DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Boxtel (US 2021/0115719) in view of Zunzer et al. (US 2021/0101460).
Van Boxtel discloses a sunroof device comprises a roof (2,3’) with an opening (1), and a roof frame attached to the roof (2), as shown in Figure 1, 2, and 10-12.
The roof frame comprises a pair of sliding rails (4) separately arranged corresponding to two sides of the opening, as shown in Figures 1 and 2. An outline of the roof frame does not match an outline of the opening (1) since roof panel (3’) is a stationary panel, as shown in Figures 1 and 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0024]. A window plate assembly (3) is connected to the pair of sliding rails (4) by a pair of link assemblies (5,6), as shown in Figures 2 and 3 and disclosed in paragraph [0026]. The pair of link assemblies (5,6) correspond to the pair of sliding rails (4), as shown in Figures 2 and 3. Each link assembly (5,6) is connected to the window plate assembly (3), as disclosed in paragraph [0026]. Each link assembly (5,6) is disposed on each sliding rail (4) and slides along each sliding rail (4), as shown in Figures 3 and 5-9. Each link assembly (5,6) is connected to the window plate assembly (3), as disclosed in paragraph [0026]. However, Van Boxtel does not disclose a weather strip connected to a periphery of the window plate.
In reference to claim 3, the window plate assembly (3) comprises a glass plate, as disclosed in paragraph [0025].
In reference to claim 11, each sliding rail (4) has a sliding trough (17), as shown in Figure 11 and disclosed in paragraph [0030]. Each link assembly (5,6) is connected to a corresponding sliding trough (17), as shown in Figure 9.
Zunzer et al. teaches providing a weatherproof strip (10) on a periphery of a cover plate (6) to abut against an inner edge (4) of an opening, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 2, the waterproof strip (10) is a hollow tubular shape, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 3, the window plate assembly comprises a frame body (5) disposed around the periphery of the cover plate (6) such that the waterproof strip (10) is attached on an outer edge of the frame body (5), as shown in Figures 4 and 5.
In reference to claim 5, a channel trough is disposed on the outer edge of the frame body (5) and extends along the outer edge of the frame body (5), as shown in Figure 5. The waterproof strip (10) is disposed in the channel trough, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 6, an embedding groove is defined in the channel trough and an embedding strip (12) is disposed protrusively on a side of the waterproof strip (10) and engaged in the embedding groove, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 7, the embedding strip is of a hollow tubular shape, as shown in Figure 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a frame body attached waterproof strip along the outer edge of the glass plate of Van Boxtel, as taught by Zunzer et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a securely attached weather strip to prevent leaks in the vehicle cabin.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Boxtel (US 2021/0115719) and Zunzer et al. (US 2021/0101460), as applied to claim 1,
Van Boxtel, as modified, discloses each link assembly (5,6) is connected to a bracket fixed to the longitudinal sides of the window plate, as shown in Figures 2, 3, and 5-9 are disclosed in paragraph [0025]. However, Van Boxtel, as modified, does not explicitly state the brackets are part of the frame body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the brackets of Van Boxtel, as modified, as an integral part of the frame body with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce parts and simplify assembly.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Boxtel (US 2021/0115719) and Zunzer et al. (US 2021/0101460), as applied to claim 1, in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0377013).
Van Boxtel, as modified, does not disclose the roof frame and sliding rails are spaced from the opening.
Li et al. teaches forming sliding rails (6) and the roof frame (22) are spaced from the opening (3a), as shown in Figures 1B and 3A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the sliding rails of Van Boxtel, as modified, spaced from the opening, as taught by Li et al.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Boxtel (US 2021/0115719) and Zunzer et al. (US 2021/0101460), as applied to claim 1, in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0377013).
Van Boxtel, as modified, does not disclose the roof frame is spaced from the opening.
Li et al. teaches forming sliding rails (6) and the roof frame (22) are spaced from the opening (3a), as shown in Figures 1B and 3A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the roof frame of Van Boxtel, as modified, spaced from the opening, as taught by Li et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide sufficient space for various components like additional seals and electrical wiring.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Boxtel (US 2021/0115719) and Zunzer et al. (US 2021/0101460), as applied to claim 1, in view of Grimaldo et al. (US 2022/0258579).
Van Boxtel, as modified, discloses each sliding rail (4) has a drain trough, as shown in Figure 11. The claim does not require a drain in the trough.
Grimaldo et al. teaches forming a frame body with a guiding plate disposed and extending to a drain trough, as shown in Figure 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a guiding plate on the frame body of Van Boxtel, as modified, that extends to the drain trough, as taught by Grimaldo et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to increase strength and rigidity of the frame body to better support the glass plate.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 November 21, 2025