DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-44 are pending for examination.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW112115519, filed on 04/26/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, last two lines: change to "or [[and]] an embedded multimedia card (eMMC)"
See [0046] for support
Claim 14, last two lines: change to "or [[and]] an embedded multimedia card (eMMC)"
See [0120] for support
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 22, 35, and 39 recite the limitation "the first control circuit" and “the second control circuit ” in lines 10 and 20, 6 and 17, 11 and 24, and 7 and 18, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-21, 23-34, 36-38, and 40-44 are also rejected as being dependent on Claims 1, 22, 35, and 39, respectively. Examiner interprets “the first control circuit” and “the second control circuit” as “the first control chip” and “the second control chip.” See [0029]; [0034]; [0037] for interchangeable terminology referring to CC1 and CC2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (US 20170010822 A1) in view of TUNG et al. (US 20190166726 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ho discloses a cooling system (Fig. 6-9), comprising:
a cooling device ([0033]: any expander control circuits may include at least one fan as a non-shared component. Fig. 6: cooling device interpreted as a single device with all fans such that each expander control circuit has a dedicated fan as a non-shared component);
a first sensor disposed in the cooling device and configured to measure a parameter of the cooling device during operation (Fig. 8; [0068]: sensor 619-2 shown inside fan 618-2. Measures revolution speed of the fan);
a first management module (Fig. 6; [0058]: expander control circuits 612-1 and 612-2 represent expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1. [0046]: expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1 implemented within expansion module 110-1), comprising:
a first control chip (Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-2. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip”), comprising:
a first heartbeat circuit configured to periodically send a first heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-2 shown sending first heartbeat signal S_HB2);
a first watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the first control circuit ([0067]: expander main circuit 614-2 determines that management module 310-2 cannot connect with expander control circuit 612-2 (e.g. expander control circuit 612-2 does not detect any heartbeat monitoring information from management module 310-2). Monitors connection status of control circuit 612-2) and a second heartbeat signal (Fig. 6; [0057]: expander main circuit 614-2 receives (monitors) second heartbeat signal S_HB1);
a first data sensing port configured to selectively read data measured by the first sensor ([0068]: sub-circuit 616-2 attempts, but ultimately fails, to read revolution speed of fan (e.g., sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2). See Fig. 8 for sensing port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FS2 transmission ends); and
a first data transmitting port configured to selectively output data read by the first data sensing port ([0068]: when sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2 for a predetermined period, sub-circuit 616-2 may transmit FF monitoring signal S_FF. See Fig. 8 for transmitting port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FF transmission arrow begins. S_FF interpreted as a read-out sensor error); and
a second control chip (Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-1. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip”), comprising:
a second heartbeat circuit configured to periodically send the second heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-1 shown sending second heartbeat signal S_HB1);
a second watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the second control circuit (Fig. 8-9; [0067]; [0069]: similar management module heartbeat connection monitoring described with respect to expander control circuit 612-2 and management module 310-2 (Fig. 8) may be applied to expander control circuit 612-1 and management module 310-1 (Fig. 9; Fig. 3; [0046]) since Fig. 9 is reverse takeover configuration of Fig. 8) and the first heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-1 monitors first heartbeat signal S_HB2);
a second data sensing port configured to selectively read the data measured by the first sensor (Fig. 8; [0068]: sub-circuit 616-1 receives S_FF signal generated by sub-circuit 616-2 when sub-circuit 616-2 fails of detect fan sensing signal S_FS2. Sensing port located at the end of S_FF transmission path. S_FF signal interpreted as a read-out sensor error of sensor 619-2); and
a second data transmitting port configured to selectively output data read by the second data sensing port (Fig. 8; [0059]: sub-circuit 616 receives FF monitoring signal from expander control circuit 612-2 (sent by sub-circuit 616-2) and output RFF monitoring signal S_RFF1. Second transmitting port located at beginning of S_RFF1 transmission path of sub-circuit 616-1. S_RFF1 interpreted as a transformed sensor read of S_FF, a previous sensor error read – see above).
Ho does not disclose:
An immersion cooling system, comprising:
a cooling tank;
a first sensor disposed in the cooling tank…;
However, TUNG teaches:
An immersion cooling system (Fig. 1; [0016]: immersion cooling system 1), comprising:
a cooling tank (Fig. 1; [0016]: liquid storage tank 10);
a first sensor disposed in the cooling tank and configured to measure a parameter of the cooling tank during operation ([0019]: various sensors 110a, 120a, 130a to detect gas temperatures in liquid storage tank 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho and TUNG by substituting each fan (Ho: Fig. 6: fans 618-1 and 618-2) for individual cooling tanks (TUNG: Fig. 1) to obtain predictable results (cooling device with sensors). Additionally, liquid cooling is known in the art as a more effective and quieter cooling method compared to air cooling.
Regarding Claim 8, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 1, as referenced above, wherein:
the first control chip further comprises a first status output port for outputting a first status signal according to the status of the first control chip (Ho: [0067]: expander main circuit 614-2 determines that management module 310-2 cannot connect with expander control circuit 612-2 (e.g. expander control circuit 612-2 does not detect any heartbeat monitoring information from management module 310-2). [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander control circuit of a non-survival state of the management module. Thus, when expander main circuit 614-2 determines circuit 614-2 cannot connect with management module 310-2 (e.g., does not detect heartbeat monitoring from module 310-2, does not receive survival command), the expander circuit (612-2) outputs a non-survival status signal via an output terminal); and
the second control chip further comprises a second status output port for outputting a second status signal according to the status of the second control chip (Ho: Fig. 8-9; [0067]; [0069]; [0044]; [0046]: similar mapping, but in the reverse direction for expander control circuit 612-1 and management module 310-1 – see above. Expander control circuit 612-1 comprises output terminal for outputting second logic state according to non-survival state of management module 310-1 (does not detect heartbeat / survival command from module 310-1)).
Regarding Claim 9, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 8, as referenced above, further comprising:
a first alarm device configured to selectively send a first alarm signal based on the first status signal (Ho: [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander control circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander circuit of a non-survival state of the management module, to thereby allow another management module to know the non-survival state of the management module. [0042]: when an expander control circuit receives a reading command of a corresponding management module, the expander control circuit may read a signal of an input terminal of the expander control circuit to know the logic state of an output terminal of another expander control circuit set by the other expander control circuit, such as a first logic state or a second logic state, and the input terminal of the expander control circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the other expander control circuit. The second logic state is both a status and alarm signal indicating the non-survival state of the management module corresponding to the expander control circuit (e.g., Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-2). The second logic state, representing the non-survival state, is effectively sent from the output terminal of an expander control circuit with the corresponding module (e.g., expander control circuit 612-2) to the input terminal of another expander control circuit requesting the read (e.g., expander control circuit 612-1)); and
a second alarm device configured to selectively send a second alarm signal based on the second status signal (Ho: similar mapping but in the opposite direction due to Fig. 8-9 mirrored takeover config – see above. Applies to expander control circuit 612-1 containing output terminal).
Regarding Claim 10, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 8, as referenced above, further comprising:
a logic circuit configured to output a logic signal based on the first status signal and the second status signal (Ho: [0044]: each expander control circuit has an output terminal for to output a second logic state, indicating a non-survival state when the respective expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module); and
an alarm device configured to selectively send an alarm signal based on the logic signal (Ho: [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander control circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander circuit of a non-survival state of the management module, to thereby allow another management module to know the non-survival state of the management module. [0042]: when an expander control circuit receives a reading command of a corresponding management module, the expander control circuit may read a signal of an input terminal of the expander control circuit to know the logic state of an output terminal of another expander control circuit set by the other expander control circuit, such as a first logic state or a second logic state, and the input terminal of the expander control circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the other expander control circuit. The output terminal is also an alarm device to send the second logic state (both an alarm and logic signal) indicating a non-survival state of a management module to the input terminal of a second expander control circuit).
Regarding Claim 35, Ho discloses an cooling system (Fig. 6-9), comprising:
a cooling device (Fig. 6: interpreted as a single device having both fans 618-1 and 618-2, where each expander control circuit has a dedicated fan in the interpreted device);
a first sensor and a second sensor disposed in the cooling device and configured to measure parameters of the cooling device during operation (Fig. 6: fans 618-1 and 618-2 shown having sensors 619-1 and 619-2, respectively. Fig. 8; [0068]: revolution speed of the fan read through fan sensing signal S_FS2, shown generated by sensor 619-2. Fig. 9; [0065]; [0069]: Fig. 9 is another taking-cover configuration compared to Fig. 8, shown as a mirror of Fig. 8. Therefore, expander control circuit 612-1 of Fig. 9 contains the same functionality as expander control circuit 612-2 of Fig. 8, including sensor 619-1 of Fig. 9, which also measures the revolution speed of fan 618-1);
a first management module (Fig. 6; [0058]; Fig. 3; [0046]: expander control circuit 612-2 may represent expander control circuit 1122-2, shown in Fig. 3 in communication with management module 310-2), comprising:
a first control chip (Fig. 6; [0058]; Fig. 3; [0046]: see above – expander control circuit 612-2. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip”), comprising:
a first heartbeat circuit configured to periodically send a first heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-2 sends first heartbeat signal S_HB2);
a first watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the first control circuit (Fig. 6; [0059]: expander control circuit 612-1 may obtain the state of the fan 618-1 from fan sensing signal S_FS1 (shown monitored by expander main circuit 614-1)) and a second heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: Fig. 6; [0057]: expander control circuit contains expander main circuit 614-1, which receives (monitors) a second heartbeat signal);
a first data sensing port configured to selectively read data measured by the first sensor ([0068]: sub-circuit 616-2 attempts, but ultimately fails, to read revolution speed of fan (e.g., sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2). See Fig. 8 for sensing port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FS2 transmission ends); and
a first data transmitting port configured to selectively output data read by the first data sensing port ([0068]: when sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2 for a predetermined period, sub-circuit 616-2 may transmit FF monitoring signal S_FF. See Fig. 8 for transmitting port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FF transmission arrow begins); and
a first storage device configured to receive and store data outputted by the first data transmitting port (Fig. 8: sub-circuit 616-1 receives S_FF from sub-circuit 616-2 (contains first transmitting port – see above). Receiving encompasses storing for some amount of time); and
a second management module (Fig. 6; [0058]; Fig. 3; [0046]: expander control circuit 612-1 may represent expander control circuit 1122-1, shown in Fig. 3 in communication with management module 310-1), comprising:
a second control chip (Fig. 6; [0058]; Fig. 3; [0046]: see above – expander control circuit 612-1. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip), comprising:
a second heartbeat circuit configured to periodically send the second heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-1 sends second heartbeat signal S_HB1);
a second watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the second control circuit (Fig. 8-9; [0067]; [0058]; [0046]: see above for mirrored functionality between Fig. 8-9. In Fig. 8, expander main circuit 614-2 monitors connection status (heartbeat) between control circuit 612-2 and management module 310-2. Thus, in Fig. 9’s mirrored takeover configuration, expander main circuit 614-1 monitors connection status (heartbeat) between control circuit 612-1 and management module 310-1) and the first heartbeat signal (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-1 monitors first heartbeat signal S_HB2);
a second data sensing port configured to selectively read the data measured by the second sensor (Fig. 8-9; [0068]: see above for mirrored functionality between Fig. 8-9. In Fig. 8, sub-circuit 616-2 attempts, but ultimately fails, to read revolution speed of fan (e.g., sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2). Thus, in Fig. 9’s mirrored takeover configuration, sub-circuit 616-1 attempts, but ultimately fails, to read revolution speed of fan (e.g., sub-circuit 616-1 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS1). Second data sensing port located where S_FS1 transmission ends at sub-circuit 616-1); and
a second data transmitting port configured to selectively output data read by the second data sensing port (Fig. 8-9; [0068]: see above for mirrored functionality between Fig. 8-9. When sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2 for a predetermined period, sub-circuit 616-2 may transmit FF monitoring signal S_FF. Thus, in Fig. 9’s mirrored takeover configuration, sub-circuit 616-1 may transmit FF monitoring signal S_FF. Second data transmitting port located where S_FF transmission begins at sub-circuit 616-1); and
a second storage device configured to receive and store data outputted by the second data transmitting port (Fig. 9: sub-circuit 616-2 receives S_FF from sub-circuit 616-1. Receiving encompasses storing for some amount of time).
Ho does not disclose:
an immersion cooling system, comprising:
a cooling tank;
a first sensor and a second sensor disposed in the cooling tank and configured to measure parameters of the cooling tank during operation;
However, TUNG teaches:
an immersion cooling system (Fig. 1; [0016]: immersion cooling system 1), comprising:
a cooling tank (Fig. 1; [0016]: liquid storage tank 10);
a first sensor and a second sensor disposed in the cooling tank and configured to measure parameters of the cooling tank during operation ([0019]: various sensors 110a, 120a, 130a to detect gas temperatures in liquid storage tank 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho and TUNG by substituting each fan 618-1 and 618-2 (Ho: Fig. 6) for individual cooling tanks (TUNG: Fig. 1) to obtain predictable results (cooling device with sensors). Additionally, liquid cooling is known in the art as a more effective and quieter cooling method compared to air cooling.
Regarding Claim 36, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 35, as referenced above, wherein:
the first control chip further comprises a first status output port for outputting a first status signal according to the status of the first control chip (Ho: [0067]: expander main circuit 614-2 determines that management module 310-2 cannot connect with expander control circuit 612-2 (e.g. expander control circuit 612-2 does not detect any heartbeat monitoring information from management module 310-2). [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander control circuit of a non-survival state of the management module. Thus, when expander main circuit 614-2 determines circuit 614-2 cannot connect with management module 310-2 (e.g., does not detect heartbeat monitoring from module 310-2, does not receive survival command), the expander circuit (612-2) outputs a non-survival status signal via an output terminal); and
the second control chip further comprises a second status output port for outputting a second status signal according to the status of the second control chip (Ho: Fig. 8-9; [0067]; [0069]; [0044]; [0046]: similar mapping, but in the reverse direction for expander control circuit 612-1 and management module 310-1 – see above. Expander control circuit 612-1 comprises output terminal for outputting second logic state according to non-survival state of management module 310-1 (does not detect heartbeat / survival command from module 310-1)).
Regarding Claim 37, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 36, as referenced above, further comprising:
a first alarm device configured to selectively send a first alarm signal based on the first status signal (Ho: [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander control circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander circuit of a non-survival state of the management module, to thereby allow another management module to know the non-survival state of the management module. [0042]: when an expander control circuit receives a reading command of a corresponding management module, the expander control circuit may read a signal of an input terminal of the expander control circuit to know the logic state of an output terminal of another expander control circuit set by the other expander control circuit, such as a first logic state or a second logic state, and the input terminal of the expander control circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the other expander control circuit. The second logic state is both a status and alarm signal indicating the non-survival state of the management module corresponding to the expander control circuit (e.g., Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-2). The second logic state, representing the non-survival state, is effectively sent from the output terminal of an expander control circuit with the corresponding module (e.g., expander control circuit 612-2) to the input terminal of another expander control circuit requesting the read (e.g., expander control circuit 612-1)); and
a second alarm device configured to selectively send a second alarm signal based on the second status signal (Ho: Ho: similar mapping but in the opposite direction – see above. Applies to expander control circuit 612-1).
Regarding Claim 38, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 36, as referenced above, further comprising:
a logic circuit configured to output a logic signal based on the first status signal and the second status signal (Ho: [0044]: each expander control circuit has an output terminal for to output a second logic state, indicating a non-survival state when the respective expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module); and
an alarm device configured to selectively send an alarm signal based on the logic signal (Ho: [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander control circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander circuit of a non-survival state of the management module, to thereby allow another management module to know the non-survival state of the management module. [0042]: when an expander control circuit receives a reading command of a corresponding management module, the expander control circuit may read a signal of an input terminal of the expander control circuit to know the logic state of an output terminal of another expander control circuit set by the other expander control circuit, such as a first logic state or a second logic state, and the input terminal of the expander control circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the other expander control circuit. The output terminal is also an alarm device to send the second logic state (both an alarm and logic signal) indicating a non-survival state of a management module to the input terminal of a second expander control circuit).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of TUNG, in further view of Maki et al. (US 20220374005 A1, hereinafter “Maki”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ho in view of TUNG teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 1, as referenced above, wherein the first management system further comprises:
a first storage device configured to receive and store data outputted by the first data transmitting port (Ho: Fig. 8: sub-circuit 616-1 receives S_FF from sub-circuit 616-2 (see above for first data transmitting port – beginning of S_FF transmission at sub-circuit 616-2). Receiving encompasses storing for some amount of time); and
a second storage device configured to receive and store data outputted by the second data transmitting port (Ho: Fig. 8: expander main circuit 614-1 receives S_RFF1 from sub-circuit 616-1 (see above for second transmitting port – beginning of S_RFF1 transmission at sub-circuit 616-1). Receiving encompasses storing for some amount of time),
Ho in view of TUNG does not teach:
wherein the first storage device or the second storage device is a secure digital (SD) memory card, a secure digital input/output interface (SDIO) memory card or and an embedded multimedia card (eMMC).
However, Maki teaches:
a first storage device configured to receive and store data outputted by the first data transmitting port ([0121]: secure socket communication module 71 stores (logs) the information including the error code indicated by the output of the function of instruction 980 in SD card 150 through log writer 117 as secure communication log 151)… wherein the first storage device or the second storage device (second device not required by “or” statement) is a secure digital (SD) memory card ([0121]: SD card 150), a secure digital input/output interface (SDIO) memory card or and an embedded multimedia card (eMMC) (not required by “or” statement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho, TUNG, and Maki by applying the SD error logging taught by Maki towards the FF signal transmission in addition to subcircuit 616-2 transmitting the FF signal to sub-circuit 616-1 as taught by Ho. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a user to analyze the log and determine the presence of absence of a trouble from an error (Maki: [0059]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of TUNG, in view of Maki, in further view of Berglund et al. (US 20020188873 A1, hereinafter “Berglund”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ho in view of TUNG, in view of Maki teaches the immersion cooling system of claim 4, wherein:
the first storage device or the second storage device is further configured to store… each piece of data (Maki: [0121]: logs error code info in SD card)
Ho in view of TUNG, in view of Maki does not teach:
…store and name each piece of data according to data receiving time or store each piece of data as a metastable; or
the first storage device or the second storage device adopts a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) structure.
However, Berglund teaches:
…store and name each piece of data according to data receiving time ([0036]: operating system 76 time stamps each entry as it is written into system error log 80. For example, operating system 76 may append a time and date field to the entry based on the system clock) or store each piece of data as a metastable (not required by “or” statement); or
the first storage device or the second storage device adopts a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) structure (not required by “or” statement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho, TUNG, Maki, and Berglund by adding a timestamp as the data is written into the log as taught by Berglund. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a user to identify when an error occurred for debugging or error analysis (Berglund: [0036]).
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of LI (US 20200011339 A1), in further view of TUNG.
Regarding Claim 22, Ho discloses a method of controlling an immersion cooling process (Fig. 6-9), comprising:
disposing a first sensor in a cooling device for measuring a parameter of the cooling device during operation ([0033]: any expander control circuits may include at least one fan as a non-shared component. Fig. 6: cooling device interpreted as a single device with all fans such that each expander control circuit has a dedicated fan as a non-shared component. Fig. 8; [0068]: sensor 619-2 shown inside fan 618-2. Measures revolution speed of the fan);
periodically sending a first heartbeat signal using a first control chip (Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-2 uses expander main circuit 614-2 to send first heartbeat signal S_HB2. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip” ) of a first management module (Fig. 6; [0058]: expander control circuits 612-1 and 612-2 represent expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1. [0046]: expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1 implemented within expansion module 110-1);
real-time monitoring a status of the first control circuit ([0067]: expander main circuit 614-2 determines that management module 310-2 cannot connect with expander control circuit 612-2 (e.g. expander control circuit 612-2 does not detect any heartbeat monitoring information from management module 310-2). Monitors connection status of control circuit 612-2) and a second heartbeat signal using the first control chip of the first management module (Fig. 6; [0057]: expander main circuit 614-2 receives (monitors) second heartbeat signal S_HB1);
selectively reading data measured by the first sensor using a first data sensing port in the first control chip of the first management module ([0068]: sub-circuit 616-2 attempts, but ultimately fails, to read revolution speed of fan (e.g., sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2). See Fig. 8 for sensing port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FS2 transmission ends);
selectively outputting data read by the first data sensing port using a first data transmitting port in the first control chip of the first management module ([0068]: when sub-circuit 616-2 fails to detect fan sensing signal S_FS2 for a predetermined period, sub-circuit 616-2 may transmit FF monitoring signal S_FF. See Fig. 8 for transmitting port of sub-circuit 616-2 – where S_FF transmission arrow begins. S_FF interpreted as a read-out sensor error);
periodically sending the second heartbeat signal using a second control chip (Fig. 6: expander control circuit 612-1 contains expander main circuit 614-1 to send second heartbeat signal S_HB1. [0023]: control circuits are integrated circuits (ICs). IC known as another term for “chip”) of the first management module (Fig. 6; [0058]: expander control circuits 612-1 and 612-2 represent expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1. [0046]: expander control circuits 1121-1 and 1122-1 implemented within expansion module 110-1);
real-time monitoring a status of the second control circuit (Fig. 8-9; [0067]; [0069]: similar management module heartbeat connection monitoring described with respect to expander control circuit 612-2 and management module 310-2 (Fig. 8) may be applied to expander control circuit 612-1 and management module 310-1 (Fig. 9; Fig. 3; [0046]) since Fig. 9 is reverse takeover configuration of Fig. 8) and the first heartbeat signal using the second control chip of the first management module (Fig. 6: expander main circuit 614-1 monitors first heartbeat signal S_HB2);
selectively reading data measured by the first sensor using a second data sensing port in the second control chip of the first management module (Fig. 8; [0068]: sub-circuit 616-1 receives S_FF signal generated by sub-circuit 616-2 when sub-circuit 616-2 fails of detect fan sensing signal S_FS2. Sensing port located at the end of S_FF transmission path. S_FF signal interpreted as a read-out sensor error of sensor 619-2); and
selectively outputting data read by the second data sensing port using a second data transmitting port in the second control chip of the first management module (Fig. 8; [0059]: sub-circuit 616 receives FF monitoring signal from expander control circuit 612-2 (sent by sub-circuit 616-2) and output RFF monitoring signal S_RFF1. Second transmitting port located at beginning of S_RFF1 transmission path of sub-circuit 616-1. S_RFF1 interpreted as a transformed sensor read of S_FF, a previous sensor error read – see above), wherein:
the second control chip reads and outputs the data measured by the first sensor when determining that the second control chip is unable to receive the first heartbeat signal and is able to operate normally ([0066]: when expander control circuit 612-1 does not detect the heartbeat monitoring signal S_HB2, the management module 310-1 may be informed of this situation and take over management of fan 618-2. Based on the taking-over configuration, the management module 310-1 may also apply the fan control scheme shown in Fig. 5 to the management on the fan 618-2 performed by the management 310-1. Fig. 5; [0053]-[0054]: expander control circuit 512 (e.g., expander control circuit 1121-1; [0058]: implemented as expander control circuit 612-1) may obtain the fan state monitoring information S_FSM and transmit the fan state monitoring information S_FSM).
Ho does not disclose:
…an immersion cooling process
…a cooling tank…
the first control chip reads and outputs the data measured by the first sensor when determining that the first control chip is able to operate normally;
However, LI teaches:
the first control chip reads and outputs the data measured by the first sensor when determining that the first control chip is able to operate normally (Fig. 1: [0033]: fan speed control circuit 104 has access to and monitors one or more parameters of electronic system 100, relating to heat generated within system 100. From the parameters circuit 104 determines the amount of cooling needed and generates a fan speed control signal. [0036]: heartbeat signal can be periodic and indicates normal operation of the fan speed control circuit and can be embedded within the fan speed control signal that is transmitted to the fan controller 106. Fan speed control circuit 104 is both a control chip and sensor such that circuit 104 reads the parameters and outputs the parameters as a heartbeat signal to indicate normal operation (i.e., effectively determines circuit 104 is operating normally before transmitting the heartbeat signal));
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho and LI by implementing the sensor-based heartbeat signal transmission taught by LI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to indicate normal operation of the fan ([0033]).
Ho in view of LI does not teach:
…an immersion cooling process
…a cooling tank…
However, TUNG teaches:
an immersion cooling process (Fig. 1; [0016]: immersion cooling system 1)
disposing a first sensor in a cooling tank for measuring a parameter of the cooling tank during operation ([0019]: various sensors 110a, 120a, 130a to detect gas temperatures in liquid storage tank 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ho, LI, and TUNG by substituting each fan (Ho: Fig. 6: fans 618-1 and 618-2) for individual cooling tanks (TUNG: Fig. 1) to obtain predictable results (cooling device with sensors). Additionally, liquid cooling is known in the art as a more effective and quieter cooling method compared to air cooling.
Regarding Claim 27, Ho in view of LI, in further view of TUNG teaches the method of claim 22, as referenced above, further comprising:
sending an alarm signal for informing that the first control chip and the second control chip have failed when determining that the first control chip and the second control chip are both unable to operate normally (Ho: [0044]: when an expander control circuit does not receive a survival command from a corresponding management module for a predetermined threshold of time, the expander control circuit may set an output terminal of the expander control circuit as a second logic state to inform another expander circuit of a non-survival state of the management module, to thereby allow another management module to know the non-survival state of the management module. [0042]: when an expander control circuit receives a reading command of a corresponding management module, the expander control circuit may read a signal of an input terminal of the expander control circuit to know the logic state of an output terminal of another expander control circuit set by the other expander control circuit, such as a first logic state or a second logic state, and the input terminal of the expander control circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the other expander control circuit. The second logic state is an alarm signal indicating the non-survival state of the management module corresponding to the expander control circuit. The second logic state, representing the non-survival state, is effectively sent from the output terminal of an expander control circuit with the corresponding module to the input terminal of another expander control circuit requesting the read. [0044] lists EXAPNDER1 and EXPANDER2 ([0058]: which circuits 612-1 and 612-2 may be implemented as) as the expander control circuit and the other expander control circuit, respectively, as an example. However, [0044] is generically claim such that “an expander control circuit” may be applied to any expander circuit such that both circuits 612-1 and 612-2 may have the output terminal functionality).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 39 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 11-21, 23-26, 28-34, and 40-44 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The elements of Claims 2, 6, 11, 25, 28, and 39 were neither found through a search of prior art nor considered obvious by the Examiner. In particular, the prior art of record does not teach nor suggest, in combination with the remaining limitations and in the context of their claims as a whole:
Claim 2: “a data multiplexer configured to:
receive data outputted by the first data transmitting port and the second data transmitting port; and
selectively output data received from the first data transmitting port or data received from the second data transmitting port; and
a flash memory configured to receive and store data outputted by the data multiplexer.”
Claim 6: “a dual-port hard drive for receiving data outputted by the first data transmitting port and the second data transmitting port, the dual-port hard drive comprising:
a first data port for receiving the data outputted by the first data transmitting port; and
a second data port for receiving the data outputted by the second data transmitting port, wherein the dual-port hard drive is a serial attached small computer system interface (SAS) hard drive or a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) hard drive.”
Claim 11: “…a third watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the third control circuit, the first heartbeat signal, the second heartbeat signal and a fourth heartbeat signal… a fourth watchdog circuit configured to real-time monitor a status of the fourth control circuit, the first heartbeat signal, the second heartbeat signal and the third heartbeat signal;”
Claim 23: “sending a first reset signal for resetting the second control chip using the first control chip of the first management module after reading and/or outputting the data measured by the first sensor when determining that the first control chip is unable to receive the second heartbeat signal and is able to operate normally.”
Claim 25: “…reading and outputting the data measured by the first sensor using the first control chip and stopping reading and outputting the data measured by the first sensor using the second control chip when determining that the first control chip is able to operate normally after being reset by the second reset signal.”
Claim 28: “real-time monitoring a status of the third control circuit, the first heartbeat signal, the second heartbeat signal and a fourth heartbeat signal using the third control chip of the second management module… real-time monitoring a status of the fourth control circuit, the first heartbeat signal, the second heartbeat signal and the third heartbeat signal using the fourth control chip of the second management module”
Claim 39: “…the second control chip reads and outputs the data measured by the second sensor when determining that the second control chip is unable to receive the first heartbeat signal and is able to operate normally.”
The following references were found and considered by the Examiner to be the most-related prior art with regards to the claimed invention of the instant application:
Ho
TUNG
LI
Amann et al. (US 20130151829 A1)
Smith et al. (US 20080184074 A1)
Amann:
Regarding Claim 2: Fig. 1A: depicts processor chips 110-140 connected to 1-n mux 175, which connects to flash memory 180. However, data flow shown starting from flash memory (or mux 175) out to processor chips as part of a boot-up process.
Smith:
Regarding Claim 6: Fig. 1; [0020]: dual-port HDDs between FC switches 106a and 106f and shown adopting a RAID structure. Unclear whether data is transmitted from the FC switches (or from local processors connected to the FC switches) to the HDDs. Modifications to add the dual-port HDDs as an intermediate receiver seem unobvious to add as Ho has a direct path for transmitting S_FF (Fig. 6)
Ho:
Regarding Claims 11, 28: Fig. 6; [0058]; Fig. 4; [0049]; [0023]: hereinafter, all references to “third control chip” and components of the “third control chip” refer to expander control circuit 612-2 as the expander control circuits in module 110-2 are copies of expander control circuits in module 110-1. Similarly, all references to “fourth control chip” and components of the “fourth control chip” refer to expander control circuit 612-1. However, as shown in Fig. 6, circuit 612-2 only monitors a fourth heartbeat signal S_HB1 and circuit 612-1 only monitors a third heartbeat signal S_HB2. Although having the same reference numbers, the control circuits in module 110-2 do not monitor the heartbeat signals transmitted in module 110-1. I.e., does not monitor the first and second heartbeat signals.
Regarding Claim 39: [0033]: any expander control circuits may include at least one fan as a non-shared component. Fig. 6: cooling device interpreted as a single device with all fans such that each expander control circuit has a dedicated fan as a non-shared component. Fig. 8; [0068]: sensor 619-2 shown inside fan 618-2 as a first sensor, and sensor 619-1 as a second sensor. [0066]: when expander control circuit 612-1 does not detect the heartbeat monitoring signal S_HB2, the management module 310-1 may be informed of this situation and take over management of fan 618-2. Based on the taking-over configuration, the management module 310-1 may also apply the fan control scheme shown in Fig. 5 to the management on the fan 618-2 performed by the management 310-1. Fig. 5; [0053]-[0054]: expander control circuit 512 (e.g., expander control circuit 1121-1; [0058]: implemented as expander control circuit 612-1) may obtain the fan state monitoring information S_FSM and transmit the fan state monitoring information S_FSM. However, the fan state monitoring information is of fan 618-2 instead of fan 618-1, the second sensor.
LI:
Regarding Claims 23: [0033]; [0036]: circuit 104 reads heat-related parameters and sends heartbeat signal to indicate normal operation.[0013]; [0039]-[0040]: when fan controller 106 detects a discrepancy in the heartbeat signal sent by circuit 104, wherein a discrepancy may be a lack of a heartbeat signal during at least one period, during 2+ sequential periods, or 2+ non-sequential periods. Fan controller 106 acts as a watchdog for monitoring heartbeat signals periodically. Although resetting the monitored device after not receiving an acknowledgement/heartbeat in watchdogs, the “first control chip” is mapped to circuit 104 in LI as cited in Claim 22 such that controller 106 as the second control chip is unable to receive the heartbeat signal, not the first control chip as claimed in Claim 23.
Regarding Claim 25: above reasoning addresses first limitation of Claim 25. Although continuous resetting of the monitored device by watchdogs and resuming operations after a reset is known in the art, additional modifications were deemed nonobvious in the context of the claim.
Although conceptually similar to the claimed invention of the instant application, Ho, TUNG, LI, Amann, and Smith do not teach the limitations listed above. Additional modifications were deemed nonobvious by the Examiner.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Amann et al. (US 20130151829 A1) – see above
Smith et al. (US 20080184074 A1) – see above
Marks (US 20060015537 A1) – [0004]; [0007]: dual port SAS (Serial Attached SCSI) storage drives
Conclusion
/C.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114