DETAILED ACTION
Per direction of management, independent claims are rejected with US 9003513 and US 6915436. See 35 USC 103 rejections below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13, and 15-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 12-15, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 1, “a test application”, ll5 should be “a test application from the test applications”. “the test”, ll12 should be “the performed test”.
As per claim 2, “a test application, ll2 should be “the test application from the test applications”. “a test platform”, ll2 should be “the test platform.
As per claim 12, “test application, phone home service, test controller, and test results and analysis server”, ll1-2 should be “the test application from the test applications, the phone home service, the test controller, and the test results and analysis node”.
As per claim 13, “a secure tunnel”, ll2 should be “a secure tunnel from the first secure tunnel and the second secure tunnel.
As per claim 14, see objection on claim 1.
As per claim 15, “the test application is one of a plurality of test applications” ll1-2 should be “the test application from the test applications is one of a plurality of test applications from another set of test applications”.
As per claim 18, see objection on claim 12.
As per claim 20, see objection on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houtchens et al (US 9003513) (hereinafter Houtchens) in view of Booth et al (US 6915436) (hereinafter Booth).
As per claim 1, Houtchens teaches:
A method of a test controller securely controlling a test platform to run test applications, wherein an authenticated connection exists between the test platform for the test controller has been obtained…” (Houtchens, Col. 1, lines 25-34, 50-56);
“…the test controller transmitting an instruction, for loading and preparing a test application, to the test platform over an initiated between the test platform and the test controller;” (Houtchens, Col. 1, lines 25-34, 50-56)
“…the test controller controlling the test platform requesting performance of a requested test using the test application, the requested test using, at least, an established between (i) the test platform and (ii) the test controller, wherein results of the performed test are relayed to a test results and analysis node;” (Houtchens, Fig. 2, Col. 4, lines 54-60);
“…the test controller receiving a confirmation of execution of the test from the test platform.” (Houtchens, Col. 4, lines 54-56) (Booth, Abstract)
Houtchens does not expressly teach:
and a phone home service through which secure tunnel information;
first secure tunnel;
second secure tunnel;
However, Booth discloses:
a phone home service through which secure tunnel information (Booth, Abstract, Col. 11, lines 65-67 provides first secure tunnel);
first secure tunnel (Booth, Abstract, Col. 11, lines 65-67 provides first secure tunnel);
second secure tunnel (Booth, Abstract, Col. 11, lines 65-67 provides second secure tunnel);
Both Booth and Houtchens pertain to the art of system testing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Booth’s secure tunnels because it is well-known in the art that there is a notable advantage of IP tunneling: the possibility to exchange packets with private IP addresses between two intranets over the public Internet, which requires globally unique addresses . . . As globally unique IP addresses are becoming a scarce resource, this interconnection method gains importance (Booth, col 3, ll8-16).
As per claim 14, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 20, see rejection on claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0042126 teaches a method for reporting the results of the self-test to the orchestrator server. US 2009/0013398 teaches a method of storing test results of the agent in the proxy server. A request is then sent to the proxy server to retrieve any test results.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198