CTNF 18/242,567 CTNF 101325 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US 20200168393 A1), in further view of Lee et al. (US 20220279687 A1), hereinafter Long and Lee respectively . Regarding Claim 1 , Long teaches a noncontact power supply ( 700 ) apparatus comprising: a coil unit configured to have a coil ( 703 ) for transmitting electric power to a power supply target by noncontact (Par [0090]); and a lubricant ( oil in layer 707 ) having a predetermined viscosity is applied to a contacting surface between the metal plates (layer 707 is in contact with plate 706 ; Par [0089-0092]; Fig. 7). Long does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the power supply includes an electromagnetic shield configured to reduce a leakage magnetic field of the coil, wherein the electromagnetic shield is a laminate in which metal plates are laminated. Lee teaches an electromagnetic shield (shielding layers 21-26). configured to reduce a leakage magnetic field of the coil, wherein the electromagnetic shield is a laminate in which metal plates are laminated (laminated with double sided tape 3a-3f; Par [0084-0085]; Fig. 3). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the power supply of Long with the teachings of Lee by including a laminated electromagnetic shield in order to prevent water penetration and minimize eddy currents (Par [0024], Long) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Lee as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Sergeevich et al. (RU2713155C1), hereinafter Sergeevich . Regarding Claim 2 , Long in view of Lee teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the lubricant is a lubricant containing an additive having high thermal conductivity. Sergeevich teaches a lubricant containing an additive having high thermal conductivity (stabilized copper powders; Par [0036]; Sergeevich describes the benefits of stabilized copper powders disposed in lubricants including increased thermal and electrical conductivity ). It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the noncontact power supply apparatus of Long in view of Lee with the teachings of Sergeevich by including a lubricant with an additive having high thermal conductivity in order to ensure the device does not overheat, specifically in areas of higher friction, which would damage the components (Par [0036]; Sergeevich) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Lee as applied to claim 1, in further view of Matsumoto et al. (JP2011122617A), hereinafter Matsumoto . Regarding Claim 3 , Long in view of Lee teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the viscosity of the lubricant is a viscosity in which a friction coefficient of the contacting surface between the metal plates falls within a predetermined range, and a lower limit value of the viscosity of the lubricant is a value in the vicinity of a viscosity in which a lubricating state of the contacting surface between the metal plates is switched from a mixed lubrication state to a fluid lubrication state. Matsumoto teaches an apparatus wherein the viscosity of the lubricant is a viscosity in which a friction coefficient of the contacting surface between the metal plates falls within a predetermined range (Par [0016-0018]), and a lower limit value of the viscosity of the lubricant is a value in the vicinity of a viscosity in which a lubricating state of the contacting surface between the metal plates is switched from a mixed lubrication state to a fluid lubrication state (Par [0016-0018]; Fig. 2; Matsumoto). It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the noncontact power supply apparatus of Long in view of Lee with the teachings of Matsumoto by including a lubricant with a predetermined viscosity in order to prevent unwanted friction between components . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Lee as applied to claim 1, in further view of Partovi et al. (WO2008137996A1), hereinafter Partovi . Regarding Claim 4 , Long in view of Lee teaches the noncontact power supply apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of coil units connected to each other are arranged on a surface of the electromagnetic shield. Partovi teaches noncontact power supply apparatus ( 100 ) wherein a plurality of coil units ( 104 ) connected to each other are arranged on a surface of the electromagnetic shield (Par [0097]; Fig. 1). It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the noncontact power supply apparatus of Long in view of Lee with the teachings of Partovi by using a plurality of coils in an array in order to provide greater transfer power efficiency and for easy modification for different power requirements (Par [0014]; Partovi) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 and is pertinent to wireless power supply apparatuses . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AISLIN WEST whose telephone number is (571)272-0552. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Shawki S Ismail can be reached at (571)-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/242,567 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/242,567 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/242,567 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/242,567 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/242,567 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837