DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa US 20220297307.
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a robot that imitates a living thing (robot grows with time, expresses emotions, movement, etc; abstract; sec 0007, 0009, 0039), the robot, comprising:
a memory (sec 0005, 0052, 0053);
a controller (110; sec 0050-0060) configured to execute a processing:
setting, in the memory in response to detection of an external stimulus (sec 0050-0060) acting on the apparatus, an emotion parameter expressing a pseudo-emotion (sec 0066-0072, 0077, 0090, 0017-0122, 0111, 0151, 0169);
measuring an elapsed time since a most recent detection of the external stimulus acting on the robot (sec 0090, 0017-0122, 0111, 0151, 0169); and
changing the set emotion parameter, set in the memory in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds a predetermined amount of time (emotion parameter is changed when the emotion reaches a certain time; sec 0072-0077, 0109; in addition, WHEN the external stimulus is not detected in a predetermined period, that is the predetermined period of time is the time the processing exits the loop at step S512(yes) or S513 (yes); see Fig. 20, steps S510 to S513; sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220}.
Applicant is direction the prior art as shown below:
[0090] Although not illustrated, the storage unit 120 also stores four character correction values (happy correction value, active correction value, shy correction value, and wanted correction value) which are increased or decreased in a character correction value adjustment process to be described later. Although the respective character values (character value (happy), character value (active), character value (shy), and character value (wanted)) are fixed in the case where the simulated growth of the robot 200 is completed, the character correction value is data (character correction data) for correcting the character according to how the user interacts with the robot 200 even after the completion of the growth. As will be described later, the character correction value is set on the emotion map 300 according to a condition (second condition based on the external stimulus data) based on any location of an area where the emotion data 121 has been present for the longest time. Note that the second condition based on the external stimulus data is not limited to the above condition, but any condition can be set as long as being a condition for correcting the character after the size of the emotion map 300 is fixed (for example, condition related to the occurrence frequency of the simulated emotion of the robot 200 represented by the emotion data 121).
[0111] On the other hand, if there is no external stimulus in step S102 (step S102; No), the processing unit 110 determines whether to perform a spontaneous movement such as a breathing movement (step S107). Although a method of determining whether to perform the spontaneous movement is arbitrary, it is assumed that the determination in step S107 is “Yes” every first reference time (for example, 5 seconds) in the embodiment.
[0112] If the spontaneous movement is performed (step S107; Yes), the processing unit 110 proceeds to step S106 and executes the movement selection process with a “lapse of the first reference time” as the movement trigger, and then, proceeds to step S108.
Regarding claim 2, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, wherein the processes comprise changing the emotion parameter so that the apparatus appears to be in a calm state (sec 0097, 0100, 0103, 0106) when the pseudo-emotion is close to the predetermined state and, also, the external stimulus is not detected in the predetermined period (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 3, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 2, wherein the processes comprise changing the emotion parameter in a step-wise manner so that the apparatus appears to be in the calm state due to the pseudo-emotion becoming a neutral emotion when the pseudo-emotion is close to the predetermined state and, also, the external stimulus is not detected in the predetermined period (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 4, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 2, wherein the processes comprise changing a quantity of the emotion parameter that is changed based on a period in which the external stimulus is not detected (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, wherein
the controller changes a quantity of the emotion parameter that is changed based on a pseudo personality of the robot (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, further comprising:
a battery (sec 0179),
wherein the processes comprise changing an amount of change of the emotion parameter in accordance with an amount of charge of the battery (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, farther comprising:
a battery (sec 0179),
wherein the processes comprise changing an amount of change of the emotion parameter based on whether charging of the battery is being performed (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 8, Hasegawa discloses a robot according method executed by a controller of a robot that imitates a living thing (robot grows with time, expresses emotions, movement, etc; abstract; sec 0007, 0009, 0039), the robot including the controller and a memory (sec 0005, 0052, 0053), and the method comprising:
setting in the memory in response to detection of an external stimulus acting on the robot, an emotion parameter expressing a pseudo-emotion of the robot (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190);
measuring an elapsed time since a most recent detection of the external stimulus acting on the robot (sec 0090, 0017-0122, 0111, 0151, 0169); and
determining whether that the measured elapsed time exceeds a predetermined amount of time (emotion parameter is changed when the emotion reaches a certain time; sec 0072-0077, 0109; in addition, WHEN the external stimulus is not detected in a predetermined period, that is the predetermined period of time is the time the processing exits the loop at step S512(yes) or S513 (yes); see Fig. 20, steps S510 to S513; sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220}; and
controlling the emotion parameter set in the memory to change in response to a determination in the determining that the measured elapsed time exceeds the predetermined amount of time(sec 0090, 0017-0122, 0111, 0151, 0169).
Applicant is direction the prior art as shown below:
[0090] Although not illustrated, the storage unit 120 also stores four character correction values (happy correction value, active correction value, shy correction value, and wanted correction value) which are increased or decreased in a character correction value adjustment process to be described later. Although the respective character values (character value (happy), character value (active), character value (shy), and character value (wanted)) are fixed in the case where the simulated growth of the robot 200 is completed, the character correction value is data (character correction data) for correcting the character according to how the user interacts with the robot 200 even after the completion of the growth. As will be described later, the character correction value is set on the emotion map 300 according to a condition (second condition based on the external stimulus data) based on any location of an area where the emotion data 121 has been present for the longest time. Note that the second condition based on the external stimulus data is not limited to the above condition, but any condition can be set as long as being a condition for correcting the character after the size of the emotion map 300 is fixed (for example, condition related to the occurrence frequency of the simulated emotion of the robot 200 represented by the emotion data 121).
[0111] On the other hand, if there is no external stimulus in step S102 (step S102; No), the processing unit 110 determines whether to perform a spontaneous movement such as a breathing movement (step S107). Although a method of determining whether to perform the spontaneous movement is arbitrary, it is assumed that the determination in step S107 is “Yes” every first reference time (for example, 5 seconds) in the embodiment.
[0112] If the spontaneous movement is performed (step S107; Yes), the processing unit 110 proceeds to step S106 and executes the movement selection process with a “lapse of the first reference time” as the movement trigger, and then, proceeds to step S108.
Regarding claim 9, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the controlling includes:
changing the emotion parameter so that the robot appears to be in a calm state when the pseudo-emotion is close to the predetermined state and, also, the external stimulus is not detected in the predetermined period (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the controlling includes:
changing the emotion parameter in a step-wise manner so that the robot appears to be in the calm state due to the pseudo-emotion becoming a neutral emotion when the pseudo- emotion is close to the predetermined state and, also, the external stimulus is not detected in the predetermined period (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 11, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8,
wherein the controlling includes changing a quantity of the emotion parameter that is changed based on a measured elapsed time since the most recent detection of the external stimulus acting on the robot (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 12, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8,
wherein the controlling includes changing a quantity of the emotion parameter that is changed based on a pseudo personality of the robot (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 13, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein:
the robot further includes a battery (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190), and
the controlling includes changing an amount of change of the emotion parameter in accordance with an amount of charge of the battery (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 14, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein:
the robot further includes a battery (sec 0179), and
the controlling includes changing an amount of change of the emotion parameter based on whether charging of the battery is being performed (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190).
Regarding claim 15, Hasegawa discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program thereon, the program being executable by a controller of a robot that imitates a living thing (robot grows with time, expresses emotions, movement, etc; abstract; sec 0007, 0009, 0039), the robot including the controller and a memory (sec 0005, 0052, 0053), and the program controlling the controller to executing processing comprising:
setting in the memory in response to detection of an external stimulus acting on the robot, an emotion parameter expressing a pseudo-emotion of the robot (sec 0072-0077, 0097-0109, 0108-0190);
measuring an elapsed time since a most recent detection of the external stimulus acting on the robot (sec 0090, 0017-0122, 0111, 0151, 0169); and
changing the set emotion parameter set in the memory in response to a determination that the elapsed time exceeds a predetermined amount of time (emotion parameter is changed when the emotion reaches a certain time; sec 0072-0077, 0109; in addition, WHEN the external stimulus is not detected in a predetermined period, that is the predetermined period of time is the time the processing exits the loop at step S512(yes) or S513 (yes); see Fig. 20, steps S510 to S513; sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220}.
Applicant is direction the prior art as shown below:
[0090] Although not illustrated, the storage unit 120 also stores four character correction values (happy correction value, active correction value, shy correction value, and wanted correction value) which are increased or decreased in a character correction value adjustment process to be described later. Although the respective character values (character value (happy), character value (active), character value (shy), and character value (wanted)) are fixed in the case where the simulated growth of the robot 200 is completed, the character correction value is data (character correction data) for correcting the character according to how the user interacts with the robot 200 even after the completion of the growth. As will be described later, the character correction value is set on the emotion map 300 according to a condition (second condition based on the external stimulus data) based on any location of an area where the emotion data 121 has been present for the longest time. Note that the second condition based on the external stimulus data is not limited to the above condition, but any condition can be set as long as being a condition for correcting the character after the size of the emotion map 300 is fixed (for example, condition related to the occurrence frequency of the simulated emotion of the robot 200 represented by the emotion data 121).
[0111] On the other hand, if there is no external stimulus in step S102 (step S102; No), the processing unit 110 determines whether to perform a spontaneous movement such as a breathing movement (step S107). Although a method of determining whether to perform the spontaneous movement is arbitrary, it is assumed that the determination in step S107 is “Yes” every first reference time (for example, 5 seconds) in the embodiment.
[0112] If the spontaneous movement is performed (step S107; Yes), the processing unit 110 proceeds to step S106 and executes the movement selection process with a “lapse of the first reference time” as the movement trigger, and then, proceeds to step S108.
Regarding claim 16, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, wherein the processes comprise increasing a change amount of the emotion parameter that is changed as the measured elapsed time increases, such that:
(i) the emotion parameter is changed by a first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220), and
(ii) the emotion parameter is changed by a second change amount greater than the first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a second predetermined amount of time longer than the first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220).
Regarding claim 17, Hasegawa discloses the robot according to claim 1, wherein the processes comprise changing the emotion parameter in response to the determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds the predetermined amount of time, in accordance with a first rule when the currently set emotion parameter satisfies a first condition, and in accordance with a second rule different from the first rule when the currently set emotion parameter satisfies a second condition different from the first condition (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220).
Regarding claim 18, Hasegawa discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising increasing a change amount of the emotion parameter that is changed as the measured elapsed time increases, such that:
(i) the emotion parameter is changed by a first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220), and
(ii) the emotion parameter is changed by a second change amount greater than the first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a second predetermined amount of time longer than the first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220).
Regarding claim 19, Hasegawa discloses the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 15, wherein the processes further comprise increasing a change amount of the emotion parameter that is changed as the measured elapsed time increases, such that:
(i) the emotion parameter is changed by a first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220), and
(ii) the emotion parameter is changed by a second change amount greater than the first change amount in response to a determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds, as the predetermined amount of time, a second predetermined amount of time longer than the first predetermined amount of time (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220).
Regarding claim 20, Hasegawa discloses the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 15, wherein the processes further comprise changing the emotion parameter in response to the determination that the measured elapsed time exceeds the predetermined amount of time, in accordance with a first rule when the currently set emotion parameter satisfies a first condition, and in accordance with a second rule different from the first rule when the currently set emotion parameter satisfies a second condition different from the first condition (sec 0077, 0180-0190, 0219, 0220).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657