumer to remove the bottle cap from the bottle.")
and an illumination device which illuminates the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures, ([0055], "An optional beam splitter 215 may be provided between the lens 210 and a light source 220 (for example, having light emitting elements 225, e.g. Light Emitting Diodes LEDs, configured in suitable arrays to direct light to surfaces of interest such as the top surface of the cap 108 and the support ring 106 of the container 102). If optional beam splitter 215 is used, a lighting array 217 may be provided to generate additional axial lighting or collimated lighting.")
and having at least one image recording device which is configured for recording at least one spatially resolved image of the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures,([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein the at least one image recording device is configured for recording at least two spatially resolved images of a portion of the circumferential edge and at least one portion of the rotationally symmetrical element,([0073], "More specifically, as will be illustrated below in connection with a description of example methods according to the presently described embodiments, the system may image the cap to determine the location of the mark for the cap. Once the location of the mark for the cap is known, the entire support ring need not be imaged or processed to locate the mark on the support ring. Only a small arc segment of the support ring need be imaged, e.g. an arc segment where the mark is most likely located. This may be determined in any of a variety of ways including based on apriori knowledge. In such a case, for example, an arc segment may be designated to span a specified distance from the located cap mark. ")
and a processor device is provided which is configured for deriving from these at least two recorded images an overall information and for determining from at least these images a value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein said overall information and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032).")
Regarding claim 13, Cochran teaches: The apparatus according to The apparatus according to wherein the processor device is configured for determining a value characteristic of a position and/or location of the support ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Regarding claim 14, Cochran teaches: The apparatus according to The apparatus according to wherein the processor device is configured for determining a value characteristic of a position and/or location of the support ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Regarding claim 15, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1 wherein in order to determine a position of the rotationally symmetrical element and/or the normal vector of the rotationally symmetrical element, specific support points of said rotationally symmetric element are determined. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032).")
Regarding claim 16, Cochran teaches: The method of claim 1 according to wherein in order to determine said position and/or said normal vector, a first lateral outer edge and/or a position thereof is determined, and a second lateral outer edge and/or a position thereof is determined. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)." Examiner’s Note – There is not language describing first or second lateral edge besides being an “outer edge”. Prior art finding the cap and neck location maps to the claimed invention.)
Regarding claim 17, Cochran teaches: The method of claim 1 according to wherein an edge of the container closure or an axis of symmetry of the container closure is determined here, which can be carried out by image evaluation. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)”)
Regarding claim 18, Cochran teaches: The method of claim 1 according to wherein an observation system which has at least two image recording devices is calibrated. ([0042], “Multiple views and/or multiple cameras could be used. The system, which can include a variety of features including many of the features described below, obtains an image or images using one or more cameras.”; Examiner’s Note – How calibration is done is not listed and a multi camera setup in prior art is calibrated as it is with the views it has when it was set up necessarily. Therefore prior art maps to claimed language.)
Regarding claim 19, Cochran teaches: The method of claim 18 according to wherein this calibration is carried out such that a relative position of a first image recording device with respect to a second image recording device is determined. ([0058], “With reference now to FIG. 2(c), a system 250 showing multiple cameras is illustrated. In the system 250, a support ring camera 255 is provided with a telecentric lens 270. Of course, as above, the camera 255 (e.g. and camera 260) may take a variety of forms. Likewise, although a telecentric lens is illustrated, other types of lens systems may be incorporated in the system. A beam splitter 265 is optional but, in one form, is disposed between the support ring camera 255 and the lens 270. Also shown is a cap camera 260 positioned to make use of the beam splitter 265 and telecentric lens 270 as well. An optional beam splitter 275 may be provided between the lens 270 and a light source 280 (for example, having light emitting elements 285, e.g. Light Emitting Diodes LEDs, configured in suitable arrays to direct light to surfaces of interest such as the top surface of the cap 108 and the support ring 106 of the container 102). If the optional beam splitter 275 is used, a lighting array 277 may be provided to generate additional axial lighting or collimated lighting.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ono et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0292708-A1, hereinafter “Ono”).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JINSU HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667