DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0148988 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
With respect to claim 1, Hwang teaches a noncontact power supply apparatus 1 (FIGs. 1-9) comprising:
a coil unit 1 configured to have a coil 12, 13 and or 14 for transmitting electric power to a power supply target by noncontact; and
an electromagnetic shield 110’ (e.g., FIG. 6) configured to reduce a leakage magnetic field of the coil, wherein the electromagnetic shield is a laminate in which metal plates 111a-111c are laminated,
a lubricant 111d (“adhesive member 111d may be…liquid or gel form” para. [0079]) having a predetermined viscosity is applied to a contacting surface between the metal plates, and
the predetermined viscosity of the lubricant is set such that a coefficient of friction between the contacting surfaces of the metal plates falls within a predetermined range to allow the metal plates to slide relative to one another and imparting desired flexibility to the electromagnetic shield (paras. [0079]-[0081] and [0145]).
With respect to claim 2, Hwang teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the lubricant is a lubricant containing an additive having high thermal conductivity (para. [0079]).
With respect to claim 3, Hwang teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein
a lower limit value of the viscosity of the lubricant is a value in the vicinity of the predetermined viscosity in which a lubricating state of the contacting surface between the metal plates is switched from a mixed lubrication state to a fluid lubrication state (para. [0079]). The lubricant of Hwang would inherently have the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 5, Hwang teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the mixture lubricating state corresponds to a state in which between the metal plates are mixed with areas that are separated from each other by the lubricant and areas where they are not separated from each other (para. [0079]). The lubricant of Hwang would inherently have the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Partovi et al. (WO 2008/137996 A1, hereinafter “Partovi”).
With respect to claim 4, Hwang teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1. Hwang does not expressly teach a plurality of coil units connected to each other are arranged on a surface of the electromagnetic shield.
Partovi teaches a noncontact power supply apparatus 100 (FIG. 1), wherein a plurality of coil units 104 connected to each other are arranged on a surface of the electromagnetic shield (para. [0097]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of coil units as taught by Partovi to the noncontact power supply apparatus of Hwang to provide greater transfer power efficiency (para. [0014]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837