DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2025, 03/07/2025, 04/26/2024, and 01/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the development image" in “wherein from the development image and/or the overall information, the value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container is determined“. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the development image" in “wherein the development image represents a 3600 representation of the peripheral edge and/or of the rotationally symmetrical element“. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the development image" in “wherein the correction is carried out relative to a position and/or a location of the rotationally symmetrical element “. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being taught by Cochran et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0311256-A1, hereinafter “Cochran”).
Regarding claim 1, Cochran teaches: A method for inspecting containers provided with closures,
wherein the closures have a cap portion and a circumferential edge extending around a mouth of the containers, (Fig. 2(a), 108)
and the containers have a rotationally symmetrical element arranged in a region of the mouth of the containers, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the closure ends in a longitudinal direction of the container above the rotationally symmetrical element, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the containers are transported along a predetermined transport path by a transport device and during said transport the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures are (Fig. 1; [0042], "The presently described embodiments relate to a technique to assess or analyze cap (or closure) opening, or removal, torque required for containers having caps (or closures) fitted thereon, or a rotational position of the cap on the bottle. In at least one form, the presently described embodiments relate to a high speed, on-line machine vision system which measures or determines the rotational position of the cap on a bottle, measures or determines the rotational position of the finish or neck portion (e.g. threaded, in most cases) of the same bottle, and then, in some cases, uses such positional information to predict or estimate the torque (e.g. opening or removal torque) that it will take for a consumer to remove the bottle cap from the bottle.")
illuminated by an illumination device, ([0055], "An optional beam splitter 215 may be provided between the lens 210 and a light source 220 (for example, having light emitting elements 225, e.g. Light Emitting Diodes LEDs, configured in suitable arrays to direct light to surfaces of interest such as the top surface of the cap 108 and the support ring 106 of the container 102). If optional beam splitter 215 is used, a lighting array 217 may be provided to generate additional axial lighting or collimated lighting.")
and at least one image recording device records at least two images of the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein the image recording device records at least two spatially resolved images of a portion of the circumferential edge ([0073], "More specifically, as will be illustrated below in connection with a description of example methods according to the presently described embodiments, the system may image the cap to determine the location of the mark for the cap. Once the location of the mark for the cap is known, the entire support ring need not be imaged or processed to locate the mark on the support ring. Only a small arc segment of the support ring need be imaged, e.g. an arc segment where the mark is most likely located. This may be determined in any of a variety of ways including based on apriori knowledge. In such a case, for example, an arc segment may be designated to span a specified distance from the located cap mark. ")
and at least one portion of the rotationally symmetrical element, and an overall information is derived at least from these images, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein, at least from these images, a value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container is determined, wherein said overall information and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032).")
Regarding claim 2, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the portion of the circumferential edge and/or the rotationally symmetrical element includes an angle that is greater than 90*. (Fig. 1; [0080], "Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)."; Examiner's note - This describes the cap and bottle itself and any feature on the cap that could be measured as greater than 90 degrees would map.)
Regarding claim 3, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the rotationally symmetrical element is selected from a group of rotationally symmetrical elements consisting of a support ring of a plastic container, a mouth tip, a thread mouthpiece, a circumferential recess for gripping the container and a security ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Regarding claim 4, Cochran teaches: The method according claim 1,
wherein at least one second image recording device records at least one spatially resolved image of a portion of the circumferential edge and/or at least a portion of the rotationally symmetrical element. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 5, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1,
wherein a development image is formed at least from the image recorded by the first image recording device and the image recorded by the second image recording device. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 9, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein images of the circumferential edge and the closure are recorded using three image recording devices. ([0045], "Multiple views and/or multiple cameras could be used. The system, which can include a variety of features including many of the features described below, obtains an image or images using one or more cameras.")
Regarding claim 10, Cochran teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one image recording device records the containers from a direction which with a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the container includes an angle of less than 30* (Fig. 1; [0080], "Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032)."; Examiner's note - This describes the cap and bottle itself and any feature on the cap that could be measured as greater than 90 degrees would map.)
Regarding claim 11, Cochran teaches: The method according to The method according to wherein with at least one image a structure and/or an outer surface of the circumferential edge is captured. ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
Regarding claim 12, Cochran teaches: An apparatus for inspecting containers provided with closures,
wherein the closures have a cap portion and a circumferential edge extending around a mouth of the containers, (Fig. 2(a), 108)
and the containers have a rotationally symmetrical element arranged in a region of the mouth of the containers, (Fig. 4, 108)
wherein the closure ends above the rotationally symmetrical element in a longitudinal direction of the container, (Fig. 4, 108)
having a transport device which transports the containers along a predetermined transport path, (Fig. 1; [0042], "The presently described embodiments relate to a technique to assess or analyze cap (or closure) opening, or removal, torque required for containers having caps (or closures) fitted thereon, or a rotational position of the cap on the bottle. In at least one form, the presently described embodiments relate to a high speed, on-line machine vision system which measures or determines the rotational position of the cap on a bottle, measures or determines the rotational position of the finish or neck portion (e.g. threaded, in most cases) of the same bottle, and then, in some cases, uses such positional information to predict or estimate the torque (e.g. opening or removal torque) that it will take for a consumer to remove the bottle cap from the bottle.")
and an illumination device which illuminates the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures, ([0055], "An optional beam splitter 215 may be provided between the lens 210 and a light source 220 (for example, having light emitting elements 225, e.g. Light Emitting Diodes LEDs, configured in suitable arrays to direct light to surfaces of interest such as the top surface of the cap 108 and the support ring 106 of the container 102). If optional beam splitter 215 is used, a lighting array 217 may be provided to generate additional axial lighting or collimated lighting.")
and having at least one image recording device which is configured for recording at least one spatially resolved image of the mouth regions of the containers provided with the closures,([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein the at least one image recording device is configured for recording at least two spatially resolved images of a portion of the circumferential edge and at least one portion of the rotationally symmetrical element,([0073], "More specifically, as will be illustrated below in connection with a description of example methods according to the presently described embodiments, the system may image the cap to determine the location of the mark for the cap. Once the location of the mark for the cap is known, the entire support ring need not be imaged or processed to locate the mark on the support ring. Only a small arc segment of the support ring need be imaged, e.g. an arc segment where the mark is most likely located. This may be determined in any of a variety of ways including based on apriori knowledge. In such a case, for example, an arc segment may be designated to span a specified distance from the located cap mark. ")
and a processor device is provided which is configured for deriving from these at least two recorded images an overall information and for determining from at least these images a value characteristic of a relative position of the closure relative to the container, ([0061], "It should be appreciated that, with two cameras, images may be obtained simultaneously or non-simultaneously (e.g. sequentially), depending on the application. The processing or computer system 130 (of FIG. 1) is configured to analyze the first image and the second image to determine a removal torque required to remove the cap from the container or a rotational position. The processor or computer system 130 may also determine whether the removal torque is acceptable, perform at least one of sending a reject signal to reject the container and sending a feedback control signal to the capping system, e.g. to adjust torque applied by the capping machine, if the removal torque or rotational position is not acceptable, and repeat analyzing, determining and performing for subsequent caps fitted to containers.")
wherein said overall information and/or the characteristic value is corrected relative to a position of the rotationally symmetrical element determined from the images. ([0080], "The cap or closure fiducial is then located (at 1018). A process is then conducted to determine the correct neck ring fiducial search location (at 1020). As noted above, the entire neck or support ring may not need to be analyzed, only an arc segment thereof. The neck ring fiducial is then located (at 1022). The angular distance between the neck ring fiducial and the closure fiducial is then calculated (at 1024). Optionally, then, a determination is then made whether the calculated angle is within specification (at 1026). If not, optionally, a reject signal is provided to the reject mechanism (at 1028). Also, optionally, feedback is provided to the capper machine (at 1030). Next, the technique is repeated for subsequent bottles (at 1032).")
Regarding claim 13, Cochran teaches: The apparatus according to The apparatus according to wherein the processor device is configured for determining a value characteristic of a position and/or location of the support ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Regarding claim 14, Cochran teaches: The apparatus according to The apparatus according to wherein the processor device is configured for determining a value characteristic of a position and/or location of the support ring. (Fig. 3; [0051], "Refer, for example, to FIG. 2(a). By comparison of the final rotational position of the bottle finish or neck 104 including the neck or support ring 106 with the final applied rotation of the cap 108, an estimation of the torque that will be required to open the bottle 102 or a rotational position of the cap can be derived. In this regard, the finish area 104 of the bottle 102 and the threads molded into the cap both have tolerance limits/ranges. The estimation of the opening torque will be within its own composite tolerance range. Also, it should be appreciated that, in at least one form, the caps and support rings have fiducials, marks or orientation patterns consistently oriented with respect to a start of the respective thread elements of the cap and bottle or neck portion.")
Conclusion
/JINSU HWANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667